Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Mixing & Mastering
Music

3D خلط جزء 3: معادلة

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called 3D Mixing.
3D Mixing Part 2: Panorama
3D Mixing Part 4: Compression

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Hakima Madani (you can also view the original English article)

واحدة من أهم الأدوات في الاختلاط هو هدف التعادل. الأشكال الأصوات الفردية والمجموعات الحافلة ويمزج في أجمعين متماسكة. إذا استخدمت بشكل صحيح إضافة الوضوح تعكير الأصوات أو التألق وتعريف لأصوات رائعة فعلا. في هذا الجزء من سلسلة مستمرة، سوف نلقي نظرة متعمقة في بعض النصائح مكافئ، تردد المفاهيم وعدد قليل من تقنيات محددة أداة مساعدتك في إنشاء أنظف الأصوات وتختلط.


لماذا مكافئ؟

EQing يهدف إلى خلق أكثر وضوحاً وأكبر من الأصوات التي هي محددة بشكل جيد، وتسكن في مساحة محددة خاصة بهم داخل الطيف الترددي. ويتحقق ذلك بطرق مختلفة اعتماداً على مواد البرنامج، ولكن الأسلوب الذي يتحقق منتظمة إلى حد كبير. ما هو مطلوب أكثر من أي شيء عملية EQing صوت جيدة أو مزيج من عملية المستفادة بسهولة والكثير من التجريب والاستماع مفصلة.


أساسيات

من الناحية النظرية، تصور البشر موجات كصوت إذا كانت تسكن مجموعة من 20 ك-20 دورات في الثانية (Hz). في الواقع، هذا الرقم أقرب إلى دورات 35-18 ك مع الجزء السفلي المدقع يجري أكثر من سمع ورأى ويجري العليا بالكاد مسموعة. داخل هذا الطيف، وتسكن مختلف الصكوك والأصوات نطاقات الترددات المختلفة التي محددة للنوع. يوجد أدناه قائمة من نطاقات التردد (تقريبي) وبعض الصفات الموجودة داخلها. لمزيد من المعلومات حول هذا الموضوع، يرجى الرجوع هنا.

الفرعية بأس (0-60 Hz)

يجب تصفية 0-25 هرتز تلقائياً لا الأحداث الموسيقية تحدث هنا، والكثير من الطاقة لن يؤدي إلا إلى تعكير الصوت.

25-60 هرتز يعطي الموسيقى الشعور بالقوة، مرة أخرى، الكثير سوف تعطي الصوت الخاص بك حد منخفض غير معرف.

بأس (60-250 هرتز)

60-120 هرتز هو المكان المناسب لأساسيات بأس ونهاية منخفضة من الركلة.

60-250 هرتز يجعل الكثير يمكن الصوت المدوي، رشاقته أو رقيقة الصوت.

نطاق البؤس (120-350 هرتز)

المنطقة في أغلب الأحيان تحتاج إلى تصحيح. ويقيم بعض جزء من معظم الصكوك هنا خلق التداخل غير معرف.

منخفضة متوسطة النطاق (250 هرتز-2 kHz)

التوافقيات الترتيب المنخفض لمعظم الصكوك. وينبغي اتخاذ هذا النطاق على أساس كل حالة على حدة.

إذا كان عقيد غير صحيح هذا النطاق يمكن الآنف الصوت أو الاستماع سبب التعب.

العليا منتصف النطاق (2-8 كيلو هرتز)

2-4 كيلو هرتز يمكن أن تخفي الكلام إذا بصوت عال جداً.

يمكن أن تجعل قليلاً في التناقص الصكوك في ك 3 وزيادة طفيفة في صوتي في ك 3 غناء أكثر تحديداً دون زيادة الإنتاج.

4-6 كيلو هرتز الوضوح والتعريف. تعزيز يجعل الصوت يبدو أقرب. تخفيض 5 ك يجعله بعيد المنال.

2-8 كيلوهرتز الكلام الأساسية القابلية للفهم.

النطاق العلوي (8-22 كيلو هرتز)

8-12 كيلو هرتز الصنج.

الوضوح 8-16 كيلو هرتز، يسبب الكثير سيبيلانسي.

12-22 كيلو هرتز هو الهواء. Q واسعة لإعطاء المزيد من الهواء.

انخفاض الأصوات في السعة كما أنها تزيد في التردد، وعلى هذا النحو ينبغي أن يكون هناك ثلاثة إضعاف تتلاشى (تمرير قطع المنخفض عالية) في هذا القسم.


ملاحظة سريعة على كسب

مستوى القناة هو جانب هام آخر من الاختلاط الذي يبدأ اللحم نفسها من خلال عملية EQing. كما يتم عرض كل عنصر جديد ل EQing، يتحتم أولاً أن تقوم بتعيين مستوى ترويسة أولية للحصول على الصوت، أكثر أو أقل، مدسوس في المزيج الخاص بك من حيث السعة. للقيام بذلك، ببساطة رفع مستوى العنصر الجديد حتى أنها بصوت عال جداً وثم انخفاض مستواه ببطء حتى يجدها بطبيعة الحال في الجيب.


