Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Recording
Music

كيفية إدارة وتقليل الكمون في مشاريعك الصوتية

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Luthfiyyah (you can also view the original English article)

بصرف النظر عن نوع الموسيقى الذي تستخدمه وأية فكرة تستخدمها شركة DAW لإنتاج الموسيقى ، فمن المحتمل أنك عانيت من مشكلات وقت الاستجابة في مرحلة ما. سواء كنت على علم به أو لا يمكن أن يكون الكمون مشكلة حقيقية في الاستوديو الرقمي الحديث ويمكن أن يؤثر بالفعل على سير عملك.

لمساعدتك في معالجة هذا الموضوع الصعب ، سأعمل على تقسيمها إلى شرائح سهلة ، بدءًا من وقت الاستجابة الفعلي ومتابعة المواضيع مثل تحسين النظام وكيفية التعامل مع زمن الانتقال عبر سير العمل.

الخطوة 1 - ما هو الكمون؟

الكمون هو التأخير الذي يتم توليده عند توجيه الإشارة عبر محطة عمل صوتية رقمية والأجهزة الطرفية المتصلة. عندما تترك مذكرة MIDI لوحة المفاتيح الخاصة بك ، يتم إرسالها إلى معالج الكمبيوتر الخاص بك ومن ثم يتم إنشاء الصوت من أداة البرنامج بواسطة وحدة المعالجة المركزية الخاصة بك ، والتي يتم إرسالها للخارج إلى واجهتك وتحويلها وإرسالها كإشارة تناظرية إلى السماعات أو سماعات الرأس

يحدث شيء مماثل عند استخدام أداة أو ميكروفون لتسجيل الصوت في شعبة النهوض بالمرأة. يتم إرسال الصوت إلى الواجهة الخاصة بك ، وتحويلها إلى معلومات رقمية ، ومعالجتها في شعبة النهوض بالمرأة ثم إعادة تحويلها إلى التناظرية وإرسالها إلى مكبرات الصوت الخاصة بك تستغرق الرحلة ذهابًا وإيابًا بعض الوقت ، عادةً ما يكون عدد قليل من المللي ثانية ، ولكنها كافية لخلق تأخير ملحوظ ومزعج.

حتى إذا كنت تستخدم جهازًا عالي الجودة مع الإعدادات الصحيحة وواجهة جودة وأحدث برامج التشغيل ... فستستمر في تجربة وقت الاستجابة. لا توجد طريقة حوله. لسوء الحظ ، إنه جزء من الإنتاج الرقمي "في المربع"

حتى الآلات الراقية تعاني من الكمون.

على الجانب العلوي ، تكون أوقات التأخير هذه صغيرة للغاية في الغالب ، إذا تم إعداد الأشياء بشكل صحيح. هناك أيضًا أشياء يمكن تنفيذها لحل المشكلة وطرق تقليل وقت الاستجابة للأثر في جلسة العمل دعونا نلقي نظرة على الطرق المختلفة التي يمكن أن نستخدمها لجعل الأشياء يمكن التحكم فيها والتقنيات التي يمكن أن نستخدمها خلال مشروعنا سوف يخفض في الوقت الذي يقضيه مشكلة إطلاق النار.

الخطوة 2 - تحسين جهازك

قبل أن نبدأ في تغيير أي إعدادات أو مناقشة الأساليب الفنية لتقليل وقت الاستجابة ، فلنلقِ نظرة على الأساسيات في معظم الاستوديوهات ، يكون الكمبيوتر هو مركز العمليات ومن المرجح أن تتم معالجة الكثير (إن لم يكن كل) من الصوت الخاص بك هنا. ومع وضع هذا في الاعتبار ، فإن الأمر يستحق القيام ببعض الأعمال حتى تعمل الأشياء على المستوى الأمثل. مع هذه التعديلات سوف تعطي نظامك أفضل فرصة لتحقيق القيم الكمون منخفضة.

سواء كنت على OS X أو Windows ، هناك أشياء معينة يمكنك القيام بها هنا. للبدء ، تأكد من أنك قمت بتثبيت ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) الكافية ، لأن هذا أمر بالغ الأهمية للسماح بتشغيل المعالج بكامل طاقته. هذا مهم بشكل خاص إذا كنت تستخدم الكثير من أدوات العينة متعددة الطبقات أو تعمل مع المشاريع التي تحتوي على عدد كبير من المسارات.

