Unlimited royalty free music tracks, footage, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production

باستخدام التقنيات المحيطة لتأليف

by
Read Time:10 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Songwriting & Composing: From Inspiration to Execution.
10 Cures For A Songwriting Slump
From Composing to Recording - Producing an Album with a Band

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Abdul Mutholib (you can also view the original English article)

"في تسجيل حديثة واحدة من أكبر المشاكل أن كنت في عالم من الاحتمالات التي لا نهاية لها. لذلك أحاول إغلاق الاحتمالات في وقت مبكر. أنا تحد من الاختيارات. أنا اقتصر الناس على مساحة صغيرة للمناورة. هناك سبب في أن لاعبي الجيتار ينتجون موسيقى أكثر إثارة للاهتمام من مشغلات المولفات: يمكنك الذهاب من خلال الخيارات على الغيتار في غضون دقيقة واحدة ، وبعد ذلك عليك البدء في اتخاذ القرارات الجمالية والأسلوبية. يمكن أن يحتوي هذا الكمبيوتر على ألف مركب ، كل منها يحتوي على ألف صوت. أحاول تقديم القيود للشعب. "
--بريان إينو

Flickr Image بواسطة Eptin


المقدمة

لقد كنت أفكر كثيرا في الآونة الأخيرة حول القيود والإمكانيات فيما يتعلق بتأليف. باستخدام أجهزة الكمبيوتر ومجموعات البرمجيات مثل المنطق وابوك وسونار، أو السبب، لدينا إمكانيات موسيقية لا حصر لها تقريبا. ومع ذلك ، غالباً ما أجد نفسي أجلس أمام محطة العمل الخاصة بي ، من خلال النقر على مئات من الإعدادات المسبقة للمزامنة أو العينات بدلاً من كتابة الموسيقى في الواقع.

إن المؤلفين الملائمين والملائمين في زماننا يفهمون بوضوح المخاطر المحتملة لخياراتنا التي لا حدود لها تقريبًا. الحل محاولة لخلق مع أقل-خلق عالم موسيقية كاملة في أي وقت من الأوقات، ولكن للقيام بذلك ضمن مجموعة محددة من القواعد أو القيود. تلك القواعد والقيود يمكن أن تختلف على نطاق واسع من الملحن بألحان، ولكن لحسن الحظ بالنسبة لنا، باستخدام أي من هذه التقنيات يمكن أن تكون مفيدة لما يقرب من أي نمط من الموسيقى.

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي ، سوف نفحص بعض التقنيات البسيطة التي يمكنك استخدامها عند تأليف الموسيقى - سواء كانت محيطة أو بسيطة أو حتى موسيقى الروك أو البوب. يمكن لأي فنان أن يستفيد من تعلم هذه التقنيات ، وتطبيقها لتجاوز كتلة الكاتب ، أو تحدي إبداعه بطرق جديدة ، أو ببساطة صقل وممارسة مهاراته المختلفة.


تحد من الاختيارات الخاصة بك

كما ذكر بريان إينو في الاقتباس أعلاه، يحد من الخيارات يمكن أن تكون طريقة سريعة وسهلة لقوة منظورا جديداً في التلحين. من خلال تقليل الاحتمالات ، تحتاج إلى التفكير داخل منطقة أصغر. عندما تكون محصوراً في مجموعة صغيرة من الاحتمالات ، يجب فحص جميع الخيارات اللاشعورية التي قد تقوم بها عادةً عند كتابة مسار معين.

فليكر الصورة عن طريق بريدجور

وسيلة قوية لفرض حدود لتغيير برامجك التلحين. على سبيل المثال ، بالنسبة إلى بعض ألحاني الجديدة ، فأنا أستخدم GarageBand - ليس لأنني أعتقد أنه بالضرورة أفضل أداة لهذا العمل ، بل لأنه يقدم لي بالفعل مجموعة محدودة من الخيارات بقدر ما هو إنشاء صوتي و التلاعب هو المعنية. في حين أن المنطق هو DAW الأساسي ، فإن مجموعة كبيرة من الميزات والإمكانيات الصوتية يمكن أن تكون في بعض الأحيان إحراجًا للثروات. يتطلب استخدام GarageBand هنا أن الاختيارات حول أداء وتسجيل، وتحرير وتجهيز، ضمن مجموعة مختلفة، أصغر من إمكانيات.

