Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Composition
Music

كيف تكتب المسار الاداه الوسيطة

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Sittiana Ana (you can also view the original English article)

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي سوف نسير من خلال كامل عملية خلق تكوين دور فعال، من الرسومات الأولى لفكرة من خلال المزيج النهائي. بالطبع هناك طرق ألف لكتابة قطعة من الموسيقى، وهذا أسلوب واحد فقط.

يجب ألا تتوقع استخدام هذه الطريقة لكل ما تكتبه من قبل ، ولكن ينبغي أن يكون مفيدًا لك أن تشاهد عملية واحدة لتطوير تركيبة في هذا النمط.


الأولى التخطيط

وهذا لا يجري مكتوبة للفيلم، حتى لا يكون هناك لا الدراما التي تمليها العمل على الشاشة. بشكل عام أريد وضع قطعة تقودني حيث أنه يريد الذهاب، حيث لن يؤدي إلا خطة الخروج من عدد قليل من الأشياء. أرغب في إنشاء مسار موسيقي من 1: 30 إلى 2:30 دقيقة في نمط مسرحي / درامي. يجب أن تبدو القطعة غامضة مع لحظات معينة من الاهتمام. هذا هو كل التخطيط الذي سأقوم به ، وسنرى أين يقودنا الباقي.

ضع في اعتبارك أيضًا أن أحد أهداف كتابة هذه المقالة هو الحصول عليها سريعًا ، لذا على الرغم من أننا نريد أن نجعلها جيدة ، فسنجد أيضًا أماكن جيدة لأخذ الاختصارات مثل تكرار الأقسام أو الأفكار المتداولة.


العثور على فكرة أولية

أول شيء أود القيام به إيجاد نوع من الجزء الأساسي يحصل لي بدأت. يمكن أن أقضي يوما يحدق في صفحة/شاشة فارغة بعد أي فكرة من أين تبدأ، ذلك هو أفضل شيء بالنسبة لي للقيام بتحميل صوت ونبدأ نودلينج. يمكنك البدء بأي شيء تريد، على الرغم من محاولة عموما تميل إلى الصكوك التي هي الذهاب إلى الصوت جيدة مثل ميدي مثل البيانو، ولوحات المفاتيح، والقيثارة، أو قرع مطرقة.

الصوت يتأذى بالنسبة لي في الوقت الحالي ، لذلك سأقوم بتحميل صخب واضح في EXS. أضف لمسةً من النكهة ثم سأبدأ بلعب لوحة المفاتيح بدون نقرة ، وتهذيب الأنماط واللغز المختلفة ومحاولة الإحساس بشيء يبدو ملهماً.

لا يوجد الكثير من العلوم في هذه المرحلة ، لكنني عموما أبحث عن شيء له بعض المتطلبات الأساسية:

  • بسيطة: ينبغي أن أكون قادراً على تكرار ذلك بسهولة أو بنقل هذه الفكرة إلى الأصوات الأخرى.
  • مثيرة للاهتمام: بسيطة لا يجب أن تكون مملة. ينبغي أن يكون هناك على الأقل شيء الحفاظ على مصلحة الانتقال، ربما على إيقاع خاص أو الفاصل الزمني.
  • باختصار: أنا لا أحاول إنشاء تحفة من خلال البحث عن جزء ، كل ما أبحث عنه هو جوهرة صغيرة سوف تجعلني أبدأ في كل شيء.

اليك ما بدا بعض من شعري حولها مثل:

بعد حوالي 8 دقائق من العبث هبطت على لعق هذا قد اعتقدت أن إمكانات:

ما يعجبني في هذه اللعبة هو الإيقاع النطاطي لأول دورتين (واحد - واثنان - وثلاثة) ولكن أيضا فاصل تريتون في اللحن الثاني (E Bb Ab E). لاحظ Eb منخفضة على فوز 1 و 3 الذي أسس وثابت للغاية. وأظل أيضا الحفاظ على دواسة أسفل لعق كامل، مما يعطي شعورا فسيحة جرفت.

لم أكن أسجل لنقرة ، لذلك أنا الآن بحاجة إلى العثور على الإيقاع الصحيح (يبدو وكأنه حوالي 85bpm) واللعب في إصدار أنظف. سأقوم أيضاً بتثبيتها وتصفيتها إلى أن تكون جميع السرعات نفسها باستخدام مربع معلمات منطقة MIDI في الزاوية العلوية اليسرى من نافذة الترتيب.


