Unlimited royalty free music tracks, footage, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production

كيف تجعل مساراتك أكثر إثارة للاهتمام

by
Read Time:14 minsLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Abdul Mutholib (you can also view the original English article)

كنت فنان فريد من نوعه مع ترغب في التعبير عن الأفكار والموسيقى التي لديك لتقاسم. فكيف يمكنك التأكد من أن كنت حفظ المسارات الخاصة بك مثيرة للاهتمام وممتعة للحضور للاستماع إلى؟

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي سوف نبحث في بعض الأشياء الأكثر شيوعاً التي تهمل الناس أن تبقى مثيرة للاهتمام، مما تسبب في مساراتها ليشعر هامدة ومملة، وكيف يمكن أن تبقى الأمور حيوية ومثيرة للاهتمام على الإبقاء على انتباه الجمهور لدينا.

  1. تبدأ مع بانج
  2. تجنب استخدام الحلقات
  3. إذا كنت تنوي استخدام الحلقات على أي حال
  4. تنظيف المزيج الخاص بك
  5. جمل متفاوتة
  6. التوقيعات الوقت غير المألوف
  7. سيادة ثلاث
  8. العيب
  9. كن فريدًا ، لكن ليس فريدًا من نوعه

تبدأ مع إثارة ضجة

ونحن جميعا نعرف أن الانطباعات الأولى كل شيء، والقاعدة تنطبق على الموسيقى بقدر أي شيء آخر. لحظات فتح المسار الخاص بك يمكن جذب انتباه المستمع الخاص بك والحصول عليها متحمس للحفاظ على الاستماع أو جعلها غير راضية تماما ويقتنونها، ولذلك من الأهمية بمكان أن أول شيء يسمع جمهورك مقنعة.

كتاب الأغاني سيبدأ أغانيهم غالباً عن طريق الخطأ عن طريق اللعب أية، أو فتح الحانات 8 الآية، مع لا الرصاص صوتي أو مفيدة. في حين أن أفهم هذا "يقدم" فيبي الأغنية، الاستماع إلى بعض الحبال ستروميد على الغيتار مملة جداً. إذا كنت تريد الذهاب إلى بدء تشغيل الأغنية الخاصة بك إينسترومينتالي، استخدام نمط إيقاعي مثيرة أو هوك لحني. لم يكن لديك حتى لاستخدام المواد التي توجد في أماكن أخرى في الأغنية الخاصة بك.

كن فريدًا ، لكن ليس فريدًا للغاية. البيتلز هم أساتذة في مقدمات جذابة (مثل كل ما أفترضه).كن فريدًا ، لكن ليس فريدًا للغاية. البيتلز هم أساتذة في مقدمات جذابة (مثل كل ما أفترضه). النظر في بداية مثيرة للاهتمام لأغنية "أنا فقط رأيت الوجه" الذي يبدأ مع نمط الغيتار 12/8 مشغول. أنها مقنعة وليس له أي علاقة بالأغنية الفعلية، وأنه يعمل. أمثلة أخرى: بدءاً التنافر ولكن الحبل مثيرة أو ضرب وثم الغوص الحق في الأغنية مثل "ليلة الأيام الصعبة" أو "الزجاج البصل"؛ يبدأ فورا مع جوقة صوتي مثل "أنها يحب أنت"، "رجل في أي مكان"، "إليانور ريجبي"، "تعليمات"، أو "مرحبا وداعا"؛ بدءاً بربط مفيدة فريدة من نوعها مثل "تذكرة لركوب" أو "المتنزه اليوم" أو "محرك سيارتي".

النظر في هذين المثلين، حيث يبدأ كل مسار ازدهار سريع. بداية الأغنية مثيرة فورا ويعطي لك الشعور الذي تريد الحفاظ على الاستماع.



تجنب استخدام الحلقات

واحدة من أسهل الطرق لتحمل شخص هو إيجاد حلقة طبل تظن بارد وكرر أنه nauseum الإعلانية. قد يكون متعة الاستماع إلى مرتين عن طريق، ولكن إذا لم يتغير شيء لن تستغرق وقتاً طويلاً لعقولنا للبدء يهيمون على وجوههم، وتوقفت عن الاهتمام إلى الموسيقى الخاصة بك.