إذا كنت تتساءل عن مقدار ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (RAM) الأفضل لجهازك ، فيمكنني أن أقول إن المبدأ التوجيهي الجيد هو ببساطة تثبيت قدر ما تستطيع الماكينة التعامل معه ، أو فشل ذلك بقدر ما تستطيع.

على الرغم من أن تثبيت ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي هو على الأرجح الترقية الأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة لجهازك ، وعادة ما يكون من السهل تهيئتها ، إلا أن بعض الأشخاص يحصلون على جزء واحد من العملية بشكل خاطئ. لضمان أن الذاكرة تعمل في وضع ثنائي القناة وبسرعة كاملة ، يجب تحميل فتحات الذاكرة بشكل صحيح. للتأكد من حصولك على هذا الحق ، راجع دليل المستخدم وابحث في المنتديات. يختلف مع كل جهاز كمبيوتر ولكن يستحق الحصول على حق.

يمكن أن يساعد تثبيت كميات كبيرة من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي بشكل صحيح في إعداد النظام لأداء وقت الاستجابة المنخفض.

بعد ذلك ، انظر إلى مساحة القرص الصلب لديك. من الناحية المثالية ، يجب أن يكون لديك ما لا يقل عن 15 إلى 20٪ من سعة محرك الأقراص لديك. إذا كنت أبعد من ذلك ، فقد حان الوقت للتفكير في الحصول على بعض محركات الأقراص الجديدة. أيضا، إذا كنت لم تكن قد فعلت ذلك بالفعل، يجب أن يكون التفكير حول تشغيل الصوت، والعينات وصك البيانات الخاصة بك من محرك أقراص ثانوية. سيؤدي ذلك إلى وجود محرك أقراص النظام تحت ضغط أقل. يحتاج مستخدمو Windows أيضًا إلى التأكد من أن محركات الأقراص الخاصة بهم يتم إلغاء تجزئتها بشكل منتظم.

يمكن أن يساعد إلغاء محركات أقراص Windows على تحسين الأداء الكلي.

سيؤدي تثبيت عدة محركات أقراص ثابتة إلى التخلص من الضغط على محرك أقراص النظام.

مرة أخرى ، يعد هذا الأمر أكثر أهمية لمستخدمي Windows ، ولكن الاحتفاظ بكمية التطبيقات على محرك الأقراص لديك إلى الحد الأدنى دائمًا يعد فكرة جيدة. يوصى أيضًا بإجراء فحوصات منتظمة للفيروسات وتنظيفات الربيع من السجل.

وبمجرد تجاوزك لأشياء تكنولوجيا المعلومات المملة والعامة إلى حد ما ، يمكنك البدء في الاطلاع على الجوانب الصوتية المحددة لإدارة وتقليل وقت الاستجابة. تأكد من أن لديك أحدث برامج التشغيل لأي جهاز متصل بالماكينة وتأكد من تشغيل هذه الأجهزة أيضًا لأحدث البرامج الثابتة إن وجدت.

حاول أيضًا التأكد من استخدام واجهات USB2.0 أو Firewire أو PCI على عكس طرازات USB1 القديمة. تميل هذه إلى عدم عرض النطاق الترددي الكافي لتدفقات متعددة من صوت عالي الدقة.

الخطوة 3 - ضبط إعدادات المخزن المؤقت الخاص بك

أنت الآن على استعداد لبدء النظر في الصواميل والمسامير الخاصة بلوحة التحكم في واجهة تعامل DAW والصوت. تُعد هذه الإعدادات مهمة للغاية عندما يتعلق الأمر بإدارة وقت استجابة النظام. تقترب كل DAW من هذه الناحية بزاوية مختلفة قليلاً ولكن يمكنك عادةً العثور على الإعدادات الخاصة بك بعد التفضيلات> الصوت / MIDI أو الأجهزة> الصوت ، أو شيء ما على طول هذه الخطوط.