هنا هو أن تنظيفها حتى لعق:


هذه هي المرحلة الوحيدة في كتابة المقال الذي سنقضيه في التفكير في فكرة. من الآن فصاعدًا ، يكون الهدف هو إخراج الأفكار من رؤوسنا إلى الجلسة بأسرع ما يمكن. ثق حدسك. إذا كنت تسمع خط بيانو بارد في راسك، الحصول عليه وثم الاستمرار في المضي قدما. يمكن أن تضيع ساعات خلال الذهاب على نفس التدابير اثنين مرارا وتكرارا حتى كنت أعتقد أنهم "مثالية"، ولكن في هذا الوقت كنت قد سمعت كثيرا أن كنت قد فقدت منظور جميع المواد. تذكر أن الموسيقى الخطية ويبقيه تتدفق.


ابدأ في إنشاء مقدمة

والآن بعد أن أصبح لدينا فكرتنا الأولية ، يمكننا البدء في تطوير كل شيء آخر حوله. أبسط شيء يمكنني القيام به هو تحديد المنطقة الخاصة بي ، وضرب L ، وجعله حلقة في اللانهاية.

بتكرار الخامس أنها ستبدأ تدفع لي المكسرات قليلاً، لذلك دعونا نبدأ تتبيل أنه حتى. في الإجراء الخامس أنا سماع بأس الثابت، وطبل ضرب، حتى وأنا ذاهب لتحميل بأس وتايكو الطبل التصحيح وأصابت منهم Eb طويلة.


ضرب تايكو مملة جداً، لذلك دعونا التوابل عنه عن طريق إضافة تزدهر مذكرة الثانية والثلاثين في ذلك. لن تكون مختلفة تماما ولكن سيتم إضافة بعض أكثر دقة. لاحظ أن السرعات يزيد حتى متشائم هو ضرب أعلى.


لا يزال هناك العديد من الأشياء التي يجب علينا القيام بها لجعل المقدمة أكثر إثارة للاهتمام ، ولكن سنقوم بحفظ الضبط الدقيق لوقت لاحق. من المهم أن نواصل الحرث إلى الأمام ونعمل على الحصول على الصورة الكاملة في المكان.


تطوير قسم A

ببار 9 استمعنا إلى الكثير من الأخذ والمشاعر هو بداية لعق تبلي نفسها قليلاً، حتى أننا يجب أن تلتقط الأشياء بجلب مواد الرئيسية لدينا. أنا سلاسل السمع على خط لحن بسيط، وأنا ذاهب للعب عبر المشاعر.

سوف أقوم بتسطيح السرعات ، وتخصيص الوقت ، واستخدام التعديل لإنشاء ديناميكيات وشكل. راجع البرنامج التعليمي حول كيفية إنشاء موسيقى MIDI أكثر تعبيرًا للحصول على تفاصيل حول كيفية استخدام التعديل بهذه الطريقة.


على الرغم من أن خط اللحن بسيط للغاية ، إلا أن هناك بعض الأشياء المهمة التي يجب ملاحظتها. هناك نمط إيقاعي مع بيك اب بيك اب الذهاب إلى ملاحظات تنازلي. شريط ثالث هو ذروة هذه العبارة، لأنه ليس فقط هو ب الطبيعية الملاحظة الأكثر نشاز في النمط، نمط إيقاعي قد انتهك أيضا. بدلاً من ملاحظة نصف منقط إلى نمط ملاحظة الربع التي ارسيناها، لدينا مذكرتين النصف. كل هذه العناصر تجعل هذا التدبير الأكثر توترا، مما يجعل أيضا Bb طويل يشعرون في النهاية يشعر خاصة استرخاء وفي سهولة.

لاحظ أن اللحن هو خمسة تدابير طويلة بدلا من الأربعة النموذجية. وهذا لا يسمح لنا بالتنفس قليلاً في هذا المقياس الخامس فحسب ، بل إنه أيضاً طريقة خفية لإحداث توازن مثالي في العبارات المتساوية التي تضيف لمسة من الاهتمام وعدم الاستقرار.

دعونا تكرار هذه العبارة، ولكن هذه المرة بدلاً من لحن انخفاض سآخذ يستدير والصعود، مرة أخرى حفظ الملاحظة نشاز أكثر لأن "ذروة" العبارة قبل الاسترخاء في المجلس التنفيذي.



كرر القسم أ

الآن أن لدينا لحن عبارة اثنين يمكن أن نعتبر أن لدينا الفرع ألف. نظراً لأننا سمعنا فقط على طول الطريق من خلال مرة واحدة، دعونا تكراره ولكن هذه المرة سوف نبقى أنها مثيرة للاهتمام بتكثيف التزامن.

