Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Recording
Music

خلاصة النفقات العامة طبل: توم والصنج

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Muhammad Hasrullah (you can also view the original English article)

في الماضي أصدقائي أننا وصلنا إلى المحطة الأخيرة في رحلتنا، النفقات العامة! حتى الآن لقد نظرنا في الركلة وكمين وكيفية تحسين أفضل تسجيل لها في بيئة تسجيل منزل. اليوم سوف نبدأ 1 جزء من النفقات العامة التي ستشمل كلا من توم والصنج.


وتتوفر أيضا في هذه السلسلة:

  1. الخلاصة طبل ركلة للاستوديو المنزلي-الجزء 1
  2. الخلاصة طبل ركلة للاستوديو المنزلي-الجزء 2
  3. خلاصة الفخ طبل-ابدأ مع أفضل صوت
  4. الخلاصة الفخ طبل-تسجيل وخلط التقنيات
  5. خلاصة النفقات العامة طبل: توم والصنج
  6. خلاصة النفقات العامة طبل: توم والصنج الجزء 2

من نقطة لمهندس من وجهة نظر يمكن النفقات العامة يمكن القول أن الجزء الأهم من طبل للحصول على حق. لماذا؟ نظراً لأننا عندما شك في أنها سوف تعطيك التمثيل الأكثر طبيعية (أو غير طبيعي) للأسطوانة تعيين التي يمكنك بناء يمزج طبل من خارج. الآن بالطبع مكان شائع لإعطاء كل توم هيئة التصنيع العسكري الخاص به، ولكن مبادئ ميسينج قريبة توم هي نفس الفخ ومن ثم لماذا لا تحصل على توم دروس خاصة بهم.

إذن لماذا النفقات العامة؟ معظم عشاق الاستوديو المنزلي لديهم أقل من صوتيات مثالية في الغرفة ، واختيار الميكروفون ، وما إلى ذلك ، وسوف يحتاجون إلى كل الحيل التي يمكنهم الحصول عليها للحصول على أفضل صوت ممكن. هذا هو المكان الذي تأتي فيه هذه السلسلة التعليمية! في هذا البرنامج التعليمي الأول سنقوم بفحص toms والصنج من وجهة نظر مفيدة وكيفية عملها موسيقياً و سمعياً حتى نتمكن من الحصول على فكرة أفضل عن كيفية تسجيلها. في البرنامج التعليمي التالي ، سنأخذ النفقات العامة المسجلة لدينا ونبدأ في معالجتها ؛ لا يمكنك المزيف الصوت المثالي في هذا المزيج ، يجب أن تبدأ مع الطبل نفسها.

لذا إذا كنت على استعداد لاتخاذ توم والصنج الصوت الخاصة بك إلى المستوى التالي، اقرأ على!


وظيفيا

توم من نقطة الوقوف الصوتية تعمل مثل أي اسطوانة أخرى الكثير في حين الصنج الوحش الخاصة بهم. في ما يتعلق تومز، هو ضرب رأسه الخليط ويؤدي هذا الرأس لصدى ذهابا وإيابا. كما صدى الرأس يتم نقل الهواء داخل الاسطوانة، وهذا يسبب رئيس المعارضة صدى فضلا عن بقية شل طبل؛ وتنتج هذا الرنين لهجة للأسطوانة. وأخيراً، ضغط الهواء تقلب يهرب من مكان ثقوب تنفيس صغيرة في طبلة.

Everyone knows that the cymbals are a large metal circle that when struck will resonate. However what some forget is that, much like a drum, depending on where you strike the cymbal will control which overtones come out of the cymbal. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك يتعين علينا (عادة) جرس في مركز جداً من الصنج أنه عندما ضرب إرادة إعطاء قبالة أعلى ضارية الجرس تقريبا مثل الصوت. للأسف الصنج ككل أصعب بكثير لتخصيص وقرص نظراً لكون هو المعادن الصلبة وليس رأس الانضباطي.

الآن لماذا يجب أن نهتم بكل هذا؟ بادئ ذي بدء ، نحن بحاجة إلى فهم ما يمكن تغييره من نقطة موقف الأدوات وما لا يمكن. من المؤكد أنه بإمكاننا تبديل الصنج ، لكن هذا عادة ما يكون مخصصًا للاستوديوهات ذات الميزانية الكبيرة بما يكفي للحصول على الكثير من الصنج. لا تزال تتشكل toms في حين miced فقط من الأعلى بشكل كبير عن طريق ضبط رأس الرنين أدناه. وبسبب هذه العوامل وغيرها ، علينا أن نفهم حقاً كيف تعمل هذه الأدوات للتعويض عن افتقارنا إلى الصوتيات ، المعدات ، إلخ.