جانب سلبي آخر الحلقات التجارية أنها يمكن أن تصبح بسرعة المعيار ومبتذلة. حتى إذا كان المستمع لا يستطيع أن يقول بالتأكيد أين سمعوا ، إذا كان قد تم استخدام الحلقة من قبل شخص آخر فسوف يدركون أنه مألوف. يحتفظ به يدق مخصصة وأصوات الموسيقى الخاصة بك فريد الخاصة به.

إذا كنت قراءة هذا البرنامج التعليمي، الفرص جيدة جداً أن تعرف كيف فاز طبل أساسي يعمل. إذا بدلاً من مباشرة ابحث عن الحلقات بدلاً من تحميل أو إنشاء مجموعة طبل سوف تضطر للبدء في التفكير بشكل خلاق أكثر. سيكون عليك أن تفكر بالفعل في النمط الذي تقوم بإنشائه ، بدلاً من الاعتماد على شخص آخر للقيام بذلك نيابة عنك.

في هذا المثال، اعتدت مجموعة مواد إلكترونية 8 بت مع الكثير من الأصوات فريدة من نوعها ومتعة. تتنوع النتائج الناتجة وحيوية ، وليس شيء يمكن أن أكون قد خرجت إذا بحثت فقط من خلال المجلدات لحلقة.

السبب الهام القادم لبناء الخاصة بك يدق هو أنه من السهل جداً تخصيص وتغيير حولهم. بعض التغييرات الطفيفة حتى مثل ضرب الصنج تحول أو نمط متنوع بأس طبل سيجعل الخاص بك فاز الكثير أكثر حيوية في جميع أنحاء الخاصة بك الأغنية مما يدق 4 نفسه مرارا وتكرارا وأكثر. إلقاء نظرة على MIDI لهذا حلقة خاصة:


الأشياء الوحيدة التي هي نفسها تماما في جميع أنحاء هي hi-hat موقوتة (الملاحظات البرتقالية على G3 و G # 3) والضجيج 8 بت على آخر فوز (الملاحظات الصفراء على G # 0).

كل شيء حول تلك العناصر في تغير مستمر في الطرق الصغيرة (ركلة والفخ الذي يبقى أخدود متسقة إلى حد ما) أو طرق كبيرة (المؤثرات الصوتية ويضرب غريب أن التوابل الأمور).

بوجود عنصر التحكم لأسفل إلى ملاحظة كل عنصر في المجموعة، فإننا كنت أجبر على التفكير في طرق للحفاظ على نمط أكثر إثارة للاهتمام وهو شيء جيد لقوة لنا الفوز. كما أنها أسهل بكثير لإجراء تغييرات، ونحن فقط تحويل ميدي الملاحظات حول وليس لديها في محاولة للتعامل مع الربط يصل الصوت.


إذا كنت ذاهب إلى استخدام الحل على أي حال

وعلى الرغم من نصيحة تجنب استخدام الحلقات، دعونا نكون صادقين تماما: الحلقات مفيدة. وأنهم حتى نوع من المرح. رمي إلى أسفل حلقة جيدة يمكن أن يكون منقذا لوقت كبير وأيضا نقطة انطلاق خلاقة لأفكار أخرى. ولكن إذا نحن ذاهبون إلى كسر ولا يزال استخدام الحلقات مرة واحدة في حين بدلاً من خلق يدق الخاصة بنا، أقل ما يمكن أن نفعله هو وضع القليل من الجهد إضافية لجعلها جيدة.

لقد قمت بالفعل بتغطية كيفية إضفاء الحيوية على الحلقات عن طريق أتمتة EQ في برنامج تعليمي آخر ، لذلك ما سنقوم به الآن هو التركيز بشكل أكبر على الضربات الفعلية في الحلقات نفسها بدلاً من الصفع تأثيرًا على المسار بالكامل. على الرغم من إمكانية تحقيق نفس النتائج من خلال تقطيع الصوت ، فسيكون هذا أسهل كثيرًا إذا كنت تستخدم شيئًا مثل ملفات Stylus RMX أو REX التي أدت بالفعل إلى تقسيم دقات الحلقات إلى ملاحظات MIDI الفردية.

