Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production
Music

استخدام سيبيليوس مع أدوات برو في عمل والإنتاج

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Muhammad Hakim Almadani (you can also view the original English article)

سيبيليوس واحد من أدوات الصناعة القياسية لتأليف وتدوين الموسيقى، بينما "أدوات برو" واحدة من محطات صناعة الصوت الرقمية القياسية للمنتجين الصوت والمهندسين على حد سواء. في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، سوف نبحث في كيفية الجمع بين هاتين الأداتين معقدة في عمل وإنتاج.


لمحة سريعة عن سيبيليوس وأدوات برو

سيبيليوس هو تدوين الموسيقى البرمجيات، تستخدم أساسا من الملحنين لسهولة الكتابة والموسيقى. أنها تسمح لك أما تلاحظ رسم اليد مع لوحة المفاتيح والماوس، أو سجل في بيانات MIDI من الأجهزة الخارجية مثل وحدة تحكم MIDI. فقد وظيفة هامة لتسهيل حياة الملحن، وسوف تتبع معظم الملحنين الأغاني أو التراكيب مع كل صك على مسار منفصل. أنها سوف ترسل ثم هذا لمنتج أو مهندسا لتحقيق قطعة ظاهري يحتوي على قيم الإنتاج واقعية، قبل ربما يعيش تسجيل أنه مع الأجهزة الحقيقية.

أدوات برو الوظيفة التي بنيت العمل مباشرة مع ملفات سيبيليوس، وهذا يمكن جعله أسهل بكثير من كذاب ملف سيبيليوس بها إلى ميدي كل الوقت وإعادة استيراده. نظراً لأن "أدوات برو" وسعت فست (عن طريق FXpansion) ودعم اتفاقات التجارة الإقليمية، جنبا إلى جنب مع وظيفة الإنتاج السمعي متفوقة، يستخدم أساسا في شكل HD عن طريق تسجيل استوديوهات في جميع أنحاء العالم.

لذلك، في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، ونحن سوف نلقي نظرة على تأليف الموسيقى في سيبيليوس، ومن ثم كيفية اتخاذ هذا التكوين إلى "أدوات برو" وتحقيق القيم أوركسترا واقعية مع الأوركسترا السمفونية "الشرق الغرب قفزة".


الخطوة 1

الخطوة الأولى أن تفتح سيبيليوس. إذا كنت تستخدم التكوين الافتراضي، فإنه سوف يطفو على السطح نافذة مثل هو موضح أدناه. هنا، نحن يمكن فتح ملف الأخيرة، أو يمكننا أن نبدأ مشروعا جديداً. دعونا هنا، اختر 'بدء"نقاط جديدة"'.


الخطوة 2

الآن، نحن كنت قدمت مع مربع حوار الذي يريد أن يعرف ما هو نوع من ورقة مخطوطة لاستخدام. أساسا، هناك مجموعة من الإعدادات المسبقة في سيبيليوس أن لديها بالفعل مختلف الصكوك المدرجة. على سبيل المثال، إذا كنا نعلم أن نعمل على قطعة أوركسترا، قد نختار "الأوركسترا، الكلاسيكية". وبطبيعة الحال، نحن دائماً إضافة أو إزالة أو تحرير الصكوك في وقت لاحق، ولكن مسبقاً يساعد على توفير بعض الوقت. دعونا اختيار الأوركسترا، الكلاسيكية.


الخطوة 3

الآن، ونحن يمكن أن انقر فوق التالي أو إنهاء. إذا كنا نريد فقط للبدء في العمل، ونحن يمكن أن انقر فوق إنهاء، إذا نحن انقر فوق التالي، سوف نحصل على المزيد من الخيارات لتكوين لدينا ورقة الموسيقى. أولاً، يمكننا أن نختار "نمط البيت"، الذي هو أساسا مثل نمط مرئي للموسيقى، مراقبة الخطوط والأحجام. المقبل، لدينا خيار أكثر أهمية من الإيقاع ووقت التوقيع، متبوعاً بمفتاح التوقيع مع كل من رئيسي ومفاتيح القاصر، وأخيراً، لوحة "معلومات نقاط" حيث يمكننا وضع اسمنا، وغيرها من المعلومات. وأخيراً، انقر فوق "إنهاء" مرة واحدة لديك التكوين الخاص بك تعيين، لهذا، لقد أبقى كافة الإعدادات الافتراضية.


