Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production
Music

استخدام الغيتار أمبير المحاكاة 101، الجزء 1

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101.
Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101, Part 2

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Ratnawati (you can also view the original English article)

مستهلا سلسلة جديدة من دروس Basix موسعة ومتعمقة، وهذا هو الأول في سلسلة من المقالات التي صممت لإرشادك خطوة بخطوة خلال عملية إعداد واستخدام الغيتار أمبير المحاكاة في التسجيلات الخاصة بك. بداية مع الأسس، سنقوم العمل من خلال بعض السيناريوهات البسيطة والعمل في طريقنا حتى القرص المتقدمة والخدع. في حين سيكون هناك الكثير من التوجيهات والأفكار يمكنك أن تأخذ بعيداً وتستخدم في عمليات الإنتاج الخاصة بك، والهدف الحقيقي تجهيز لكم مع المهارات اللازمة لتطوير الحلول الإبداعية الخاصة بك.


مقدمة

للعديد منا، ولأسباب تتراوح تكلفة ترتيبات المعيشة، أنها ليست مجرد عملية تسجيل مكبر للصوت غيتار حقيقي في غرفة حقيقية مع مكبرات الصوت الحقيقي. لحسن الحظ، جلبت مجموعة المتنامية بسرعة وتحسين الأداء لنمذجة تكنولوجيا مكبر للصوت الغيتار الرقمية نغمات الغيتار مسجل كبيرة يسهل الوصول إليها للهاوي.

تتميز العديد من الأمبيرات الرقمية للأجهزة بمخرجات مباشرة مع مضاهاة مدمجة في السماعة ، وحتى في بعض الحالات ، مضاهاة ميكروفون متطورة ، مما يسمح لك بتشغيل إشارة الأمبير العادية مباشرة إلى محطة الصوت الرقمية الخاصة بك (DAW). من بين الفوائد التي لا تعد ولا تحصى لمثل هذا الإعداد ، فإن الجمال الحقيقي له هو الاتساق: يمكنك إطعام نفس الدرجة بدقة في مكتب الخلط عند اللعب مباشرة كما تفعل عند تسجيل عروض تجريبية في غرفة البروفات أو قطع ألبوم في الاستوديو.

ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة لأولئك منا الذين ليسوا مستعدين للتخلي عن الوهج الدافئ للأنابيب المفرغة والالتزام بمنصة رقمية تمامًا ، فإن منتجات محاكاة amp البرمجيات مثل Guitar Rig من إنتاج Native Instruments و GTR من AmpliTube و WAV من Waves توفر حل وسط ، يعمل كمحرك قائم بذاته على الكمبيوتر لجلسات الممارسة الهادئة أو التشويش جنبا إلى جنب مع المسارات المفضلة لديك في اي تيونز ، فضلا عن توفير وسيلة للحصول على نغمات الغيتار المسجلة كبيرة دون عناء ونفقات أساليب التسجيل التقليدية.

على الرغم من أنه صحيح أنه بالنسبة للعديد من عازفي الجيتار ، فإن أفضل النمذجة الرقمية ليست جاهزة تمامًا لجعل أنبوب الأنبوب متقادمًا ، ومع ذلك يمكن تحقيق نتائج رائعة جدًا ومهنية ، وحتى ملوك موسيقى الروك مثل Angus Young - وهو مرادف عملي جيدة قديمة الطراز القديم مارشال نصف كومة - تستخدم الآلات الموسيقية "غيتار تلاعب 3" لتسجيل بعض المسارات على ألبوم AC / DC الأسود الجليد.

لذا سواء كنت مبتدئًا تمامًا تتطلع إلى اتخاذ خطواتك الأولى في تسجيل المنزل ، أو كنت محترفًا محنكًا ببضع مئات من الألبومات على سيرتك الذاتية ، فمن المحتمل أن توفر لك برامج النمذجة amp النغمات التي تريدها.