الحصول على هيكل

ملاحظة جانبية أخرى على كسب الجدير بالذكر هيكل مكسب. لأولئك الذين لا يعرفون، بنية الربح هو أساسا قانون لإبقاء مستويات الخاصة بك بطريقة لا تثير كسب نقطة واحدة في تدفق الإشارات الخاصة بك فقط تحويله إلى أسفل في مرحلة لاحقة (مثل تعيين الحافلة طبل dB + 5 والماجستير في dB-1) ، أو مفرطة رفع أو تخفيض مستويات عند أي نقطة واحدة في سلسلة الإشارات الخاصة بك.

بنية اكتساب تعيين بشكل صحيح هو أمر يتم دائماً في خلط التماثلية كما سيؤدي تعيين غير صحيح مستويات الضوضاء ومشاكل أخرى. في المجال الرقمي هذا أيضا درجة صحيحاً، ولكن إلى حد أقل وأحيانا غير موجودة؛ لا سيما عندما العامل في داو مثل المنطق الذي يدعم عائم أشر الهندسة المعمارية. وحتى مع ذلك، أنها لفكرة جيدة أن التمسك بمفهوم بنية الكسب السليم بقدر الإمكان.

للقيام بذلك، ببساطة محاولة لإبقاء الخاص بك المخفون تدريجيا بالقرب من الوحدة (±0) قدر الإمكان دون إثقال كاهل المدخلات المقدمة من أي قطاع القناة أو البرنامج المساعد. كن حذراً على الرغم من شرائط القناة الخاصة بك سيتم عادة سوى جهاز الإخراج في القناة بشكل افتراضي وبعض إعدادات المعلمة سوف تحتاج على الأرجح تغيير من أجل رصد الإشارة الإدخال عند أي نقطة واحدة في السلسلة.

بنية اكتساب يختلف عن التحميل الزائد قناة الإخراج (ما يزيد على 0 dB للإخراج) الذي يحتاج إلى حد كبير أي اهتمام في غربان الزرع التي لها فاصلة عائمة أشر الهندسة المعمارية. أنت لن تخاطر بتشويه الرقمية في مثل هذه الحالات على المسارات الفردية. بيد ابدأ يمكن أن تتجاوز dB 0 من الناتج عن سيد الإخراج يصبح ثابتة، وسوف يحدث القطع وتشويه الرقمية اللاحقة لها.


نصائح عامة مكافئ

على الرغم من أن اختيار نقطة انطلاق مفتوح إلى حد ما إلى تفضيل شخصي، من الضروري أن تبدأ مع عنصر أخدود بارزة مثل ركلة أو بأس وبناء الاخدود حوله عنصر واحد في كل مرة. حالما يتم سبر الاخدود نظيفة، إضافة عناصر أخرى أغنية واحدة في وقت واحد بينما كان يحاول تنظيف قدر تردد تداخل ممكن.

بغض النظر عن عنصر ما كنت تعمل مع، أول شيء كنت تريد القيام بإضافة منخفض قطع عامل التصفية. للبحث عن حيث يجب تعيين عامل التصفية قطع منخفضة، عموما ابدأ مع أنه حاد قدر الإمكان (48dB/أوكتاف أو أكثر)، واكتساح حتى الصوت يبدأ بتفقد بعض من صفاته اللونية الرئيسية. أنا ثم تتراجع قليلاً في نطاق التردد حتى أنه سبر الطبيعية وضبط المنحدر و Q للذوق.

الشيء التالي الذي نريد القيام به هو تحديد والقضاء على أي ترددات لا لزوم لها أو مشكلة. للقيام بذلك، نحن بحاجة أولاً للاستماع إلى الصوت لدينا بمعزل عن أي الأصداء أو الصفات الأخرى التي ينبغي أن لا تكون هناك. إذا كانت أي الحالي، الأكثر استخداماً الأسلوب ل EQing لهم (المعروفة باسم EQing الجراحية) لتعيين عامل تصفية جرس ف عال جداً ومكاسب عالية جداً واكتساح حتى يصبح مبالغا فيها تواتر نريد القضاء عليها. الشيء التالي القيام به انعكاس الكسب حيث تم قطع بدلاً من تعزيز. وأخيراً، اللعب مع مستويات Q والكسب والتردد لتهذيب.