الخطوة 4

الآن، لقد وصلنا إلى محطة العمل الرئيسي. تبعاً للتكوين الخاص بك والإصدار سيبيليوس، يجب أن تشاهد بعض الأشياء. أولاً، هي عناصر التحكم بالتشغيل الخاص بك. هذه مشابهة لأي شعبة النهوض بالمرأة، حيث يمكن بدء تشغيل، إيقاف، ترجيع، إضافة المسرع، والمزيد. ثم، يجب أن تشاهد نافذة لوحة المفاتيح الرقمية، مما يسمح لك بتحديد الأداة النشطة، سواء كانت أداة التحريك، أو إضافة الملاحظات.

وبعد ذلك، هناك نافذة المستكشف، الذي يسمح لك بالتنقل بين الصفحات لدرجة الخاصة بك، ومفيدة جداً لقطعة طويلة من الموسيقى. وأخيراً، لديك شريط الأدوات في الأعلى مع جميع أنواع الخيارات، كثير منها زائدة بين الفريقين.


الخطوة 5

الآن، كنوع من تفضيل بلدي على كيفية التعرف على الأشياء، نحن ذاهبون لتغطية 3 أشياء أساسية. الأول، كيفية إضافة الملاحظات بنفسك مع لوحة المفاتيح والماوس. والثاني كيفية تسجيل من جهاز MIDI خارجي. وأخيراً، نحن ذاهبون لفتح ملف MIDI في "أدوات برو" وترتد بها ثم إلى سيبيليوس، حتى نتمكن من معرفة ما يجري.

أولاً، يمكن أن نضيف ملاحظة ما يلي: اذهب إلى نافذة صغيرة لوحة المفاتيح الخاصة بك، وانقر فوق الرمز ملاحظة الربع (إذا كنت لا تعرف فيه الرمز الذي، حرك الماوس فوق الأزرار مختلفة وسيبيليوس سيتم عرض تلميحات الأدوات المفيدة.

الآن، اختر مساراً لإضافة الملاحظات على. أنا ذاهب لإضافتها إلى الكمان أنا. الآن، دعونا يؤلف بها القصيدة الشهيرة للحن الفرح، وعلى النحو التالي (للمبتدئين على الأقل): ه، ه، و، ز، ز، و، ه، د، ج، ج، د، ه، ه، د، د ذلك، باستخدام معرفتنا بمذكرات clef ثلاثة إضعاف (الوجه للمسافات من أسفل إلى أعلى ، واجبدف للخطوط من أسفل إلى أعلى)، دعونا نضيف الملاحظات.


الخطوة 5

الآن، سيتم إشعار الطالب ملاحظ أن لقد تعرفت على خطأ، وهو ينبغي أن يكون بقية الربع بين ه وس اثنين النهائي عبارة. أنا فعلت هذا عن قصد، حتى الآن بذريعة لتظهر لك أداة التحريك. في كثير من الأحيان، عندما تتكون من جهة، سوف تجعل الأخطاء مثل هذه، على سبيل المثال، ملاحظة سوف تحتاج إلى نقلها في الملعب أو في الوقت. عليك أيضا أن نلاحظ أن سيبيليوس كان جميلا ما يكفي ونحن النقر، وأضيف هذه الملاحظات، لم الرياضيات بالنسبة لنا وتحويلها على عاتق من الجامعة إلى النصف إلى الربع بالنسبة لنا.

حتى الآن، نقل ملاحظة، أنها بسيطة جداً، ولكن الأمل في الواقع كشف أنه في سيبيليوس يمكن أن تكون خادعة للواجهة ليست بديهية جداً كأحد. أنت لا يمكن فعلا انقر واسحب الملاحظات لنقلها، وبدلاً من ذلك، لديك لقص أو نسخ ولصق لهم. شخصيا، هذه واحدة من السمات المفضلة الأقل من سيبيليوس. ما كنت في نهاية المطاف قد يبدو وكأنه أدناه. إذا كنت عالقة مع تلاحظ الربع 3 والربع الباقي، انقر فوق الملاحظة الثانية وثم انقر فوق رمز الملاحظة الثامنة في لوحة المفاتيح. هذا سيتم تحويل المذكرة الربع ثامن ملاحظة، وأنها ستضيف بقية الثامنة. ثم، يمكنك نسخ لصق ملاحظة الربع والباقي الثامنة في مواقف مناسبة.