أبسط شيء يمكننا القيام به هو العمل مع حلقة واحدة. هنا هو حلقة وواضحة جداً:

فقط من خلال النظر في ميدي يمكن أن نرى أنها جداً بل ومتكررة.


دعونا نجعل هذا أكثر إثارة للاهتمام بإعادة ترتيب تلاحظ ميدي لإنشاء تعبئات. سأفعل ذلك من خلال التعرف أولاً على ملاحظات MIDI التي تشكل الأصوات المهمة أو المثيرة للاهتمام في الحلقة ، وذلك باستخدام ضربات قوية مثل الركلات والفخاخ للإيقاعات والقفزات الصغيرة مثل hi hats هي تشققات للحشو.

كل ما أحاط تسير حول بعض الملاحظات ولكن الآن لدينا حلقة طبل تنوعاً وحيوية.


هناك طريقة أخرى لاستخدام حلقات أكثر من المثير للاهتمام هو تختلف باستمرار ومزيج الحلقات المختلفة. هذه الأغنية تم إنشاؤه باستخدام 7 حلقات طبل وقرع مختلفة:

هنا صورة من الحلقات المستخدمة في التسلسل:


كل مسار هو حلقة مختلفة ولون كل اختلاف. لاحظ أن الكثير من المناطق نفسها الحفاظ على العودة، ولكن الفكرة هنا أن تبقى الأمور تختلف باستمرار. يمكنك استخدام مجموعة صغيرة من المواد لإعطاء تماسك الأغنية الخاصة بك، ولكن استمرار تغييرها حتى تبقى المستمع على أصابع قدميه.

إليك الأغنية الكاملة التي تستخدم هذه الحلقات ، والتي تم إنشاؤها بالكامل أيضًا من حلقات الجهير والغيتار والنحاس مع نفس المفهوم:


تنظيف المزيج الخاص بك

واحدة من أكبر الأخطاء أسمع الناس إجراء جعل أعمالهم يمزج مشغول جداً. في حين قد يعتقدون أنهم كنت تحقيق الامتلاء، ما كانت هي حقاً تنتهي مع فوضى. إذا كنت قد حصلت على الطبول، وباس، والغيتار الصوتية، يلعب يؤدي الغيتار والبيانو اللعب الحبال والتعبئة ومغنية ومطربين خلفية جميع معا وفي الوقت نفسه كيف في العالم أنا من المفترض أن يعرف ما للاستماع إلى؟ لا يعني مجرد كنت قد حصلت عليه يجب استخدامه.

إذا كان لديك بيانو وغيتار، واحدة من أسهل الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها لإنشاء تباين يكون لهم بالتناوب. على سبيل المثال، يكون عازف الجيتار تلعب الآية الأولى والعزف على البيانو الثاني. أو منحهم كل دالة مختلفة، مثل وجود الغيتار اللعب الحبال وتلعب البيانو فقط ولغ ويملأ بين السطور صوتي. وفي كلتا الحالتين، وجود كلا الصكين لعب فوق بعضها البعض سوف يسبب الكثير من الضرر إلى المزيج الخاص بك.

تحقق من هذا المثال ، الذي قمت بإنشائه بالكامل من بعض الحلقات التي تأتي مع المنطق.

يلعب "الآية" من خلال ثلاث مرات، ولكن في كل مرة مع زوج آخر من الصكوك. بينما الطبول وباس البقاء نفس لحن كامل، تتميز الآيات كمان والغيتار الكهربائي والغيتار بانجو والصوتية، أو دواسة الصلب والغيتار الصوتية. إذا كانت جميع كمان، كهربائية، الصوتية، بانجو، والصلب دواسة تحاول أن تلعب في نفس الآية فإنه سيكون ضربا من الجنون فوضوي. يتباعد لهم وإعطاء كل لاعب دورهم لتلميع المستمع يمكن أن تركز على هذا الصك في هذه اللحظة ولا يضطر إلى محاولة سميع غربلة الفوضى.