سوف أترك اثنين من الحانات في نهاية القسم الأول قبل البدء في تكرارنا ، والذي سيعمل كحظة للتنفس ويضيف إلى الجودة "الغامضة" التي نحن بصددها.

سأقوم بتكرار الأوتار ، لكن هذه المرة سأقوم بمضاعفتهم بملعقة عصبية. لقد اخترت تصميم Starry Night وهو إعداد مسبق في Sculpture. سوف أثيرها على اوكتاف والنتيجة تعطي اللحن أكثر الشوق.

القادم سأضيف أكثر كثافة ليشعر عموما بوجود بأس ضرب منخفضة Eb كل ملاحظة على كل شريط. الجزء نفسه ليست مثيرة جداً للاهتمام، لكنه يضيف إحساس بالوزن لكل شيء حوله.

والشيء الآخر الذي يمكن أن يستخدم بعض الاختلافات هو لعوبنا التعب ، لذلك سأحاول مضاعفة على القيثارة لمعرفة ما إذا كان يغير ذلك بما فيه الكفاية. سآخذها حتى اوكتاف وأيضا هادئة جدا ، لذلك شعرت قليلا.

حتى هنا ما لدينا حتى الآن:

وما يشبه الدورة: (انظر المقاطع التي يتم لصق نسخة حرفية من المواد السابقة)


ما زال مملًا إلى حد ما ، لكن لدينا الآن مخططًا عامًا مهمًا في هذه المرحلة.


تطوير قسم ب

وكما ذكرت في البداية، طول بلدي المستهدفة للقطعة فقط 01:30-02:30. نظراً لأننا بالفعل في حوالي 01:15، ليس لدى الوقت لتطوير قسم ب وضع حقاً. من ناحية أخرى ، يمكن للقطعة أن تستخدم نوعًا من التباين لأن مجرد تكرار المقطع A مرة أخرى سيكون مملاً إلى حد ما. لذلك لحل هذه المشكلة سوف إنشاء مقطع ب قصيرة جداً استناداً إلى المواد A مع بعض التغييرات الصغيرة جداً فقط.

الشيء الأكثر وضوحًا الذي يمكنني تغييره هو الانسجام ، الذي كان على دواسة Eb منذ بداية القطعة. لن أكون معقدة هنا على الإطلاق. تغييرات وئام بسيطة يمكن مجرد فعالة كما أقل شيوعاً، حيث سآخذ فقط المقطع ب ابدأ على Ab. للقيام بذلك سآخذ بأس يضع أساسها الدهون لطيفة وضبط عدد قليل من الملاعب في أعمالنا ostinato المشاعر لعكس التغيير.


سوف أفعل أب لقياس اثنين ومن ثم العودة إلى Eb لقياسين. لاحظ كيف يشعر الأب (الوتر الرابع) وكأنه يرفعنا ، ثم يعيدنا إب إلى الأسفل.

أعتقد أن هنا هو مكان جيد لأعمالنا تايكو حيث سوف أضع أسفل نمط بسيط جداً، وأنا أيضا سوف تحاكي مع بأس. وفيما يلي كلا الجزأين (بأس باللون الأحمر):


أخيرا سأضيف اللحن على الأوتار والموالفة ، مرة أخرى شيء بسيط جدا. سأكرر الأشرطة الأربعة بأكملها لقسم B بثمانية أعمدة.


حدث شيء مثير للاهتمام عندما أضفت اللحن الذي كنت أسمعه في رأسي ، والذي كان غير مقصود ولكنه عمل جيدًا. كنت قد قصدت تغيير الوئام من أب قاصر إلى إبني ثانوي ، ولكن بسبب ملاحظات اللحن انتهى الأمر فعلاً إلى ديسيبل ثانوية / أب إلى إبني ثانوي. من الناحية الوظيفية ، لا تزال تخدم غرضي من التوتر والإفراج ، ولكن بطريقة مختلفة عما هو متوقع.


كرر القسم أ

أعطانا القسم B فرصة للراحة من المادة A ، لذا الآن عندما نعيدها لن يكون الأمر مملًا للغاية. دعونا نكرر القسم A بأكمله مرة واحدة فقط في المرة الأخيرة كنهاية لقطعتنا. كل ما أنا ذاهب إلى القيام به هو نسخ ولصق لدينا بالثانية القسم ووضعه بعد المقطع ب. بسيط، ولكن سوف تجعل تعديلاً حيث أنها أكثر من "إنهاء" بأخذ بعض العناصر لآخر نصف المقطع. سوف كتم صوت كل شيء لكن موالفة والقيثارة للعبارة الأخيرة، التي سوف تعطي القطعة أكثر من إحساس بأنه قادم من نهايتها.