ذلك--الحد من برنامجنا هو إحدى الوسائل لتحديد خياراتنا. فيما يلي بعض الطرق الأخرى التي يمكننا بها الحد من خياراتنا التي قد تخدم أهدافنا التركيبية في نهاية المطاف.

  • الحد من خيارات البرامج - استخدم DAW أكثر بساطة ، أو استخدم MIDI فقط ، أو استخدم الصوت فقط ، أو قم بإنشاء نغمة كاملة باستخدام softsynth واحد فقط.
  • الحد من المعالجة اللاحقة - لا تستخدم أي شكل من أشكال الضغط أو EQ أو تقنيات إتقان أخرى لإنهاء الأغنية. الحصول على مزيج السبر كبيرة بينما أنت كنت يؤلف ونترك الأمر عند هذا.
  • الحد التوافقي وحنى المحتوى--في محاولة الحد من الأغاني الخاصة بك فقط بعض الحبال، أو بعض العبارات حنى بسيطة. تذكر أنك ما زلت بحاجة إلى إبقاء الموسيقى جذابة - إن لم تكن مثيرة - للمستمع!
  • الحد من المحتوى الإيقاعي - حاول تكوين نغمة بدون مقياس أو إيقاع واضح. أو حاول إنشاء توقيع جديد مثل 7/8 أو 5/4.
  • تحديد النموذج--حاول العمل مع بسيطة أكثر أو نموذج موسيقية أكثر تعقيداً--شيء آخر غير المعتاد أبا أغنية النموذج الخاص بك، إلخ.

كما يمكنك البدء في تجربة مع تقنيات مثل هذه، ستجد العديد منهم غير مريحة ولا يشعر ببساطة 'حق' لأسلوب التلحين الخاص بك. هذا أمر جيد! هذا الانزعاج يعني أنك بدأت في تطوير العضلات الموسيقية التي لم تستخدمها من قبل. عندما كنا كسالى ولا تمارس في لحظة، نجد لدينا العضلات والمفاصل تميل إلى مقاومة (أو الاحتجاج) عندما أخيرا قررنا الخروج لتشغيل. فقط ذلك، لدينا اللياقة الموسيقية محدود للعضلات ونحن استخدام أو عدم استخدام--تجريب ذلك باستخدام مجموعة كاملة من القدرات الخاصة بك. أضمن أنك ستفاجأ بالنتائج.


الذهاب العضوية

بسهولة وقوة غربان الزرع، وسوفتسينثس، وأخذ العينات، الكثير منا تتعثر في الأرض الاصطناعية. وسيلة قوية لبعث حياة جديدة في لدينا المؤلفات الموسيقية تتطلب أن 'نذهب العضوية' واستخدام أكثر (أو حصرا) أصوات العضوية.

Flickr الصورة عن طريق Secret Tenerife

يمكن أن يعني دمج الأصوات العضوية الكثير من الأشياء المختلفة ، لذلك دعونا ننظر إلى بعض الاحتمالات.

