Unlimited royalty free music tracks, footage, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Composition
Music

Sieben Schritte Unvergessliche Melodien zu kreieren - Teil 1

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Seven Steps To Writing Memorable Melodies.
Seven Steps To Writing Memorable Melodies - Part 2

German (Deutsch) translation by S Sadik (you can also view the original English article)

Die mir am häufigsten gestellte Frage von meinen Schülern lautet 'Wie schaffe ich eine richtig gute Melodie?' Es gibt leider keine einfache Antwort wie "Das machst du so..." Jedoch habe ich über die Jahre Techniken und Tipps entwickelt, die von Anfängern  genutzt werden können, interessantere Melodien zu erschaffen.

Ich habe zu meiner Zeit sehr vielen Lieder von Amateur Komponisten und Musik enthusiasten zu gehört. Es tut mir leid das sagen zu müssen, jedoch sieht es so aus als würden viele das wichtigste Element (meiner Meinung nach) -die Melodie- vergessen und viel zu sehr auf die Instrumentenauswahl, Effekte, Songtexte etc. konzentrieren. Im schlimmsten Fall ist die Melodie ein mit zufälligen Tasten beschmücktes etwas oder eine Stumpfe und 'offensichtliche' Melodielinie im besten Fall. Ohne eine starke Melodie wird ein Lied es eher selten auf eine iTunes Playlist von jemandem schaffen.

Also, wie schaffen wir es, aus der allzu bekannten und ich wage es zu sagen 'langweiligen' Melodielinie, etwas erfreuliches für das Ohr, etwas interessantes, unvergessliches zu kreieren, was die Herzen der Zuhörer erobert? In diesen kurzen Schritten biete ich dir die Möglichkeit eigene interessante Melodien zu entwickeln, so etwas wie hier...

Die Audiodatei sowie die Schritte in dieser Anleitung werden auf dem Klavier gespielt. Unglücklicherweise wurde ich nicht mit einer Stimme gesegnet, die es Wert ist, außerhalb meines Autos oder Badezimmers gehört zu werden. Ich habe die Noten der Melodie betont, so das man es ganz einfach raushören kann. Das Beispiellied habe ich ganz einfach in ein paar Minuten geschaffen. Je nach dem wie meine Laune wäre, wäre das Lied anders gewesen... jedoch hätten alle etwas gemeinsam. Sie müssten alle die Grundschritte, die hier aufgelistet sind, durchlaufen.

Ich werde einige Beispiele zeigen. Zu den jeweiligen Beispielen werde ich auch die Noten sowie eine Audio zu weisen für die, die Noten nicht so gut lesen können. Seid euch einfach bewusst, dass die Noten in ihrer einfachsten Form mit ihrer Begleitung gezeigt werden. Es wird versucht den gleichen Sound vom Endprodukt in jeder Audio zu haben, damit man sieht, wie wir uns dahin arbeiten.



Schritt 1: Die Verbindung zwischen Akkorden und der Melodie verstehen

Dies ist der wichtigste Teil einen besseren Song schreiben zu können und gleichzeitig auch der einfachste. Das Hauptziel ist es sicher zu stellen, das man an manchen Stellen vom Lied (wie zum Beispiel am Anfang vom Beat oder am Ende) auf eine Note 'landet', die im jeweiligen gespielten Akkord vorhanden ist. Was ich damit meine? Nun ja, wenn der Akkord der gespielt wird C-Dur ist, dann ist die Note die gespielt werden sollte entweder C, E oder G (die Noten, die den Akkord kreieren).  Wenn ein G-Dur gespielt wird, dann ein G, H oder D.

Lasst es uns an einem Beispiel genauer anschauen.

C-> G / H -> Am -> C / G -> F -> Em -> Dm -> G

(für die, die mit dieser Schreibmethode nicht vertraut sind, C steht für ein C-Dur und Am für A-Mol. G/H steht für einen G-Dur Akkord, der ein H im Bass hat, statt einem gewöhnlichen G. Du kannst hier mehr über Akkorde lernen: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chord_notation).

Wenn wir eine Melodie mit dieser Akkord folge haben würden, dann würde es allein mit dem vom Schritt 1 erwähnten Tipp so klingen:

Hier kannst du sehen, dass die erste Melodie note ein E ist, welches im C-Dur Akkord drinnen ist. Ich hätte auch C oder G nehmen können und das hätte genau so richtig geklungen, aber für dieses mal habe ich mich für's E entschieden. Im zweiten Balken ist der Akkord ein G-Dur. Hier habe ich mich für das G entschieden (hätte aber auch ein H und D nehmen können, da diese auch im G-Dur drinnen sind). Im dritten Balken ist der Akkord ein A-Mol (A, C, E), also habe ich mich für ein C entschieden.