ناي منفرداً أو مزمار منفرداً يمكن أن الصوت الجميل وغنائية، ولكن بمجرد أن يكون لديك لهم اللعب معا في انسجام تفقد الطابع الفريد ولون كل منها. على الرغم من أن يمكنك إنشاء العديد من الأصوات مثيرة للاهتمام وفعالة عن طريق استخدام تركيبات مختلفة من الصك، إلا أنها عادة ما تكون أبسط الطرق التي سوف تسفر عن نتائج أفضل والتواصل أفكارك بطريقة أوضح.


عبارات متفاوتة

شيء مثير للاهتمام عندما يختبر توقعاتنا. بعد سنوات من الاستماع إلى الموسيقى ، أصبحنا جميعًا معتادين على العديد من الاتفاقيات ، والمثال الأساسي على ذلك هو عبارات 2 أو 4 أو 8 أشرطة. عن طريق اللعب مع طول لدينا العبارات يمكننا جعل الأمور أكثر إثارة للاهتمام والخروج من القواسم المشتركة.

في هذا المثال يلعب القسم ألف قطعة معظمها في شريط ثلاث عبارات:

كان يمكن للقطعة أن تكتظ ببار إضافي للحصول على جملة أربع بار لطيفة ، لكن ذلك كان طويلاً وغير ضروري. باختصار العبارة بقضيب من أسرة علينا إبقاء قطعة تتحرك ورمي قليلاً قبالة توقعات المستمع. رمي لنا لحلقة أخرى، لا تتوقف العبارة الثالثة في ثلاثة أشرطة لكن يبقى على الذهاب ل 5 قبل بدء المقطع A عبر مرة أخرى. وبالمثل، العبارة العبارة الأخيرة من الثاني مقطع قص شريط 3 أشرطة قصيرة إلى 2 فقط، مما تسبب في المقطع ب أن تصل بشكل غير متوقع.

للمقارنة، والاستماع إلى هذا المثال حيث قد تم ملقاة العبارات تضمين ذلك شريط الرابع. أنا لا أعرف عنك، ولكن يجعلني جميلة الصبر.

من الأمور الهامة التي يجب ملاحظتها في النسخة الأصلية أنه على الرغم من أن العبارات عبارة عن أطوال غير معتادة ، فإن القطعة لا تزال تحتوي على عنصر تدفق. نحن لا نستخدم أطوال الغريب جرة المستمع أو التخلص منها تماما الحرس، ولكن ببساطة لجعلها أكثر إثارة للاهتمام للاستماع إلى القطعة. هو نوع تقنية خفية أن ابدأ أن إشعار غير موسيقياً، وإننا لا نريد حقاً لهم.


التوقيعات الغير شائعة

غالبية الموسيقى الغربية في 4/4 ، مع المسار العرضي في 3/4 ، 12/8 أو 6/8. استخدام توقيت مشترك توقيع أقل مثل 5/4 أو 7/8 ويمكن إضافة لمسة فريدة من نوعها للأغنية الخاصة بك، ولكن فقط إذا كان يتم ذلك فعلياً.

يمكن استخدام التوقيعات الوقت الغريب لرمي الناس من الدخول في أخدود مريحة. زيبلين سوف تستخدم هذه التقنية غالباً. النظر في الأغنية "المحيطات"، التي كنت التمايل راسك على طول للاخدود عندما فجأة شريط ثلاثة كنت أدرك غرة.

بلدي استخدام المفضلة لديك الوقت كل الوقت غريبا في موسيقى البوب هو "سولسبوري هيل بيتر غابرييل". تتناوب الأغنية بين 4/4 و 3/4 (يمكنك أن تعتبرها 7/4) ولكن يتم ذلك بطريقة سلسة بحيث لا تلاحظ أي شيء غريب إذا كنت لا تولي اهتماما. أنه يحقق النعومة عن طريق الحفاظ على طبل بأس ثابتة جداً على كل ملاحظة الربع ونمط شاكر متسقة. هو ابدأ توقف الاخدود حيث لا يوجد ابدأ سببا لأشعر بأن الوقت غير عادية، ولكن الصيغة فقط الغريب ما يكفي أنه يمكننا أن نشعر بأن ما يحدث شيء مختلف. لوبينج قبالة تلك المذكرة الفصل الثامن كما تبقى الأغنية باستمرار دفع إلى الأمام.