الخطوة 6

حسنا، كذلك أن يكون كل شيء عظيم، ولكن هذا عملية شاقة وتستغرق وقتاً طويلاً، ومعظمنا ربما تفضل أن تلعب من وحدة تحكم MIDI. لحسن الحظ، سيبيليوس عظيم في هذا، ولكن أنا يجب أن يحذرك، إذا لم تكن جيدة لاعب بيانو، هذا إنشاء قليلاً من فوضى في درجة الخاصة بك. حفظ ذلك، لدينا المستند الحالي ك "قصيدة إلى Joy.sib" وانعكاس على جهاز تحكم MIDI، وإعادة تشغيل سيبيليوس. في شاشة "بدء تشغيل سريع"، تحميل نشيد الفرح النسخ الاحتياطي.

إذا كانت هذه هي المرة الأولى باستخدام جهاز تحكم ميدي مع سيبيليوس، سيكون لديك ربما لتكوينه. بذلك، للقيام بهذا، انتقل إلى التفضيلات الخاصة بك، اختر "أجهزة الإدخال"، والعثور على أجهزة جديدة لإدخال. ثم ضرب بعض المفاتيح على لوحة المفاتيح، وانظر إذا كان الزر اختبار تضيء. الألغام يقوم، حتى وأنا على ما يرام. وبعد ذلك، اختر المسار الذي تريد أن تسجل في. سأختار "الكمان الثاني"، حيث سيتم ثم انقر فوق على شريط المسار الأول. الآن، عندما تضغط على الملاحظات، أنه سيتم على الفور بدء إضافة لهم. ومع ذلك، لا يزال تكون كافة الملاحظات التي تم تعيينها في لوحة المفاتيح. يعيش التسجيل، نحن بحاجة إلى النقر فوق الزر تسجيل "إدخال الوقت المرن". وهذا سيتيح لنا أحد شريط المسرع كحساب ما قبل، وبعد ذلك يمكننا أن نبدأ اللعب. عند الانتهاء من ذلك، ضرب التوقف وتحقق ما وضعت سيبيليوس لك.

لاحظ الاختلافات، مع استراحة السادسة عشرة وملاحظة الثامنة منقط تبدأ القطعة، وتعادل بين المحامين بقية السادس عشر 1 و 2، وآخر السادس عشر علما، وملاحظة الثامنة في بار 4. وهذا لبلدي بيانو الأساسية اللعب قدراتهم، وعلى الرغم من أنني لم أكن في الوقت المحدد لكل قطعة. وهكذا، إذا كانت مهاراتك البيانو هشة، أو كنت تميل إلى وضع قليلاً من groove والارتجال في اللعب الخاص بك، قد تجد نفسك مع بعض الأخطاء التي قد تكون أو لا تكون ثابتة. كما من قبل، لم يكن هناك مشكلة، يمكنك فقط تغيير الملاحظات باستخدام لوحة المفاتيح.

يمكنك يؤلف بقية اللحن الخاص بك بهذه الطريقة في سيبيليوس، والاستماع إلى قراءة باستخدام الأساسية (أو أساسيات سيبيليوس) الأصوات، وعندما تكون مستعدا، انتقل إلى الملف-> التصدير، ميدي في سيبيليوس. سوف تغطي أكثر حول لماذا كان عليك أن تفعل هذا في وقت لاحق. ثم الانتقال إلى الخطوة التالية حيث أننا سوف تفتح في "أدوات برو".


الخطوة 7

وبعد ذلك، التمهيد "أدوات برو". إغلاق سيبيليوس أولاً سوف تساعد حقاً الأداء، "أدوات برو" يميل إلى يأكل كمية كبيرة من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي. حسنا، الآن لدينا "أدوات برو" فتح، لنقم بإنشاء "جلسة عمل فارغة" مع المعلمات الافتراضية.