هذه هي القطعة بأكملها حتى الآن ، والتي أقول إنها 90٪ هناك:


الاستماع من خلال التحسينات

الآن أن تكوين أساسي في المكان أن الوقت قد حان للعودة وإضافة قطعة من الفائدة واللون. هذا لا يعني أننا يجب أن نغطي فقط كل شيء في آلات الإيقاع والتأثيرات ، لأنه على العموم تعمل القطعة بشكل عام. يجب علينا فقط العثور على بعض اللحظات الجميلة لإضافة الاهتمام واللمسات الأخيرة.

من خلال هذه العملية الحصول على كفاءة أجد أنه يساعد على الاستماع من خلال قطعة كله، أخذ الملاحظات على طول الطريق حول الأفكار لما لاستخدامها. ثم تصبح القائمة ببساطة قائمة مرجعية التي يمكنك بسرعة نقل عن طريق التحقق من إيقاف عنصر واحد في كل مرة. كما ذكرت سابقا، يمكن أن تنفق ساعات تكرار التدابير حتى اثنين مرارا وتكرارا حتى كنت أخرج نفسك مجنون، بدلاً من هذا الأسلوب القوات لي للحصول على، والحصول عليها القيام به، والمضي قدما.

من خلال الاستماع للقطعة ، إليك ما أجده لأضيفه.

  • صوت مثير للاهتمام لسحبك في البداية
  • نوعا من تطور الوسادة أو صوت مخيف في الحانات الثمانية الأولى
  • كشط الصنج مع تايكو وباس في تدبير خمسة
  • شاكر في القسم ألف
  • لوحة في الجزء الثاني من القسم الأول
  • تأثير الصوت قبل القسم الثاني
  • صوت لسحب لنا في الثانية مقطع
  • لوحة في الجزء الثاني من القسم الثاني
  • صوت سحب لنا في القسم ب
  • قرع في المقطع ب
  • حشو في العبارة الأخيرة من آخر مقطع
  • ذيل أنعم بها للقيثارة

كل هذه الملاحظات تتناول إما سد الثغرات ، وإضافة عنصر لجعل مقطع واحد فريدًا من الآخر ، أو سحبنا إلى أقسام جديدة. الآن سأبدأ في هبوط القائمة


أضف الفائدة

دعونا نبدأ مع صوت مثيرة لاهتمام في البداية. مثيرة للاهتمام قد لا يعني غير عادية أو معقدة، وحتى طبل قوية يمكن أن تكون طريقة مثيرة لاهتمام تؤدي بنا. سأذهب لضرب طبل بأس طويلة وعميقة. سوف تجعل من لطيفة وعميقة EQing قبالة نهاية عالية، ومنذ فترة طويلة عن طريق إضافة تردد الخاصة البرنامج المساعد.

التالي سأضيف لوحة عصبي إلى المقدمة. سوف أختار صوتًا أساسيًا مع الكثير من الحركة ، والتي ستشمل أذواق ostinato ستجعل أذننا أكثر صعوبة في محاولة مواكبة ذلك. لقد قمت بتحميل الإعداد المسبق لـ "Random Wave Groove" في ES2 ، والذي هو في حد ذاته صوت موالء واضح للغاية.

بعد أنا كعكة في لفة قبالة نهاية منخفضة وتردد أنها الصوت أكثر غموضاً. سآخذ أن تتلاشى بداية ومن ثم العودة مرة أخرى إلى الأول مقطع.

المقبل لدينا كشط الصنج في شريط خمسة ، من السهل بما فيه الكفاية. سأضيف أيضا بعض تردد والتأخير.

القادم لدى ملاحظة لإضافة شاكر إلى بأول المقطع. أنا ذاهب لتسجيل شاكر حية، العيوب التي سيتم إضافة بعض الوضوح خفية (بالكاد ملحوظا، ولكنه يساعد). أنا علامة القسم ألف فقط في الملاحظات، ولكن عليك تسجيله عن طريق قطعة كله (وسوف يستغرق سوى دقيقتين!) حيث أن الطريق أنا يمكن انتقاء واختيار أي مكان آخر قد ترغب.

في هذه الحالة ، سأبدأ في الجزء الثاني من المقدمة. إليك مقدمة جديدة في القسم الأول:

للوحة المفاتيح سوف استخدام شيء رقيقة جداً وعلى نحو سلس، مسبقاً كالمينج من EFM1. الغالب مجرد الضغط باستمرار المجلس التنفيذي وب ب، ولكن ثم مرددا غيغابايت للفاصل الزمني للمجلس التنفيذي من اللحن بالقرب من النهاية. أعتقد أيضا أنني بحاجة إلى أكثر من ذلك بقليل لملء الفراغ في نهاية القسم الأول ، لذا سأعيد اللوحة من المقدمة.