  • استبدال المسارات موالفة مع المسارات الصوتية--استبدال واحد أو أكثر من المسارات الموجودة الخاصة بك مع النسخ الصوتية لنفسه. حيث هناك مرة واحدة قد يكون موالفة قيادة عادية، بدلاً من ذلك استخدام الكلارينيت أو الناي أو صوتي. بمجرد تسجيلها ، استخدم المعالجة اللاحقة لإعادة تشكيلها وصبها لتناسب المسار الخاص بك.
  • استخدام الأصوات التي تم العثور عليها - لقد رأينا بعض البرامج التعليمية بالفعل (مثل هذا البرنامج) حول كيف يمكن للتسجيلات الميدانية أو الأصوات الموجودة أن تساعدك في إنشاء لوحة فريدة من نوعها من نوعها لموسيقاك. تنفق بعض الأصوات تسجيل الوقت من منزلك أو الحي، أو المدينة-وتسعى إلى إيجاد سبل جديدة لدمج هذه الأصوات في الموسيقى الخاصة بك.
  • العضوية الموجي--المهوسون أخذ العينات أكثر تقدما من هناك قد تفكر في أخذ عينات من بعض الأصوات العضوية، ومن ثم تحرير الأصوات الخاص بك وصولاً إلى الموجي أصغر قطع-حتى الصغيرة كدورة واحدة. من هناك ، يمكنك تحميل هذه الأشكال الموجية إلى عينك المختار وإنشاء أدوات جديدة.
  • Go All In - متى كانت آخر مرة بدأت فيها ببساطة تحدث ضوضاء في كل شيء من حولك وتسجيله؟ إعداد ميكروفون في وسط الغرفة الخاصة بك ووضع على بعض سماعات، وبدء التسجيل. ثم ، ابدأ "اللعب" غرفتك. عندما تأتي إلى نوع من الاستنتاج المنطقي، إيقاف التسجيل والذراع مسار جديد وكرر. يمكنك البدء في إنشاء بعض الصور الصوتية الفريدة بهذه الطريقة التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى مجموعات عينات جديدة ، أو مسارات إيقاع جديدة ، أو مع بعض منصات ذكية بعد المعالجة ، أو منصات محيطية أو أسرة.
  • إسعافات أولية استخدام--تكييف أحد المسارات كل الإلكترونية الخاصة بك إلى مسار جميع الصوتيات. دعوة بعض الأصدقاء الموهوبين موسيقياً ويشتري لهم طعام الغداء، والبيرة، وقضاء يوم تسجيل وترتيب اللحن الخاص بك على أي شيء ولكن الأدوات الصوتية. يمكن أن تكون هذه عملية مثيرة وممتعة بشكل مثير للدهشة للموسيقي الذي يعمل بشكل منفرد عادة ، في غرفة صغيرة ، مع الأجهزة الإلكترونية فقط ... مثلي.

العب مع التباين

في بعض الأحيان، يمكن أن تخيفها الموسيقيين بهم السلطة للتعبير. مثال: عندما كانت آخر مرة قمت بها حقاً الصاخبة، المتفجرات، والقاسية أو أغنية [غرتينغ]؟ بدلا من ذلك ، إذا كنت في المعدن السرعة أو فنان المتشددين من نوع ما ، متى كانت آخر مرة قمت بها يانع حقا ، المسار البرد؟

صورة Flickr بواسطة aussiegall

أنك قد تقول لنفسك "أقوم بإجراء هذا النوع من الموسيقى أقدم وأنا لست مهتما بصنع شيء مختلف." مرة أخرى - اعتبر ذلك شكلاً من "الممارسة" ، مثل لعب المقاييس أو تعلم إيقاعات جديدة - ووسيلة لاستعراض عضلاتك الموسيقية. تعلم العزف مع التباين ، داخل الأغنية ، والأغاني على وجه العموم.

مع تقنيات مثل هذا، من المهم عدم أن ننشغل في الجمالية--لا تقلق كثيرا عن كيف يبدو المنتج النهائي أو إذا كان أي شخص سوف ترغب في ذلك. هذا ممارسة--حتى تأخذ على هذا النحو. العب مع تباين شديد في الحجم ، في الملمس والجرس. تأليف أغنية حيث يستخدم كل مسار شكلاً من أشكال التشويه الثقيلة. بدلا من ذلك ، يؤلف مسار حيث كل صوت له سحب الهجوم لينة. ثم التجربة مع التصفيف هذين العنصرين داخل نفس الأغنية.