اختيار جهاز محاكاة أمبير

في حين أن بعض DAWs ، مثل Apple's Logic و Garageband ، تأتي مع محاكاة amp بالجيتار مدمجة ، معظمها لا ، وعلى الرغم من أن هذه الإضافات المجمعة رائعة ، إلا أن العديد من الناس سيجدون أن معظم خيارات الطرف الثالث المخصصة توفر قدرا أكبر من المرونة و أصوات أفضل. الشيء المهم هو الاستفادة من الإصدارات التجريبية. كما هو الحال مع الأمبير "الحقيقي" ، فإن جميع sims amp ليست متساوية ، ويمكنك فقط تحديد أي منها سيقدم نوع الأصوات التي تريدها. بعض الخيارات المعروفة وغير المعروفة بشكل جيد هي:

وهناك أيضا بعض الخيارات الحرة جيدة جداً، جداً:


إعداد

اعتماداً على جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك، فإنه من المرجح أن كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على إشارة الغيتار الخاص بك إلى جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك هو 1/4 "إلى 1/8" محول. هذه تأتي في أشكال مختلفة، عادة محول جاك بسيطة أو كبل مع ميني-رابط في نهاية واحدة. وهناك أيضا موصلات USB، عادة مع مكبر للصوت إشارة صغيرة بنيت.

كما هو الحال مع معظم الأشياء، تختلف الخيارات من بين مجموعة بسيطة وغير مكلفة لمربي الحيوانات، اسم العلامة التجارية الشؤون. نصيحتي هي لمحاولة أبسط وأرخص من الأولى، وإذا كنت في شك، نطلب من جميع أنحاء للحصول على المشورة.

إذا كنت تريد الذهاب مع محول بسيط – لا على واجهة مخصصة غيتار – سوف تحتاج إلى تحويل الإشارات الغيتار الخاص بك من عالية إلى مقاومة منخفضة. جيتار مع التقاطات سلبية تنتج إشارة مقاومة عالية مما، ربما كونتيرينتويتيفيلي، يعني أنه ضعيف جداً ويحتاج إلى أن يكون الدافع وراء أصعب قليلاً قبل أن يمكن أن تذهب من خلال القول، مكبر للصوت دائرة أو في بطاقة الصوت للكمبيوتر الخاص بك.

والخبر السار هو أن أي دواسة أو معالج يعمل بالطاقة ، طالما أنها ليست دارة "الالتفافية الحقيقية" ، ستقوم بهذا العمل نيابة عنك ، لذلك ربما لا تحتاج إلى شراء أي معدات إضافية. شيء مثل مانع الضجيج أو EQ مثالي ، لأنك تحصل على فائدة إضافية من تأثير الدواسة (أقل ضوضاء ، أو ما قبل التضخيم EQ) بالإضافة إلى تحويل المعاوقة.

وبطبيعة الحال، إذا كنت تريد أن تكون قادراً على تسجيل متعددة، في وقت واحد المسارات، سوف تحتاج نوعا من واجهة الصوت متعدد المداخل. وينطبق هذا أيضا إذا كنت تواجه مسائل استتار؛ فتأخير صغيرة بين يمكنك اللعب ملاحظة والاستماع إلى تضخيم إشارة من جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك. على الرغم من ذلك ، وجدت أن معظم بطاقات الصوت الحديثة وأجهزة الكمبيوتر التي تعمل بنظام Mac تتسم بالقوة الكافية للحفاظ على انخفاض وقت الاستجابة بدرجة كافية.


الشروع في العمل

لذا، لقد قمت باختيار جهاز محاكاة أمبير وكنت قد حصلت على إشارة الغيتار الخاص بك إلى جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك. كيفية الحصول على الأفضل من ذلك؟

ومن المفارقات أن بساطة التوصيل والتشغيل لمعظم برامج النمذجة يعني أن العديد من اللاعبين نتوقع نتائج كبيرة أكثر بكثير بسرعة من مكبر للصوت "حقيقي". نظراً لامبير أنبوب كريم، سوف تنفق معظم الناس أيام وأسابيع صاروخ موجه باستمرار في أن لهجة بعيد المنال، والكمال؛ مع نطاق أكبر بكثير من إمكانيات النمذجة البرمجيات العروض، ينبغي أن ليس من المستغرب أن البديل الرقمي يتطلب على الأقل الاستثمار نفسها.

كما أنها غالباً ما أن الأصوات مسبقاً في أي البرنامج المساعد المعطى الصوت مثير للإعجاب في الأولى، لكن بمجرد محاولة لحملهم على صوت فعال في مزيج مع غيرها من الصكوك، فإنها تبدأ في خريف قصيرة.

لبقية هذا البرنامج التعليمي، أنا ذاهب إلى العمل مع 3 تلاعب الغيتار، نظراً لأن البرنامج المساعد استخدامها، وأنا أكثر دراية. ومع ذلك، المواضيع التي سنقوم تغطية قابلة للتطبيق على معظم، أن لم يكن كل، محاكاة أمبير حاليا في السوق.