قم فقط بإنشاء جلسة عمل مع اسم أيا كان المسار الذي كنت تعمل على. الآن يجب أن يكون لديك تحرير ومزيج النوافذ المفتوحة، حيث أن الوقت قد حان لاستيراد ملف MIDI، لذا، انتزاع ملف MIDI من اختيارك (أنا استخدام إصدار كتب سيبيليوس من "إعادة بناء" جدي جيب من "حرب النجوم فرسان القديم الجمهورية" الثانية).

انقر فوق واسحب إلى "أدوات برو"، واستيراد الإيقاع ومفتاح التوقيع معها.

الآن، إذا كنت اذهب إلى نافذة محرر نقاط->، سوف تشاهد شيء غريب مألوفة. ويرجع "برو أدوات" محرر نقاط هو مدعوم من التكنولوجيا سيبيليوس، مع بعض التعديلات المقدمة. لذا، يمكننا تغيير أو يؤلف مباشرة في "أدوات برو"، وأنها ترتد إلى تنسيق سيبيليوس وفتحه مرة أخرى في سيبيليوس. في الوقت الراهن، "أدوات برو" لا يمكن فتح ملفات سيبيليوس مباشرة، ولكن يمكن استيراد ملفات MIDI حتى لا يكون هناك خطوة إضافية واحدة فقط. في المستقبل الإصدارات من "أدوات برو"، سوف يرجح أن لديها القدرة على فتح ملفات سيبيلوس مباشرة. ومع ذلك، يكون معظم استوديوهات التسجيل تثبيت سيبيليوس، واقترح يمكنك التقاط حتى نسخة أساسية منه كما أنه سيكون متناول اليدين إذا كنت تريد أن تفعل أي عمل مع ملحنين.

حتى الآن، يمكننا بسهولة العمل على إنشائها في "أدوات برو" على الطاير، أو يمكننا العمل في سيبيليوس وإضافة عناصر موسيقية متقدمة مثل اﻻفتراءات، وديناميات، ومفاصل أخرى. إذا أننا يؤلف في "أدوات برو"، يمكننا إرسال إلى سيبيليوس بسهولة عن طريق اختيار-> إرسال إلى سيبيليوس، أو ملف-> "سيبيليوس التصدير".


الخطوة 8

ولكن، في بداية هذا البرنامج التعليمي، ذكرت أنه من المرجح أكثر أن ملحن سوف تعطيك ملف سيبيليوس أو ملف MIDI وتريد لإنشاء إصدار صك ظاهري. لذا، إذا كان لديك ملف MIDI، يمكنك انقر واسحب مباشرة، ولكن إذا كان لديك ملف سيبيليوس، ببساطة تصدير الملف الخاص بك باستخدام ملف-> التصدير، ميدي في سيبيليوس (يمكنك أيضا القيام بذلك إذا كنت تقوم بإنشاء العمل الخاص بك). لدينا الآن، لدينا ملف مفتوح في "أدوات برو".

تجاهل أسماء المناطق (تم استخراج كل قطعة من المسار البيانو)، ونحن الآن استخدام اوقل لتعيين الصكوك للمسارات لدينا. لذا، دعونا نبدأ مع النحاس. إذا كان لديك مرجعاً لما يجب أن يبدو وكأنه القطعة، من الجميل أن يعطي أن الاستماع. ثم، انتقل إلى إطار المزيج الخاص بك وإنشاء "مسار صوتي جديد" وقم بإدراج اوقل (أو أي VST الأخرى) على مسار الصوت. بعد ذلك، تعيين بعض الصكوك، على سبيل المثال، قد بورتاتو طويلة والترومبون 4 بي "تعقب النحاس" الأولى, ألباس المزدوج (في الواقع سلسلة لبلادي مكررة الأولى من المسار النحاس), "الأبواق الفرنسية" لبلادي الثانية مكررة، ومن ثم قيثارة، والكمانات.

ثم، في كل مسار من المسارات ميدي، أكلف الإدخال/الإخراج إلى قناة اوقل محددة يتوافق مع ذلك الصك. بعد ذلك، كل ما عليك القيام به هو ضرب اللعب والتمتع بالاوركسترا استوديو الظاهري مع قيم إنتاج كبيرة (الإشعار حتى أن هذا الأمر دون أي خلط، إتقان أو إضافة تأثيرات).

الآن، دعنا الاستماع إلى الإصدار MIDI الذي كان لدينا، وأيضا إصدار صوت من سيبيليوس (باستخدام أساسيات سليمة سيبيليوس).