Ok, nachdem ich es mir erneut angehört habe, ist mir aufgefallen, dass es aus reinem Zufall schon wie ein sehr bekanntes klassisches Stück klingt (Pietro Mascagni: Cavalleria Rusticana - Intermezzo, ungefähr bei Minute 1:40). Trotz der Ähnlichkeit mit einem bereits existierenden bekannten Stück, es sollte auffallen, das es eine sehr sanfte und beruhigende Melodie ist. Es klingt nicht so, als ob jemand einfach die Tonleiter hoch und runter spielt, es gibt eine Struktur.  Das liegt daran, dass jede gespielte Melodie im gespielten Akkord drinnen ist.

Es macht keinen unterschied, welche Note man aus dem Akkord spielt. Hier ist ein weiteres Beispiel, mit dem einzigen unterschied, dass ich beim G-Dur Akkord eine andere Note spiele.

Und erneut ist es sehr passend. (Auch das hier klingt einem klassischen Lied ähnlich,  Pachelbel's Canon in D Major bei Sekunde 20). Solange du verstehst, welche Noten in einem Akkord gespielt werden, kannst du anfangen die 'haupt' Noten für deine Melodie zusammen zu stellen.



Schritt 2: Das Nutzen von anderen Noten in der Tonleiter

Nachdem wir einige Noten für unsere Melodie haben (Schritt 1), können wir anfangen über zusätzliche Noten nachzudenken. Aber wie suchen wir uns aus, welche Noten wir hinzufügen können?

Was man sich bewusst machen sollte ist, welche Tonleiter das Lied hat um dann nur Noten aus dieser Tonleiter zu verwenden. Das versichert, dass man keine unpassenden Noten spielt. (Natürlich gibt es auch Fälle, wo man absichtlich Noten von anderen Tonleitern benutzt, aber um simpel zu bleiben ignorieren wir das für's erste einfach.)

Im vorherigen Beispiel war der Song in C-Dur. Zu wissen, in welcher Tonleiter dein Lied ist, ist ein wichtiger Teil beim komponieren. Wenn du mit Tonleitern nicht allzu vertraut bist empfehle  ich dir diese zu lernen (es gibt gewisse Bücher und Webseiten, die dir bei sowas helfen können). C-Dur hat eine reine Tonleiter, beim Klavier werden keine schwarzen Tasten verwendet. Daher sollten wir uns nur auf die weißen Tasten fokussieren, um sicher zu Stellen, einen angenehmen Sound zu bekommen.

Ok, nun werden wir Noten aus der C-Dur Tonleiter verwenden, entweder hoch oder runter der Tonleiter, um zu den anderen ''haupt'' Noten zu gelangen (wie wir es bei Schritt eins schon festgelegt haben).

Mit den Tipps von 1 und 2 habe ich mich zu den jeweiligen 'haupt' Noten hochgearbeitet, wie man es im folgenden Beispiel sieht.

Man merkt, dass man allein mit dem hinzufügen von den Noten (im ersten Balken vom E zum G im zweiten Balken) die Melodie interessanter gestaltet. Und auch hier hätte ich es umgekehrt machen können und es hätte sich trotzdem gut angehört. Versuch's selbst und probier rum. Was wichtig ist, ist dass ich nur Noten aus der C-Dur Tonleiter verwendet hab, um die oben gezeigten Beispiele zu erstellen.


Zusammenfassung

Die Schritte 1 und 2 zu benutzen reicht schon aus um eine gute Melodie zu erschaffen. Sie sind simpel und man kann es sich einfach anhören. Es wird nicht zu sehr hin und her gehüpft.

Im zweiten Teil gucken wir uns Techniken an, um die Melodie noch interessanter zu machen und um ein bisschen mehr Einzigartigkeit hinzuzufügen.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Seven Steps To Writing Memorable Melodies - Part 1

by

One of the most common questions I get asked by my students is 'How do I come up with a really good melody?' The answer, as with all million-dollar questions, can't be given as a simple "You do it like this..." However, over the years, I've developed a series of techniques and tips which can be used to help beginner song writers and composers come up with stronger melody lines.

I've listened to a lot of songs in my time, many of which have been composed by amateur performers and music enthusiasts. I'm sorry to say that the a lot of the song writers seem to forget about the most important element (in my opinion) - the melody - and concentrate far too much on instrument selection, production effects, lyrics and so on. The melody simply becomes an almost random selection of notes at worst, or a very dull and 'obvious' melody line at best. Without a strong melody line, a song is rarely going to make it on to someones iTunes playlist!

So, how do we transform the oh-so-common, and dare I say 'boring' melody line, to be something that is pleasant to the ear, interesting, memorable, and capture the heart of the listener? In this short series of tutorials I'm going to offer you my seven steps to writing a memorable melody, where you'll learn how to create a melody a little something like this...

