Unlimited royalty free music tracks, footage, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Music Theory

如何以及为什么要转调

by
Read Time:1 minLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Van Silky (you can also view the original English article)

在音乐中,转调是从一个调进行到另一个调上的过程。 如果一段音乐从 F major 调开始,接着或急或缓地变化,它抵达 Bb major 调,我们可以说这是从 F major 到 Bb Major 的转调。 一段音乐会被认为在某个调上如果它是调性的话,同样“调”也可以被叫做“home”或是“gravitational center”。

在某些定义中,转调的过程并不意味着新的音阶模式以正格终止的形式被确认。 尽管有些不严谨,但你确实已经转调了如果新的调性中心听起来像是主音的地位的话。


为什么要转调?

转调旨在何处?

一个因素是为你的音乐增添多样性和趣味性 特别是当你多次重复同一小部的时候,转调会至少给予你的读者一些有趣的听觉体验。

而两个调的对比,增添或减少乐段力量感,即使是在微妙的程度上它也会很有趣。

转调经常营造出一种前进的感觉并且驱使着音乐抵达一个新的能量级。 在古典剧目中主调的段落经常会转向属调,而一个额外的升号的引入(例如从C major 转向 G major 的过程中引入了F#)会带给音乐方向与抬升感。

并且从实际角度出发,一个影视配乐工作者也许会需要在两段已存在的不同调的乐曲中间插入一段适合的音乐。 这中间的一段需要平滑地将整个儿乐曲从一个调转到另一个调。 又或者没有转换过程的话,作曲者得至少意识到突然变调造成的音响效果并且明确它是被接受的或是自己想要的。

那么,如何转调呢?


一 、直接转调

最简单最具动力感的类型即直接转调。 这是种音乐在无任何准备的情况下变调的方法。

在流行乐中这个技巧经常被称作“truck driver's modulation”,因为就像是曲子换上了新的齿轮一样(只可意会,难以言传。。。)

Barry Manilow 经常在他歌曲中的 chorus 部分使用这一技巧。 比如 Mandy 在大部分都处在Bb调上,然而它在最后一次 chorus 的重复时进行到 C major 。

truck diver modulation 经常被批评是一个简陋的把戏因为它可以用来最后重复 chorus 而不用写任何新的材料(滑稽脸)。 给它一脚踢上别个调儿,完事儿 :)

关于直接转调还有种较少被关注的用法即用在 bridge 段落。 突然的变调使得 bridge 段落成为令人激动的预准备部分,这比单纯的重复要好上那么点儿。

在 John Mayer 的 City Love 中,主要部分在 D major 调上。 当其进入到 bridge 的时候,我们已经听过的 chorus 部分是完美解决到 D major 的。

但到了bridge部分,Mayer突然将将曲子变调到Bb调(通过IV和弦Ebmaj7)。

而这个结束效果是可接受的因为我们已经准备好迎接所期待的D和弦了但结果却听到了别的有意思的东西。 (这当中很聪明的做法是旋律依旧在听觉所期待的D音上。而将Dmajor和弦替代为Ebmaj7。)

直接转调对于电影作曲者来说非常有用。

正如我之前所提到的,一个直接转调具有很强的动力。 它寄予音乐一个突然的能量爆发点,如果你需要在电影某一桥段制造一种(更)令人激动的效果的话,这会是个有用的技法。

在这个“回到未来III”的场景中,该段音乐在前一分钟内使用了6次突然的直接转调!

  • 0:15 调性中心向上移动了小三度。
  • 0:25 再次向上小三度。
  • 0:35 依旧上移小三度。
  • 0:41 它。。。它它又上移了小三度。
  • 0:52 继续上移小三度。。。
  • 1:00 终于又上移了小三度!

另一点值得注意的是Alan Ailvestri 延伸了Back to the Future和Wild West主题的使用,增加了些新的材料。 一段音乐中很少需要新的材料加入来驱使其前进,更多时候是如何经常使用同一材料但却以不同而有趣的形式将其呈现。


二、平行转调

平行转调是一种不改变根音的转调方式。 例如,从 F major 转调至 F minor。

这种方式一定很柔和因为主音是一样的,但它同时也是多彩的因为音乐中的角色发生了戏剧性的转变。

Mozart 非常喜欢使用平行转调,我们可以听一听他著名的Rondo alla Turca。

A部分在A minor调上,而B部分在A major调上。 注意听,B部分是如此的明亮,当从小调中突然抬升转至大调时,战胜而归,谓之凯旋!