خفض الضوضاء!

الضجيج غير المرغوب فيه يمكن أن يكون مشكلة مع الغيتار أي تسجيل السيناريو – أمبير حقيقي أو البرمجيات – وخاصة عندما تشارك أعلى مكسب الإعدادات. ولسوء الحظ، بينما هيس وهمهمة كدسة النصف الحقيقي سحر فتويين معينة، هيس وفرقعة للبرمجيات النمذجة الرقمية أقل جاذبية.

إذا كان الضجيج مشكلة بالنسبة لك، جرب الخطوات التالية:

  • تأكد من أن كبلات الصوت في حالة جيدة . إذا كان ذلك ممكناً ، فقم بفك القوابس وتحقق من الأسلاك الفضفاضة وقم بإصلاحها أو استبدالها إذا لزم الأمر
  • قم بإيقاف تشغيل أي أجهزة كهربائية غير ضرورية مثل أجهزة التلفزيون وأضواء الشريط الفلوري والأضواء الموفرة للطاقة ، والتي تعد جميع مصادر تداخل الإشارات غير المرغوب فيها. حتى لو كانوا قريبين منك ، فلا يزال بإمكانهم إحداث ضوضاء غير مرغوب فيها
  • شاشة الغيتار الخاص بك . يمكنك شراء رقائق ذاتية اللصق وحتى نوع خاص من الطلاء الذي ، عندما يطبق على الأسطح الداخلية للغيتار الخاص بك ، سيساعد على القضاء على التدخل الكهربائي غير المرغوب فيه
  • استخدام التقاطات humbucking إذا كان لديك الخيار وصوتهم هو مناسبة

عند هذه النقطة، هل يمكن أن يتساءل لماذا لم أذكرها كواتم الصوت؛ لا تقلق، أنا قادمة ذلك في لحظة! الخطوات المذكورة أعلاه مهمة لأنها سوف يساعد جميع للحفاظ على الضجيج غير المرغوب فيها من الوصول إلى الإشارات في المقام الأول. الاستفادة من ذلك إشارة لطيفة نظيفة بينما كنت تلعب: الضوضاء القامع أو البوابة، بغض النظر عن كيف جيدة عليه، الوحيد الفعال عند البوابة مغلق، أي عندما كنت لا تلعب، ولذلك لا بد من التأكد من أنك تعمل مع أفضل إشارة ممكنة. Remember: garbage in, garbage out!


قم بإغلاق البوابة

بوابة أو الضوضاء القامع هو الشيء الذي سوف يعطي لك صمت المجيدة، معرقل أثناء فترات الراحة، وتقع في الموسيقى، ولكن تحديد ذلك بشكل صحيح أمر بالغ الأهمية في الحفاظ على ديناميات اللعب الخاص بك. الحصول على أنها خاطئة، وأنها سوف تكون بطيئة جداً للرد على اللعب الخاص بك، مما تسبب في الملاحظات بقطع أو تفشل للصوت تماما.

فما هو الفرق بين القامع ضوضاء وبوابة ضجيج؟ ليس كثيرا، حقاً، على الأقل من حيث وظيفتها الرئيسية. نموذجياً، هو القامع ضوضاء أداة أبسط الذي يهدف لتصفية هيس وهمهمة، وعادة ما يتم تعيين مع عنصر تحكم واحد عتبة. على النقيض من ذلك ، تميل بوابات الضوضاء إلى أن تكون أكثر تعقيدًا ، وعادةً ما تتضمن عناصر تحكم للعتبة ، والهجوم ، والإفراج ، وأحيانًا الاحتفاظ بها

  • تحدد العتبة المستوى الذي يبدأ عنده تأثير البوابة في العمل. سوف تكون هناك حاجة إلى إعداد أعلى للإشارات أكثر ضوضاء
  • يحدد التعليق الحد الأدنى من الوقت الذي ستبقى فيه البوابة مفتوحة ، ويمكن استخدامها للتأكد من أن الانهيار الطبيعي للغيتار الخاص بك - حتى الانحلال السريع للغاية لحواشي وأوتار staccato - لا ينقطع
  • يتعامل الهجوم والإفراج ، على التوالي ، مع السرعة التي تشترك بها البوابة وتتعطل ؛ تعني الإعدادات الأطول الاستجابة البطيئة ، بينما تكون الإعدادات القصيرة أكثر وضوحًا

تجدر الإشارة إلى أنه، في سيناريو تسجيل، قد تحتاج إلى استخدام إعدادات بوابة ضجيج مختلفة لأجزاء مختلفة من الأغنية، وبخاصة حيث توجد اختلافات هائلة في ديناميات اللعب الخاص بك.