في بعض الأحيان قد وجدت أنها مفيدة الغش قليلاً ويبدأ ببساطة مع اكتساب مجموعة بحيث أنه يخفض فورا. ثم اكتساح من خلال نطاق التردد حتى يزول التردد وأنا لا أريد. أجد هذا يعمل جيدا عند هناك عصابة على نطاق واسع لا سيما أن احتياجات التصفية أو تكرار المشكلة أمر صعب لإيجاد إطار الأسلوب التقليدي. أيا كانت خدعة أو أسلوب يمكنك استخدام الأمر متروك لكم كنتيجة سونيك حقاً هو الشيء الوحيد الذي يهم.

وأخيراً نريد زيادة الترددات هامة في جهودنا الصوت. أننا نفعل ذلك في الكثير بنفس الطريقة كأسلوب أعلاه للقضاء على الترددات في هذا سوف نبدأ بمكاسب عالية وعالية س بيل التصفية واكتساح حتى أننا هي المبالغة في التردد أننا نريد تعزيز. والخطوة التالية هي لإسقاط المكسب إلى مستوى أكثر اعتدالا وفتح فاء إلى إعداد واسعة نسبيا لإعطاء دفعة تدريجيا وعلى نطاق واسع، ثم ضبط الإعدادات حسب الضرورة.

قاعدة عامة في EQing قطع مع Q ضيقة والحد من مكاسب المتطرفة ودفعه مع س ومعتدلة على نطاق واسع لزيادة الربح منخفضة. وهذا يرجع إلى أن البشر هم أكثر حساسية للمكاسب التي تحققت في السعة من التخفيضات. ستلاحظ ذلك عند سماع صدى بينما تجتاح للبحث عن الترددات الصحيحة كما هو مبين أعلاه. وسيكون الصوت غير طبيعي واضح بينما الكسب هو تعزيز، ولكن سيتم تذليل وتصبح طبيعية عندما يتم قص المكسب، حتى في إعدادات المدقع.

مرحلة التحول أيضا مصدر قلق كما يحدث دائماً عند زيادة. على هذا النحو، أنها لفكرة جيدة أن قطع كجزء كبير من ما لا تريد أن تسمع ممكن أولاً وثم تعزيز المجالات الهامة متحفظ إلى حد ما. إذا كنت تذهب مباشرة إلى تعزيز فقط الترددات التي تريد سماعها دون القطع الأولى، يمكنك الذهاب إلى نهاية المطاف مع نفسه (أكثر أو أقل) الحصول على النسبة بين الترددات مع إدخال غير المرغوب فيها مرحلة التحول. وهذا يخلق مشاكل على الطريق وتجعل من الصعب أكثر قطع المشكلة أو ترددات لا لزوم لها في وقت لاحق.

مكافئ Pultec الكلاسيكية


نصائح محددة مكافئ

ركلة

أنا دائماً ابدأ مع الركلة كهذا، بالنسبة لي، وهو العنصر الرئيسي التأريض ونبض الأغنية. وقد الركلة عموما مركزا منخفضا حوالي 65-110 هرتز ورأس من 3-8 كيلو هرتز. فورا وأنا سوف منخفضة قص الركلة بقدر الإمكان ﻹفساح المجال أمام بأس وثم قص فقط فوق مركز منخفض (110-300 هرتز) من أجل مسح 'نطاق البؤس' للصكوك الأخرى. ثم سيتم استخدام مرشح تمرير منخفض وقطع الأعلى قدر الإمكان دون جعل صوت الرأس مملة جداً. من هنا أنها مسألة من اللعب حولها قليلاً لنرى إذا كان أي شيء آخر يمكن/ينبغي أن تكون قطع. بعد القطع، قليلاً وأنا سوف تعزز بعض الترددات أكثر أهمية من ركلة لإخراج بعض من طابعة المتميز. أدناه، يمكنك أن ترى كيف يكون تعيين مكافئ مع إعداد Q معتدلة على تصفية المنخفضة والعالية لإضافة بعض الرنين ولكمه.

تم معالجة هذه العينة ركلة خاصة مع كمية كبيرة من بأس الفرعية على ذلك وأنا أشعر بقطع جنبا إلى جنب مع عدد قليل من الترددات الأخرى بغية جعله الصوت قليلاً أكثر وضوحاً والعضوية. إذا قررت لدعم أي من الترددات في وقت لاحق، وسوف تضيف فقط مكافئ آخر وراء الأول، كما استخدمت كل من مرشحات الجرس بلدي لقطع.

الفخ

وبعد ذلك، سوف اذهب إلى كمين. واحدة أخرى، سيتم تعيين عامل تصفية قطع منخفضة كعَال وحاد قدر الإمكان وثم تتراجع قليلاً مرة الصوت يصبح رقيقة جداً. أنا سوف ثم قطع الأعلى قدر الإمكان مع مرشح تمرير منخفض، مع الحرص على عدم مملة أنها. ثم سأحاول أن اقتطاف الأصداء في الصوت وقطع تلك الترددات إذا لم تكن موجودة (الافخاخ سيئة السمعة لوجود رنين المدلول الذي قد أو قد لا تكون مطلوبة).

