Unlimited royalty free music tracks, footage, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Recording
Music

خلاصة النفقات العامة طبل: توم والصنج الجزء 2

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Yanti Baddolo (you can also view the original English article)

لقد وصلنا أخيرا على امتداد الوطن رحلتنا تسجيل اسطوانة في استوديو المنزلي! اليوم سوف نبدأ 2 جزء من النفقات العامة، التي ستشمل كيفية تسجيل، مزيج، وعملية توم والصنج.

في البرنامج التعليمي السابق ناقشنا الأداء الوظيفي للصكوك سواء sonically وموسيقيا، بينما تدرس أيضا ما هي الضوابط لهجة الصكوك وما هي مخططات ضبط مختلفة سوف تعمل بشكل أفضل لمختلف الأنواع. نأمل أن يكون الآن لديك لهجة كنت تبحث عن وعلى استعداد لبدء التسجيل مع زوج من ميكروفونات النفقات العامة.

حتى إذا كنت تبحث لإكمال هذا المنزل قراءة تسجيل الرحلة ثم على!


وتتوفر أيضا في هذه السلسلة:

  1. الخلاصة طبل ركلة للاستوديو المنزلي-الجزء 1
  2. الخلاصة طبل ركلة للاستوديو المنزلي-الجزء 2
  3. خلاصة الفخ طبل-ابدأ مع أفضل صوت
  4. الخلاصة الفخ طبل-تسجيل وخلط التقنيات
  5. خلاصة النفقات العامة طبل: توم والصنج
  6. خلاصة النفقات العامة طبل: توم والصنج الجزء 2

النفقات العامة لتحديد المواقع

كما مع أي شيء تسجيل المنحى، موضع الميكروفون مفتاح. تريد ابدأ لإصلاح شيء في هذا المزيج، والهدف هنا للتأكد من أنه ليس لديك إلى.

يمكن أن يكون موضع علوية موضوع صعب اعتماداً على ما أهدافك للميكروفونات. إذا كنت تخطط لعدم استخدام أي ميكروفونات توم ثم سوف تحتاج إلى وضع النفقات العامة الخاصة بك تبعاً لذلك حيث يمكنك التقاط توم والصنج. إذا لكن تحتاج بوب حقاً مشددة أو صوت موسيقى الروك ثم موقف أن تلتقط فقط الصنج قد يكون أفضل وترك توم تقلق البلدان المتوسطة الدخل توم.

حتى مع أخذ ذلك في الاعتبار يتيح البدء لنلقي نظرة على هيئة التصنيع العسكري بعض تقنيات الموضع...

بوسيتيونينجس التالية سوف يكون استخدام i5 عوض اختيار ميكروفون. حين ابدأ أوصى i5 (وهي أساسا SM57) للخدمة العامة، فإن ميكروفون مشتركة التي سوف الكثير من الاستوديوهات المنزلية الصغيرة وسيكون بمثابة إشارة جيدة لك لمحاولة الخروج ضد بلادي العينات الصوتية. تذكر، والهدف هنا للاستماع إلى الاختلافات في مواقف هيئة التصنيع العسكري، لا الاختلافات في اختيار هيئة التصنيع العسكري!

النفقات العامة لتحديد المواقع: قياسي


عندما في شك هذا سيكون الخاص بك الانتقال إلى وضع الميكروفون للنفقات العامة. ببساطة وضع النفقات العامة أعلاه الاسطوانة أضرمت الجانبين الأيمن والأيسر من طبل والميكروفونات وتهدف مباشرة إلى أسفل. وهذا عادة ما يشار إلى تقنية متباعدة عن بعضها البعض.

عن طريق ضبط مزيج الموضع من اليسار إلى اليمين، ومرة أخرى إلى الأمام لك توم والفخ، والصنج ترضيك. أقرب مكان الميكروفونات طبل أكثر أنها سوف تعطيك صوت أكثر تركيزاً على اسطوانة خاصة، كنت تهدف وبدء ينفي الطبول الأخرى (مع افتراض الميكروفون لديك هي cardioid).

إذا كنت مع ذلك إلى أن استخدام الميكروفونات المهيمنة ثم بدلاً من ذلك سوف تحصل على أكثر من صوت الطبل وصوت الغرفة أقل عن طريق تحريك الميكروفون قريبة من عدة. بعض الناس ينتقدون هذا الأسلوب لوجود التدريجي للقضايا، التي يمكن بالتأكيد، ولكن مجرد اللعب حولها مع التباعد يمكن التخفيف من حدة هذه المشكلة.

الآخرين سوف توحي باستخدام قاعدة 3:1 ولكن مع الاسطوانة تعيين وجود مجموعة واسعة من الترددات قد يكون من الصعب العثور على نقطة انطلاق للقاعدة 3:1. إذا كنت تصر على القاعدة 3:1 ثم أوصى باستخدام في الفخ كنقطة الاتصال الخاصة بك.