واحد من الأمثلة المفضلة لهذا الأسلوب يستخدم لتأثير كبير من بيتر غابرييل في أغنيته 'الظلام' من الألبوم 'متابعة'. لاحظ كيف هو التحول الدرامي من مقدمة إلى آية - ناعمة ، صوت تتابعي غبي ، يليها قيثارة مشوهة قاسية. هذه التقنية تتكرر في التباين من الآية إلى الجوقة والجسور.


السكون والحركة

الأشجار، بينما يعتبر عموما لا شيء 'المحمول'، نادراً ما تزال. هناك تباين متأصل بين الصرامة التي تلوح في الأفق لجذع الشجرة ، والتذبذب اللطيف للأطراف والفروع والأوراق.

صورة Flickr بواسطة Lincolnian (بريان)

الملحنين، أحد حلفائنا أقوى في التأثير على العاطفة في مستمعينا هي قوة حيوية. مستوى السطح، يمكن ببساطة الديناميات يشير إلى بريق الظاهر أو ليونة من عنصر معين الموسيقية. بشكل عام ، ومع ذلك ، ديناميات تشير إلى السكون أو الحركة المتأصلة داخل قطعة معينة. وهذا لا يشمل فقط التغييرات في الحجم ، ولكن أيضًا الإيقاع ، والهجوم ، والمحافظة ، والتغييرات لعنصر معين بمرور الوقت.

وهناك عدد كبير من الطرق التي يمكن أن نلعب مع الحركة والسكون في أغنية، ولكن هنا بعض الاقتراحات:

  • التشغيل الآلي للمكاتب-التجربة باستخدام التنفيذ التلقائي للغسل، معلمات مكافئ، وحجم، والآثار على مدى فترات طويلة من الزمن.
  • إنشاء ثابت - تجربة إنشاء مسارات ثابتة - المسارات التي تكرر ، دون تغيير لفترات طويلة من الزمن. هذه التباين بشكل جيد مع المسارات الأخرى التي قد تتغير حولها.
  • يكون مثل الأشجار--حسنا، لم أتمكن من التفكير في أفضل طريقة لوصف هذا، لكن الفكرة هنا أن لديك بسيطة نسبيا، خفية 'قاعدة' للأغنية الخاصة بك. ثم، قم بإنشاء عدد من المسارات 'فرع، وأطرافه ويترك' التي سوف تتحرك ويرفرف حول هذا المسار الأساسي.

يمكن العثور على مثال ممتاز لهذه التقنية في "Fossil and Fern" للمخرج ستيف روتش.


تحدي توقع

وتزدهر بعض أنماط من الموسيقى على إعداد وتقديم على توقع الموسيقية. على سبيل المثال ، تعتبر موسيقى House و Trance فعالة بشكل خاص في النوادي والهوائيات لأنها تعلّق تنبيغًا موسيقيًا وتفلتًا إلى المستمع. وبهذه الطريقة ، يكون لدى المستمع توقعات معينة ويتم مكافأتها عندما يأتي هذا التوقع ، مما يخلق نوعًا من "الخبرة المشتركة" حيث يتطابق الرقص مع الموسيقى.

فليكر الصورة عن طريق كيندال ك.

في بعض الأحيان، بيد أنها مجرد قوية لتعطيل توقعات في موسيقانا لأنه يمكن أن يسبب المستمع الجلوس معا وأن تنتبه. إليك بعض الطرق التي يمكنك من خلالها تحدي التوقعات في الموسيقى الخاصة بك.

