Unlimited royalty free music tracks, footage, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production

MIDI التحرير في أدوات برو 

by
Read Time:15 minsLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Hakima Madani (you can also view the original English article)

قبل بضعة شهور، "أدوات برو" يعتبر تقاعساً من بين غربان الزرع عندما يتعلق الأمر بقدرات MIDI بشكل عام – على الرغم من موقفه كحل إنتاج الصوت الرقمي معيار الصناعة. مع إصدار Pro أدوات 8، صعدت Digidesign اللعبة. دعونا نلقي نظرة فاحصة على وظيفة جديدة.


تحديد وتحرير الملاحظات

من أجل هذا البرنامج التعليمي أنا ذاهب إلى سرعة تسجيل بعض MIDI استخدام الصك "غراند ميني" المكون الإضافي من بلادي 49 البديهية. أنا لا يوجد لاعب لوحة المفاتيح، لذا دعونا نحافظ على هذا بسيط.


يمكنك تحرير ملاحظات MIDI أما في إطار التحرير الرئيسي بتغيير المسار أعرض من المناطق إلى الملاحظات، أو مع محرر MIDI الذي يمكنك فتحه بالنقر المزدوج فوق منطقة ميدي مع أداة المختطف.

إجراء التحديدات

هناك اثنين من الأدوات التي يمكنك استخدامها لتحديد مجموعة من الملاحظات – أداة المختطف وأداة محدد. مع المختطف، أساسا رسم مربع حول الملاحظات التي تريد العمل مع. يمكنك تحديد تلاحظ واحد أو اثنين فقط من أصل على وتر حساس بهذه الطريقة، أو منطقة بأكملها. سوف حدد أي ملاحظة في المربع، حتى لو كان فقط جزء من المذكرة تقع داخل. المحدد، من ناحية أخرى، سوف حدد كافة الملاحظات بين نقطة البداية ونقطة النهاية تحدده، طالما أن البداية الفعلية للمذكرة يقع داخل التحديد.

عندما تقوم بتحديد مع المختطف، تقع فقط وتلاحظ أنفسهم في التحديد. عندما تقوم بتحديد باستخدام المحدد، سيتم تحديد البيانات الآلي كذلك.


تشكيلة المنتزع

إذا كنت ترغب في إلغاء تحديد بعض الملاحظات، انقر فوق المفتاح Shift لهم مع المختطف.

طريقة أخرى مثيرة للاهتمام لاختيار – على الرغم من أن أحد عليك ولا شك أن استخدام أقل في كثير من الأحيان – إلى انقر فوق ملاحظة على لوحة المفاتيح المصغرة، التي سيتم تحديد كافة الملاحظات MIDI لهذا الملعب خاصة. إذا كنت انقر مفتاح واسحب إلى الأعلى أو الأسفل، سيتم تحديد كافة الملاحظات في هذا النطاق في الملعب.

نقل الملاحظات

المختطف يستخدم لنقل الملاحظات من نقطة واحدة في الوقت المناسب إلى آخر كذلك، صعودا وهبوطاً في الملعب. يمكنك أيضا استخدام أداة القلم الرصاص، كما أنها ستقوم بتغيير في المنتزع أنواع عندما تحوم فوق ملاحظة ميدي موجودة.

أداة تحول تأتي في متناول اليدين عند نقل الملاحظات. اضغط على المفتاح Shift ثم قم بسحب مذكرة أفقياً ولن تتمكن من تحريكه عمودياً، والعكس بالعكس، يسمح لك هذا بالحفاظ على أرض الملعب أو توقيت المذكرة كما قمت بإجراء تغيير على المتغير الآخر. حتى إذا كنت ترغب في تغيير #F  إلى a G مع ضمان الملاحظة يبقى في البداية شريط أربعة، كنت اضغط على المفتاح shift، وثم الارتقاء الملاحظة. سيكون غير قادر على نقل نقطة بدء الملاحظة حتى أنا تحرير المفتاح Shift باستمرار.