ثم سوف تتخذ في فخ الخروج من الوضع منفرداً والاستماع إليها مع الركلة لترى كيف تجلس الأشياء. سوف ثم محاولة زيادة إعداد تردد التصفية قطع منخفضة في كمين أثناء استخدام الطاقة المنخفضة من الركلة للتعويض. ويتم ذلك لتساعد في إزالة المناطق حيث تتداخل الفخ وركله وإنشاء فصل أكثر وضوحاً للطبول اثنين. وسوف ثم تذهب من خلال تصفية بيل واكتساح للترددات التي لا تكون حاسمة بالنسبة لكمين (عادة في منتصف النطاق). القادم أنا سوف هش الأمور حتى مع دفعة رفوف عالية وواسعة ف زيادة عبر النقطة (وأي ترددات الهامة الأخرى) في كمين.

على الرغم من المخطط أعلاه، كان هذا الفخ مستقيم جداً إلى الأمام مع مرشح واحد فقط جرس المستخدمة لقطع بعض الترددات لا لزوم لها. ينبغي دائماً أن يكون إخراج كمين في حول نفس مستوى الركلة.

بأس

أنا دائماً في نهاية المطاف EQing بأس ضد ركلة soloed لضبط، حتى مع أخذ ذلك في الاعتبار، يمكننا أن نضيف بأس الآن بينما المزيج لا تزال في مهدها. كما هو الحال دائماً، وسوف تبدأ بقطع انخفاض حاد واكتساح حتى يبدأ الصوت مملة. في حالة بأس، ومن الواضح أن هذا الرقم لا يأخذ بقدر ما سوف تكون فقط قطع حوالي 25-40 هرتز. وسوف ثم التراجع في نسبة dB/أوكتاف وضبط فاء والتردد للذوق.

القادم أنا ذاهب للذهاب مع قطع عالية، وإسقاط ذلك حتى بعض الرنة بأس زف؛ ثم تتراجع وضبط للذوق. إذا كان هناك أي ترددات السبر غريبة أو الأصداء، وسوف تذهب من خلال وقطع تلك مع تكتيك مكافئ الجراحية. من هنا، يمكن أن أحاول عددا من الأمور في كلتا الإدارتين القص ودفعه والحفاظ على ما يبدو أفضل.

وإليك بعض النصائح والحيل في بأس EQing لمحاولة الخروج. الترددات هي التعميم، ولكن ينبغي أن تكون مكاناً جيدا للبدء.

  • استخدم Q ضيقة @ 100-120 هرتز & هرتز 140-160 وزيادة واحد بينما قطع أخرى.
  • تعزيز هرتز 700-900 لمزيد من الوضوح والهجوم.
  • الحد من 20-80 هرتز إلى قطع الطين.
  • زيادة 80-140 هرتز إلى زيادة أساسيات لهجة بأس.
  • زيادة 130-200 هرتز إلى زيادة المدلول.
  • تعزيز @ 2.5-3 كيلو هرتز للأداة الإضافية.
  • إعطاء دفعة معتدلة @ تردد منخفض ودفعه أخرى ثم @.5 أو 2 × التردد الأولى (مثلاً زيادة @ 50 ثم 100) أو دفعة @ 120 ومن ثم @ 60.

مع هذا بأس انتهى رفوف المنخفضة وقطع @ 200 لتخفيض حد منخفض القهر. وقد أثرت بعض من ارتفاع ترددات لمساعدة بعض من صياغة موقف الخروج وتستخدم دفعة @ 120 & @ خدعة 60 لإحضار للخلف قليلاً الطاقة بأس قص سابقا.

مرحبا قبعة

من السهل نسبيا لمكافئ القبعة العالية كما هو إلى حد كبير يتألف من التوافقيات التي يمكن خفض جذري صالح في مزيج في حين لا يزال الإبقاء على صوت مميزة. مرة أخرى أنا منخفض قطع هذا، أثناء الاستماع إلى بقية المزيج. هذه المرة، ومع ذلك، سوف أتوقف بي اكتساح قطع منخفضة عندما أسمع نهاية منخفضة من القبعة العالية الحصول على واضحة (أكثر أو أقل) للصكوك الأخرى. تبعاً التوافقيات بأس والفخ، وهذا يمكن أن تختلف على نطاق واسع. إذا كان لدى بأس أو الفخ مع التوافقيات العليا الغنية، سوف إلى حد ما تجاهل تداخل الترددات القبعة العالية وباس واكتساح حتى يصلح الأمور. إذا بأس/كمين منخفض جداً مع لا الحيوية أو يجري خفض كمية كبيرة من تمرير منخفض، وسوف إيلاء مزيد من الاهتمام لتداخل الترددات والتوقف عند الترددات القبعة والصكوك الأخرى واضحة لبعضهما البعض.