لقد غيرت رأيي عن صوت سحب لنا في الثانية قسم، أشعر وكأنني بأس وموالفة بما فيه الكفاية تشير إلى البناء والتنمية دون يدق بداية كل مقطع جديد فوق رؤوسنا بضربه كبيرة. هنا هو كيف الفرع الجزء الثاني من A الأولى لدينا الآن من الأصوات:

سأعيد استخدام لوحة التهدئة للعبارة الثانية من القسم A مرة أخرى ، وهذه المرة أعلى قليلاً. أنا أيضا إعادة استخدام كشط الصنج كقائد في القسم ب.

بعد ذلك تأتي قرع في الفرع باء. لقد حفظ شاكر الذهاب حتى هذه النقطة، حتى أنا فقط لإضافة أحد العناصر الخفيفة أكثر: موقوتة مرحبا-قبعة. كما سأضيف لفة الصنج الخروج من القسم ب وسحب لنا في آخر مقطع. وإليك ب: جديد

لقد أوقفت شاكر في آخر قسم A للبدء في إعداد فكرة أن الأشياء تنهمر.

في العبارة الأخيرة سوف أحضر كل من لوح التهدئة الخاص بنا ولوحة التمهيد المتحركة ، والتي ستعطي إحساسًا بالمساحة ، وجعلها تتلاشى مع المركب في النهاية.

سوف تستخدم ريتارد جعل القيثارة أشعر أنه تخلى عن البخار. للقيام بذلك سوف تعيين نقطة تيرة حيث كنت تريد الفرقة البدء، وقياس 46، وحيث أريد لها أن تنتهي، 49.


التالية سوف تستخدم محرر الإيقاع لإنشاء ريتارد سحب النقطة الأخيرة إلى الأسفل والاستماع إلى الوراء حتى أنه يشعر الحق. أنا أيضا سوف ضبط المنحنى للحصول على أبطأ في وقت لاحق في العبارة.


أخيراً ، سأقوم بتنظيف نهاية القيثارة ، بحيث تنتهي آخر درجتين معاً بهدوء شديد.


هنا هو أن إنهاء جديدة:

حتى هنا كيف تبدو القطعة النهائية في التسلسل:


حسنًا ، هناك الآن ، سنضيف بعض الإقناع الأساسي وننتهي!


ما، لا مزيج؟

من المحتمل أن العديد منكم يتوقع أنه بعد أن أصبحت جميع العناصر في مكانها ، حان الوقت للقيام بمزيج. حسنًا ، أعتقد أن الطريقة التي نكتب بها هي مضيعة للوقت. منذ كل عنصر تحت سيطرتنا خلال العملية برمتها ونحن قد تم خلطها كما عملنا. إذا كنت قد وضعت هذا الجزء في كتابة القطعة ولم تكن تمزج بينما تمضي قدمًا ، فسوف أكون مندهشًا للغاية ، فماذا تتوقع أن يكون الاختلاط في النهاية؟

ينبغي أن يتألف لدينا "مزيج" من تمريره نهائي أو اثنين فقط التأكد من أن كل شيء يجلس لطيف ويعمل. أنا سوف قرص مستويات قليلة هنا وهناك ولكن عموما سيتم ترك كل شيء وحدها.


إتقان

لأتقن سريع جدا وقذرة أميل لتحميل التحميل المسبق منطقي ، وربما إجراء تعديلات خفية إذا لزم الأمر. لهذه القطعة وأنا فعلا استخدام مسمى غير لائق "نهائي البوب ماستر واسعة" واستخدام الإعدادات الافتراضية مولتيبريس، خلاط الاتجاه وأدليميت. بدلاً من Match EQ ، سأستخدم قناة EQ عادية واستخدم المحلل للتحقق من عدم وجود ترددات خارج عن السيطرة. غالباً ما ينتهي بي الأمر بالتخلص من بعض من نهاية منخفضة ورف الرف على نهاية عالية مجرد لمسة.

بالطبع هذا فقط بسرعة والقيام بطريقة فنية للحصول على بعض الأساسية "إتقان". وهناك تقنيات رائعة للقيام بمهمة خطيرة وأهيب بكم أن تحقق من الدروس أوديوتوتس + "إتقان"، ولكن مع التركيز على إخراج الموسيقى هذا الأسلوب يعمل بشكل جيد.