على سبيل المثال، للصخور الثقيلة أو المسار معدنية، أجزاء الغيتار إيقاع يرجح أن تتم مع متقطع المفاجئ، ثقيلة جداً والكثير من التشويه، التي سوف تحتاج القضية البوابة على الاستجابة تماما قوة حفاظا على صوت "ضيق". عندما تأتي إلى منفرداً، أو ربما أكثر مرونة، المتداول جزء جوقة، أن الضوضاء العدوانية بوابة الإعداد سيكون على الأرجح قاسية جداً، قطع المتحللة الملاحظات وعرقلة الهجوم انتقاء أكثر ليونة.

يحتوي قسم الإدخال في Guitar Rig ، ومعظم منافسيها ، على تقليل الضوضاء المضمنة ، ويمكن عادةً تشغيل هذه الميزة أو إيقاف تشغيلها وتعديل العتبة يدويًا أو عن طريق وظيفة "Learn" ، والتي سيحاول البرنامج من خلالها تحديد الإعداد المناسب أثناء اللعب. بالنسبة إلى أي شيء أكثر من النغمات المفرطة بشكل طفيف ، قد لا يكون هذا كافياً ، لذا ستحتاج إلى إضافة بوابة أو كابتة إلى سلسلة الإشارة.

في لوحة SideKick من Guitar Rig (F2 ، لإظهار وإخفاء) ، هناك خياران: Noise Gate وNoise Reduction .

الحد من الضوضاء هو المفضل للاستخدام العام، نظراً لأنه من السهل جداً للاستخدام، وعموما جيدة جداً في تصفية هيس دون أن يؤثر هذا الهجوم والانحلال من أدائي. رغم ذلك، الشيء الرئيسي القيام به، انقر فوق الزر ماكسيميسي على الجانب الأيسر من الوحدة النمطية لفتح المعلمات "الخبير". هذا يكشف عن زوج من الضوابط المسماة بشكل حدسي مسمى: الإصدار و De-Hiss . يحدد الأول السرعة التي ينشغل بها مرشح الضجيج عند توقف إشارة الدخل (أي عندما تتوقف عن اللعب) ، وسيساعد هذا الأخير على ترشيح hiss عالي التردد (على الرغم من أن هذا يمكن أن يضر بالنغمة العامة ، لذا تابع بعناية) .

بوابة الضوضاء، من ناحية أخرى، أشبه ما يكون الرف ومربع ستومب الضوضاء وحدات خفض كنت قد يكون على دراية، وأكثر ملاءمة لتطبيقات محددة، الصخور الثقيلة مثل هذا الإيقاع المسار المشار إليها سابقا.


أعلى جودة

من السهل أن تفوتك ، ولكن في الجزء العلوي الأيمن من نافذة Guitar Rig ، بجوار مفتاح التحويل الجانبي ومقياس وحدة المعالجة المركزية ، هي عبارة عن تحكم Hi Q. نماذج أخرى لديها وظائف مماثلة ، في كثير من الأحيان في إعدادات البرنامج الشاملة ، وعادة ما يكون الاختيار بين 32 بت و 64 بت المعالجة.

يؤدي استخدام وضع Hi Q ، أو زيادة معدل معالجة البرنامج ، إلى الحصول على صوت بجودة أعلى بكثير. العيب هو أن هذا يضع ضغطًا أكبر على وحدة المعالجة المركزية للكمبيوتر الخاص بك ، واعتمادًا على مدى قوة جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك ، قد يؤدي إلى زمن انتقال لا يمكن التحكم فيه.

يجب أن تكون معظم أجهزة الكمبيوتر الحديثة قادرة على التعامل مع هذا ، ولكن ضع في اعتبارك أنه عندما تقوم بإدخال DAW المضيف الخاص بك ، ومكونات إضافية مختلفة ، وربما مثيلات متعددة من الإضافات ، يزيد الحمل على وحدة المعالجة المركزية ، لذا احترس من وحدة المعالجة المركزية متر إلى قلب . إذا لزم الأمر ، احفظ وضع الجودة العالية للاختلاط النهائي.