三、关键和弦转调(注:因为和声学乐理出自西方文化,而翻译各不相同,请勿被名词所困扰,以理解其含义为准。)

最柔和的转调方式莫过于关键和弦转调了。 关键和弦意指两个调共同享有的和弦。

比如C major 和 G major 共享四个和弦:C,Em,G,Am。

1 C and G chords1 C and G chords1 C and G chords

这些和弦当中的任何一个都可以用来柔和地从 C major 转调至 G major。 如果你想要 G major 作为一个新的调听起来地位更加牢固,那么就使用正格终止。 这意味着至少得有一个V-I的和弦进行。

在这个例子中, Haydn的第九十九交响曲, 开始的八小节开幕主题从 Eb major 调转到 Bb major 调。

Eb 和 Bb 共享有 Cm 和弦,也被Haydn在这里用作关键和弦。 它同时扮演了Eb major 中的vi 和Bb major 中的 ii 两个角色。

这里是开始时的音频, 还有5-8 小节的乐谱:

2 Haydn2 Haydn2 Haydn

关键和弦转调经常出现在古典乐以及器乐形式的音乐中,而流行乐或歌曲中却较少。

两个调之间的关系越相近,它们共享的和弦越多,也就越容易找到关键和弦。

3 G C F3 G C F3 G C F

如你所见 C major 和 G major 之间只有一个升号的区别,所以它们被认为是近关系调。 同样,C major 和 F major 之间除了一个降号其他都相同,并且共享四个和弦:C,Dm,F 和 Am。

C major 和 D major之间有两个升号的不同,使得它们呈远关系。 它们只共享两个和弦:Em 和 G。

4 C and D chords4 C and D chords4 C and D chords

你可以使用 Em 作为关键和弦从 C 转调至 D 。它同时是 C 调中的 iii 级和弦和 D 调中的 ii 和弦。

5 C to D5 C to D5 C to D

C 和 Eb 之间的不同是三个降号,所以它们的关系更加疏远。 它们之间不共享任何和弦。

6 C and Eb6 C and Eb6 C and Eb

若要想转至这种关系疏远的调上来你得采用一些更先进的方法比如从平行小调中借来和弦或是使用像那不勒斯六和弦之类的和弦。 因为这是个入门性的课程,所以这些先进的转调结束我们将在下一次讨论。


结语

转调是一个有力的工具,它能将你的音乐从一个调性中心跳出,开始更有意思的调性之旅。

最后一个例子,John Williams的 Fawkes the Phoenix。 比起告诉你结论,不如自己认真听一听看看是否能听出转调。 效果如何? 在哪一时刻音乐听起来像是翱翔至新的地方?

转调是否是让你给你的曲子注入更多的力量?

期待你们在评论中分享自己关于转调的想法和问题。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Music Theory
Music

How and Why to Modulate to New Keys

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

In music, modulation is the process of changing from one key to another. If a piece of music starts out in the key of F major but then changes, either immediately or gradually, to they key of Bb major, we would say it modulates from F major to Bb major. A piece is considered to be in a "key" if the root of the key is the tonic, also called "home" or the "gravitational center".

In some definitions, a modulation isn't considered to have taken place until the new key has been confirmed with a perfect authentic cadence. More loosely though, you have changed key if a new tonal center feels now like the tonic.


Why Modulate?

What is the purpose or point of modulation?

One reason is to add interest and variety to your music. Especially if you repeat the same sections many times, changing the keys will, at the very least, give your listener something interesting to hear.

The contrast of the first key with the second, or an increase or decrease in intensity, can be interesting even on a subtle level.

Modulations often provide a sense of forward propulsion and drive the music into new levels of energy. In the classical repertoire a majority of pieces modulate to the key of the dominant, and the introduction of an extra sharp (for example introducing the pitch F# to modulate from C to G major) can give the music lift and direction.

From a practical standpoint, a film composer might need to write a piece of music that fits between two already existing songs in different keys. The middle piece will need to smoothly transition from the key of the first piece to the key of the second. Or if there is no transition, the composer needs to at least be aware of the effect of a sudden change in key and make sure it is welcome.

So how do you modulate?


1. Direct Modulation

The simplest and most dramatic type is direct modulation. This is where the music changes key with no preparation.