والنتيجة النهائية

إذن هذا هو الجزء الأخير. عموما ، ستحتاج قطعة كهذه إلى أقل من ساعة واحدة لإنشاء ، أقل من اثنين إذا كنت سأقوم بتسجيل مجموعة من العناصر الحية. لا عمل فني، لكنه يعمل وأنه يلبي معاييرنا نمط وطول. هذا هو الموسيقى تؤدي وظيفة (ربما لتسطير أسفل السطر في عرض تلفزيوني أو فيلم)، نحن لا كنت تكتب لإنشاء منفذ للتعبير عن الذات الحقيقية. لهذا السبب ، من المهم أن يكون لديك أساليب لتكون قادرة على إنتاج هذا النوع من الموسيقى بسرعة وفعالية.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Composition
Music

How to Write an Instrumental Underscore Track

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:

In this tutorial we'll walk through the entire process of creating an instrumental composition, from the first sketches of an idea through to the final mix. Of course there are a thousand ways to write a piece of music, this is just one method.

You shouldn't expect to use this method for everything you ever write, but it should be helpful for you to see one process for developing a composition in this style.


Initial Planning

This is not being written to film, so there is no drama being dictated by the action on screen. In general I want the development of the piece to lead me where it wants to go, so I am only going to plan out a few things. I want to create a 1:30-2:30 minute instrumental track in an underscore drama/thriller style. The piece should feel mysterious with certain moments of interest. That's all the planning I'm going to do, we'll see where the rest leads us.

Also keep in mind that one of the goals for writing this piece is going to be getting it out quickly, so although we want to make it good, we'll also find good places to take shortcuts such as repeating sections or looping ideas.


Find an initial idea

The first thing I like to do is find some sort of basic fragment to get me started. I could spend days staring at a blank page/screen having no idea where to start, so the best thing for me to do is load up a sound and just start noodling. You can start with anything you like, though I generally try to lean towards instruments that are going to sound good as MIDI such as pianos, keyboards, harps, or mallet percussion.

Vibes sound intreresting to me at the moment, so I'm going to load up a straightforward vibes instrument in EXS. Add a touch of reverb for flavor and then I'll start just playing the keyboard to no click, riffing on different patterns and licks and trying to feel around for something that feels inspiring.

There isn't much of a science to it at this stage, but generally I'm looking for something with a few basic requirements:

  • Simple: I should be able to repeat it easily or transfer the idea to other sounds.
  • Interesting: Simple doesn't have to be boring. There should be at least something keeping the interest moving, perhaps a special rhythm or interval.
  • Short: I'm not trying to create a masterpiece by searching for a fragment, all I'm looking for is a little gem that will get me started on everything.

Here's what some of my noodling around sounded like:

After about 8 minutes of messing around I landed on this lick that I thought had potential:

What I like about this lick is both the bouncy rhythm of the first two beats (One - and a Two - and a Three) but also the tritone interval in the melody of the second two beats (E Bb Ab E). Notice the low Eb on beats 1 and 3 which is very grounding and steady. I also keep the sustain pedal down for the entire lick, which gives a washed out spacious feel.

I was not recording to a click, so I now I need to find the right tempo (feels like about 85bpm) and play in a cleaner version. I'll also quantize it and straighten out the velocities to all be the same by using the MIDI Region Parameters box in the upper left corner of the Arrange window.


Here's our cleaned up lick:


This is the only stage in writing the piece that we're going to spend time noodling around for an idea. From here on out the goal is to get the ideas out of our heads and into the session as quickly as we can. Trust your instincts. If you're hearing a cool piano line in your head, get it down and then keep moving forward. Hours can be wasted by going over the same two measures over and over until you think they're "perfect", but by this time you've heard the material so much that you've lost all perspective. Remember that music is linear and keep it flowing.


Start Creating an Introduction

Now that we have our initial idea we can start developing everything else around it. The simplest thing I can do is select my region, hit L, and have it loop into infinity.

By the fifth repeat it would start to drive me a little nuts, so let's start spicing it up. On the fifth measure I'm hearing a hard bass and drum hit, so I'm going to load up a bass and taiko drum patch and have them hit a long Eb.


The taiko hit is pretty dull, so let's spice it up by adding a 32nd note flourish into it. It wont be completely different but will add some more subtlety. Notice that I have the velocities increase until the downbeat is the loudest hit.


There are still several things we should do to make the introduction more interesting, but we'll save the fine tuning for later. It's important that we keep plowing forward and work on getting the big picture in place.


Develop an A section

By bar 9 we have heard plenty of the introduction and the vibes lick is starting to wear itself out a little, so we should pick things up by bringing in our main A material. I'm hearing strings on a simple melody line, which I'm going to play in over the vibes.