  • نموذج التغيير - كما أشرنا أعلاه ، جرّب وضع آيات أو جوقات أو جسور لا تتوقعها بالضرورة.
  • تغيير الحبال--استخدام الموضع الدقيق من الحبال لتعطيل الإيقاعات الطبيعية لخلق التوتر والإفراج. هنا تعليمي كبير على الإيقاعات.
  • استبدال الصكوك--إذا كان لديك خط لحني أو متناسق خاصة، النظر في استبدال الأجهزة لهذا الخط في جزء واحد من الأغاني الخاصة بك. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كان للغيتار الخاص بك جزءًا من التناغم أو الإيقاع خلال أول مرة ، مرر ذلك الجزء إلى بيانو خلال الآية الثانية.
  • لا تمنحهم ما يريدون (على الأقل ليس بعد) - إذا كنت تقوم بصنع الموسيقى الإلكترونية وتراكمات العمل والأعطال ، فكر في إطالة أمدها إلى ضعفي طولها الطبيعي. وبدلاً من ذلك، مرة واحدة كنت قد ذهبت من خلال تفصيل، لا تذهب من خلال تراكم-اذهبوا مباشرة إلى الوراء إلى مزيج كامل، إلخ.

استنتاج

هذه التقنيات يجب أن تكون ، أولا وقبل كل شيء ، تعتبر "تمارين". يفكر فيها كرفع الأثقال أو تمارين رياضية للموسيقى الخاصة بك. أن النتائج النهائية من هذه الممارسات قد لا تكون بالضرورة دائماً أفضل خيار الموسيقية للتراكيب الخاصة بك النهائي. ومع ذلك ، فإن فهم هذه التقنيات ، واستخدامها بشكل انتقائي للحد من الاحتمالات التي لا نهاية لها والتي تواجهها كمؤلف ، لا يمكن إلا أن يساعدك في سعيكم لكتابة موسيقى رائعة.

آمل أن يكون هذا البرنامج التعليمي مفيدًا ، وأنك ستأخذ بعضًا من هذه الأفكار وتستخدمها في عملك. إذا قمت بذلك، أنا أحب أن تعرف كيف أنها عملت بالنسبة لك--واسمحوا لي أن نعرف في التعليقات!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Hostingheaderbarlogoj
Join InMotion Hosting for $3.49/mo & get a year on Tuts+ FREE (worth $180). Start today.
Advertisement

Using Ambient Techniques For Composing

by
This post is part of a series called Songwriting & Composing: From Inspiration to Execution.
10 Cures For A Songwriting Slump
From Composing to Recording - Producing an Album with a Band

"In modern recording one of the biggest problems is that you're in a world of endless possibilities. So I try to close down possibilities early on. I limit choices. I confine people to a small area of maneuver. There's a reason that guitar players invariably produce more interesting music than synthesizer players: you can go through the options on a guitar in about a minute, after that you have to start making aesthetic and stylistic decisions. This computer can contain a thousand synths, each with a thousand sounds. I try to provide constraints for people."
- Brian Eno

Flickr Image by Eptin


Introduction

I've been thinking a lot lately about limitations and possibilities in relation to composing. Using computers and software packages such as Logic, Cubase, Sonar, or Reason, our musical possibilities are nearly endless. Even so, I often find myself sitting in front of my workstation, clicking through hundreds of synth or sampler presets rather than actually writing music.

The great ambient and minimalist composers of our time clearly understand the potential pitfalls of our nearly limitless options. Their solution is to attempt to create with less - to create a complete musical world in any given moment, but to do so under a specific set of rules or restrictions. Those rules and restrictions can vary widely from composer to composer, but fortunately for us, using any one of their techniques can be helpful for nearly any style of music.

In this tutorial, we'll examine a few simple techniques you can use when composing music - whether ambient, minimalist, or even rock or pop. Any artist can benefit from learning these techniques, and applying them to get through writer's block, to challenge their creativity in new ways, or to simply refine and practice their various skills.


Limit Your Choices

As Brian Eno noted in the quote above, limiting choices can be a quick and easy way to force a new perspective on composing. By reducing possibilities, you necessitate thinking within a smaller area. When you're confined to a smaller set of possibilities, you must examine all the unconscious choices you might normally make when writing a given track.