وفي حين أننا نستخدم لوحة المفاتيح، تذكر أنه يمكنك استخدام Alt في Windows أو الخيار على الماك، وثم انقر فوق واسحب لنسخ الملاحظات في التحديد الخاص بك.

تغيير الطول في ملاحظة

إذا كنت ترغب في تغيير طول ملاحظة أو مجموعة من الملاحظات، ببساطة استخدام المنتزع جعل التحديد الخاص بك وثم انقر فوق الأداة الانتهازي.


حدد وحدة التشذيب

عندما تقوم بوضع الأداة في بداية أو نهاية الملاحظة، سترى المؤشر تغيير إلى رمز أداة الانتهازي. انقر واسحب لإطالة أو تقصير هذه المذكرة. إذا كنت تريد أن تبقى على الإيقاع الصحيح ووقت التوقيع، تأكد من تعيين وضع التحرير للشبكة حتى يستقر المذكرة إلى أقرب خط الشبكة.

فصل الملاحظات

ومن السهل فصل الملاحظات. مع تحديد أداة "المنتزع من قلم رصاص"، اضغط على المفتاح Shift-من السيطرة على ماك أو بدء التحول تحت Windows وانقر على النقطة في مذكرة ميدي ترغب في فصل. ستشاهد رمز مشرط عندما تكون الأداة في وضع مستقل. إذا كان لديك التحرير على الشبكة، فإنه سوف يجعل الفصل في خط الشبكة الأقرب.


الملاحظات المنفصلة

وضع الملاحظات معا مرة أخرى، سواء كانت ملاحظة لك لقد فصل فقط أو تلاحظ مختلفة اثنين من الملعب ذاته، عقد نفس المفاتيح وتحوم الماوس فوق بداية أو نهاية ملاحظة حتى تشاهد إسعافات أولية. عندما تقوم بالنقر فوق سيتم دمج تلاحظ ملاحظة أطول واحد.


تحرير قيم MIDI

الآن أنت تعرف كيفية تحرير الملاحظات نفسها. دعونا نلقي نظرة على إجراء تغييرات في القيم ميدي التي تصاحب تلك المذكرات: السرعة، والملعب بيند، حس لمسي تلوي، وهلم جرا.

في إطار تحرير، حدد موقع الصك أو المسار ميدي إذا كنت تعمل على. سيتم تعيين القائمة المنسدلة عرض، وعموما أقل من تمكين السجل، منفرداً وأزرار كتم الصوت، ربما للمناطق أو الملاحظات. انقر فوق القائمة المنسدلة وسترى مجموعة من الخيارات الأخرى.

  • Velocity
  • وحدة التخزين MIDI
  • كتم الصوت MIDI
  • عموم MIDI
  • Pitch bend
  • Mono aftertouch
  • تغيير البرنامج
  • Sysex
  • Controllers

وهناك أيضا عدد قليل من الخيارات التشغيل الآلي للصوت ولكن لن ننظر في تلك الموجودة في هذا البرنامج التعليمي.

إذا كنت في "محرر ميدي" بدلاً من إطار تحرير، انقر فوق السهم صغيرة فقط إلى اليسار من لوحة المفاتيح، الحق في الجزء السفلي. وهذا سيجلب الممرات أتمتة وتحكم.


يمكنك ثم تغيير حجم الممرات لتناسب بالنقر والسحب على الخط الأسود الذي يفصل MIDI تحرير المنطقة وأتمتة تحرير الممرات.


حدد أحد الخيارات التالية. أنا ذاهب لتحديد السرعة، كما أنه سيكون فعلا البيانات من جهاز تحكم MIDI تسجيل.


بيانات السرعة

كما يمكنك أن ترى لدينا ملاحظات لا تزال مرئية، ولكن الآن هناك خطوط مع الماس المرفقة إلى أعلى، وكذلك. وهذه تقول لنا أي قيمة بين 0 و 127 موصولة إلى كل ملاحظة ميدي لنوع بيانات معين. حيث لعبت الحبال وهناك سيقان متعددة في مكان واحد، وذلك من أجل معرفة ما الذي لاحظ أنه ينطبق على يمكنك النقر فوق الماس وتقام العينة.