الضوابط لهجة

مثل كل صك، هناك ضوابط لهجة بني في الطبيعية التي تسمح لنا بتشكيل صوت الصك. ومع ذلك طبل فريدة أكثر قليلاً من معظم الصكوك الأخرى. ما الذي يجعل طبول الفريدة أن هناك عادة فقط واحد أو اثنين ديناميكي متغير موجودة في اسطوانة؛ توم هو كيف اللاعب يضرب الطبل والصنج هو بالنسبة كيف أنها ضربت والعصا المستخدمة. كل عنصر تحكم لهجة أخرى ثابتة وسوف تغير فقط من الاستخدام المفرط أو أجزاء رخيصة.

هذا يجعل الحصول على صوت ثابت غير متناسق أسهل بكثير للطبول من قول الكمان أو الصوت. دعونا نلقي نظرة على ما هي هذه الضوابط لهجة ثابتة وكيف أنها تؤثر على لهجة الصكوك.

  • الخليط الرأس: يؤثر إلى حد كبير صوت الهجوم الأولى توم. يمكن أن تتراوح من رؤساء واضحة رقيقة لرؤساء المغلفة السميك الذي يقدم مجموعة كبيرة ومتنوعة من الصوت. كما أنها بعض الوزن لما الملعب عموما للأسطوانة ولكن مكان قريب بقدر ما الرأس رنانة. كما أنها تؤثر على ما مدلول هذا اعتماداً على ضبط والمادية. يتم التحكم في التوقعات عموما من الهجوم براميل هنا.

  • رأس الرنين: يتحكم في بعض نغمات الطبول الطبيعية وله تأثير كبير على الطبقة الأساسية للطبلة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن أن تؤثر بشكل كبير على التوافقيات ومدى رنين التوافقيات.

  • ضبط العروات: ستساعد هذه العروات الملعب الطبل وما تردد سوف يهتز الرؤساء في. وقد المنطقة المحيطة بكل العروة الخاصة به في الملعب الذي آثار الملعب عموما من الرأس. ومن المفارقات العروات تأثير الجانب الآخر للأسطوانة أكثر من موقع العروة.

  • العصي: هو جزء يتم تجاهله أحيانًا من صوت الطبلة ، وخاصة الصنج ، وهو ما يتم استخدام العصي. كل شيء من الوزن إلى شكل الطرف يمكن أن يؤثر ببراعة على النغمة التي ستضيف إلى الصوت العام للأدوات. على الرغم من أنه يمكن تغييرها بسهولة ، إلا أن قارعي الطبول لا يغيرون أغنية منتصف العصا حتى نعتبرها عنصرًا ثابتًا للنغمة.

  • الأبعاد: يتحكم في النطاق الأمثل والصوت للأسطوانة. براميل أعمق عادة ما تكون أقل في الملعب كما أوسع منها. وبطبيعة الحال تركيبات مختلفة ستؤدي إلى نتائج مختلفة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك أحجام مختلفة وسمك الصنج سوف تلعب أيضا دوراً في صوت الصنج.
  • المسامير والسلاسل: بعض الصنج بالمسامير توضع داخلها بحرية صوي صعودا وهبوطاً الصنج عندما هو ضرب من أن يسبب نوع همسة من الحفاظ على رأس لهجة الصنج نفسها. السلاسل التي المسمار على رأس الصنج تحقيق نفس التأثير.

البعض منكم قد يسأل لماذا هذه المسألة بالنسبة لي كمهندس تسجيل؟ حسنا بالنسبة للمبتدئين يمكن أن نحصل على فكرة عامة عن كيفية الصوت النفقات العامة قبل الاستماع من أي وقت مضى. إذا كنت تعرف ما نوع من رؤساء الحاضر وما حجم الاسطوانة التي يجري استخدامها ثم تقوم طريقك لمعرفة كيف النبرة الصوت. إذا الصنج رقيقة ومشرقة كما تعلمون لا لوضع هيئة التصنيع العسكري مشرقة عليها كما أنها ستكون بالفعل مشرق بما يكفي. وأخيراً، في سيناريو حالة أفضل يمكن أن نذهب وتغيير بعض هذه الجوانب للحصول على لهجة مثالية لنا؛ الرؤساء الجدد، الصنج، إلخ. تذكر، ويبدأ صوت علوية جيدة في براميل لا في الميكروفون!