حكم الثلاثة

لقد كتبت بالفعل تعليمي حول كيفية استخدام The Three of Three and Music. ويقول المفهوم أساسا أنه إذا كنت لقد تكررت شيئا بالضبط نفس مرة واحدة، حان الوقت للمضي قدما. تحقق من البرنامج التعليمي الأصلي لإلقاء نظرة أكثر تعمقاً.


نقص

مباركة ولعنة التكنولوجيا الموسيقى اليوم أن نتمكن من تحقيق القرب من "الكمال" مع الموسيقى. إيقاعات يمكن دقيقة لا إنسانية والملاعب يمكن أن نحيد ابدأ عن تردد رياضية مثالية، ولدينا خلطات يمكن الاستجابة إلى أسفل لأتمتة ميلي ثانية. في حين أن كل هذه الأمور يمكن أن تكون مفيدة، من السهل جداً في نهاية المطاف مع مسار الذي يبدو بلا حراك وبلا قلب. إحدى الطرق لتحقيق العودة التي تعمل باللمس "الإنسان" بإدراج مثيلات الصغيرة من العيب.

تحقق من الدقيقة الأولى من هذه القطعة:

وإلى جانب العزف على البيانو، لا يوجد شيء يحدث لكن وسادة طويلة عقد الملاعب نفسها طوال الوقت. كان لدى اللجنة الرباعية سلسلة اللعب الملاعب نفس جداً بهدوء أسفل لوحة المفاتيح. وأضاف التقلبات الطبيعية في الركوع، ضبط وصدى للسلاسل مسحه من عدم إمكانية التنبؤ بأنه كان من المستحيل تحقيق ببساطة ضغط إصبعي على لوحة المفاتيح. بينما لدى يمكن بسهولة جداً امتدت MIDI الخروج عبر طول إدخال وتركها في ذلك، أن يترك لنا مع صوت مملة وجامدة. بدلاً من ذلك عن طريق إضافة عيوب طفيفة يمكن أن نضيف بعض مصلحة خفية. لا يصرف السرد لوح/سلاسل من العزف على البيانو، وهو العنصر الأكثر أهمية، ولكن لديها يشعر عضوية التي يجعلها تشعر لمس أكثر على قيد الحياة.

من المحتمل أنك لن يكون لديك لاعب حي تحت تصرفك في كل مرة تريد فيها إضافة لمسة إنسانية إلى موسيقاك ، فما الذي يمكننا القيام به مع هذه اللوحة؟ يمكننا أتمتة الفلتر ، مما يسمح بمرور الترددات المختلفة من اللوحة في أوقات مختلفة. يمكننا أتمتة الحجم بحيث تتقلب الوسادة ويبدو أنها "تتنفس" كلما أصبحت أعلى وأكثر هدوءًا. ونحن يمكن أن طبقة منصات مختلفة قليلة، وجعلهم يتناوبون يتلاشى بهدوء أو خارج يعلو بعضها البعض. كل من هذه التقنيات ستستخدم غرض إبقاء اللوحة من السبر مثل آلة، يجعلها سليمة بدلاً من ذلك مثل عنصر الكمال والعضوية.


كن فريدًا ، لكن ليس فريدًا من نوعه

هناك خط رفيع بين مبتكرة وغريب الأطوار. غالباً عندما شخص ما يعتبر "قبل وقتها"، أنها للناس طعاما بعد سد الفجوات بين ما هو قياسي وما هو الإعراب عن الفنان. تخيل إذا حاولت أيدي فإن هالين اللعب منفرداً النسخ من القرص المضغوط، وتمزق من خلال الغيتار ألف تلاحظ دقيقة، في عام 1955. كان من الممكن أن يضحك أو ربما يحبس. استغرق عقود روك أن تتطور إلى مهدت الطريق لهذا النوع من اللعب.

إذا كنت تريد الموسيقى الخاصة بك أن تكون مثيرة للاهتمام يجب أن تكون فريدة من نوعها في الطريقة الخاصة بك، ولكن للناس للاهتمام يجب أن تعطي لهم نوعا من النقطة المرجعية. على سبيل مثال، دون أوركسترا السلسلة قصف سيكون "Viva la Vida" أغنية كولدبلاي أخرى فقط. لا يوجد شيء الثورية حول تطور الحبل أو لحن، ولكن التزامن الفريد لموسيقى البوب يجعل الأغنية خاصة مثيرة للاهتمام.