ميدي:


الصوت:

يجب أن تلاحظ أن ميدي يعطي الانطباع قليلاً من الواقعية، لأنها أدوات نظام التشغيل القياسية في التشغيل، بينما سيبيليوس يعطي قليلاً من شعور طبيعي لكنه ما زال يترك الكثير مما هو مرغوب فيه. وأخيراً، أدوات برو مع تشغيل VST يمكن أنب بغية إقناع المستمعين أنها هي الاستماع أوركسترا كلاسيكية حقيقية (أو غيرها من الصكوك لايف)، وتخدع كل آذان لكن المدربين.


إغلاق

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، ونحن ننظر في كيف يمكن استخدام أدوات برو سيبيليوس والملحنين والمنتجين الصوت، والصوت كيف المنتجين والمهندسين يجب أن تكون على دراية بالمفاهيم الأساسية سيبيليوس لاستخدامه في عمل وإنتاج. سيبيليوس أداة قوية لتأليف، وعلى الرغم من أن "أدوات برو" لديها التكنولوجيا سيبيليوس بنيت في محرر نقاط، فإنه يفتقر إلى بعض وظائف أكثر قوة أن يقدم سيبيليوس نفسها. ومع ذلك، مع "برو أدوات" تكنولوجيا سمعية متفوقة والدعم فست/اتفاقات التجارة الإقليمية، من الحكمة أن الجمع بين أفضل عناصر من كلا البرنامجين في سير العمل الخاص بك.

بلدي التوصية الشخصية للأشخاص المهتمين بهذا النوع من الإنتاج، الاستيلاء على بعض الأعمال الموسيقية المفضلة الخاصة بك، ونسخ الموسيقى (أو تحميل ملفات على شبكة الإنترنت، لأولئك الذين لا تريد أن تهتم بالنسخ)، ثم محاولة تحقيق واقعية الإنتاج السليمة في داو المفضلة الخاصة بك، كما أنها ممارسة كبيرة لفهم الأجهزة وترتيبها والنقاط الدقيقة للموسيقى.

أمل أن تستمتع هذا البرنامج التعليمي، وإذا كان لديك أي أسئلة أو اقتراحات البرنامج التعليمي التي كنت تود أن ترى، من "أدوات برو"، آبلتون أو سيبيليوس، اسمحوا لي أن نعرف في التعليقات.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Video icon 64
Build your creative skills with practical video courses from Tuts+. Start your free trial today.
Advertisement

Using Sibelius with Pro Tools in a Production Workflow

by

Sibelius is one of the industry standard tools for composing and transcribing music, while Pro Tools is one of the industry standard digital audio workstations for audio producers and engineers alike. In this tutorial, we'll look at how to combine these two complex tools into a production workflow.


A Quick Overview of Sibelius and Pro Tools

Sibelius is music notation software, used primarily by composers to easily write music. It allows you to either hand-draw notes with your keyboard and mouse, or record in MIDI data from external devices such as a MIDI controller. It has significant functionality to make the life of a composer easier, and most composers will track out their songs or compositions with each instrument on a separate track. They will then send this off to a producer or an engineer to achieve a virtual piece that has realistic production values, before possibly live-recording it with true instrumentation.

Pro Tools has functionality built in to work directly with Sibelius files, and this can make it much easier than bouncing your Sibelius file out to MIDI each time and re-importing it. Because Pro Tools has expanded VST (through FXpansion) and RTAS support, along with superior audio production functionality, it is used primarily in HD form by recording studios around the world.

So, in this tutorial, we'll take a look at composing music in Sibelius, and then how to take that composition into Pro Tools and achieve realistic orchestral values with East West Quantum Leap's symphonic orchestra.


Step 1

The first step is to open up Sibelius. If you're using the default configuration, it will pop up a window like shown below. Here, we can open a recent file, or we can start a new project. Here, let's choose 'Start a New Score'.


Step 2

Now, we're presented with a dialog that wants to know what kind of manuscript paper to use. Basically, there a bunch of presets in Sibelius that already have various instruments included. For example, if we know that we're working on an orchestral piece, we might choose "Orchestral, Classical". Of course, we can always add, remove or edit instruments later, but a preset helps save some time. Let's choose Orchestral, Classical.