بقدر ما يذهب رؤساء الخليط ، هناك عدد كبير من الخيارات المتاحة ل toms. بالنسبة إلى موسيقى الجاز ، ستجد على الدوام تقريباً رأسًا قويًا مكوّنًا من طبقتين من شأنه أن يعطي توازنًا للهجوم والنبرة. بالنسبة للصخور ، عادةً ما تجد رؤوسًا مطلية بوضوح توفر صوتًا أكثر تحكمًا ولكنه مفتوحًا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكنك أيضًا الحصول على رؤوس خلط مع عوامل ترطيب مضمنة مثل الحلقات والوسادات التي تقلل من طول مدة صدى الرأس وتعطي صوتًا أقصر وأكثر تركيزًا مع التركيز بشكل أكبر على الهجوم. وهناك اعتبار آخر برؤوس الخليط (ورؤوس الطبول بشكل عام) هو ما إذا كان 1 - أو 2 طبقة ، ومدى سماكتها. ستعطي طبقة أكثر سمكًا لونًا أكثر قتامة بعض الشيء ، حيث سيكون لها طائرتان بدلاً من واحدة. سترى في الغالب قارئات معدنية يلعبون برؤوس 2-ply سميكة لأنها تعطي صوتًا مضبوطًا محكمًا بالإضافة إلى كونها أكثر متانة.

رؤساء رنانة عادة عادة أرق كثير من رؤساء الخليط وهي تكاد تكون دائماً واضحة. على خلاف مع كمين يمكنك الحصول على بعيداً مع عدم وجود لهم على توم ولكن عموما هي لا تزال موجودة لإضافة إدامة ولهجة إلى توم. إذا كان يتم ضبطها راسك رنانة منخفضة سوف تحصل على صوت أكثر مرونة أكثر عمقاً، ولكن إذا كان مع ذلك يمكنك ضبط راسك مدوية أعلى عادة ما كنت سوف ينتهي مع التوافقيات أكثر. وبالطبع هناك دائماً استثناءات لهذه القواعد التي سوف ننظر أكثر في وقت لاحق.

سوف تكون العروات الضبطية هي الطريقة الأكثر وضوحًا للتحكم في النغمة نظرًا لأنك من خلال ضبط توتر الرأس ، يمكنك تغيير درجة الرأس بشكل كبير والنبرة العامة للطبلة. هناك العديد من المثل المختلفة التي يملكها الناس حول كيفية ضبط العروات الرأسية. الفكرة الأساسية التي يجب مراعاتها عند ضبطها هي كيف سيسمعها الجمهور. إذا كان يتم تقريبه miced فسوف تحتاج إلى القلق حول كيف يبدو من قريب. إذا كنت تخطط للقيام بتعزيز الصوت الخفيف في الكنيسة بدون الميكروفونات العلوية فقط ، فربما تحتاج إلى إعادة النظر في كيفية قيامك بتوليف رؤوسك.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالعصي حقاً سوف يأتي إلى أسفل إلى للعب مباراة تفضيل سليمة. إذا كنت تريد صوت سمين كبيرة أنت الذهاب إلى تريد أن تلعب مع أثقل العصي أو العصي على الأقل مع المزيد من الوزن الأمامي العصا. إذا كان مع ذلك تحتاج إلى الكثير من التحكم وانتعاش للعمل مع ثم العصي أرق مع نصيحة مناسبة سيكون في النظام. حيث أنك سوف حقاً الفرق في نصائح عصا عندما تقومون ركوب الصنج. خشب مستدير، بيضاوي، والبلاستيك، وعدد لا يحصى من الاختلافات الأخرى وتسهم جميع الأصوات المختلفة.

في ما يتعلق بالأبعاد للصكوك التي نأتي إلى يمكن القول أن الجانب الأكثر أهمية من الصكوك. إذا كنت تريد حقاً توم سبر عميق ثم حكمتم بحاجة إلى أبعاد كبيرة توم. إذا كنت تريد روتوتوم ضارية عالية الصوت ثم سوف تحتاج ومن الواضح أن هذه الأبعاد. ومع ذلك ليس لنا جميعا مجموعة من توم لاختيار، وعادة ما لدينا سوى ثلاثة أو أربعة من الفترة توم! بدلاً من ذلك نحن في نهاية الأمر إلى الاستفادة إلى أقصى درجة من ضبط لدينا توم. الصنج ستحدد قطرها عادة في الملعب مع كبير يجري أقل (ولكن ليس دائماً) وسمك السيطرة جرس. الصنج أرق هو الذهاب إلى الصوت مشرق، وعادة ما يكون تسوس أسرع حيث وصفها الصنج سمكا تميل إلى تكون أغمق وحزام خارج فترة أطول قليلاً. ولكن بعض الصنج كبيرة جداً وسميكة من أنهم في نهاية الأمر جداً قليلاً (مسموع) الحفاظ على الإطلاق!