التخلص من تلك الإعدادات المسبقة!

يتم تصميم معظم نغمات مسبقاً في مكبر للصوت نمذجة البرمجيات لإظهار المنتج ميزته أفضل كجهاز مستقل. بشكل عام، وهذا يعني الكثير من المكاسب، والكثير من بأس، والفك إسقاط حالات التأخير والتحوير. جميع متعة كبيرة، لكن قد لا تكون مناسبة تماما للعالم الحقيقي التطبيقات في مزيج كامل فرقة.

السبيل الوحيد للحصول على النغمات التي تعمل جيدا في يمزج الخاص ومع الموسيقى الخاصة بك لبناء سلاسل إشارة من الألف إلى الياء. وبطبيعة الحال، المسبقة هي وسيلة جيدة للحصول على فكرة التي تسير أمبير وتأثير نماذج لتحصل في الملعب، ونظرا لاستخدام كافة الشركات المصنعة لمحاكاة أمبير تماما إنشاء المكاتب الإقليمية للمرأة كأساس لنماذجها، كنو العالم الحقيقي الموجود في كثير من الأحيان وليدجي الامبير سوف تقف أنت في أيد أمينة.

ومع ذلك، يمكن أن تكون مجموعة مذهلة من خيارات شاقة، فكيف تحصل على السيطرة على التعلم لإقناع الأصوات التي تريدها من البرامج الخاصة بك؟ نصيحتي محاولة لتقليد بعض نغمات الغيتار المفضلة الخاصة بك. إذا كنت مروحة كبيرة من، أقول، جيمي الصفحة، ربما لديك فكرة جيدة عن ما هو نوع المعدات التي استخدمها وما ينبغي أن تبدو لهجته. استخدام تلك المعرفة كنقطة انطلاق، يمكنك تحويل عملية التعلم إلى متعة بعد ظهر اليوم لمطابقة لهجة، تحاول مختلف النماذج أمبير والمتكلمين ومربعات أبعاد مختلفة، وهكذا. في هذه العملية، يجب أن تبدأ للحصول على فكرة جيدة عن كيفية تأثير العناصر المختلفة على الصوت، ونفس القدر من الأهمية، كيف البرنامج تطابقاً بالأمبير وأنها تسعى إلى محاكاة الآثار.


استجابة ويشعر

شيء مهم آخر للنظر أن يشعر هامة كصوت. من أي وقت مضى بتوصيل أمبير التي تحب فقط؟ جزء من ذلك بالطبع أن تكون الخصائص اللونية للامبير الصوت، لكن سيكون أيضا كيف يستجيب الامبير لأسلوب اللعب الخاص بك، وفي المقابل، كيف أن يجعل تشغيل. هذه الأمور مع البرمجيات أمبير، أيضا: حتى إذا كانت اللهجة الأصوات الصحيحة، قد تجد أنه، بطريقة ما، كنت لا تشعر تفاعل بين اللعب الخاص بك والامبير.

نحن نتعامل مع قضية أن من الصعب التحديد الكمي لهنا، لكن لاحقاً في هذه السلسلة من الدروس، التي سوف تتخذ لكم من خلال بعض العوامل التي يمكن أن تساعد في الحصول على يشعر الحق، فضلا عن الحق في الصوت.


نهاية جزء واحد!

إذن ، هذه مقدمة عامة جدًا لاستخدام محاكاة amp البرنامج. في الجزء التالي ، سنعمل من خلال بعض الأمثلة التفصيلية للعمليات التي ينطوي عليها الحصول على أصوات محددة وضبطها إلى الكمال ، قبل الانتقال إلى تكوينات أكثر تقدمًا ، بما في ذلك عمليات محاكاة خزانة لجهة خارجية ومزج أمبير متعددة للنغمات الأكثر اكتمالاً.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Audio Production

Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101, Part 1

by

Kicking off a new series of expanded, in-depth Basix tutorials, this is the first in a series of articles designed to guide you step-by-step through the process of setting up and using guitar amp simulation in your recordings. Beginning with the fundaments, we’ll work through some simple scenarios and work our way up to advanced tweaks and tricks. While there will be plenty of guidance and ideas you can take away and use in your own productions, the real aim is to equip you with the skills to develop your own creative solutions.