يمكن أن يكون خط رفيع بين "مثيرة للاهتمام" و "خاطئ"، وهو أحد الأسباب التي يتفق بعض التغييرات الطفيفة يمكن أن تكون فعالة جداً. جعلت الشخصيات البسيط مثل فيليب جلاس وستيف رايخ مهنة كاملة من مفهوم أنه لا يأخذ تحولات ثابتة في المزاج أو اللون لصنع قطعة كبيرة من الموسيقى ، لكنه يتطلب أن تكون موسيقاك مثيرة للاهتمام فقط بما فيه الكفاية للحفاظ على المستمع الخاص بك مخطوب.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

How to Make Your Tracks More Interesting

by

You're a unique artist with ideas you want to express and music you have to share. So how do you make sure that you're keeping your tracks interesting and fun for your audience to listen to?

In this tutorial we'll look at some of the most common things that people neglect to keep interesting, causing their tracks to feel lifeless and dull, and how we can keep things lively and intriguing to hold on to our audience's attention.

  1. Start Off with a Bang
  2. Avoid Using Loops
  3. If You're Going to Use Loops Anyway
  4. Clean Up Your Mix
  5. Uneven Phrases
  6. Uncommon Time Signatures
  7. The Rule of Three
  8. Imperfection
  9. Be unique, but not too unique

Start Off with a Bang

We all know that first impressions are everything, and the rule applies to music as much as anything else. The opening moments of your track can grab your listener's attention and get them excited to keep listening or make them completely unimpressed and bore them, so it's critical that the first thing your audience hears is compelling.

Songwriters will often mistakenly start their songs by playing a verse, or the opening 8 bars of a verse, with no vocal or instrumental lead. While I understand that this "introduces" the vibe of the song, listening to some chords strummed on the guitar is pretty boring. If you're going to start your song off instrumentally, use an exciting rhythmic pattern or a melodic hook. You don't even have to use material that exists elsewhere in your song.

The Beatles are masters at catchy introductions (like everything else I suppose). Consider the interesting beginning to the song "I've Just Seen a Face" which starts with a busy 12/8 guitar pattern. It's compelling, it has nothing to do with the actual song, and it works. Other examples: starting with a jarring but exciting chord or hit and then diving right into the song like in "Hard Days Night" or "Glass Onion"; starting immediately with a vocal chorus such as "She Loves You", "Nowhere Man", "Eleanor Rigby", "Help", or "Hello Goodbye"; starting with a unique instrumental hook like "Ticket to Ride", "Day Tripper", or "Drive My Car".

Consider these two examples, where each track begins with a quick flourish. The beginning of the song is immediately exciting and gives you the feeling that you want to keep listening.


Avoid Using Loops

One of the easiest ways to bore someone is to find a drum loop you think is cool and repeat it ad nauseum. It may be fun to listen to twice through, but if nothing changes it won't take long for our minds to begin to wander and stop paying attention to your music.

Another downside of commercial loops is that they can quickly become standard and cliche. Even if the listener can't say for sure where they heard it, if the loop has been used by someone else they're going to realize that it's familiar. Using custom beats and sounds keeps your music uniquely its own.

If you're reading this tutorial, the chances are pretty good that you know how a basic drum beat works. If instead of immediately looking for loops you instead load or create a drum kit you will be forced to start thinking more creatively. You will have to actually think about the pattern that you're creating, rather than relying on someone else to do it for you.

In this example I used an 8 bit electronic kit with a lot of unique and fun sounds. The resulting beat is varied and lively, and not something I could have come up with if I just searched through folders for a loop.

The next important reason to build your own beats is that it's very easy to customize and change them around. Even subtle changes like a shifted cymbal hit or a varied bass drum pattern will make your beat a lot more vibrant throughout your song than the same 4 beats over and over and over. Take a look at the MIDI for this particular loop:


The only things that are exactly the same throughout are the ticking hi-hat (the orange notes on G3 and G#3) and the 8 bit noise on the last beat (the yellow notes on G#0).