Flickr image by bredgur

One powerful way to impose limits is to change your composing software. For example, for some of my new tunes, I'm using GarageBand - not because I think it is necessarily the best tool for the job, but rather because it already presents me with a more limited set of choices as far as sound creation and manipulation is concerned. While Logic is my primary DAW, the vast array of features and sonic possibilities can sometimes be an embarrassment of riches. Using GarageBand here requires that I make choices about performing, recording, editing and processing, within a different, smaller set of possibilities.

So - limiting our software is one means of limiting our choices. Here are a few other ways we can limit our choices that might ultimately serve our compositional goals.

  • Limit Software Choices - Use a simpler DAW, use only MIDI, use only audio, or compose an entire tune using only one softsynth.
  • Limit Post-Processing - Don't use any form of compression, EQ or other mastering techniques to finalize your song. Get the mix sounding great while you're composing and leave it at that.
  • Limit Harmonic and Melodic Content - Try limiting your song to only a few chords, or a few simple melodic phrases. Remember that you still need to keep the music engaging - if not interesting - for the listener!
  • Limit Rhythmic Content - Try composing a tune with no discernible meter or tempo. Or try composing in a new time signature such as 7/8 or 5/4.
  • Limit Form - Try working with a more simple or a more complex musical form - something other than your usual ABBA song form, etc.

As you begin to experiment with techniques like these, you'll find many of them are uncomfortable and simply don't feel 'right' for your composing style. This is a good thing! That discomfort means that you are beginning to develop musical-muscles you've not used before. When we've been lazy and not exercised in awhile, we find our muscles and joints tend to resist (or protest) when we finally decide to go out for a run. Just so, our musical fitness is limited to the muscles we use or don't use - so workout using the full range of your capabilities. I guarantee you'll be surprised by the results.


Go Organic

With the ease and power of our DAWs, softsynths, and samplers, many of us get stuck in the land of the synthetic. A powerful way of breathing new life into our musical compositions is to require that we 'go organic' and use more (or exclusively) organic sounds.

Flickr image by Secret Tenerife

Incorporating organic sounds can mean a lot of different things, so let's look at some possibilities.

  • Replace Synth Tracks With Acoustic Tracks - Replace one or more of your existing tracks with acoustic renditions of the same. Where there once might have been a monophonic lead synth, instead use a clarinet or flute or vocal. Once you've recorded it, use post-processing to reshape it and mold it to fit your track.
  • Use Found Sounds - We've seen a few tutorials already (like this one) on how field recordings or found sounds can help you create a unique and one-of-a-kind palette for your music. Spend some time recording sounds from your home, neighborhood, or city - and seek to find new ways to incorporate these sounds into your music.
  • Organic As Waveform - For the more advanced sampling geeks out there you might consider sampling some organic sounds, and then editing your sounds down to smaller waveform chunks - even as small as a single cycle. From there, you can load these waveforms into your sampler of choice and create new instruments.
  • Go All In - When was the last time you simply started making noise on everything around you and recording? Set up a microphone in the middle of your room, put on some headphones, and start recording. Then, begin 'playing' your room. When you come to some kind of logical conclusion, stop recording, arm a new track and repeat. You can begin to create some really unique soundscapes this way that can lead to new sample sets, new rhythm tracks, or with some clever post-processing, ambient pads or beds.
  • Use A Band Aid - Adapt one of your all-electronic tracks into an all-acoustic track. Invite over some of your musically talented friends, buy them lunch and beer, and spend the day recording and arranging your tune on nothing but acoustic instruments. This can be an amazingly fun and liberating process for the musician who normally works solo, in a small room, with only electronics... Like me.

Play With Contrast

Sometimes, musicians can be intimidated by their own power of expression. Case in point: when was the last time you made a REALLY loud, explosive, harsh or grating song? Alternatively, if you're in a speed-metal or a hardcore artist of some kind, when was the last time you made a REALLY mellow, chill track?