وكما قلت، قيم قطع منخفضة يمكن أن تختلف على نطاق واسع من 250-1000 + هرتز اعتماداً على النوع الخاص بك، وما كنت تحاول إنجاز sonically. النطاقات العليا القبعة العالية تسير لجعله أكثر الحالية، من 8-15 + كيلو هرتز حيث يمكن أن يكون هذا مكان جيد لتعزيز. أود أن أوصى أيضا أولاً قطع جراحيا إلى أقصى حد ممكن من نهاية العلوي القبعة يميل إلى تناول الكثير من الفضاء متناسق العلوي هو أمر جيد للحفاظ على واضحة لغناء والصكوك الأخرى.

بحاجة السمو فقط عامل تصفية قطع العالية والمنخفضة في هذه الحالة.

غناء

يمكن أن يكون غناء أصعب مكافئ كما أنها تميل إلى أن تكون عنصر أغنية معبرة أكثر وفردي وغالباً تتبع متعددة. هذا القبيل، غناء هي الأكثر انفتاحاً على وبحاجة إلى تفسير كل حالة على حدة. كما جرت العادة، أول شيء نحن ذاهبون للقيام بغير منخفض قطع بنا track(s) صوتي إلى نقطة نبدأ بتفقد نهاية المنخفضة اللازمة. مرة أخرى، نحن فورا تتراجع قليلاً عن التردد والانحدار. ثم الالتفاف وتهذيب كل المعلمات للذوق.

بعد ذلك، مرة أخرى سأفعل نفس مع عامل تصفية قطع عالية حتى الأمور المملة، تحديد تواتر والانحدار و Q كما فعلت مع انخفاض قطع. سوف ثم محاولة قطع أي الأصداء غير المرغوب فيها التي تتواجد عادة في نطاق 120-350 هرتز (وإذا لم تكن موجودة في مكان آخر). من هنا، كنت قطعت مع إبقاء سميكة الصوت للذوق. ثم سأحاول زيادة @ 2 أو 3 كيلو هرتز اعتماداً على إذا كان ذكرا أو أنثى من أجل زيادة الشمول.

ينصح بقص سيبيلانسي باليد في كل في ' صوت التشغيل الآلي وليس مع دي-أيسر كما أنه يعطي نتيجة أكثر دقة. وهذا يمكن أن يكون بدأ هنا يشعر خطوة حلقة بدائية فقط لإعطاء عامة لكيفية الجلوس الأمور، ولكن يجب أن تحدث الكامل على التشغيل الآلي للمكاتب في وقت لاحق كصوتي وتتبع التقدم المحرز.

بعد اللعب حولها قليلاً وفعلت بعض القطع وزيادة كما هو موضح.

الصكوك الثانوية

لا يوجد حقاً أي قواعد جامدة وسريعة للصكوك الثانوية مثل توم وقشطة والبيانو الكهربائي، ولكن بعض الركائز الأساسية التي نوقشت أعلاه يمكن وينبغي أن تدرج. أساسا، دائماً ابدأ مع مرشح تمرير منخفض قطع/عالية، المنصوص عليه بالطريقة الموصوفة وثم القيام بنفس الشيء مع قطع تمرير منخفض/عالية. قطع ترددات لا لزوم لها أو فاحشة جذريا مع دفعة Q. عالية تلك التي تعتبر ضرورية للحرف الصوت Q منخفضة ومنخفضة دفعة.


الملاحظات الختامية

هنا كيف يبدو لنا حلقة بعد مرور أول من EQing.

قبل EQ

بعد EQ

ستلاحظ أن الحلقة الآن أقل بكثير من boomy والقهر في نهاية منخفضة والأجهزة ومستويات أكثر بكثير واضحة ودقيقة. صوتي الآن أيضا يجلس أكثر بكثير بطبيعة الحال.

إذا كان هذا مشروع حقيقي، سوف ثم أعود والبدء في تهذيب الأمور بأكثر دقة البحث عن الترددات الأساسية لكل صوت وربما إضافة أخرى يكس في المسلسل شكل أكثر وضوح الصوت. سوف ثم تحقق من الصكوك ضد بعضها البعض، ومحاولة لكمه ثقوب حيث يمكن أن في أي صراعات تردد مع مكافئ جراحية. أن تفعل ذلك بنفس الترتيب كما بدأت عملية EQing (ركلة إلى الفخ بأس، إلخ) كما أريد لاحتواء مزيد من الأصوات غير الضرورية حول العناصر الأساسية وليس العكس (أي دائماً العمل من الألف إلى الياء أعلى؛ والإطار أولاً، ثم الزخرفة).