المعلمة الرئيسية التي تبحث عنها هي "إعداد المخزن المؤقت". المخزن المؤقت هو عبارة عن كمية صغيرة من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي (نظام ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي) التي يتم وضعها جانباً للاحتفاظ بجزء من دفق الصوت قبل تشغيله وسماعه. تغيير حجم ذاكرة المخزن المؤقت لشعبة النهوض بالمرأة الخاص بك يستخدم سوف تؤثر تأثيراً مباشرا على قيمة الكمون للمشروع الخاص بك.

صفحة الإعداد المؤقت لـ Logic Pro

سيؤدي إلى إعدادات المخزن المؤقت منخفضة في أوقات الكمون المنخفض جداً، وهو عظيم للعب قشطة لينة وتسجيل عبر يصف إلخ. من ناحية أخرى أن إعدادات المخزن المؤقت عالية ستزيد من الواضح أن قيمة الكمون، مما يجعل التأخير مسموعة تسمع بين لعب الصك الخاص بك والصوت الناتجة من شعبة النهوض بالمرأة الخاص بك.

حتى لماذا، قد تسأل، هل هناك أي نقطة في أي وقت مضى وجود إعداد المخزن مؤقت عالية؟ لماذا لا يمكننا مجرد ترك الأمر على قيمة منخفضة على طول الطريق من خلال المشروع؟ هذا هو المكان الذي يأتي فيه. هناك سداد للحصول على هذه الإعدادات المخزن المؤقت منخفضة وهو تحميل CPU أعلى.

إذا كان لديك الكثير يدور في مشروع ويمكنك تخفيض إعدادات المخزن المؤقت ثم من المحتمل سوف تبدأ في الاستماع إلى أخطاء في الصوت وتجربة وحدة المعالجة المركزية الزائدة في شعبة النهوض بالمرأة الخاص بك. عند هذه النقطة خيار واضح لزيادة حجم المخزن المؤقت ولكن بطبيعة الحال سيؤدي ذلك إلى زيادة الكمون ولاحقا متخلفة كلنا الكراهية.

دعونا ننظر في بعض من الخيارات التي لدينا هنا لجعل الأمور قليلاً أكثر احتمالاً.

الخطوة 4 - ركوب العازلة

طريقة واضحة لتقليل الحمل على وحدة المعالجة المركزية لترتد المسارات أسفل التي تستخدم أدوات الموارد الجياع أو المكونات الإضافية. هذه ليست دائماً مثالية كما قد تحتاج إلى قرص أو أتمتة معلمات في مرحلة لاحقة في المشروع.

يمكنك دائمًا محاولة الحفاظ على انخفاض إعدادات المخزن المؤقت في بداية المشروع ، وارتداد كل شيء يمكنك الحصول عليه ثم رفع قيمة المخزن المؤقت ببطء مع نمو المشروع. بهذه الطريقة سوف تهدف إلى الحصول على المخزن المؤقت كحد أقصى في الاختلاط. هذا من شأنه أن يحقق أقصى استفادة من وحدة المعالجة المركزية الخاصة بك ويخلق فقط حالات تأهب عالية في وقت لاحق في المشروع عند اكتمال جميع التسجيل الخاص بك.

الخطوة 5--استخدام وسائط زمن انتقال منخفض وتعويض التأخير

بعض DAWs لديها أنظمة الماكرة للالتفاف على مسألة الكمون والحفاظ على الأشياء في الوقت المناسب عندما يكون موجودا. المنطق برو و Cubase ، على سبيل المثال ، لديهم تعويض تأخير المكونات في. كثير يجادل أن كلا النظامين مشاكلها المتأصلة لكن عندما اشتبك أنهم على الأقل جعل قشطة ميدي متمشية مع المخزن المؤقت لتأخر الصوت.

المنطق أيضا على وضع 'زمن انتقال منخفض' التي يمكن أن تشارك من النقل. هذا هو فعالة جداً وفعلا تنفصل بعض المكونات الإضافية في تصحيح الإشارات التي تتسبب في تأخيرات كبيرة، بسبب دورات وحدة المعالجة المركزية الكبيرة. هذا يعني أنه بإمكانك تقريبًا التلاعب بأداة افتراضية بتأخير أقل ، حتى في مشروع مزدحم.