The example audio above and those throughout this series of tutorials were played on piano, as unfortunately I haven't been blessed with a singing voice that's worth sharing ousite of my own car and bathroom. However, I've accented the melody notes (the highest notes) so that you will easily be able to pick them out from the backing chords and accompanyment. The example song is one I simply played within a couple of minutes of sitting at the piano, it could have turned out very differently depending on my mood, the day, the weather or whatever... but each version would all have one thing in common. They would all follow the basic steps outlined in this series of tutorials.

I shall give various examples during this tutorias. Each will show the musical score / notation, plus an audio file for those who don't read music so well. Just be aware that the score is written in it's simplest form with the accompanyment or backing being displayed as straight forward chords. Where as the audio breaks these chords out a little to provide a similar sound to that of the original example audio track that we're building up toward.



Step 1: Understand The Interaction Between The Chord And Melody

This is arguably the most important of all the tips and thankfully is the simplest to achieve for any new song writer. The essential aim is to ensure that at various intervals during the song (such as the first beat of a bar, or the end of a musical phrase), the melody note 'lands' on one of the notes that is being played in the chord. What do I mean by this? Well, if the chord that is being played is C Major, then, the melody note to feature should either be C, E or G (the triad that makes up the C Major chord). If the chord being played was G Major, then the melody note to feature should be either G, B, or D.

Lets take the example of the following common chord sequence.

C -> G / B -> Am -> C / G -> F -> Em -> Dm -> G

(If you're not familiar with this standard method of writing chords, then C means the C Major chord, Am means A Minor. G/B refers to a G Major chord, with a B as the bass note - instead of the normal G bass note. You can learn more about chord notation here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chord_notation).

If we were to write a melody to this chord sequence, using only the advice from Step 1 in this tutorial, we'd get something like this.

Here you can see, the first melody note is E, which is played with the C chord, because the C triad is C, E, G. I could have selected C or G and it would have sounded equally correct, but this time I decided to use E. In the second bar the chord is G and I have chosen melody note G (from the triad of G, B, and D). In the third bar, the chord is A minor (A, C, E), so I've selected melody note C.

Ok, having played this back, I realize that, purely by accident is already sounds like a rather famous melody from a classical piece of music (Pietro Mascagni: Cavalleria Rusticana - Intermezzo, about 1minute 40 into the piece). Despite this similarity to an already existing famous piece of music, what is clear is that it's very easy to listen to and pleasant sounding. It doesn't sound like someone picking random notes out from the chromatic scale, there's some structure to it. That's because each melody note sits within the basic chord being played at the time.

It doesn't matter which of the notes in the chord we choose. Here's another example where the melody still conforms to the guidelines in Step 1, but using a different melody note for the G chord in the second bar.

Again this works really well. (And, if you notice, this is also by complete accident similar to a very famous piece of music, Pachelbel's Canon in D Major from about 20 seconds in). As long as you understand the notes of the chord being played at any one time, you can start to piece together the 'main' or 'featured' notes of your melody line.



Step 2: Making Use Of Other Notes In The Scale

Once we've found some of the chord notes (Step 1) to feature in our melody, it's time to think about adding some melodic movement and interest to the melody line. But how do you choose which notes to add?

Well, the most obvious thing to do is work out what key signature your song is in, and then ensure you only use notes from that scale. This will ensure you don't get any 'clashing sounds' that are unpleasant to the ear. (Of course there maybe times when a melody purposefully uses notes from outside of the songs key signature, but, for simplicity we'll ignore such melodies for now.)

In the previous example, the song was in the key of C Major. Knowing your key signatures is a critical part of writing a good melody. If you don't know your key signatures, then I suggest you learn them (there are numerous websites and books to help you do this). C Major has a key signature where there are no sharps or flats; on a piano keyboard, no black notes. As such, when composing a melody for a song in C Major, we should focus only on the 'white notes' of the piano to ensure we get a pleasant sound.

Ok, so now we're going to use melody notes from the key signature C Major, either going up or down the scale, as we move around to each of the featured chord notes (as decided in step one).

I've used a fairly simple movement around the notes in this next audio example, using the tips from steps 1 and 2, to produce the melody line as follows.

Clearly adding the extra notes from the scale as we moved from the E in bar one to the G in bar 2 has added some more interest to the melody. Again, it didn't matter which notes of the scale I played, I could have move down the scale instead, and it would still have sounded pleasant. Try it yourself and experiment a little. What is important is that I used only the notes that are in C Major (no sharps of flats) to get me from the featured melody note of E (in the first bar) to G (in the second bar).


Review Stage

Using steps one and two above will get you to what I termed in my introduction as an 'obvious melody'. What I mean by this is the western ear is 'trained' to readily accept these kinds of melodies over the given chord sequence and they're fairly simple in their structure. They don't jump around much and have a fairly limited technical involvement.

In part two of this series, we'll look at more techniques to add further interest to the melody line and develop it in to something a little more unique.

Advertisement