رغم أن هذه المبادئ التوجيهية العامة جيدة، يجب أن نتذكر أنها هي المبادئ التوجيهية العامة. كثير من الحالات سينقلك خارج هذه الهوامش، ويجب أن لا تكون راغبة في استكشاف التطرف في أي من هذه الحالات. تعزيز @ 10-15 dB قد تعطيك الصوت الذي تريده وفي بعض الحالات، لذا يرجى لا تحصر نفسك إلى.5 أو dB 1 من مكسب لمجرد أن يقترح تعزيز متحفظ. المفتاح الحقيقي هو التجريب والممارسة.

في المرة القادمة سوف نبحث قليلاً في الضغط، وأنواع مختلفة من الضغط، وكيفية تنفيذها في مزيج لدينا.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Mixing & Mastering
Music

3D Mixing Part 3: Equalization

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called 3D Mixing.
3D Mixing Part 2: Panorama
3D Mixing Part 4: Compression

One of the most important tools in mixing is the equalizer. It shapes individual sounds, bus groups and mixes into cohesive wholes. If used correctly it can add clarity to muddy sounds or sparkle and definition to already great sounds. In this portion of our ongoing series, we will take an in-depth look at some EQ tips, frequency concepts and a few instrument specific techniques to help you create cleaner sounds and mixes.


Why EQ?

The purpose of EQing is to create clearer and larger sounds that are well defined and inhabit their own specific space within the frequency spectrum. This is achieved in different ways depending on program material, but the method by which it is achieved is largely systematic. What is needed more than anything in the process of EQing a good sound or mix is an easily learned process and a lot of experimentation and detailed listening.


Fundamentals

Theoretically, humans perceive waves as sound if they inhabit a range from 20 -20k cycles per second (Hz). In reality, this number is closer to 35-18k cycles with the bottom extreme being felt more than heard and the upper being barely audible. Within this spectrum, different instruments and sounds inhabit different frequency ranges that are specific to their type. Below is a list of (approximate) frequency ranges and some of the qualities found within them. For more on the subject, please go here.

Sub Bass (0-60 Hz)

0-25 Hz should automatically be filtered as no musical events occur here and too much energy only serves to muddy the sound.

25-60 Hz gives music a sense of power, once again, too much will give your sound an undefined low end.

Bass (60-250 Hz)

60-120 Hz is the place for the fundamentals of the bass and the low end of the kick.

60-250 Hz too much makes the sound thunderous, can thicken or thin the sound.

Misery Range (120-350 Hz)

Area most often in need of correction. Some portion of most instruments resides here creating undefined overlap.

Low Mid Range (250 Hz - 2 kHz)

Low order harmonics of most instruments. This range should be taken on a case by case basis.

If EQed improperly this range can sound nasal or cause listening fatigue.

Upper Mid Range (2-8 kHz)

2-4 kHz can mask speech recognition if too loud.

Slightly decreasing instruments at 3k and slightly increasing the vocal at 3k can make vocals more defined without increasing output.

4-6 kHz clarity and definition. Boosting makes the sound seem closer. Reducing 5k makes it distant.

2-8 kHz basic speech comprehensibility.

Upper Range (8-22 kHz)

8-12 kHz cymbals.

8-16 kHz clarity, too much causes sibilance.

12-22 kHz is air. Broad Q to give more air.

Sounds decrease in amplitude as they increase in frequency, as such there should be a treble fade out (high cut/low pass) in this section.


Quick Note on Gain

Channel level is another important aspect of mixing which begins to flesh itself out during the EQing process. As each new element is introduced for EQing, it is first imperative that you set a preliminary fader level to get the sound, more or less, tucked into your mix in terms of amplitude. To do so, simply raise the level of the new element until it is far too loud and then slowly lower its level until it naturally finds its pocket.


Gain Structure

Another side note on gain worth mentioning is gain structure. For those who don't know, gain structure is basically the act of keeping your levels in such a way that you do not raise gain at one point in your signal flow only to turn it down at a later stage (e.g. set the drum bus to +5 dB and the master at -1 dB), or excessively raising or lowering the levels at any one point in your signal chain.

A properly set gain structure is something that is always done in analogue mixing as improperly set levels will cause noise and other problems. In the digital domain this is also true, but to a lesser and sometimes non-existent degree; especially when working in a DAW such as Logic which supports a floating point architecture. Even so, it is a good idea to adhere to the concept of proper gain structure as much as possible.

To do so, simply try to keep your faders as close to unity (±0) as possible without overloading the inputs of any channel strip or plugin. Be careful though as your channel strips will usually only monitor the channel's output by default and some parameter settings will probably need to be changed in order to monitor the signal input at any one point in the chain.

Gain structure is different from overloading the channel output (over 0 dB of output) which largely needs no attention in DAWs which have a floating point architecture. You will not risk digital distortion in such instances on individual tracks. However, you can NEVER exceed 0 dB of output on the master out as the output becomes fixed and clipping and its subsequent digital distortion will occur.