ثم هنا لمتعة الاستماع الخاص بك مثال على أسلوب النفقات العامة الأساسية؛ أنا المتمركزة في النفقات العامة حيث أن ذلك الممزوجة بين الصنج وتوم نسبيا بالتساوي...

i5-"النفقات العامة القياسية"

بعض الحيل الأخرى يمكنك استخدام قرص هذا الموقف عامة هو الميل البلدان المتوسطة الدخل صوب توم ذلك لأنها لم تعد تواجه مباشرة أسفل. اعتماداً على موقعها هذا يمكن أن يساعد في تقليل صوت الفخ، أغطية للرأس، وركله إذا كنت تفضل الصوت إغلاق هيئة التصنيع العسكري لتلك الصكوك. ومع ذلك تبقى في الاعتبار الطبول معظم توم الكلمة جوارها، وسوف تبدأ لينفي توم الكلمة تماما كما لو كنت في الفخ. وإليك بعض أمثلة على ذلك، فضلا عن...


i5-"يميل النفقات العامة"

النفقات العامة لتحديد المواقع: س ص


لتغيير إعداد منطقة بيك آب حيث أنها تلتقط الجانبين من الركلة قليلاً أكثر يمكنك محاولة استخدام تهيئة س وص للنفقات العامة الخاصة بك. هذا الموضع من الواضح أنه سيهدف عبر عدة بدلاً من مباشرة في هذه المجموعة مع متباعدة وبصرف النظر مما سيؤدي إلى صوت مختلف.

ما هو جميل عن هذا الأسلوب مع ذلك كيفية معالجة التخلص التدريجي؛ يجب أن لا يكون أي التدريجي! لضمان هذا الأسلوب يعمل لك ستحتاج إلى التأكد من وضع كبسولات الميكروفون بالتساوي حيث تكون بزاوية 90 درجة.

هنا مثال على ذلك...

i5-"النفقات العامة س ص"

الافتراض النفقات العامة: متباعدة "فرونثيد"


هذا الأسلوب التالي يشار أحياناً إلى أسلوب "فرونثيد" حيث سيتم الميكروفونات أمام حشد مجموعة، لا أكثر من ذلك. يمكن القول أن هذا سوف يعطينا صورة ستيريو أصدق نظراً لأننا ابدأ الاستماع إلى اسطوانة صوتية تعيين من فوق!

إذا كنت تسعى إلى تحقيق توازن في هذه المجموعة، الخدعة لهذا الأسلوب للتأكد من أن الميكروفون لديك لا تهدف مباشرة الصنج نظراً لأنها تميل إلى أن تكون في زوايا عدة. سوف تريدها الميكروفونات في حول ارتفاع توم المستوى، ربما قليلاً أعلى أو أقل اعتماداً على التوازن، وانسحب إلى الوراء الآن ما يكفي للحصول على صورة واضحة ستيريو.

هنا مثال على ذلك...

i5-"فرونثيد متباعدة"

الافتراض النفقات العامة: "فرونثيد" س ص


إذا كنت لم تكن قد خمنت بالفعل، ينطوي هذا الأسلوب وضع زوج ستيريو XY الميكروفونات أمام طبلة تعيين بدلاً من أعلاه. لكن ما يعجبني هذا الأسلوب أن خلافا للجبهة متباعدة عن بعضها البعض، يمكن أن نحصل ضيق حقاً على عدة منذ لدينا ميكروفونات لا تحتاج إلى الكثير من المساحة في ما بين. يمكنك بطبيعة الحال سحب فرونثيد س وص إلى الوراء بعيداً عن المجموعة ولكن يضيء حقاً عن قرب.

إذا كنت تبحث عن صوت توم أكثر من هذا ثم هذا هو الأسلوب لك. ببساطة جعل زوج س وص هدف عبر مجموعة الطبل وقليلاً إلى أسفل وموقف XY أعلاه طبل ركلة الجبهة.

هنا مثال على ذلك...

i5-فرونثيد س ص

الافتراض النفقات العامة: غلين جونز


هذه التقنية اخترعها مهندس "غلين جونز" ويتطلب تدبير الشريط لضمان مرحلة الكمال. أساسا تحتاج إلى وضع ميكروفون النفقات عامة مباشرة عبر مركز ركلة دواسة وآخر بهدف مباشرة عبر عدة الطبال الجانب الأيمن. هيئة التصنيع العسكري الأعلى يجب أن يكون 40 بوصة من الدواسة وهيئة التصنيع العسكري الجانب يجب أن يكون 40 بوصة من المركز لكمين.

في حين أنه ببساطة مجرد اختلاف تقنية عامة، أنها مبادئ توجيهية محددة للغاية، الذي هو السبب في أنني أعتقد أنها تستحق مكانتها. سأكون في غاية يوصي مكثفات أو شرائط إذا كان لديك زوج متطابق لهذه المهمة واستخدام الميكروفونات الملونة أكثر إذا كان الطقم أقل من السبر كافية بمفردها.