وأخيراً عندما تتعلق بأنفسنا بالمسامير والسلاسل ونحن عادة ما يكون التحكم القليل جداً من هذه المعلمات. يمكن إزالة بعض المسامير من الصنج ويمكن دائماً إضافة سلاسل همسة أو أخذ بعيداً. عادة تستخدم هذه سطع الصنج أغمق أو إضافة كاذبة الحفاظ على الصنج أكثر جفافاً. عليك أن تكون حذراً مع النفقات العامة الخاصة بك إذا الصنج يكون هؤلاء كما لو تحصل أيضا قريبة من الصنج سوف ينتهي مع على ما يبدو لا تنتهي المحافظة وهمسة مثل الضوضاء.


وصفات ضبط

الآن أن لدينا فهم حقيقي جيد توم والصنج كأدوات يمكن أن نبدأ حقاً في لحن لهم. وأدرجت لمساعدتك مع احتياجاتك ضبط قائمة بصيغ مختلفة لأنواع معينة التي يمكن أن تعمل كقاعدة جيدة للتسجيلات الخاصة بك. ضع في اعتبارك سوف تحتاج إلى تفصيل البراميل للاحتياجات الخاصة بك.

علما أن هناك الكثير من المتغيرات في إنشاء نغمة طبل لا كل تركيبة ممكنة من رؤساء وضبط، والعصي وغيرها يمكن أن تكون مكتوبة إلى أسفل. بدلاً من ذلك سوف أحاول أن أقدم لكم بعض الأماكن العامة الجيدة والأفكار للعمل من. سوف يكون هناك بعض المتغيرات سوف تبقى ثابتة للعينات الصوتية كما لا أملك كل قطعة واحدة متوفرة كمهندس استوديو منزل لك ربما لا لا أما. سوف يكون لي رؤساء الخليط عامة واضحة 2-رقائق التي تم الفوز جيد. (دعونا نكون صادقين لا تغير الكثير من قارعي الطبول رؤوسهم في كثير من الأحيان كما ينبغي وتحتاج إلى توقع أن!) رؤساء مدوية 1-رقائق واضحة، وأحجام توم هي 10 و 12 و 14 بوصة.

للتسجيلات سوف أستخدم زوج من Audix i5s متباعدة بالتساوي فوق toms تواجه مباشرة لأسفل. في حين أن هناك بالطبع تقنيات أخرى وخيارات أفضل للميكروفونات ، فإن هذا ليس هو الهدف من هذا البرنامج التعليمي. سنغطي ذلك في الدفعة القادمة. أختار تقنيات الميكروفون والميكروفون لأنها شائعة ويمكن الوصول إليها بسهولة من قبل العاملين في عالم الاستوديو المنزلي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن i5 و SM57 يكادان (لاحظ تقريبا) نفس الميكروفون. بمجرد إنشاء بنية الربح ، لم يتم التطرق إلى الربح مرة أخرى لبقية التوزيعات.

وأخيراً قبل أن ننتقل تبقى هذه النصائح من البرنامج التعليمي الفخ في الاعتبار عند ضبط...

  • تأكد من أن يمكنك ضبط رئيسي مع الآخر صامتة. وضع في توم على منشفة عادة سوف يكون على ما يرام.
  • طنين نظيفة تحتاج جميع العروات على رأسه في تناغم مع بعضها البعض. علاوة على ذلك عندما ضرب الخاص بك عصا قرب العروة لك هي فعلا ضبط التوافقيات كضرب رأسه بالحافة تنتج التوافقيات أكثر مما يصيب المركز.
  • لتصل قيمتها العروة المخالف عادة ستحتاج إلى ضبط العروة بالضبط مقابل ذلك أو العروات على أي من جانبي أنه.

دون مواصلة وداعا، الوصفات!

موسيقى الروك

لصوت موسيقى روك عامة كنت تنوي من الناحية المثالية تريد استخدام رؤساء المغلفة واضحة هي قليلاً على الجانب سمكا ولكن ربما ليس في سمكا يمكنك الحصول على. تنظر أيضا في محاولة الخروج من رأسه رقائق واحد يحتوي على مجموعة شريطية pin إذا كنت تستطيع. والهدف هنا الحصول على لهجة واضحة، والهجوم المتوازن، وإدامة متوسطة إلى قصيرة.

ما الذي يجعل توم روك مثيرة للاهتمام عادة فإنها تميل إلى أن تكون أصغر من توم حوالي 10 و 12 و 14 بوصة على التوالي. ولكن ما روك الطبول تميل إلى القيام به هو اتخاذ هذه الطبول أصغر ولحن لهم وصولاً إلى أدنى نبرة واضحة كاملة التي يمكن أن تحصل. اسطوانة أصغر مع نفس الملعب أكبر واحد له صوت مختلف لأن معظم الصخور اللاعبين يميلون إلى التمتع.

