7 days of royalty free music tracks, footage & graphics - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production

Kurzer Tipp: Schlagkräftigeres Schlagzeug mit dem New York Compression Trick

Scroll to top
Read Time: 2 mins

German (Deutsch) translation by Jean-Étienne (you can also view the original English article)

Hatten Sie schon einmal einen Mix, bei dem Sie sich wünschten, das Schlagzeug wäre größer, energischer, auffälliger? Ich habe zum ersten Mal von dieser Technik in Bobby Owinksis The Mixing Engineer's Handbook gehört, und seither ist sie ein fester Bestandteil meiner Trickkiste geworden. Bei dieser Technik handelt es sich um eine aggressivere Variante der parallelen Kompression, die Ihrem Mix mehr Punch verleihen kann.


Schritt eins

Bevor ich diese Technik anwende, säubere ich die Trommeln gerne, um sie so nah wie möglich an das zu bringen, was ich möchte.


Zweiter Schritt

Sobald die ursprüngliche Schlagzeugspur gut klingt, erstellen Sie einen Stereo-Aux-Eingang und richten Buss-Sends von den ursprünglichen Schlagzeugspuren ein (nicht von den Ausgängen). So haben Sie zwei Schlagzeugsets, die Sie später zusammenführen können.


Dritter Schritt

Sobald der Bus eingerichtet ist, können Sie ihn mit einem Kompressor versehen. Ich finde, das BF76 Bomb Factory-Plug-in eignet sich hervorragend, um eine starke Kompression anzuwenden, ohne dem Track das Leben auszusaugen, was es perfekt für diese Technik macht.

Erhöhen Sie einfach den Eingangspegel, bis die Anzeige für die Verstärkungsreduzierung um 10 dB ansteigt. Sobald Sie das eingestellt haben, hören Sie genau hin und passen Sie den Attack an, bis er druckvoller und näher klingt. Machen Sie dasselbe mit dem Release.


Vierter Schritt

Als Nächstes schalten Sie Ihren Lieblings-EQ ein und verstärken die tiefen Frequenzen bei etwa 100 Hz und die hohen Frequenzen bei etwa 10 kHz. Experimentieren Sie, um herauszufinden, wo es am besten klingt, und scheuen Sie sich nicht, bei der Anhebung extrem zu werden. Ich habe schon Anhebungen von bis zu 10 dB verwendet.


Schritt Fünf

Jetzt, wo der Buss-Track groß und markant (und wahrscheinlich ein wenig unnatürlich) klingt, ist es an der Zeit, ihn wieder mit dem Original zu mischen.

Normalerweise stelle ich den Fader der Busspur auf Null und drehe ihn dann langsam hoch, bis ich das Gefühl habe, dass das Schlagzeug so richtig zuschlägt, aber bevor die komprimierte Spur die prominentere der beiden ist. Normalerweise drehe ich den Regler dann etwas zurück, nur um zu prüfen, ob ich zu weit gegangen bin. Natürlich kann es sein, dass man bei manchen Songs einen etwas unruhigeren Schlagzeugsound haben möchte, in diesem Fall dreht man die komprimierte Spur richtig auf.

Meistens behalte ich den Pegel während des gesamten Songs bei, aber man kann diese Technik auch einsetzen, um die Intensität der Performance zu verändern und den Fluss des Songs zu verbessern. In diesem Teil wird zum Beispiel das komprimierte Schlagzeug über das Intro eingeblendet, damit das Schlagzeugspiel mit zunehmender Intensität einen Impuls für die Strophe gibt.

Wie jede Technik funktioniert auch diese vielleicht nicht bei jedem Song, aber wenn sie funktioniert, kann sie wirklich einen Unterschied machen.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Music & Audio tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Quick Tip: Punchier Drums with the New York Compression Trick

by

This Cyber Monday Tuts+ courses will be reduced to just $3 (usually $15). Don't miss out.

This post is part of a series called Producing Rhythm: How to Add Amazing Feel to Your Tracks.
Quick Tip: How To Mix A Kick Drum in Electronic Music
Drum Replacement in Logic

Ever have a mix where you wish the drums were bigger, more energetic, more in-your-face? I first heard about this technique in Bobby Owinksi’s, The Mixing Engineer’s Handbook, and it has since become a staple in my bag of tricks. The technique is a more aggressive take on parallel compression that can really add punch to your mix.



Step One

Before applying this technique I like to clean up the drums, getting them as close to what I want as possible.


Step Two

Once you’ve got your original drum track sounding good, create a stereo aux input and set up buss sends from the original drums (not the outputs). The idea is you’ll have two sets of drums to merge later.


Step Three

Once the buss is set up, go ahead and slap a compressor on it. I think the BF76 Bomb Factory plug-in does a great job applying some heavy compression without sucking the life out of the track, making it perfect for this technique.

Simply boost the input until you see the Gain Reduction meter pushing around 10 dB. Once you have that set, listen closely and adjust the attack until it sounds punchier and closer. Do the same with the release.


Step Four

Next pull up your favorite EQ and boost the low end at around 100Hz and the high end around 10 kHz. Experiment to hear where it sounds best and don’t be afraid to get extreme with the boosting. I’ve used as much as 10 dB boosts before.


Step Five

Now that you’ve got you’re buss track sounding big and in your face (and probably a little unnatural) it’s time to blend it back in with the original.

I usually drop the buss track fader to zero, and then slowly bring it up until I feel like the drums are really hitting, but before the compressed track becomes the more prominent of the two. Typically, I’ll then back it off a little, just to check if I went too far. Of course with some songs you may be looking for a more unhinged drum sound, in which case you’d really turn up the compressed track.

Most of the time I keep the level consistent through the song, but you can also use this technique to change the intensity of the performance and improve the flow of the song. For example, in this part the compressed drums are faded in over the intro so that as the drumming increases in intensity it gives a sense of momentum into the verse.

Like any technique, this may not work in every song; but when it does, it can really make a difference.

Advertisement