عليك أن تكون حذراً مع الغسل في هذه الحالة، كما أننا لا نملك حقل حتى ستيريو. وأود أن اقترح الغسل الميكروفون العلوي في منتصف الطريق إلى الحق وجانب هيئة التصنيع العسكري طوال الطريق إلى اليسار؛ ضبط الذوق طبعا.

هنا مثال على ذلك...

i5-"غلين جونز"


معالجة النفقات العامة

حتى الآن بعد أن كنا قد حصلت على النفقات العامة السليمة نستطيع لظروفنا نحن ذاهبون ربما تحتاج تجهيز قليلاً. عند معالجة النفقات العامة عموما سوف يتعامل مع محتوى متناسق، الحجم والفضاء والذي كيف نحن ذاهبون إلى إلقاء نظرة على التجهيز النفقات العامة. يتيح بدء أول مع وحدة التخزين، وديناميات...

معالجة النفقات العامة: ديناميات ووحدة التخزين

هنا نجد أنفسنا مرة أخرى في الحروب ضغط. لا تكون دائماً في طليعة المعركة لأنه بصفة عامة الناس مثل الاستماع فخ حطموا النفقات العامة وركله أكثر من الصنج. لكن هناك أوقات عندما تحصل على ضغط النفقات العامة كذلك.

ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر إلى منزل تسجيل كنت حقاً بحاجة إلى أن تسأل نفسك أولاً "ينبغي أنا ضغط؟" وثانيا إذا أردت ضغط "كيف ينبغي أنا ضغط؟" المشكلة مع ضغط النفقات العامة يمكن جداً عرضه لتأثير الضخ في الصنج من البراميل الأخرى. وبينما أنا لا أستطيع أن أؤكد ما يكفي ليس لعلى ضغط النفقات العامة، إذا كنت تشعر بالحاجة ضغط النفقات العامة ثم نلقي نظرة على بعض من هذه الاقتراحات...

  • طريقة واحدة للتغلب على تأثير الضخ هو استخدام ضغط نمط نيويورك التي يمكنك تكرار الإشارة وفقط ضغط واحد، مما يتيح لك مزيج بين الاثنين. إذا كنت يحدث أن يكون ضاغط مع مقبض ميكس عليه هذا سيتيح لك أن تفعل الشيء نفسه.
  • خياراً أفضل من ضغط موازية ولكن سيكون لاستخدام multiband ضاغط حتى أن تماما فصل طبول تردد أقل من الصنج حيث أنها تكون مضغوطة بشكل منفصل. إذا كنت زوجين هذا مع ضغط متوازي يمكنك الحصول على صوت علوية أكمل لا يعاني من ضخ ملحوظ.
  • استخدام أوقات الهجوم وإطلاق سراح أبطأ في حالة استخدام ضاغط فرقة واحد. هذا سوف يساعد على تقليل تأثير الضخ إلى حد كبير. كما أوصى باستخدام مرات بطيئة لنطاقات أعلى إذا كنت تستخدم multiband ضاغط.
  • إذا كنت تحتاج إلى أكثر من الاستواء لطيف بدلاً من الصعب ضغط أو تحد ثم تأكد أنك تفعل لا تأخر على النسبة. في حين قد تبدو نسبة 2:1 بسيطة صغيرة، أنها في الواقع لا يزال مبلغ محترم جداً من الضغط. لموسيقى الجاز والموسيقى أخف وزنا وغيرها أنصح جداً إبقاء عين على النسبة إذا كنت حقاً تشعر بالحاجة ضغط.
  • كن حذراً عند اختيار الخاص بك الضاغط. وتستند بعض الإضافات إيقاف الضواغط البصرية، التي يمكن القول أنها يمكن أن تتفاعل بحوالي 5 مللي ثانية، وقد يكون لا يزال أبطأ قليلاً لطبيعة الضواغط الضوئية بينما. سأكون في غاية يوصي بصري على ضاغط على غرار VCA أو FET للنفقات العامة نظراً لأنها ستكون لطيف لآثار الضخ. ولكن إذا كنت تستخدم multiband ضاغط ثم يمكنك تفلت مرات أسرع بالهجوم وإطلاق سراح والحصول على صوت أكثر تشدداً.

هنا مثال على بعض أجمل ضغط النفقات العامة على "جون غلين" تسجيل. أولاً تستخدم ضاغط حافلة فرقة واحد مع نسبة لطيف جداً وأوقات الهجوم والإفراج، والمخلوطة عليه مع الإشارة الأصلية لخلق ضغط موازية. ثم تابعت ذلك مع multiband ضاغط مع بعض أوقات الهجوم أسرع في جميع النطاقات باستثناء الجزء العلوي. نضع في اعتبارنا ستختلف الأوقات الهجوم والإفراج عن كيفية سريعة أو بطيئة تلعب الطبول!



ثم تابعت ذلك مع multiband ضاغط مع بعض أوقات الهجوم أسرع في جميع النطاقات باستثناء الجزء العلوي. نضع في اعتبارنا ستختلف الأوقات الهجوم والإفراج عن كيفية سريعة أو بطيئة تلعب الطبول!