الخطوة 6-صفر الكمون وأجهزة الرصد

بعض بطاقات الصوت ميزة ميزة مراقبة زمن الوصول صفر. هذا يعني أساسا أنه إذا قمت بتوصيل موالفة أو غيتار في المدخلات واجهات ، فإنه يستخدم إما خلاط داخلي مدفوعة DSP أو الأجهزة الإنتاجية لإخراج الصوت إلى مكبرات الصوت الخاصة بك. هذه النتائج في تجربة استماع في الوقت الحقيقي، كما الصوت هو عدم وجود للقيام برحلة العودة من خلال شعبة النهوض بالمرأة.

للأسف هذا لن يعمل للصكوك المستندة إلى البرامج الداخلية، بل هو أحد السبل لتجاوز مسألة الكمون إذا كنت تقوم بتسجيل الصكوك الحقيقية. حتى نقدم بعض واجهات الآثار حزب اليسار الديمقراطي على الأجهزة الخاصة بهم حتى تتمكن من الاستماع إلى أداء صوتي، الغيتار أو المركب الخاص بك مع بعض تردد أو إبطاء للإلهام إضافي.

توفر واجهات أحدث موتو في رصد زمن انتقال منخفض والآثار حزب اليسار الديمقراطي لمصادر الإدخال.

كل شخص لديه طريقته الخاصة لمكافحة الكمون. لا تتردد في مشاركة تجربتك الشخصية وأي حلول قد تكون لديك.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Recording

How to Manage & Minimize Latency in Your Audio Projects

by

Whatever genre you are working in and whatever DAW you use to produce your music, it is likely you have suffered from latency issues at some point. Whether you are aware of it or not latency can be a real problem in the modern digital studio and can really effect your workflow.

To help you tackle this tricky subject I’ll break it down into easy segments, starting with what latency actually is and following onto subjects such as optimizing your system and how to tackle latency throughout your workflow.

Step 1 - What is latency?

Latency is the delay generated when a signal is routed through a digital audio workstation and connected peripherals. When a MIDI note leaves your keyboard it is sent to your computer processor and the sound from your software instrument is then generated by your CPU, which is then sent back out to your interface, converted and sent out as an analog signal to your speakers or headphones.

A similar thing occurs when you use an instrument, or microphone, to record audio into your DAW. The audio is sent into your interface, converted into digital information, processed in your DAW and then re-converted into analog and sent to your speakers. This round trip takes time, usually only a few milliseconds, but enough to create a noticeable and annoying delay.

Even if you are using a high end machine with the correct settings, a quality interface and the latest drivers … you will still experience latency. There is no way around it. Unfortunately it is a part of ‘in the box’ digital production.

Even high end machines suffer from latency.

On the up side these delay times are often extremely small, if things are set up correctly. There are also things that can be done to work around the problem and methods for minimizing the impact latency has on your session. Let’s take a look at the different methods we can use to make things manageable and techniques we can use during our project that will cut down on time spent trouble shooting.

Step 2 - Optimizing your machine

Before we get into altering any settings or discussing the technical methods for reducing latency, let’s look at the basics. In most studios, the computer is the center of operations and it is likely that a lot (if not all) of your audio is processed here. With this in mind it’s worth doing a bit of work so that things are working at their optimum level. With these alterations you will be giving your system the best chance of achieving low latency values.

Whether you are on OS X or Windows there are certain things you can do here. For a start make sure you have installed enough RAM, as this is crucial for allowing your processor to run at its full potential. This is especially important if you use a lot of multi-layered sample instruments or work with projects that have a high track count.

If you are wondering what amount of RAM is best for your machine, I would say a good guideline is to simply install as much as your machine can handle, or failing that as much as you can afford.

Although installing RAM is probably the most cost effective upgrade for your machine and usually easy to fit, some people do get one part of the process wrong. To ensure your memory is running in true dual channel mode and at its full speed, the memory slots must be loaded correctly. To make sure you have this right check your user guide and search the forums. It differs with every computer but is well worth getting right.

Installing large amounts of RAM correctly can really help to prepare your system for low latency performance.