Introduction

For many of us, and for reasons ranging from cost to living arrangements, it’s just not practical to record a real guitar amplifier in a real room with real microphones. Fortunately, the rapidly growing range and improving performance of digital guitar amplifier modelling technology has brought great recorded guitar tones within easy reach of the hobbyist.

Many hardware digital amps feature direct outputs with built-in speaker emulation and even, in some cases, sophisticated microphone emulation, allowing you to run your regular amp signal direct to your Digital Audio Workstation (DAW). Of the countless benefits of such a set-up, the real beauty of it is consistency: you can feed precisely the same tone into the mixing desk when playing live as you do when recording rehearsal room demos or cutting an album in the studio.

However, for those of us who aren’t quite ready to give up on the warm glow of vacuum tubes and commit to a fully digital rig, software amp simulation products like Native Instruments’ Guitar Rig, IK’s AmpliTube and Waves’ GTR provide an excellent compromise, acting as a standalone computer based amp for quiet practice sessions or jamming along with your favourite tracks in iTunes, as well as providing a means of getting great recorded guitar tones without the trouble and expense of traditional recording methods.

Though it’s true that, for many guitarists, even the best digital modelling isn’t quite ready to render the tube amp obsolete, it is nonetheless possible to achieve very impressive, professional results, and even rock royalty like Angus Young – practically synonymous with a good old fashioned Marshall half-stack – used Native Instruments’ Guitar Rig 3 to record some tracks on AC/DC’s album Black Ice.

So whether you’re a complete beginner looking to take your first steps in home recording, or you’re a seasoned pro with a few hundred million albums on your resumé, chances are that amp modelling software can provide you with the tones you want.


Choosing an Amp Simulator

While some DAWs, like Apple’s Logic and Garageband, come with guitar amp simulation built in, most don’t and, great though these bundled plugins are, many people will find that most of the dedicated 3rd party options offer a good deal more flexibility and better sounds. The important thing is to make use of trial versions; as with “real” amps, all amp sims are not equal, and only you can decide which one will provide the kind of sounds you want. Some well known and not so well known options are:

There are also some very good free options, too:


Setting Up

Depending on your computer, it’s likely that all you need to get your guitar signal into your computer is a 1/4” to 1/8” adaptor. These come in various forms, typically either a simple jack adaptor or a cable with a mini-connector on one end. There are also USB connectors, usually with a small signal amplifier built in.

As with most things, the options vary from the simple and inexpensive variety to fancier, brand name affairs. My advice is to try the simplest and cheapest first and, if in doubt, ask around for advice.

If you’re going with the simple adaptor – not a dedicated guitar interface – you’ll need to convert your guitar’s signal from high to low impedance. Guitars with passive pickups produce a high impedance signal which, perhaps counter-intuitively, means it’s quite weak and needs to be driven a little harder before it can go through, say, an amplifier circuit or into your computer’s sound card.

The good news is that any powered effect pedal or rack processor, as long as it isn’t a “true bypass” circuit, will do that job for you, so you probably don’t need to buy any extra gear. Something like a noise suppressor or an EQ is ideal, since you then get the added benefit of the pedal’s effect (less noise, or pre-amplification EQ) as well as the impedance conversion.

Of course, if you want to be able to record multiple, simultaneous tracks, you’ll need some kind of multi-input audio interface. This also applies if you’re having latency issues; that is, a small delay between you playing a note and hearing the amplified signal from your computer. However I’ve found that most modern PC and Mac sound cards are sufficiently powerful to keep latency sufficiently low.


Getting Started

So, you’ve chosen an amp simulator and you’ve got your guitar signal into your computer. How to get the best from it?

Paradoxically, the plug and play simplicity of most modelling software means that many players expect great results far more quickly than with a “real” amplifier. Given a decent tube amp, most people will spend days and weeks constantly homing in on that elusive, perfect tone; with the vastly greater range of possibilities modelling software offers, it should be no surprise that the digital alternative requires at least the same investment.

It’s also often the case that the preset sounds in any given plugin sound impressive at first but, as soon as you try to get them to sound effective in a mix with other instruments, they begin to fall short.

For the rest of this tutorial, I’m going to be working with Guitar Rig 3, since that’s the plugin I use and am most familiar with. However, the topics we’ll cover are applicable to most, if not all, of the amp simulators currently on the market.


Keep the Noise Down!

Unwanted noise can be a problem with any guitar recording scenario – real amps or software – and especially when higher gain settings are involved. Unfortunately, while the hiss and hum of a real half-stack has a certain portentous charm, the hiss and crackle of digital modelling software is rather less appealing.