ضغط

معالجة النفقات العامة: محتوى متناسق

النفقات العامة في مزيج يستغرق الكثير من الفضاء إذا كنت متوازنة توم والصنج، وكل شيء بها في ميكروفونات اثنين. ولكن عادة ما تحتاج قليلاً ندفع تردد في نطاق أو اثنين حقاً جعل النفقات العامة تبرز من الخاصة بهم أو ربما جعل الصنج أو بعض اسطوانة أخرى تألق حقاً. بينما يمكنك بالطبع استخدام التعادل في بعض الأحيان كنت تبحث أيضا عن أن نوع إضافي من جل أن تحصل مع ملخص التناظرية، الشريط، إلخ. وفي هذه الحالة فإنك تحتاج بعض التشبع.

وفيما يلي بعض المبادئ التوجيهية مكافئ وبعض الأمثلة التشبع للنفقات العامة...

  • إذا كان لديك الكثير من التسرب قعقعة عالية تمرير كل شيء أقل من 100 هرتز. إذا كان يقصد النفقات العامة الخاصة بك أن تكون أساسا الصنج الميكروفونات ثم حتى الذهاب بقدر 300 هرتز.
  • لأكثر من الجسم للعب الفخ وتوم حولها في منطقة 120-300 هرتز اعتماداً على ضبط الطبول. رعاية مع ذلك أن لا تعزز الركلة إذا كنت لا تبحث عن هذا الصوت!
  • إذا كنت تحتاج أكثر أو أقل دراسة الهجوم المنطقة 2-5 كيلو هرتز. الحد من نطاق هذا سوف تعطيك صوت بدانة أكثر سلاسة بينما تعزيز هذا النطاق سوف أعطيكم توضيح أكثر.
  • إذا كنت بحاجة إلى أكثر همسة أو الهواء إلى النفقات العامة أو حاجة بعض مشرق الصنج ثم ننظر إلى تعزيز حوالي 10 كيلو وما فوق. ومن الواضح إذا كان لديك ثم الكثير مجرد تقليل هذا النطاق بدلاً من ذلك.

الآن أن لدينا هذه النطاقات علينا أن نقرر ما هو نوع من المعادل لاستخدام. لو كنت حقاً سعيدة مع الصوت الطبيعي لهذه المجموعة ثم أنصح نمط سريرية أكثر نظافة مكافئ، ربما كان هو المرحلة الخطية. إذا كان مع ذلك كنت أعتقد أنه حقاً يحتاج بعض الألوان للتستر على العيوب ثم برنامج مكافئ مثل استنساخ Pultec سيكون خياراً جيدا.

على سبيل المثال قررت رفع الجزء السفلي من ركلة قليلاً لتعطيه أكثر الجسم، المنطقة دفعة ك 3.5 التأكيد على الهجوم، وأخيراً، زيادة 10 كيلو ويصل إضافة قليلاً أكثر همسة والهواء إلى i5s. هنا هو إشارة لدينا المضغوطة دون مكافئ لمقارنة بإشارة مضغوط لدينا مع مكافئ....


ضغط

ضغط ومكافئ

تشبع متناسق دائماً تشرق على المصادر التي بالفعل تناسق كثيفة مثل النفقات العامة وتساعد على جعله حقيقة صوت موحد إذا كان الميكروفون جداً السريرية. هناك العديد من الإضافات تشبع متناسق هناك للاختيار من بينها ولكن توخي الحذر. بعض هذه الإضافات هي أساسا ثابتة فقط يكس ووافيشابيرس أنه لا صوت إرضاء كل ذلك.

إذا قمت بوضع ساتوراتور الخاصة بك قبل مكافئ سوف أعطيكم المزيد من المحتوى متناسق للعمل مع داخل مكافئ الخاص بك حيث سيتم إبراز مكافئ الخاص بك كما لو كنت وضعه بعد مكافئ أكثر قليلاً. أوصى باستخدام ساتوراتور نمط جليل غير خطية فقط يضيف التوافقيات استناداً إلى ما هو نوع المحتوى هو وضع في ذلك.

وهذا يعني أنه سيتم فقط إضافة التوافقيات بالنسبة إلى ما هو بالفعل هناك وليس مجرد إضافة نفس النوع من التوافقيات بغض النظر عن ما إذا كان من غيتار بأس أو ناي. VST مجانية جيدة جداً لهذا هو ضاغط "مجموعة متنوعة من الأصوات ثريلسيكيرلا"، الذي لديه مرحلة متناسق منفصلة. ببساطة إيقاف تشغيل الجزء الضاغط ولديك جميلة تشبع مصحوب بالحالة.

هنا مثال عن تشبع متناسق في النفقات العامة مع ضغط ومكافئ بالمقارنة مع مجرد ضغط ومكافئ....