Flickr image by aussiegall

You might say to yourself, "I make the kind of music I make, and I'm not interested in making something different." Again - consider this as a form of 'practice', much like playing scales or learning new rhythms - and a means of flexing your musical muscles. learn to play with contrast, within a song, and with songs on the whole.

With techniques like this, it is important not to get caught up in the aesthetic - don't worry too much about how the final product sounds or if anyone will like it. This is a practice - so take it as such. Play with extreme contrasts in volume, in texture and timbre. Compose a song where every track uses some form of heavy distortion. Alternatively, compose a track where every sound has a drawn out and soft attack. Then experiment with juxtaposing those two elements within the same song.

One of my favorite examples of this technique is used to great effect by Peter Gabriel in his song 'Darkness' from the 'Up' album. Note how dramatic the shift is from intro to verse - soft, muted arpeggio, followed by harsh distorted guitar. This technique repeats in the contrast from verse to chorus and bridge.


Stillness and Motion

Trees, while generally not considered a 'mobile' thing, are rarely still. There is an inherent contrast between the looming solidity of a tree trunk, and the subtle wavering of the limbs, branches and leaves.

Flickr image by Lincolnian (Brian)

As composers, one of our most powerful allies in affecting emotion in our listeners is the power of dynamics. On the surface level, dynamics can simply refer to the apparent loudness or softness of a particular musical element. More generally, however, dynamics refer to the inherent stillness or motion within a given piece. This encompasses not only volume changes, but also tempo, attack, sustain, and the changes of a given element over time.

There are a vast number of ways we can play with motion and stillness in a song, but here are a few suggestions:

  • Automation - Experiment with automation of panning, volume, EQ and effects parameters over long periods of time.
  • Create Static - Experiment with the creation of static tracks - tracks that repeat, unchanged for long periods of time. These contrast well with the other tracks that might be changing around them.
  • Be Like The Trees - Okay, I couldn't think of a better way to describe this, but the idea here is that you have a relatively simple, subtle 'base' for your song. Then, you create a number of 'branch, limb and leaves' tracks that will move and flutter around that base track.

An excellent example of this technique can be found in Steve Roach's 'Fossil and Fern'.


Defy Expectation

Some styles of music thrive on setting up and delivering on musical expectation. For example, House and Trance music are especially effective in clubs and raves because they telegraph musical buildups and breakdowns to the listener. In this way, the listener has a certain expectation and they are rewarded when that expectation comes to pass, creating a kind of 'shared experience' as their dancing matches the music.

Flickr image by K. Kendall

Sometimes, however, it is just as powerful to disrupt expectations in our music because it can cause the listener to sit up and take notice. Here are a few ways you can defy expectation in your music.

  • Change Form - As noted above, experiment with placing verses, choruses, or bridges where you don't necessarily expect them.
  • Change Chords - Use careful placement of chords to disrupt normal cadences to create tension and release. Here's a great tutorial on cadences.
  • Replace Instruments - If you have a particular melodic or harmonic line, consider replacing the instrumentation for that line in one part of your song. For example, if your guitar has a harmony or rhythm part during the first verse, pass that part over to a piano during the second verse.
  • Don't Give Them What They Want (at least not yet) - If you're creating electronic music and working buildups and breakdowns, consider stretching them out to twice their normal length. Alternatively, once you've gone through a breakdown, don't go through a buildup - just go straight back to the full mix, etc.

Conclusion

These techniques should be, first and foremost, considered 'exercises'. Think of them as weightlifting or calisthenics for your music. The end results from these practices may not necessarily always be the best musical choice for your final compositions. However, having an understanding of these techniques, and using them selectively to limit the endless possibilities you are faced with as a composer, can only aid you in your quest to write great music.

I hope this tutorial has been helpful, and that you'll take a few of these ideas and use them in your own work. If you do, I'd love to know how they worked for you - please let me know in the comments!

Advertisement