If noise is a problem for you, try the following steps:

  • Make sure your audio cables are in good order. If you can, unscrew the plugs and check for loose wires and repair or replace them if necessary
  • Turn off any unnecessary electrical devices like TVs, fluorescent strip lights and energy saving lights, which are all sources of unwanted signal interference. Even if they’re nowhere near you, they can still cause unwanted noise
  • Screen your guitar. You can buy self-adhesive foil and even a special type of paint which, when applied to the internal surfaces of your guitar, will help to eliminate unwanted electrical interference
  • Use humbucking pickups if you have the option and their sound is suitable

At this point, you might be wondering why I haven’t mentioned noise suppressors; don’t worry, I’m coming around to that in a moment! The above steps are important because they will all help to keep unwanted noise from getting into your signal in the first place. The benefit of that is a nice, clean signal while you’re playing: a noise suppressor or gate, no matter how good it is, is only effective when the gate is closed, i.e., when you’re not playing, so it’s imperative to make sure you’re working with the best possible signal. Remember: garbage in, garbage out!


Close The Gate

A noise suppressor or gate is the thing that’s going to give you glorious, undisrupted silence during breaks and rests in the music, but setting it correctly is of paramount importance in preserving the dynamics of your playing. Get it wrong, and it’ll be too slow to react to your playing, causing notes to cut off or fail to sound altogether.

So what’s the difference between a noise suppressor and a noise gate? Not much, really, at least in terms of their main function. Typically, a noise suppressor is a simpler tool which is designed to filter out hiss and hum and is usually set with a single threshold control. Noise gates, in contrast, tend to be more sophisticated, typically featuring controls for threshold, attack, release and, occasionally, hold.

  • Threshold determines the level at which the gate effect starts to work. A higher setting will be needed for noisier signals
  • Hold sets a minimum time that the gate will remain open, and can be used to ensure that the natural decay of your guitar – even the very rapid decay of staccato notes and chords – isn’t interrupted
  • Attack and Release, respectively, deal with the speed at which the gate engages and disengages; longer settings mean slower response, while short settings are more abrupt

It’s worth noting that, in a recording scenario, you may need to use different noise gate settings for different parts of the song, especially where there are dramatic differences in the dynamics of your playing.

For example, for a heavy rock or metal track, the rhythm guitar parts are likely to be performed with quite an abrupt, heavy staccato and lots of distortion, in which case the gate will need to respond quite aggressively in order to preserve a “tight” sound. When you come to the solo, or maybe a more fluid, rolling chorus part, that aggressive noise gate setting will probably be too harsh, cutting off decaying notes and blocking softer pick attack.

The input section of Guitar Rig, and most of its competitors, has noise reduction built in, and this can usually be turned on or off and its threshold adjusted manually or via the “Learn” function, through which the software will try to determine the appropriate setting as you play. For anything more than very slightly overdriven tones, though, this probably isn’t going to be sufficient, so you’ll need to add a gate or suppressor to the signal chain.

In the SideKick panel of Guitar Rig (F2, to show and hide), there are two options: Noise Gate and Noise Reduction.

Noise Reduction is my favourite for general use, since it’s so easy to use and is generally very good at filtering out the hiss without affecting the attack and decay of my playing. The key thing to do, though, is to click the maximise button on the right side of the module to open the “expert” parameters. This reveals a pair of fairly intuitively named controls: Release and De-Hiss. The former determines how quickly the noise filter will engage when the input signal stops (i.e, when you stop playing), and the latter will help to filter out high frequency hiss (although this can be detrimental to your overall tone, so proceed carefully).

Noise Gate, on the other hand, is more akin to the rack and stomp-box noise reduction units you might already be familiar with, and is better suited to specific applications, like that heavy rock rhythm track I mentioned earlier.


Up the Quality

It’s easy to miss, but at the very top right of the Guitar Rig window, next to the bypass switch and CPU meter, is a Hi Q control. Other modellers have similar functions, often in the overall program settings, and usually a choice between 32 and 64 bit processing.

Engaging Hi Q mode, or otherwise increasing the software’s processing rate, produces a much higher quality sound. The drawback is that this places a greater strain on your computer’s CPU and, depending on how powerful your computer is, may introduce unmanageable latency.