In pop music this technique is often called a "truck driver's modulation" because it's like the song has kicked into another gear.

Barry Manilow uses the truck driver modulation often for the last chorus of his songs. For example Mandy is in Bb major for most of the song, and then it launches up into C major for the last repetition of the chorus.

The truck driver modulation is often criticized for being a cheap trick because it can be used as a way to repeat the last chorus without having to actually write anything new. Just knock it up a step or two and you're done!

A less scrutinized use of direct modulation in a song is for the bridge. A sudden change to a new key helps make the bridge feel like an exciting launch into a new section, which is different than repeating yourself only slightly higher.

In John Mayer's City Love, the main part of the song is in D major. By the time it gets to the bridge, we are already used to hearing the chorus resolve nicely into D.

But for the bridge, Mayer launches suddenly into the key of Bb (on the IV chord, Ebmaj7).

It's a deceptive cadence because we are set up to expect D but get something else instead. (Something very clever about it is that the melody note is still the expected D. It's just that instead of being the root of a D major triad like we expect, it's the maj7 of an Ebmaj7 chord.)

Direct modulation can be very useful for film composers.

As I mentioned before, a direct modulation can be very dramatic. It adds a sudden burst of energy to the music, which is naturally a useful technique if a score needs to make the film feel suddenly more exciting.

In this scene from Back to the Future III the score makes a sudden direct modulation six times in just the first minute alone!

  • 0:15 modulates up a minor third
  • 0:25 modulates up a minor third
  • 0:35 modulates up a minor third again
  • 0:41 modulates up a minor third again
  • 0:52 modulates up a minor third again
  • 1:00 modulates up a minor third again!

Also worth noticing is that Alan Silvestri is able to stretch the use of only the main Back to the Future motif and the Wild West motif, plus some filler material. Very little actual new musical material is needed to drive things forward, it's more about using the same material in constantly intensifying ways.


2. Parallel Modulation

Parallel modulation is when you change mode without changing the root. For example going from F major to F minor.

It's naturally very smooth because the tonic remains the same, but is also very colorful because the character of the music changes quite dramatically.

Mozart was very fond of parallel modulations, one example can be heard in his famous Rondo alla Turca.

The A section is in A minor, the B section is in A major. Notice how bright and triumphant the B section feels by suddenly lifting the mood from minor to major!


3. Pivot Chord Modulation

The smoothest way to modulate from one key to another is to use a pivot chord. A pivot chord is a chord that both keys share in common.

For example C major and G major share four chords in common: C, Em, G, and Am.

1 C and G chords

Any one of these chords can be used to transition smoothly from C major to G major. If you want G major to feel very firmly like a new key it is best to "confirm" it with an authentic cadence. This means at the very least a V-I progression.

In this example from Haydn's 99th Symphony, the opening theme modulates from Eb major to Bb major in the first eight bars.

Eb and Bb both share the chord Cm in common, which Haydn uses as the pivot chord. It acts as both vi in Eb and ii in Bb.

Here is the audio from the beginning, plus bars 5-8 of the score:

2 Haydn

Pivot chord modulations are usually found in classical or instrumental music, less so in pop or songwriting contexts.

The closer they keys are related, the easier it is to find natural pivot chords.

3 G C F

As you can see C major and G major are only one sharp different; they are considered closely related. Similarly, C major and F major have all notes in common except for one flat, and share four chords in common: C, Dm, F, and Am.

C major and D major have a difference of two sharps, making them more distantly related. They only share two chords in common: Em and G.

4 C and D chords

You could use the Em as a pivot chord to modulate from C to D. It is both iii in C and ii in D.

5 C to D

C and Eb are different by three flats, so they are more remote. The don't actually share any chords in common.

6 C and Eb

To modulate to remote keys you need to implement some more advanced techniques, such as borrowing chords from parallel modes or using chords such as the Neapolitan 6. Since this is an introductory lesson, we'll save the more advanced modulations for another day!


Conclusion

Modulation is a powerful tool for taking your music from a single key center on to a more interesting tonal journey.

As a last listening example, here is Fawkes the Phoenix from John Williams. Rather than give you all the answers, listen for yourself and see if you can hear when the music modulates to a new key. What is the effect? At what moments does the music feel like it soars into new places?

Is changing keys a way you can introduce more energy and forward drive into one of your songs?

Share your thoughts and questions about modulation in the comments.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.