ضغط ومكافئ

ضغط، مكافئ، التشبع الكامل

معالجة النفقات العامة: الفضاء

وأخيراً نأتي إلى مسألة الفضاء وما نوع من الغرف لدينا طبل مجموعة يجب أن يكون في. إذا كان لديك الكثير من الغرفة سليمة في النفقات العامة الخاصة بك ثم لا توجد مجموعة كبيرة يمكنك القيام به لتغيير ذلك. يمكنك بالطبع إضافة ريفيربس مختلفة و ambiences للمساعدة في تغطية الغرفة إذا لم تكن سعيدة مع ذلك ولكن فقط التي ستعمل الكثير. إذا غير النفقات العامة الخاصة بك كانت جافة دون الكثير من غرفة الصوت ثم ريفيربس المخصصة الخاصة بك و ambiences التي ستصبح الغرفة.

يمكنك تقسيم المساحة مجموعة طبل سيجلس إلى ambiences أو ريفيربس. أجواء سوف يكون تشديد أكثر تركيزاً الصوت وصمم ليبدو وكأنه نوع من الغرفة. من ناحية أخرى تردد عادة بأطول تسوس وإرادة مصممة لمحاكاة قاعة بأي شكل. هناك لا شيء من هذا القبيل كواحد من نوع معين أن يعمل بشكل أفضل لجميع الحالات، وأنها دائماً الأغنية تعتمد.

وهناك اعتبار آخر أن نأخذ في الاعتبار هي استخدام التأخير. سواء بمفردها أو بالاشتراك مع تردد أو الجو، يمكن إضافة تأخير إحساس أكبر بالفضاء أن أجواء أو تردد بمفردها قد لا قادراً على تسليم.

في غرف السبر أكبر، قد تﻻشى جزء من ما يجعل الصوت غرفة كبيرة جداً هو الوقت الذي يستغرقه للانعكاسات قبالة الجدران للعودة والتوصل إلى اذنيك بعد أن صوت الطبل بعيداً. بريديلاي في البرنامج المساعد تردد أو استخدام البرنامج المساعد تأخير منفصلة يمكن تكرار هذا لطيف.

إلقاء نظرة على هذه الوصفات التالية ونرى ما يناسب الوضع الخاص بك الأفضل...

  • لصوت غرفة ناعمة ضيق استخدام أجواء منتشر إلى حد ما (في حالة استخدام الالتواء تردد غرفة خشبية يعمل بشكل جيد) وتعيين قليل من بريديلاي؛ فقط بضع ms إذا كان ذلك. ممتازة لموسيقى البوب، فونك، إلخ.
  • إذا كنت تحتاج ضيق لكن استخدام مزيد من الغرف السبر يعيش أجواء أن يتطابق غرفة ملموسة. عموما هذه هي أقل انتشارية ولديها المزيد من المحتويات الراقية من الغرفة الخشبية. يمكن لهذا العمل الممتاز للبراميل المعدنية التي يتم لا يتقد سريع.
  • لصوت أكبر ولكن لا يزال فسيح واستخدام الأساليب المذكورة أعلاه ولكن إضافة القليل فقط من التأخير قبل البرنامج المساعد أجواء. وهذا سيجعل الصوت غرفة كبيرة لكن لا قاعة الحجم. يمكن أن يعمل هذا الإعداد جيدا إذا كنت تحاول الحصول على صوت في مكان ما بين استوديو والمسرح صغيرة.
  • إذا كنت بحاجة إلى وسادة لينة مثل تردد في الخلفية ثم إضافة لطيفة تردد طويل منتشر، لا أطول من ثانية واحدة أو اثنتين منذ وقت طويل. بعد إسقاطها في وحدة التخزين حيث تمزج في الأرض مرة أخرى؛ جيدة لأغنيات البوب الحديثة التي لا تزال تحتاج إلى اسطوانة جافة إلى حد ما الصوت.
  • عندما كنت في حاجة تردد لأغنية روك ثم إضافة تردد الذيل كبيرة لطيفة وضبط محتوى الحد الأعلى لجعلها سليمة أما أكثر مثل الخشب أو مثل الحجر (أقل ارتفاع المحتوى مقابل المزيد من المحتوى عالية). كما يجب التأكد من ضبط نشر بين منتشر جداً ومنتشر بالكاد لجعله الصوت أما الخشب أكثر أو أكثر الحجر.
  • وأخيراً لصوت استاد كبير سوف تحتاج تردد منتشر منذ فترة طويلة إلى حد ما مع قليلاً لائق من التأخر قبل اليد للنسخ المتماثل حجم ملعب أو ساحة.

المبدأ التوجيهي الأخير واحد أن نأخذ في الاعتبار هو مسألة تراكم نهاية السفلي. مع ريفيربس أكبر أطول عليك أن تكون حذراً كم نهاية أسفل يمكنك السماح حزام خارج كما يمكن الحصول عليه بسرعة جداً الموحلة. إذا كنت تجد هو الحصول على تردد الموحلة جداً ثم استخدام التعادل على تردد المسار لتحقيق أسفل هرتز 150 وأسفل النطاق.