على الأرجح بالنسبة للصنوج سترغب في الصنج الرفيع إلى المتوسط الذي يبدو ساطعًا ولكن ممتلئًا. الفكرة هنا هي قطع الغيتارات وغيرها من الأدوات.

المعادن

الصوت المعدني سيكون مشابهًا لصوت الصخور في البداية ولكن هناك بعض الاختلافات الملحوظة. بما أن المعدن الحديث يسير بخطى سريعة ، فلا يوجد وقت للأصوات العالقة ، وبسبب ذلك ستحتاج إلى صوت toms الأكثر جاذبية الذي يمكنك الحصول عليه والذي لا يزال يسمح بنبرة.

ومن المفارقات لا يمكنك الحصول على بعيداً مع توم أقل سليمة من الصخور لدرجة أقل يرن بطبيعة الحال لم يعد وسوف يقف في طريق الموسيقى. (هذا السبب جزاء معدني آخر انقر فوق كافة ولا بوم). وأوصى رئيس خليط واضحة 2-طبقة سميكة لطيفة مع رأس رنانة التي لا تضيف أي الحفاظ لا لزوم لها.

الصنج سوف تجد كل من رقيقة إلى سميكة لكن عموما أكثر جفافاً من الأفضل. مع ذلك فمن الشائع أن طبعا معارضة مثل المعادن. نأخذ في الاعتبار بعض المعادن أبطأ الأنواع سيكون بالطبع توم أكبر سليمة لأن هناك المزيد من الوقت لتطوير الصوت.

موسيقى الجاز/اللاتينية توم

إذا كان موسيقى الجاز أو الموسيقى اللاتينية أكثر شيئًا ، فأنت في الواقع ستريد العكس تماماً من طبول الصخور. تميل Toms في هذا النوع لتكون أكبر ولكن ضبطها أعلى. بالإضافة إلى ذلك في كثير من الأحيان سوف تجد رؤساء المغلفة بدلا من رؤساء واضحة. يرغب لاعبا الطبول في هذا النوع من أغانيهم في الغناء ويزودونهم تقريبًا بالملاعب الرائعة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يتم تجاهل توم الأوسط دائمًا تقريبًا.

يمكن أن تتنوع الصنج لهذا النمط. في بعض الأحيان الصنج نمط الروك أكثر أين مفيدة وكذلك الصنج السبر أحياناً حقاً تناسق الغنية أكثر فائدة. وبصفة عامة ولكن حجم عادة ليست الشاغل الرئيسي لموسيقى الجاز واللاتينية الصنج. ومع ذلك أهم شيء سبر ضيق حقاً مرحبا-قبعة بغض النظر عن الملعب. وبسبب هذا بعض الطبول أما (أ) انتقاد أقدامهم أو (ب) استخدام كثيف جداً مرحبا، أغطية للرأس التي سوف سلوش لا حول لها.


الاستنتاج

الآن نأمل أن يكون لديك فكرة أفضل عن كيفية الذهاب إلى ضبط toms والخيارات المختلفة التي يمكن أن تكون لديك للصنج والرؤوس لنمط معين. ومع ذلك ، إذا كنت ترغب في رؤية فائدة ضبط الأسطوانة ، فكل ما تحتاج إليه هو ضغط بسيط لدفع الفروق الدقيقة.

ماذا تعلمنا؟ أن تحتاج إلى أن يكون فكرة جيدة للهجة التي تريدها قبل حتى المضي قدما والبدء في ضبط بعيداً. وهناك الكثير من الخيارات المتاحة لنا على الشكل والحرفية نغمة توم والصنج للنفقات العامة. قضاء بعض الوقت والتفكير حول ما هي لهجة تناسب أفضل أسلوب كنت ستطبعها للموسيقى، وإذا كان لديك الوقت لتصحيح ذلك اللهجة ثم بجميع وسائل القيام بذلك!

لكن هذا ليس سوى نصف المعركة. في المرة القادمة سوف نغطي كيفية تسجيل وخلط النفقات العامة مع الخيارات القليلة المتاحة لنا كمهندسين استوديو.

حتى المرة القادمة! شكرا للقراءة!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Drum Overhead Compendium: Toms and Cymbals

by

At last my friends we come to the final leg of our journey, the overheads! Up until now we have looked at the kick and the snare and how to best optimize recording them in a home recording environment. Today we will begin Part 1 of the overheads which will include both toms and cymbals.