Everything else around those elements is constantly changing in small ways (the kick and snare which keep a somewhat consistent groove) or big ways (the sound effects and weird hits that spice things up).

By having down-to-the-note control of each element in the kit, we're forced to think of ways to keep the pattern more interesting which is a good thing for the strength of our beat. It's also much easier to make changes, we can just shift MIDI notes around and not have to try to deal with splicing up audio.


If You're Going To Use Loops Anyway

In spite of the advice to avoid using loops, let's be perfectly honest: loops are useful. And they're even kind of fun. Throwing down a good loop can be a great time saver and also a creative springboard for other ideas. But if we're going to break down and still use loops once in a while instead of creating our own beats, the least we can do is put in a little extra effort to make them good.

I already covered how to spice up your loops by automating EQ in another tutorial, so what we're going to do now is focus more on the actual beats in the loops themselves rather than slapping an effect on the whole track. Although you could achieve the same results by slicing up audio, this is going to be a whole lot easier if you're using something like Stylus RMX or REX files that have already split the beats of your loops up into individual MIDI notes.

The simplest thing we can do is work with one loop. Here's a loop which is pretty straightforward:

Just by looking at the MIDI we can see that it's very even and repetitive.


Let's make this more interesting by rearranging the MIDI notes to create fills. I'll do this by first identifying which MIDI notes make up the important or interesting sounds in the loop, using hard hits like kicks and snares for rhythms and small hits like hi hats are crackes for filler.

All it took was moving around a few notes but now we have a drum loop that is varied and lively.


Another way to use loops more interestingly is to constantly vary and blend different loops. This song was created using 7 different drum and percussion loops:

Here's an image of the loops used in the sequence:


Every track is a different loop and every color a variation. Notice that a lot of the same regions keep coming back, but the idea here is to keep things constantly varied. You use a small set of materials to give your song cohesiveness, but consistently change them up to keep the listener on their toes.

Here's the entire song that uses those loops, also built entirely from bass, guitar, and brass loops with the same concept:


Clean Up Your Mix

One of the biggest mistakes I hear people make is to make their mixes too busy. While they may think they're achieving fullness, what they are really ending up with is clutter. If you have got drums, bass, acoustic guitar, both a lead guitar and piano playing chords and fills, a singer, and background vocalists all playing at the same time how in the world am I supposed to know what to listen to? Just because you've got it doesn't mean you should use it.

If you have both piano and guitar, one of the easiest things you can do to create variation is have them take turns. For example, have guitarist play the first verse and the piano the second. Or give them each a different function, such as having the guitar play chords and the piano only play licks and fills between the vocal lines. In either case, having both instruments playing on top of one another will cause a lot of harm to your mix.

Check out this example, which I built entirely from some loops that came with logic.

The "verse" plays through three times, but each time with a different pairing of instruments. While the drums and bass stay the same the entire tune, the verses feature either fiddle and electric guitar, banjo and acoustic guitar, or pedal steel and acoustic guitar. If the fiddle, electric, acoustic, banjo, and pedal steel were all trying to play on the same verse it would be messy madness. By spreading them out and giving each player their turn to shine the listener can focus on the instrument of the moment and not be forced to try aurally sifting through the mess.

A solo flute or a solo oboe can sound beautiful and lyrical, but as soon as you have them both play in unison you lose the uniqueness and color of each. Although you can create many interesting and effective sounds by using different instrument combinations, it is usually the simplest methods that will yield the best results and communicate your ideas in the clearest way.


Uneven Phrases

Something is interesting when it tests our expectations. After years of listening to music we've all become accustomed to many conventions, a basic example of which is even phrases of 2, 4 or 8 bars. By playing around with the length of our phrases we can make things more interesting and break out from commonality.

In this example the A section of the piece plays mostly in three bar phrases:

The piece could have vamped for an extra bar for a nice even four bar phrase, but that would have been long and unnecessary. By shortening the phrase by an entire bar we keep the piece moving and slightly throw off the listener's expectations. Throwing us for another loop, the third phrase doesn't stop at three bars but keeps on going for 5 before starting the A section over again. Similarly, the last phrase of the second A section cuts the 3 bar phrase short to only 2 bars, causing the B section to arrive unexpectedly.