Most modern computers should be able to cope with this, but bear in mind that as you introduce your host DAW, various plugins and perhaps multiple instances of plugins, the load on the CPU increases, so watch out for the CPU meter tipping into the red. If necessary, save the high quality mode for the final mixdown.


Ditch Those Presets!

Most of the preset tones in amplifier modelling software are designed to show the product off to its best advantage as a standalone device. Typically, that means lots of gain, lots of bass, and jaw dropping delays and modulation. All great fun, but perhaps not well suited to real world applications in a full band mix.

The only way to get tones that work well in your mixes and with your music is to build signal chains from the ground up. Of course, the presets are a good way to get an idea of which amp and effect models are going to get you into the ballpark and, since all of the amp simulator manufacturers use quite well established amps as the basis for their models, very often your existing real-world knowledge of amps is going to stand you in good stead.

Nonetheless, the dizzying array of options can be daunting, so how do you get to grips with learning to coax the sounds you want from your software? My advice is to try to mimic some of your favourite guitar tones. If you’re a big fan of, say, Jimmy Page, you probably already have a pretty good idea of what kind of equipment he used and what his tone should sound like. Using that knowledge as a starting point, you can turn the learning process into a fun afternoon of tone-matching, trying different amp and speaker models, different overdrive boxes, and so on. In the process, you should start to get a good idea of how the different elements affect the sound and, just as importantly, how closely the software matches the amps and effects it seeks to emulate.


Response and Feel

Another important thing to consider is that feel is as important as sound. Ever plug into an amp that you just love? Part of that will of course be the tonal properties of the amp’s sound, but it will also be how the amp responds to your playing style and, in turn, how that makes you play. This matters with software amps, too: even if the tone sounds right, you might find that, somehow, you’re not feeling an interaction between your playing and the amp.

We’re dealing with an issue that’s hard to quantify here but, later in this series of tutorials, I’ll take you through some of the factors that can help get the right feel, as well as the right sound.


End of Part One!

So, that’s a very general introduction to using software amp simulation. In the next part, we’ll work through some detailed examples of the processes involved in getting specific sounds and fine tuning them to perfection, before moving on to more advanced configurations, including 3rd party cabinet simulations and blending multiple amps for fuller tones.

Related Posts
  • Music & Audio
    Audio Production
    How to Choose an Audio InterfaceAudio interface logo
    In a world without tape, the audio interface has become the gateway to preserving sound for many people. Having your inputs, outputs, and conversion in one small box provides a cost effective alternative to discrete units. However, with such a saturated market, finding the right audio interface is now harder than ever!Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    Recording
    Recording Solo Orchestral InstrumentsPhotodune 1234825 young woman playing flute s
    There’s nothing quite so inspiring as working with talented and experienced musicians in a recording studio. But recording ‘real’ players brings its own set of specific issues and problems to solve. In this tutorial, we’ll take a look at a range of instruments at the classical end of the spectrum, and see how best to prepare for a session with any one of them. Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    Recording
    A Beginner's Guide to Recording Guitars In CubasePre400
    If you play guitar—or know someone who does—and want to learn how to record it, then this tutorial is for you. I'll show you how to record and mix your guitar, and teach you a few tricks to make it sound better. I'll be using Cubase, though you you should be able to follow along using your own DAW. Let’s get started.Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    Cubase
    Setting Up Guitar Rig in CubasePre400
    Native Instruments’ Guitar Rig is a well-known plugin for amp emulation, modeling and effects, and has tons of presets. If you find yourself without a distortion pedal or processor for your guitar, just fire up Guitar Rig. In this tutorial I'll show you how.Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    Audio Production
    Give Life to Your Guitar Tracks by ReampingReampingpreview400b
    Ever wish you could go back in time and change things? Or ever wish life had a save and load option like in a video game? While time travel may not yet exist, the ability for us as audio engineers to change sounds after the fact does. One powerful way to change the guitar tracks we've recorded is reamping.Read More…
  • Music & Audio
    Web Roundups
    10 Places to Download Free Professional Guitar Effects Plug-insFree pro guitar effects 400
    Whether you are a guitarist looking for new tones, or a sound designer looking for new ways to mangle your audio, virtual guitar amps and effects are a great way to achieve new sounds and enhance your productions. There are many great guitar amp and pedal effects plug-ins available on the market today to purchase, but there are also numerous effects that are available for free. In this article I'll offer up some professional guitar effect plug-ins from around the internet that you can use on your next project, completely for free.Read More…