Also available in this series:

  1. The Kick Drum Compendium for the Home Studio - Part 1
  2. The Kick Drum Compendium for the Home Studio - Part 2
  3. Snare Drum Compendium - Start with the Best Sound
  4. The Snare Drum Compendium - Recording and Mixing Techniques
  5. Drum Overhead Compendium: Toms and Cymbals
  6. Drum Overhead Compendium: Toms and Cymbals Part 2

From an engineer's point of a view the overheads could arguably be the most important part of the drum kit to get right. Why? Because we when in doubt it will give you the most natural (or unnatural) representation of the drum set in which you can build your drum mixes off of. Now of course it is common place to give each tom its own mic, but the principles for close micing a tom are the same as the snare hence why the toms do not get their own tutorial.

So why overheads? Most home studio enthusiasts have less than ideal room acoustics, mic selection, etc. and will need all the tricks they can get in order to get the best overhead sound possible. That is where this tutorial series comes in! In this first tutorial we will examine the toms and cymbals from an instrumental standpoint and how they function musically and acoustically so we can have a better idea of how to record them. In the next tutorial we will then take our recorded overheads and start processing them; you can't fake the perfect sound in the mix, it has to start with the drum itself.

So if you are ready to take your tom and cymbal sound to the next level, read on!


Functionally

The toms from an acoustical stand point operates much like any other drum while the cymbals are their own beast. In regards to the toms, the batter head is struck and this causes the head to resonate back and forth. As the head resonates air is moved inside the drum and this causes the opposing head to resonate as well as the rest of the drum shell; this resonance produces the tone of the drum. Finally, the fluctuating air pressure escapes from the small vent holes place in the drum.

Everyone knows that the cymbals are a large metal circle that when struck will resonate. However what some forget is that, much like a drum, depending on where you strike the cymbal will control which overtones come out of the cymbal. In addition we (usually) have a bell at the very center of the of the cymbal that when struck will give off a higher pitched almost bell like sound. Unfortunately cymbals as a whole are much harder to customize and tweak due to the fact is solid metal and not a tunable head.

Now why should we care about all of this? To start with, we need to understand what can be changed from the instruments stand point and what cannot. Sure we could switch out cymbals but that is usually reserved for studios with a budget big enough to have a lot of cymbals. The toms while usually miced only from the top are still greatly shaped by the tuning of the resonant head below. Because of these and other factors, we have to really understand how the instruments operate to compensate for our lack of proper acoustics, equipment, etc.



The Tone Controls

Like every instrument, there are natural built in tone controls that allow us to shape the sound of the instrument. A drum however is a little more unique than most other instruments. What makes drums unique is that there is usually only one or two dynamic variable present in a drum; for the toms it is how the player hits the drum and for the cymbals is is how it is hit and the stick used. Every other tone control is static and will only change from either excessive use or cheap parts.

This makes getting a solid unchanging sound much easier for drums than say a violin or voice. Let take a look at what these static tone controls are and how they affect the tone of the instruments.

  • Batter Head: Greatly influences the sound of the initial attack of the toms. Can range from thin clear heads to thick coated heads which offers a great variety of sound. It also has some weight as to what the overall pitch of the drum is but nowhere near as much as the resonant head. It also has a bearing on what overtones are present depending on its tuning and material. The overall projection of the drums attack is controlled here.

  • Resonant Head: Controls some of the drums natural tone and has a large influence on the fundamental pitch of the drum. In addition, it can greatly affect the harmonics and how much the harmonics ring.

  • Tuning Lugs: These lugs will help pitch the drum and what frequency the heads will vibrate at. The area around each lug has its own pitch that effects the overall pitch of the head. Ironically the lugs effect the opposite side of the drum more than the location of the lug.

  • Sticks: A sometimes overlooked part of the sound of a drum, and particularly cymbals, is what sticks are being used. Everything from the weight to the shape of the tip can subtly effect the tone which will add to the overall sound of instruments. While easily changeable, generally drummers do not change their sticks mid song so we can consider it a static element to the tone.

  • Dimensions: Controls the optimal range and sound of the drum. Deeper drums usually are lower in pitch as are wider ones. Of course different combinations will render different results. In addition different sizes and thickness of cymbals will also play a role in the sound of the cymbal.

  • Rivets and Chains: Some cymbals have rivets placed inside them that freely sway up and down when the cymbals is hit that cause a sizzle type of sustain on top of the tone of the cymbal itself. The chains that screw on top of the cymbal achieve the same effect.

Some of you may be asking why does this matter to me as a recording engineer? Well for starters we can get a general idea of how the overheads will sound before ever hearing it. If you know what kind of heads are present and what the size of the drum that is being used then you are well on your way to knowing how the tone will sound. If the cymbals are thin and bright you know not to put a bright mic on them as they will already be bright enough. Finally, in a best case scenario we can go and change some of these aspects to get our ideal tone; new heads, cymbals, etc. Remember, a good overhead sound starts at the drums not at the microphone!