For comparison, listen to this example where the phrases have been stretched out to include that fourth bar. I don't know about you, but it makes me pretty impatient.

An important thing to notice in the original version is that although the phrases are unusual lengths the piece still has an element of flow. We're not using odd lengths to jar the listener or throw them completely off guard, but simply to make it more interesting to listen to the piece. It's the kind of subtle technique that a non-musician would never notice, and we wouldn't really want them to.


Uncommon Time Signatures

The majority of Western music is in 4/4, with the occasional track showing up in 3/4, 12/8 or 6/8. Using a less common time signature such as 5/4 or 7/8 can add a unique twist to your song, but only if it's done effectively.

Odd time signatures can be used to throw people off from getting into a comfortable groove. Led Zeppelin would use this technique often. Consider the song The Ocean, which has you bobbing your head along to the groove when all of a sudden a bar of three catches you off guard.

My all time favorite use of odd time in pop music is Peter Gabriel's "Solsbury Hill". The song alternates between 4/4 and 3/4 (you could consider it 7/4) but is done in such a smooth way that you don't notice anything odd if you're not paying attention. He achieves the smoothness by keeping a very steady bass drum on every quarter note and a consistent shaker pattern. The groove is never interrupted so there's never a reason to feel like the time is unusual, but the phrasing is just odd enough that we can feel that something different is going on. Lopping off that 8th quarter note also keeps the song constantly pushing forward.


The Rule of Three

I've already written a tutorial on how to use The Rule of Three and Music. The concept basically says that if you've repeated something exactly the same once, it's time to move on. Check out the original tutorial for a more in-depth look.


Imperfection

The blessing and curse of music technology today is that we can achieve near "perfection" with our music. Rhythms can be inhumanely precise, pitches can never waver from a perfect mathematical frequency, and our mixes can respond to down to the millisecond automation. While all of these things can be helpful, it's very easy to end up with a track that sounds lifeless and heartless. One of the ways to bring back that "human" touch is by incorporating small instances of imperfection.

Check out the first minute of this piece:

Besides the piano, there is nothing going on but a long pad holding the same pitches the entire time. I had a string quartet play the same pitches very softly underneath the pad. The natural fluctuations in bowing, tuning, and the resonance of the strings added a flair of unpredictability that would have been impossible to achieve by simply holding my finger down on the pad. While I could have very easily stretched the MIDI out across the length of the introduction and left it at that, we would have been left with a boring and static sound. Instead by adding slight imperfections we can add some subtle interest. The pad/strings combo doesn't distract from the piano, which is the more important element, but it does have an organic feel that makes it feel a touch more alive.

Chances are you aren't going to have a live player at your disposal every time you want to add a human touch to your music, so what else could we have done with this pad? We could automate a filter, allowing different frequencies of the pad to pass through at different times. We could automate the volume so that the pad fluctuates and seems to "breathe" as it gets louder and quieter. We could layer a few different pads, having them take turns softly fading in or out overtop one another. All of these techniques would be employed for the purpose of keeping the pad from sounding like a machine, making it sound instead like an imperfect and organic element.


Be unique, but not too unique

There's a fine line between innovative and eccentric. Often when someone is considered "ahead of their time", it's because people haven't yet bridged the gaps between what's standard and what the artist is expressing. Imagine if Eddie Van Halen tried playing a ripping solo, tearing through the guitar at a thousand notes a minute, in 1955. He would've been either laughed at or maybe even locked up. It took rock decades to evolve to set the stage for that kind of playing.

If you want your music to be interesting you have to be unique in your own way, but for people to pay attention you have to give them some sort of reference point. As an example, without the pounding string orchestra "Viva la Vida" would be just another Coldplay song. There is nothing revolutionary about the chord progression or melody, but the unique orchestration for pop music makes the song especially interesting.

It can be a fine line between "interesting" and "erratic", which is one of the reasons consistent subtle changes can be so effective. Minimalists like Philip Glass and Steve Reich have made entire careers off of the concept that it doesn't take constant shifts in mood or color to make a great piece of music, but it does require that your music be just interesting enough to keep your listener engaged.

Advertisement