General EQ Tips

Although the choice of a starting point is somewhat open to personal preference, it is essential to begin with a prominent groove element such as the kick or bass and build the groove around it one element at a time. Once the groove is sounding clean, add the other song elements one at a time while trying to clean up as much frequency overlap as possible.

No matter what element you are working with, the first thing you are going to want to do is add a low cut filter. To find where the low cut filter should be set, I generally start with it as steep as possible (48dB/octave or more) and sweep it up until the sound begins to loose some of its main tonal qualities. I then back down slightly on the frequency band until it is sounding natural and adjust the slope and Q to taste.

The next thing we want to do is to identify and eliminate any unnecessary or problem frequencies. To do this, we first need to listen to our sound in isolation for any resonances or other qualities that should not be there. If any are present, the most widely used method for EQing them (known as surgical EQing) is to set a bell filter to a very high Q and very high gain and sweep until the frequency we want eliminated becomes exaggerated. The next thing to do is to flip the gain so it is cutting rather than boosting. Finally, play with the Q, gain and frequency levels to fine tune.

Sometimes I have found it useful to cheat a little and simply start with the gain set so that it cuts immediately. I then sweep through the frequency range until the frequency I don't want disappears. I find this works well when there is a particularly wide band that needs filtering or the problem frequency is proving difficult to find under the conventional method. Whatever trick or method you employ is up to you as the sonic result is really the only thing that matters.

Finally we want to boost important frequencies in our sound. We do this in much the same way as the above method for eliminating frequencies in that we will start with a high gain, high Q bell filter and sweep until we are exaggerating the frequency we want to boost. The next step is to bring down the gain to a more moderate level and to open the Q to a relatively wide setting to give a gradual and wide boost, then fine tune the settings as necessary.

A rule of thumb in EQing is to cut with a narrow Q and extreme gain reduction and to boost with a wide Q and moderate to low gain increase. This is due to the fact that humans are much more sensitive to gains in amplitude than to reductions. You will notice this when you hear the resonance while sweeping to find the correct frequency as outlined above. The sound will be distinctly unnatural while the gain is boosting, but will smooth out and become natural when the gain is cutting, even at extreme settings.

Phase shift is also a concern as it always occurs when boosting. As such, it is a good idea to cut as much of what you don't want to hear as possible first and then boost the important areas somewhat conservatively. If you go straight to boosting only the frequencies you want to hear without first cutting, you are going to end up with (more or less) the same gain ratio between frequencies while introducing unwanted phase shift. This can create problems down the road and make it more difficult to cut out problem or unnecessary frequencies later on.

A classic Pultec EQ


Specific EQ Tips

Kick

I always start with the kick as that, for me, is the main grounding element and pulse of the song. The kick generally has a low center around 65-110 Hz and a head from 3-8 kHz. Immediately I will low cut the kick as much as possible to make room for the bass and then cut just above the low center (110-300 Hz) in order to clear the 'misery range' for other instruments. I will then use the low pass filter and cut the top as much as possible without making the head sound too dull. From here it is a matter of playing around a bit to see if anything else can/should be cut. After cutting, I will slightly boost some of the more important frequencies of the kick to bring out some of its distinct character. Below, you can see how I have set the EQ with a moderate Q setting on the low and high filter to add some resonance and punch.

This particular kick sample has been processed with a large amount of sub-bass on it which I am cutting along with a few other frequencies in order to make it sound a bit more clear and organic. If I decide to boost any of the frequencies later on, I will just add another EQ behind the first, as I have used all of my bell filters for cutting.

Snare

Next, I will go to the snare. One again, I will set the low cut filter as high and steep as possible and then back down a bit once the sound becomes too thin. I will then cut the top as much as possible with a low pass filter, being careful not to dull it. I will then try to pick out resonances in the sound and cut those frequencies if they are present (snares are notorious for having ringing overtones which may or may not be wanted).

I will then take the snare out of solo mode and listen to it with the kick to see how things sit. I will then try to increase the frequency setting of the low cut filter on the snare while using the low energy of the kick to compensate. This is done to help clear up the areas where the snare and kick overlap and create a more distinct separation of the two drums. I will then go through with a bell filter and sweep for frequencies that are not crucial to the snare (usually in the mid range). Next I will crisp things up with a high shelving boost and wide Q increase over the point (and any other important frequencies) of the snare.

Despite the above outline, this snare was pretty straight forward with only one bell filter used for cutting some unnecessary frequencies. The snare should always be outputting at about the same level as the kick.

Bass

I will always end up EQing the bass against a soloed kick for fine tuning, so with that in mind, we can add the bass now while the mix is still in its infancy. As always, I will start with a steep low cut and sweep up until the sound begins to dull. In the case of the bass, obviously, this does not take much as I will only be cutting around 25-40 Hz. I will then back off on the dB/octave ratio and adjust the Q and frequency to taste.