As far as batter heads go, there are a slew of options available for toms. For jazz you will almost always find a coated strong 2-ply head that will give off a balance of attack and tone. For rock however you usually will find clear coated heads that offer a more controlled but open sound. In addition you can also have batter heads with built in dampeners such as rings and pads which will shorten how long the head resonates and give a shorter more pronounced sound with more focus on the attack. Another consideration with batter heads (and drum heads in general) is whether it is 1- or 2-ply, and how thick those plies are. A thicker ply will give a slightly darker tone as will have two plies as opposed to one. You will often see metal drummers playing with thick 2-ply heads because they give a tight controlled sound in addition to being more durable.

Resonant heads usually are usually much thinner than the batter heads and are almost always clear. Unlike with the snare you can get away with not having them on toms but generally they are still found to add sustain and tone to the toms. If your resonant head is tuned low you will get a deeper looser sound, but if however you tune your resonant head higher you will usually end up with more harmonics. Of course there are always exceptions to these rules that we will look at more later.

The tuning lugs will be the most obvious method of tone control since by adjusting the tension of the head you can change the pitch of the head drastically and the overall tone of the drum. There are many different ideals people have about how the head lugs should be tuned. The primary idea to keep in mind when tuning is how the audience will hear it. If it is being close miced then you will need to worry about how it sounds from up close. If however you plan on doing light sound reinforcement at a church without just the overhead microphones then you will probably need to reconsider how you go about tuning your heads.

When it comes to the sticks it will really come down to a to playing vs sound preference. If you want a big beefy sound you are going to want to play with heavier sticks or at least sticks with more weight in the front of the stick. If however you need a lot of control and rebound to work with then thinner sticks with an appropriate tip would be in order. Where you will really the difference in stick tips is when you play a ride cymbal. Rounded, oval, wood, plastic, and countless other variations all contribute to different sounds.

In regards to the dimensions of the instruments we come to arguably the most important aspect of the instruments. If you really want a deep sounding tom then you are going to need a large toms dimensions. If you want a high pitched rototom sound then you obviously will need those dimensions. However not all of us have a range of toms to choose, we usually only have three or four toms period! So instead we end up having to make the most out the tuning of our toms. For cymbals diameter will usually dictate pitch with large being lower (but not always) and thickness controlling the timbre. A thinner cymbal is going to sound bright and usually decay quicker where as a thicker cymbals tend to be darker and ring out a little longer. However some cymbals are so large and thick that they end up having very little (audible) sustain at all!

Finally when concerning ourselves with the rivets and chains we usually have very little control of these parameters. Some rivets can be removed from the cymbal and sizzle chains can always be added or taken away. Generally these are used to brighten up darker cymbals or add a false sustain to a drier cymbal. You need to be careful with your overheads if the cymbals have these as if you get too close to the cymbal you will end up with a seemingly never ending sustain and hiss like noise.


The Tuning Recipes

Now that we have real good grasp of the toms and cymbals as instruments we can really begin to tune them. To help you along with your tuning needs I have included a list of different formulas for particular genres that can act as a good base for your recordings. Keep in mind you will need to tailor the drums to your own needs.

Note that there are so many variables in creating a drum tone that not every possible combination of heads, tuning, sticks, etc. can be written down. Instead I will try to give you some good general places and ideas to work from. There will be a few variables I will keep constant for the audio samples as I do not own every single piece available and as a home studio engineer you probably do not either. My batter heads will be a generic clear 2-ply which have been beat pretty well. (Let's be honest a lot of drummers don't change their heads as often as they should and you need to be expecting that!) The resonant heads are a clear 1-ply, and the tom sizes are 10, 12, and 14 inches.

For the recordings I will be using a pair of Audix i5s spaced evenly above the toms facing directly down. While there are of course other techniques and obvious better mic choices, that is not the point of this particular tutorial; we will cover that in the next installment. I choose these mics and micing techniques because they are common and easily accessible by those in the home studio realm. In addition, the i5 and the SM57 are almost (note almost) the same sounding mic. Once an gain structure was established, the gain was not touched again for the rest of the tunings.

Finally before we move keep these tips from the snare tutorial in mind when tuning...

  • Make sure you tune the heads with the other one muted. Placing the tom on a towel usually will be just fine.

  • For a clean tone you need all the lugs on a head to be in tune with each other. Furthermore when you hit your stick near a lug you are actually tuning the harmonics as hitting a head by the edge produces more harmonics than striking the center.

  • To tune an offending lug you usually will need to tune either the lug exactly across from it or the lugs on either side of it.

Without further adieu, the recipes!

Rock

For a generic rock sound you are going to ideally want to use clear coated heads that are slightly on the thicker side but maybe not the thickest you can get. Also consider trying out a single ply head that has a pin stripe if you can. The goal here is to get a clear tone, balanced attack, and a medium to short sustain.