هنا مثال على بعض تردد النمط أجواء الغرفة على النفقات العامة طبل...


ضغط، مكافئ، التشبع الكامل

ضغط، مكافئ، التشبع الكامل، أجواء


الاستنتاج

ماذا تعلمنا؟ أن تحتاج إلى أن يكون طبل حسن تعيين الصوت قبل أن يمكنك حقاً الحصول على أقصى استفادة من تنسيب هيئة التصنيع العسكري والمعالجة الخاصة بك. ومع ذلك لا يزال هناك الكثير من التقنيات المتاحة للحصول على طبل لائق مجموعة السليمة في إعداد الصفحة الرئيسية بغض النظر عن الوضع الخاص بك.

قضاء بعض الوقت، والتفكير في ما تجهيز وتسجيل تقنيات تناسب أفضل نمط الموسيقى التي كنت ستطبعها ل. فوق كل شيء آخر تأكد من يمكنك إصلاح المشاكل الخاصة بك قبل أن تصل من أي وقت مضى السجل إذا كان ذلك ممكناً على الإطلاق!

شكرا لقراءة وتسجيل سعيدة!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Drum Overhead Compendium: Toms and Cymbals Part 2

by

Finally we have arrived at the home stretch of our drum recording journey in a home studio! Today we will begin Part 2 of the overheads, which will include how to record, mix, and process both toms and cymbals.

In the previous tutorial we discussed the functionality of the instruments both sonically and musically, while also examining what controls the tone of the instruments and what different tuning schemes would work best for different genres. Hopefully now you have the tone you are looking for and are ready to begin recording with a pair of overhead microphones.

So if you are looking to complete this home recording journey then read on!


Also available in this series:

  1. The Kick Drum Compendium for the Home Studio - Part 1
  2. The Kick Drum Compendium for the Home Studio - Part 2
  3. Snare Drum Compendium - Start with the Best Sound
  4. The Snare Drum Compendium - Recording and Mixing Techniques
  5. Drum Overhead Compendium: Toms and Cymbals
  6. Drum Overhead Compendium: Toms and Cymbals Part 2

Overhead Positioning

As with anything recording oriented, microphone placement is key. You never want to fix something in the mix and the goal here is to make sure you do not have to.

Overhead placement can be a tricky subject depending on what your goals are for the microphones. If you are planning on not using any tom mics then you will need to place your overheads accordingly so you pick up both the toms and the cymbals. If however you need a really tight pop or rock sound then a position that picks up only the cymbals may be better and let the tom mics worry about the toms.

So with that in mind lets begin to take a look at some mic placement techniques...

For the following positionings I will be using the Audix i5 for the microphone selection. While I would never recommend the i5 (which is essentially a SM57) for overhead duty, it is a common microphone that a lot of small home studios will have and would act as a good reference for you to try out against my audio samples. Remember, the goal here is to hear the differences in the mic positions, not the differences in mic selection!

Overhead Positioning: Standard


When in doubt this will be your go to microphone placement for overheads. Simply place the overheads above the drum set on the left and right sides of the drum kit and aim the microphones directly down. This is usually referred to as the spaced apart technique.

By adjusting the positioning from left to right and back to front you can blend the toms, snare, and cymbals to your liking. The closer you place microphones to the drum kit the more they will give you a more focused sound on the particular drum you are aiming at and start to negate the other drums (assuming your microphones are cardioid).

If however you happen to be using omni microphones then instead you will get more drum sound and less room sound by moving the microphones close to the kit. Some people criticize this technique for having phasing issues, which it most certainly can, but simply playing around with the spacing can alleviate this problem.

Others will suggest using the 3:1 rule but with the drum set having such a wide array of frequencies it can be difficult to find a starting point for the 3:1 rule. If you do insist on the 3:1 rule then I recommend using the snare as your focal point.

Here then for your listening pleasure is an example of the basic overhead technique; I positioned the overheads so that it blended between the cymbals and the toms relatively evenly...

i5 - Standard Overhead

Some other tricks you can use to tweak this overhead position is to tilt the mics towards the toms so that they are no longer facing directly down. Depending on their location this can help minimize the sound of the snare, hats, and kick if you prefer the close mic sound of those instruments. However keep in mind most drummers have their floor tom next to them and you will start to negate the floor tom just as you would the snare. Here is an some example of this as well...


i5 - Tilted Overhead

Overhead Positioning: The XY


To change up the pickup area so it picks up the sides of the kick a little more you can try using an XY configuration for your overheads. This positioning will obviously aim across the kit as opposed to straight on the kit with the spaced apart which will lead to a different sound.

What is nice about this technique however is how it handles phasing; you shouldn't have any phasing! To ensure this technique works you will need to make sure you position the microphone capsules evenly so they are at a 90-degree angle.

Here is an example...

i5 - XY Overhead

Overhead Positing: "Fronthead" Spaced


This next technique is sometimes referred to as a "fronthead" technique since the microphones will in front of the drum set, not over it. Arguably this would give us a truer stereo image since we never listen to an acoustic drum set from above!