Next I am going to go in with a high cut, and bring that down until some of the twang of the bass dulls; then back off and adjust to taste. If there are any odd sounding frequencies or resonances, I will go through and cut those with the surgical EQ tactic. From here, I can try a number of things in both the cut and boost departments and keep whatever sounds best.

Here are a few tips and tricks in EQing bass to try out. The frequencies are generalizations, but they should be a good place to get you started.

  • Use a narrow Q @ 100-120 Hz & 140-160 Hz and boost one while cutting the other.
  • Boost @ 700-900 Hz for more clarity and attack.
  • Reduce 20-80 Hz to cut mud.
  • Boost 80-140 Hz to increase bass tone fundamentals.
  • Boost 130-200 Hz to increase overtones.
  • Boost @ 2.5-3 kHz for snap.
  • Give a moderate boost @ a low frequency and then another boost @ either .5 or 2x the first frequency (e.g. boost @ 50 and then 100 or boost @ 120 and then @ 60).

With this bass I ended up shelving the low and cutting @ 200 to decrease an overpowering low end. I raised some of the the higher frequencies to help some of the articulation stand out and used the boost @ 120 & @ 60 trick to bring back a little of the bass energy I cut previously.

Hi Hat

The high hat is fairly easy to EQ as it largely consists of harmonics which can be cut drastically to fit in a mix while still retaining a characteristic sound. Once again I will low cut this, while listening to the rest of the mix. This time, however, I will stop my low cut sweep when I hear the low end of the high hat get (more or less) clear of the the other instruments. Depending on the harmonics of the bass and snare, this can vary widely. If I have a bass or snare with rich upper harmonics, I will somewhat ignore the frequency overlap of the high hat and bass and sweep until things fit. If the bass/snare is very low with no snappiness or being cut with a large amount of low pass, I will pay more attention to the frequency overlap and stop when the frequencies of the hat and other instruments are clear of each other.

As I said, the values of the low cut can vary widely from 250-1000+ Hz depending on your genre, and what you are trying to accomplish sonically. The upper ranges of the high hat are going to make it more present, from 8-15+ kHz so this can be a good place to boost. I would also first recommend to surgically cut as much as possible from the upper end as the hat tends to take up a lot of upper harmonic space which is good to keep clear for other instruments and vocals.

The HH only needed a high and low cut filter in this instance.

Vocals

Vocals can be the most difficult to EQ as they tend to be the most expressive, individualistic and most often multi-tracked element of a song. A such, vocals are the most open to and in need of case by case interpretation. As usual, however, the first thing we are going to do is to low cut our vocal track(s) to the point we begin to lose the necessary low end. Once again, we immediately back off a bit on the frequency and steepness. Then we play around and fine tune all parameters to taste.

Next, I will once again do the same with a high cut filter until things dull, setting the frequency, steepness and Q as done with the low cut. I will then try to cut out any unwanted resonances which usually reside in the 120-350Hz range (and elsewhere if they are present). From here, I will cut to taste while keeping the sound thick. I will then try boosting @ 2 or 3 kHz depending on if it is a male or female in order to increase the comprehensibility.

It is recommended to cut sibilance by hand at every 'S' sound by automation rather than with a de-esser as it gives a more accurate result. This can be begun here as a rudimentary loop step just to give a general feel for how things sit, but the full on automation should occur later on as the vocal and track progress.

After playing around a bit and did some cutting and boosting as shown.

Secondary Instruments

There are not really any hard and fast rules for secondary instruments such as toms, synths and electric pianos, but some of the basic fundamentals discussed above can and should be incorporated. Basically, always start with a low cut/high pass filter, set it the way described and then do the same with a low pass/high cut. Cut unnecessary or obscene frequencies drastically with a high Q. Boost those that are necessary to the sound's character with a low Q and low boost.


Final Notes

Here is how our loop sounds after the first pass of EQing.

Before EQ

After EQ

You'll notice that the loop is now far less boomy and overpowering in the low end and the instrumentation and levels are much more clear and precise. The vocal now also sits much more naturally.

If this were a real project, I would then go back and begin to fine tune things by more accurately finding the frequencies fundamental to each sound and possibly add other EQs in serial to more distinctly shape the sound. I would then check instruments against each other and try to punch holes where I could in any frequency conflicts with a surgical EQ. I would do this in the same order as I began the EQing process (kick to snare to bass, etc.) as I want to fit more non-essential sounds around the essential elements and not vice-versa (i.e. always work from the ground up; framework first, then ornamentation).

While these are good general guidelines, you should remember they are general guidelines. Many instances will take you outside of these margins and you should not be unwilling to explore extremes in any of these cases. Boosting @ 10-15 dB may give you the sound you want in certain instances, so please do not confine yourself to .5 or 1 dB of gain just because it is suggested to boost conservatively. The real key is experimentation and practice.

Next time we will look a bit into compression, different compression types and how to implement them in our mix.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.