Step 3

Now, we can either click Next, or Finish. If we just want to start working, we can click finish, if we click next, we'll get more options to configure our sheet music. First, we can choose House Style, which is basically like a visual style for the music, controlling fonts and sizes. Next, we have a more important choice of Tempo and Time Signature, followed by Key Signature with both major and minor keys, and lastly, a Score Information panel where we can put our name, and other information. Lastly, click Finish once you have your configuration set, for this, I've kept all the default settings.


Step 4

Now, we've reached the main workstation. Depending on your configuration and Sibelius version, you should see a few things. First, is your playback controls. These are similar to any DAW, where you can start, stop, rewind, add a metronome, and more. Then, you should see a Keypad window, which allows you to select the active tool, whether it's the move tool, or adding notes.

Next, there is a Navigator window, which allows you to move between pages of your score, which is very helpful for lengthy pieces of music. And finally, you have the toolbar at the top with all sorts of options, many of which are redundant between the panels.


Step 5

Now, as sort of my own preference on how to learn things, we're going to cover 3 key things. The first, is how to add notes by yourself with your keyboard and mouse. The second is how to record from an external MIDI device. Lastly, we're going to open a MIDI file into Pro Tools and then bounce it out to Sibelius, so we can see what's going on.

First, we can add a note as follows: Go to your keypad mini-window, and click on the quarter note symbol (if you don't know which symbol that is, mouse over the various buttons and Sibelius will display helpful tooltips.

Now, choose a track to add the notes to. I'm going to add them to Violin I. Now, let's compose out the famous Ode to Joy melody, which is as follows (for beginners at least): E, E, F, G, G, F, E, D, C, C, D, E, E, D, D. So, using our knowledge of the notes of the treble clef (FACE for the spaces from bottom to top, and EGBDF for the lines from bottom to top), let's add the notes.


Step 5

Now, the observant student will notice that I've made a mistake, and that is, the quarter rest should be between E and the final two Ds of the phrase. I did this on purpose, so now I have an excuse to show you the move tool. Often, when composing by hand, you'll make mistakes like these, for example, a note will need to be moved in pitch or in time. You'll also notice that Sibelius was nice enough as we clicked and added these notes, it did the math for us and converted the rests from whole to half to quarter for us.

So now, to move a note, it's quite simple, but actually figuring it out in Sibelius can be tricky because the interface isn't quite as intuitive as one would hope. You can't actually click and drag notes to move them, instead, you have to cut or copy and paste them. Personally, this one of my least favorite features of Sibelius. What you end up having looks like the below. If you're stuck with 3 quarter notes and a quarter rest, click the 2nd note and then click the eighth note icon in the keypad. This will convert the quarter note to an eighth note, and it will add an eighth rest. Then, you can copy paste the quarter note and eighth rest into the proper positions.


Step 6

Okay, well that's all great, but this is a painstaking and time consuming process, and most of us would probably prefer to play from a MIDI controller. Luckily, Sibelius is great at this, however I must warn you, if you are not a good piano player, this can create a bit of a mess in your score. So, save our current document as "Ode to Joy.sib", flip on your MIDI controller, and restart Sibelius. On the Quick Start screen, load Ode to Joy back up.

If this is your first time using your MIDI controller with Sibelius, you will probably have to configure it. So, to do this, go to your Preferences, choose Input Devices, and Find New Input Devices. Then, hit some keys on your keyboard, and see if the Test button lights up. Mine does, so I'm good to go. Next, choose the track you want to record on. I'll choose Violin II, so I will then click on the first bar of the track. Now, when you hit notes, it will instantly start adding them. However, they will still be all the notes that are set in the Keypad. To do live recording, we need to click the Flexi Time Input record button. This will give us one bar of metronome as a pre-count, and then we can start playing. When you're done, hit stop and check out what Sibelius put for you.

Notice the differences, with a sixteenth rest and a dotted eighth note start the piece, a tie between bar 1 and 2, and another sixteenth note, sixteenth rest and eighth note in bar 4. This is because, despite my basic piano playing abilities, I wasn't on time for the whole piece. Thus, if your piano skills are shaky, or, you tend to put a bit of groove and improvisation into your playing, you may find yourself with some errors that may or may not to be fixed. As before, there isn't a problem, you can just change the notes using the keypad.