What makes rock toms interesting is typically they tend to be smaller toms around 10, 12, and 14 inches respectively. But what rock drummers tend to do is take these smaller drums and tune them down to the lowest clear full tone they can get. A smaller drum with a the same pitch as a larger one has a different sound to it that most rock players tend to enjoy.

For cymbals you will most likely want thin to medium cymbals that are bright but full sounding. The idea here is to cut through the guitars and other instruments.

Metal

A metal sound is going to be similar to a rock sound at first but there are some notable differences. Since modern metal is so fast paced there is not time for lingering sounds and because of that you will need the driest toms sound you can get that still allows for a tone.

Ironically you cannot get away with a lower tom sound than rock because a lower pitch will naturally ring longer and will get in the way of the music. (This is why most metal kicks are all click and no boom.) I recommend a nice thick clear 2-ply batter head with a resonant head that doesn't add any unnecessary sustain.

For cymbals you will find every from thin to thick but generally drier is better. However it is common to of course is in opposition to the metal ideals. Keep in mind some slower metal genres will of course have a bigger tom sound because there is more time for the sound develop.

Jazz/Latin Toms

If jazz or Latin music is more your thing then you actually will ideally want the exact opposite of the rock drums. Toms in this genre tend to be larger but tuned higher. In addition more often than not you will find coated heads as opposed to clear heads. Drummers in this genre want their toms to sing and almost provide them with truly discernible pitches. In addition the middle tom is almost always omitted.

Cymbals for this style can vary wildly. Sometimes more rock style cymbals are useful where as sometimes really harmonically rich sounding cymbals are more useful. Generally speaking however volume usually isn't the primary concern for jazz and Latin cymbals. The most important thing however is a really tight sounding hi-hat regardless of its pitch. Because of this some drummers either (A) slam their foot or (B) use very thick hi-hats that will not slosh around on them.


Conclusion

Now hopefully you have a better idea of how to go about tuning the toms and the different options you can have for cymbals and heads for a particular style. However, if you want to really see the benefit of tuning the drum right then all you need is a little compression to really push the nuances.

So what have we learned? That you need to have a good idea of tone you want before you even go ahead and start tuning away. There are a lot of options available to us to shape and craft the tone of the toms and cymbals for the overheads. Spend some time and think about what tone would best fit the style of music you are going for and if you have the time to correct that tone then by all means do it!

But this is only half the battle. Next time we will cover how to record and mix the overheads with only the few options available to us as home studio engineers.

Until next time! Thanks for reading!

Advertisement
Related Posts
  • Music & Audio
    Drums
    15 Tips for Producing Great Trance Drum Grooves15 edm drum tips preview
    Drums create the foundation of most dance music. If your productions seem to be lacking, it could be that your track is only as good as it's foundation. In this tutorial, Tuts+ author Robert Anthony shares 15 simple yet effective tips to create a solid drum track.Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    Logic Pro
    Using a Drummer Track to Control Any Plug-inUsing drummer preview image
    Drummer is a great new feature in Logic Pro X, but wouldn't it be cool if you could have your new virtual drummer play a grungy sound effect kit? Or how about go to town on an orchestral timpani set? In this tutorial, Robert Anthony will show you how to set Drummer free to play any plug-in you have.Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    Mixing & Mastering
    How To Mic A Virtual Drum KitMic
    Computers have made music production fundamentally easy. One no longer has to spend hours miking instruments for recording, for example, and simply needs only to buy the sampled sounds he or she desires. However, with this ease of use comes some unexpected complications which may not be apparent at the onset, especially when dealing with something as seemingly innocuous as a sampled drum kit.Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    Sound Design
    Make Analogue Drums Like Moonbeam and GlimpseIntro retina
    In this tutorial, I will show you how to produce a simple analogue style drum kit used in modern techno, progressive and house styles similar to artists like Glimpse and Moonbeam. The kit will contain a kick, a snare, an open hihat, a closed hihat, and a percussion sound. Most of them are based on sine waves or white noise. The synthesized sounds are not perfect recreations, but are good for starting out or build upon.Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    General
    Essential Listening: Snare DrumsEssentiallisteningpreview400
    Welcome back for another round of Essential Listening! Today we are going to continue our critical listening of drums by taking a look at famous and unique snare drum tones.Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    Audio Production
    Snare Drum Compendium - Start with the Best SoundMusic and audio
    Who can say that they do not like the crack of a snare drum with nice long pure sustain? The snare drum is by far one of the most important sounds in modern music; second only to the kick. From dubstep, to club, to hard rock, to tasteful funk, the snare drum is provides the back beat to the rhythm section. It is the perfect counter the kick and ultimately it needs to sound solid.Read More…