I'll flatten out the velocities, quantize the time, and use modulation to create dynamics and shape. See the tutorial on How to Create More Expressive MIDI Music for details on how to use modulation in this way.


Although this melody line is very simple, there are a few important things to notice. There is a rhythmic pattern with the Bb pickup going into descending notes. The third bar is the climax of the phrase, because not only is the B natural the most dissonant note in the pattern, the rhythmic pattern has also been violated. Rather than the dotted half note to quarter note pattern that we established, we have two half notes. Both of these elements make this measure the most tense, which also makes the long Bb feel at the end feel especially relaxed and at ease.

Notice that the melody is five measures long instead of the typical four. Not only does this allow us to breathe a little at that fifth measure, but it also is a subtle way to upset the perfect balance of even phrases which adds a touch of interest and instability.

Let's repeat this phrase, but this time instead of a declining melody I'll have it turn around and climb up, again saving the most dissonant note for the "climax" of the phrase before relaxing on the Eb.



Repeat the A section

Now that we have a two phrase melody we can consider that our A section. Since we've only heard it all the way through once, let's repeat it but this time we'll keep it interesting by intensifying the orchestration.

I'm going to leave two bars at the end of the first A section before beginning our repeat, which will function as a moment of breathe and add to the 'mysterious' quality we're going for.

I'm going to repeat the strings, but this time I'll double them with a spooky synth. I've chosen the Starry Night patch which is a preset in Sculpture. I'll raise it up an octave and the result gives the melody more longing.

Next I'll add more intensity to the overall feel by having the bass hit a low Eb whole note on every bar. The part itself is not very interesting, but it adds a sense of weight to everything around it.

The other thing that could use some variation is our tired vibes lick, so I'll try doubling it on harp to see if it changes it up enough. I'll have it up an octave and also very quiet, so it is just slightly felt.

So here's what we've got so far:

And what the session looks like: (see the sections that are literal copy pastes of earlier material)


It's still somewhat boring, but now we have an outline which is what matters at this stage.


Develop a B section

As I mentioned in the beginning, my target length for the piece is only 1:30-2:30. Since we're already at about 1:15, I don't really have time to develop an elaborate B section. On the other hand, the piece could use some sort of variation because just repeating the A section one more time would be pretty boring. So to solve this problem I'll create a very short B section that is based on the A material with only some very small changes.

The most obvious thing I can change is the harmony, which has been on an Eb pedal since the very beginning of the piece. I'm not going to get complex here at all. Simple harmony changes can be just as effective as less common ones, so I'll just have the B section start on an Ab. To do this I'll have the bass lay down a nice fat Ab and adjust a few of the pitches in our vibes ostinato to reflect the change.


I'll do the Ab for two measure and then back to Eb for two measures. Notice how the Ab (the iv chord) feels like it is lifting us up, and then the Eb is putting us back down.

I think here is a good place for our taiko so I'll lay down a very simple pattern, which I'll also mimic with the bass. Here are both parts (the bass is in red):


Lastly I'll add a melody on the strings and synth, again something very simple. I'll then repeat the whole four bars for an eight bar B section.


Something interesting happened when I added the melody I was hearing in my head, which was unintentional but worked out well. I had intended the harmony change to be from Ab minor to Eb minor, but because of the melody notes we actually ended up with Db minor/Ab to Eb minor. Functionally it still serves my purpose of tension and release, but in a different way than expected.


Repeat the A Section

The B section gave us a chance to rest from the A material, so now when we bring it back it wont be so tiresome. Let's repeat the full A section just one last time as the ending to our piece. All I'm going to do is copy and paste our second A section and place it after the B section. Simple enough, but I'll make an adjustment so it's more of an "ending" by taking out some elements for the last half of the section. I'll mute everything but the synth and harp for the last phrase, which will give the piece more of a sense that it's coming to a close.


Here's the entire piece so far, which I'd say is 90% there:


Listen through for improvements

Now that the basic composition is in place it's time to go back and add pieces of interest and color. That doesn't mean we should just cover the entire thing in percussion and effects, because on it's own the piece generally works. We should just be finding some nice moments to add interest and finishing touches.

To get through this process efficiently I find it helps to listen through the whole piece, taking notes along the way about ideas for what to use. Then the list simply becomes a checklist, which you can quickly move through checking off one item at a time. As I mentioned earlier, you could spend hours repeating even two measures over and over until you drove yourself crazy, instead this technique forces me to get in, get it done, and move on.

Listening through the piece, here's what I find I'd like to add.