You can compose the rest of your tune this way in Sibelius, and listen to the playback using basic (or Sibelius Essentials) sounds, and once you're ready, go to File->Export, MIDI in Sibelius. I'll cover more about why you had to do this later. Then, move onto the next step where we'll open it in Pro Tools.


Step 7

Next, boot up Pro Tools. Closing Sibelius first will really help performance, as Pro Tools tends to eat up a significant amount of RAM. Okay, now we have Pro Tools open, let's create a Blank Session with the default parameters.

Just create a session with the name of whatever track you're working on. Now you should have your edit and mix windows open, so it's time to import a MIDI file, so, grab a MIDI file of your choosing (I'm using a Sibelius-transcribed version of "Rebuilt Jedi Enclave" from Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II).

Click and drag into Pro Tools, and import tempo and key signature with it.

Now, if you go to Window->Score Editor, you'll see something strangely familiar. That's because Pro Tools' score editor is powered by Sibelius technology, with some alterations made. So, we can change or compose directly in Pro Tools, and bounce it to Sibelius format and open it back up in Sibelius. Currently, Pro Tools can't open Sibelius files directly, but it can import MIDI files so there's only one extra step. In future versions of Pro Tools, it will likely have the ability to open Sibeilus files directly. However, most recording studios have Sibelius installed, and I suggest you pick up even a basic version of it as it will come in handy if you're doing any work with composers.

So now, we can easily work on composing in Pro Tools on the fly, or we can work in Sibelius and add in advanced musical elements such as slurs, dynamics, and other articulations. If we compose in Pro Tools, we can send to Sibelius easily by choosing File->Send to Sibelius, or File->Export Sibelius.


Step 8

But, at the beginning of this tutorial, I mentioned that it is more likely that a composer will give you a Sibelius file or a MIDI file and want you to create a virtual instrument version. So, if you have a MIDI file, you can click and drag directly, but if you have a Sibelius file, simply export your file using File->Export, MIDI in Sibelius (you can also do this if you are composing your own work). Now, we have our file open in Pro Tools.

Ignoring the names of the regions (the whole piece was extracted from the Piano track), we can now use EWQL to assign instruments to our tracks. So, let's start with the brass. If you have a reference of what the piece should sound like, it's nice to give that a listen. Then, navigate to your mix window, create a New Audio Track, and then insert EWQL (or any other VST) onto the audio track. Next, assign some instruments, for example, I have 4 Trombones Long Portato for my first Brass Track, Double Basses (actually a string for my first duplicate of the brass track), French Horns for my second duplicate, and then a Harp, and Violas.

Then, on each MIDI track, I assign the IO to the specific channel of EWQL that corresponds to that instrument. Next, all I have to do is hit play, and enjoy the virtual studio orchestra with great production values (even notice that this is without any mixing, mastering or effects added).

Now, let's listen to the MIDI version that we had, and also an audio version from Sibelius (using Sibelius Sound Essentials).

MIDI:


Audio:

You should notice that the MIDI gives little impression of realism, because it is standard operating system instruments in playback, whereas Sibelius gives a bit of a natural feel but still leaves much to be desired. Lastly, the Pro Tools with VST playback can be tweaked so as to convince listeners that they are hearing a true classical orchestra (or other live instruments), and fool all but trained ears.


Closing

In this tutorial, we looked at how Sibelius and Pro Tools can be used by composers and audio producers, and how audio producers and engineers should be familiar with the key concepts of Sibelius to use it in a production workflow. Sibelius is a powerful tool for composing, and even though Pro Tools has Sibelius technology built into the Score Editor, it lacks some of the more powerful functions that Sibelius itself offers. However, with Pro Tools' superior audio technology and VST/RTAS support, it is wise to combine the best elements of both programs into your workflow.

My personal recommendation for people interested in this type of production, to grab some of your favorite musical works, and transcribe the music (or download files online, for those who don't want to bother with transcription), and then try to achieve a realistic production sound in your favorite DAW, as it is great practice for understanding instrumentation, arranging, and the finer points of music.

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial, and if you have any questions or tutorial suggestions that you'd like to see, from Pro Tools, Ableton Live or Sibelius, let me know in the comments.

Advertisement