If you are trying to achieve a balance of the kit, the trick for this technique is to make sure your microphones are not aimed directly at the cymbals since they tend to be in the corners of the kit. You will want the microphones at about tom height level, maybe a little higher or lower depending on balance, and pulled back far enough to get a clear stereo image.

Here is an example...

i5 - Fronthead Spaced

Overhead Positing: "Fronthead" XY


If you haven't already guessed, this technique involved putting a stereo pair of XY microphones in front of the drum set as opposed to above. However what I like about this technique is that unlike the front spaced apart, we can get in really tight on the kit since our mics do not need a lot of space in between. You can of course pull the fronthead XY back away from the kit but it really shines up close.

If you are looking for a more present tom sound then this is the technique for you. Simply make an XY pair aimed across the drum set and slightly down and position the XY above the front kick drum.

Here is an example...

i5 - Fronthead XY

Overhead Positing: Glyn Johns


This technique was invented by engineer Glyn Johns and requires a tape measure to ensure perfect phase. Essentially you need to place an overhead microphone directly over the center of the kick pedal and another aimed directly across the kit at the drummer's right side. The top mic needs to be 40 inches from the pedal and the side mic needs to be 40 inches from the center of the snare.

While it simply is just a variation of the overhead technique, it has very specific guidelines, which is why I believe it deserves its own place. I would highly recommend condensers or ribbons if you have a matched pair for this job and use more colored microphones if the kit is less than adequate sounding on its own.

You do need to be careful with the panning in this situation, as we do not have an even stereo field. I would suggest panning the top microphone halfway to the right and the side mic all the way to the left; adjust to taste of course.

Here is an example...

i5 - Glyn Johns


Processing the Overheads

So now that we have gotten the overhead sound we can for our circumstances we are probably going to need a little processing. When processing overheads you generally are going to contend with harmonic content, volume, space and that is how we are going to look at processing a the overheads. Lets first start with volume and dynamics...

Processing the Overheads: Dynamics and Volume

Here we find ourselves back at the compression wars. The overheads are not always at the forefront of the battle because generally speaking people like hearing a smashed snare and kick more than cymbals. However there are times when the overheads get compressed as well.

But when it comes to home recording you really need to ask yourself first "Should I compress?" and secondly if you decide to compress "How should I compress?" The problem with compressing overheads is you can be very prone to the pumping effect in the cymbals from the other drums. While I can't stress enough not to over compress the overheads, if you do feel the need to compress the overheads then take a look at some of these suggestions...

  • One way around the pumping effect is to use New York style compression in which you duplicate the signal and only compress one, thus allowing you to blend between the two. If you happen to have a compressor with a mix knob on it this will allow you to do the same thing.

  • An even better option than parallel compression however would be to use a multiband compressor so that you completely separate the lower frequency drums from the cymbals so they are compressed separately. If you couple this with parallel compression you can get a fuller overhead sound that doesn't suffer from noticeable pumping.

  • Use slower attack and release times if using a single band compressor. This will help minimize the pumping effect substantially. I also recommend using slow times for the higher bands if you are using a multiband compressor.

  • If you need more gentle leveling as opposed to hard compressing or limiting then make sure you do not overdue it on the ratio. While a simple 2:1 ratio might seem small, it is in fact still a pretty decent amount of compression. For jazz and other lighter music I would highly recommend keeping an eye on the ratio if you really feel the need to compress.

  • Be careful when choosing your compressor. Some plugins are based off optical compressors, which while may say they can react around 5 ms, may still be a little slower to the nature of optical compressors. I would highly recommend a optical over VCA or FET style compressor for overheads since they will be gentle to the pumping effects. However if you are using a multiband compressor then you can get away with quicker attack and release times and get a tighter sound.

Here is an example of some nicer overhead compression on the Glyn Johns recording. First I used a single band bus compressor with a very gentle ratio and attack and release times and blended it with the original signal to create parallel compression. Then I followed it up with a multiband compressor with some quicker attack times in all the bands except for the top. Keep in mind the attack and release times will vary depending on how quick or slow the drums are playing!



Original

Compression

Processing the Overheads: Harmonic Content

The overheads in a mix can take up a lot of space if you balanced the toms, cymbals, and everything else out in the two mics. However we usually need a little push a in frequency range or two to really make the overheads stand out on their own or perhaps to make the cymbals or some other drum really shine. While you can of course use an equalizer sometimes you are also looking for that extra sort of gel that you get with analog summing, tape, etc. In that case then you need some saturation.

Here are some EQ guidelines and some saturation examples for the overheads...

  • If you have too much rumble leakage high pass everything below 100 Hz. If your overheads were intended to be mainly cymbal microphones then even go as far as 300 Hz.

  • For more body to the snare and toms play around in the 120-300 Hz region depending on the tuning of the drums. Do take care however that you do not boost the kick if you are not looking for that sound!