  • An interesting sound to pull you in at the start
  • Some sort of evolving pad or spooky sound in the first eight bars
  • Cymbal scrape with the taiko and bass at measure five
  • Shaker in the A section
  • Pad in the second part of the first A section
  • Sound effect before the second A section
  • A sound to pull us into the second A section
  • Pad in the second part of the second A section
  • Sound pulling us into the B section
  • Percussion in the B section
  • Pad in the last phrase of the last A section
  • Smoother tail out for the harp

All of these notes address either filling gaps, adding an element to make one section unique from another, or pulling us into new sections. Now I'll start going down the list


Add interest

Let's start with an interesting sound at the beginning. Interesting does not have to mean unusual or complex, even a strong drum can be an interesting way to lead us off. I'll go for a long and deep bass drum hit. I'll make it nice and deep by EQing off the high end, and long by adding it's own reverb plugin.

Next I'll add a spooky pad to the introduction. I'll choose an underlying sound with a lot of movement, which combined with the vibes ostinato will give our ear more of a challenge to try to keep up. I've loaded up the "Random Wave Groove" preset in ES2, which on it's own is too explicitly synth sounding.

After I cake it in reverb and roll off the low end it will sound more mysterious. I'll have it fade in at the beginning and then back out again into the first A section.

Next we have the cymbal scrape into bar five, easy enough. I'll also add some reverb and delay.

Next I have a note to add shaker to the first A section. I am going to record a live shaker, the imperfections of which will add some subtle nuance (barely noticeable, but it helps). I marked only the A section in the notes, but I'll record it through the whole piece (it will only take two minutes!) so that way I can pick and choose where else I might want it.

In this case I'll have it start in the second part of the introduction. Here's our new intro into the first A section:

For the pad I'll use something very thin and smooth, the Calming preset of EFM1. Mostly just holding down an Eb and Bb, but then echoing the Gb to Eb interval from the melody near the end. I also think I need a little more to fill in the space at the end of the first A section so I'll bring back the pad from the introduction.

I've changed my mind about the sound pulling us into the second A section, I feel like the bass and synth are enough to suggest build and development without hammering the start of each new section over our heads with a big hit. Here's how the second part of our first A section now sounds:

I'll reuse the Calming pad for the second phrase of the A section again, this time just a bit louder. I'll also reuse the cymbal scrape as a lead in to the B section.

Next comes percussion in the B section. I've been keeping the shaker going up to this point, so I'm just going to add one more light element: a ticking hi-hat. I'll also add a cymbal roll coming out of the B section and pulling us into the last A section. Here's the new B:

I've stopped the shaker in the last A section to start setting up the idea that things are dying down.

In the last phrase I'll bring back both our Calming pad and the moving Intro pad, which will give a sense of space, and have them both fade out with the synth at the end.

I'll use a ritard to make the harp feel like it's giving up steam. To do this I'll set a tempo point where I want the rit to begin, measure 46, and where I want it to end, 49.


Next I'll use the tempo editor to create the ritard by dragging the last point down and listening back until it feels right. I'll also adjust the curve to get slower later in the phrase.


Lastly I'll clean up the end of the harp ostinato so the last two pitches end together very softly.


Here is our new ending:

So here's how the final piece looks in the sequencer:


Well there it is, now we'll add some basic mastering and we're done!


What, no mix?

Many of you would probably expect that now that all of the elements are in place it's time to do a mix. Well I think that for the way we've been writing, that's a waste of time. Since every element has been under our control through the entire process we have been mixing them as we worked. If you've made it this far into writing the piece and haven't been mixing as you go along I'd be very surprised, so what exactly do you expect to be mixing at the end?

Our "mix" should consist of a final pass or two just making sure that everything sits nicely and works. I'll tweak a few levels here and there but generally everything will be left alone.


Mastering

For very quick and dirty mastering I tend to load up a Logic preset, perhaps making subtle adjustments if necessary. For this piece I'm actually using the inappropriately named Final Pop Master Wide and using the default Multipress, Direction Mixer and AdLimit settings. Instead of the Match EQ I'll use a regular Channel EQ and use the analyzer to check that no frequencies are out of control. Often I'll end up rolling off some of the low end and rising a shelf on the high end just a touch.

Of course this is only a fast and functional way to get do some basic "mastering". There are fantastic techniques for doing a serious job and I encourage you to check out the Audiotuts+ Mastering tutorials, but with the focus on outputting music this method works fine.


The end result

So here it is, the final piece. Generally a piece like this will take less than one hour to create, less than two if I'm going to record a bunch of live elements. It's no work of art, but it works and it meets our style and length criteria. This is music to serve a function (perhaps for underscore in a TV show or film), we're not writing it to create an outlet for true self-expression. For that reason it's important to have methods to be able to produce this kind of music quickly and effectively.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.