Next up, look at your hard drive space. Ideally you should have at least 15-20% of your drive’s capacity free. If you are beyond this then it’s time to think about getting some new drives. Also, if you haven’t done it already, you should be thinking about running your audio, samples and instrument data from a secondary drive. This will result in your system drive being under less pressure. Windows users also need to make sure their drives are regularly defragmented.

Defragging Windows drives can help improve overall performance.

Installing multiple hard drives will take the pressure away from your system drive.

Again this is more important for Windows users, but keeping the amount of applications on your drive to a minimum is always a good idea. Regular virus checks and spring cleans of the registry are also recommended.

Once you have gone through the rather tedious and generic IT stuff, you can start to look at the audio specific aspects of managing and minimizing latency. Make sure you have the very latest drivers for any hardware connected to your machine and ensure that these devices are also running the latest firmware if applicable.

Also try to make sure you are using either USB2.0, Firewire or PCI based interfaces as opposed to the older USB1 models. These tend not to feature enough bandwidth for multiple streams of high resolution audio.

Step 3 - Adjusting your buffer settings

You are now ready to start looking at the nuts and bolts of your DAW and audio interface control panel. These settings are hugely important when it comes to managing your system’s latency. Every DAW approaches this area at a slightly different angle but you can usually find the settings your after under Preferences > Audio/MIDI or Devices> Audio, or something along those lines.

The key parameter you are looking for is the ‘buffer setting’. A buffer is a small amount of system RAM put aside to hold a portion of the audio stream before it is played and you hear it. Altering the amount of buffer memory your DAW uses will directly affect the latency value of your project.

Logic Pro’s buffer setting page

Low buffer settings will result in very low latency times, which is great for playing soft synths and recording over dubs etc. On the other hand high buffer settings will obviously increase the latency value, making the audible delay you hear between playing your instrument and the resulting sound from your DAW.

So why, you may ask, is there any point in ever having a high buffer setting? Why don’t we just leave it at a low value all the way through the project? This is where the catch comes in. There is a pay off for having such low buffer settings and that is a higher CPU load.

If you have a lot going on in a project and you lower the buffer settings then it’s likely you will start to hear faults in the audio and experience CPU overloads in your DAW. At this point the obvious option is to raise the buffer amount but of course this will increase latency and subsequently the lag we all hate.

Let’s look at some of the options we have here to make things a little more bearable.

Step 4 - Riding the buffer

An obvious way to reduce load on the CPU is to bounce tracks down that are using resource hungry instruments or plug-ins. This isn’t always ideal as you may want to tweak or automate parameters at a later stage in the project.

You can always attempt to keep your buffer settings low at the start of a project, bounce everything you can get way with and then slowly raise the buffer value as the project grows. This way you would aim to have the buffer at maximum at mixdown. This would get the most out of your CPU and only create high latencies later in the project when all your recording has been completed.

Step 5 - Using low latency modes and delay compensation

Some DAWs have cunning systems to get around the latency issue and keep things in time when it is present. Logic Pro and Cubase, for example, have plug-in delay compensation. Many argue that both systems have their inherent problems but when engaged they can at least bring MIDI synths into line with buffer delayed audio.

Logic also has a ‘low latency’ mode that can be engaged from the transport. This is pretty effective and actually disengages some of the plug-ins in the signal patch that are causing large delays, due to large CPU cycles. This means you can technically get away with playing a virtual instrument with reduced delay, even in a busy project.

Step 6 - Zero latency and hardware monitoring

Some sound cards feature a zero latency monitoring feature. This basically means that if you plug a synth or guitar into the interfaces inputs, it uses either a DSP-driven internal mixer or hardware throughput to output the sound to your speakers. This results in a real-time listening experience, as the audio is not having to do the return trip through the DAW.

Unfortunately this won’t work for internal software-based instruments but it is one way to bypass the latency issue if you are recording real instruments. Some interfaces even offer DSP effects on their devices so you can listen to your vocal, guitar or synth performances with some reverb or delay for extra inspiration.

Motu’s latest interfaces offer low latency monitoring and DSP effects for input sources.

Everyone has their own methods for combating latency. Feel free to share your personal experience and any solutions you may have.

Related Posts