  • If you need more or less attack examine the 2-5 kHz region. Reducing this range will give you a smoother fatter sound while boosting this range will give you more articulation.

  • If you need more sizzle or air to the overheads or need some bright cymbals then look at boosting around 10k and up. Obviously if you have too much then just reduce this range instead.

Now that we have these ranges we need to decide what kind of equalizer to use. If you were really happy with the natural sound of the kit then I would recommend a cleaner more clinical style EQ, probably one that is linear phase. If however you think it really needs some color to cover up its blemishes then a program EQ like a Pultec clone would be a good choice.

For this example I decided to boost the lower portion of the kick slightly to give it more body, boost the 3.5k region to emphasize the attack and finally, boost the 10k and up to add a little more sizzle and air to the i5s. Here is our compressed signal without EQ to compare to our compressed signal with EQ...


Compression

Compression and EQ

Harmonic saturation always shines on sources that are already harmonically dense like overheads and really helps make it sound uniform if the microphones were too clinical. There are many harmonic saturation plugins out there to choose from but to be careful. Some of these plugins are essentially just static EQs and waveshapers that don't sound all that pleasing.

If you place your saturator before the EQ it will give you more harmonic content to work with inside your EQ where as if you place it after the EQ you will accentuate your EQ a little more. I highly recommend using a non-linear stateful style saturator that only adds harmonics based on what kind of content is put in it.

What this means is it will only add harmonics relative to what is already there and not just add the same kind of harmonics regardless of whether it is a bass guitar or a flute. A very good free VST for this is Variety of Sounds ThrillseekerLA compressor, which has a separate harmonic stage. Simply turn off the compressor portion and you have beautiful stateful saturation.

Here is an example of the harmonic saturation on the overheads with compression and EQ in comparison to just compression and EQ...


Compression and EQ

Compression, EQ, Full Saturation

Processing the Overheads: Space

Finally we come to issue of space and what kind of room our drum set should be in. If you have a lot of room sound in your overheads then there is not a whole lot you can do to change that. You can of course add different reverbs and ambiences to help cover up the room if you are not thrilled with it but that will only work so much. If however your overheads were dry without a lot of room sound then your custom reverbs and ambiences will become the room.

You can divide the space the drum set will sit in into either ambiences or reverbs. An ambience is going have a tighter more focused sound and is designed to sound like a type of room. A reverb on the other hand usually has a longer decay and will designed to emulate a hall in some form. There is no such thing as one particular type that works best for all situations, it is always song dependent.

Another consideration to keep in mind are the use of delay. Whether on its own or in conjunction with a reverb or ambience, a delay can add a greater sense of space that the ambience or reverb on its own may not be able to deliver.

In larger sounding rooms, part of what makes the room sound so large is the time it takes for the reflections off the walls to come back and reach your ears after the sound of the drum has faded away. A predelay in the reverb plugin or using a separate delay plugin can replicate this nicely.

Have a look at these following recipes and see what fits your situation the best...

  • For a tight smooth room sound use a fairly diffuse ambience (if using a convolution reverb a wood room works well) and set a tiny bit of predelay; only a few ms if that. Excellent for pop rock, funk, etc.

  • If you need a tight but more live sounding room use a ambience that replicates a concrete room. These generally are less diffusive and have more high-end content than the wood room. This can work excellent for metal drums that are not blazing fast.
  • For a bigger but still roomy sound use the above techniques but add just a tiny bit of delay before the ambience plugin. This will make the room sound large but not hall sized. This setup can work well if you trying to get a sound somewhere between a studio and a small stage.

  • If you need a soft pad like reverb in the background then add a nice long diffuse reverb, no longer than a second or two long. Next bring it down in volume so it blends into the back ground; good for modern pop ballads which still need a fairly dry drum sound.

  • When you need a reverb for a rock ballad then add a nice large tailed reverb and adjust the top end content to make it sound either more like wood or like stone (less high content vs more high content). Also be sure to adjust the diffusion between highly diffuse and barely diffuse to make it sound either more wood or more stone.

  • Finally for a big stadium sound you will need a long fairly diffuse reverb with a decent bit of delay before hand to replicate the sheer size of a stadium or arena.

One last guideline to keep in mind is the issue of bottom end buildup. With the longer bigger reverbs you need to be careful how much bottom end you let ring out as it can quickly get very muddy. If you find the reverb is getting too muddy then use an equalizer on the reverb track to bring down the 150 Hz and below range.

Here is an example of some room ambience style reverb on the drum overheads...


Compression, EQ, Full Saturation

Compression, EQ, Full Saturation, Ambience


Conclusion

So what have we learned? That you need to have a good drum set sound before you can really get the most out of your mic placement and processing. However there are still plenty of techniques available to get a decent drum set sound in a home setup regardless of your situation.

Spend some time and think about what processing and recording techniques would best fit the style of music you are going for. Above everything else make sure you fix your problems before you ever hit record if at all possible!

Thanks for reading and happy recording!

Advertisement