إذا كان لديك أداة المنتزع تمكين يمكنك تعديل هذه القيم بالنقر على الماس والسحب (لقيمة أعلى) أو إلى أسفل (لقيمة أقل). أنواع أخرى من التشغيل الآلي للمكاتب، مثل وحدة التخزين MIDI، ميزة نقاط التوقف في خط بدلاً من القيم المحددة لكل ملاحظة. هنا هو وحدة التخزين MIDI دون أي تعديلات:


بالنقر باستخدام أداة المختطف في نقطة على طول هذا الخط، يمكنك إنشاء نقطة توقف. في البداية سوف يكون نقطة توقف في نفس الموضع كنقطة انطلاق، ولكن علينا تغيير ذلك عن طريق النقر على دائرة توقف وسحبه. هنا كيفية ظهور هذا النوع من التشغيل الآلي مع بعض التغييرات:



أداة القلم الرصاص

ويمكن تحرير نقاط التوقف باستخدام أداة المنتزع مملة قليلاً. عموما، نحن تقوم بتحرير هذه القيم عبر الخط الزمني – كثيرا ما لا نصنع القرص الصغيرة إلى الملاحظات الفردية. على سبيل المثال، قد نرغب في رسم في منحنى سرعة حتى أن البيانو تأثيراً أكثر أنه يبني من أية إلى جوقة. من الصعب تحقيق هذا التأثير بسلاسة عندما يكون لديك لنقل كل نقطة الفردية لأعلى أو لأسفل.

انقر فوق أداة القلم الرصاص، وهو الزر يظهر هنا باللون الأزرق:


أداة القلم الرصاص الافتراضي اليد الحرة. محاولة رسم خط، يتحرك أفقياً من واحدة من نهاية الجزء MIDI إلى آخر، ولكن خلق تباينات على المحور الرأسي كما تذهب.


وهذا كله الكثير من سلاسة والطبيعية أكثر من القطع تم إنشاء مع نقاط التوقف قبل! بالطبع لقد كتل استخداماتها – قد ترغب في إنشاء تأثير غريب، غير طبيعي أو يمكنك يمكن أن يكون إدخال تأخير التشغيل الآلي لوتر واحد فقط. عندما كنت تريد الذهاب لتأثير أكثر موسيقية، وهذا هو الطريق للذهاب.

قلم خط

إذا كنت انقر فوق، واضغط على أيقونة أداة القلم الرصاص، سوف تظهر قائمة منسدلة يظهر لك مجموعة متنوعة من أنواع أخرى من قلم رصاص. المرحلة التالية بإنشاء خطوط. على عكس القلم الحر من ناحية، وهذا سوف رسم خطوط مستقيمة فقط، سواء أكانت أفقي أو قطري. هذا شيء عظيم إذا كنت تريد إدخال تتلاشى مع قيم حجم أو سرعة ميدي:


مع جميع نقاط تلك المشاركة، لا تبدو تماما مثل لقد حصلنا على خطوط مستقيمة، ولكن علينا القيام!

قلم رصاص المثلث

القلم التالي في القائمة المنسدلة هو قلم رصاص المثلث. هذا هو أداة مثيرة لاهتمام، ويمكن أن يأتي في مفيد لأشياء مثل المخالطة عموم الآثار. عند النقر فوق أولاً في مجال التشغيل الآلي مع قلم رصاص المثلث، فإنه ينشئ نقطة المركز لتأثير المثلث. يمكنك ثم تحريك الماوس أعلى وأسفل لزيادة أو إنقاص حجم القمم في المثلث.

هذا يعني أنه يمكنك بسهولة إنشاء أنماط خفية، كهذا:


أو البرية مثل هذا:


أنني لا أنصح أن واحداً آخر في كثير من الأحيان-أن نوع من الغسل وسيلة مؤكدة لإعطاء نفسك الغثيان!

قلم مربعة

قلم رصاص مربعة تعمل بطريقة مشابهة لقلم رصاص المثلث، ولكن بدلاً من خطوط قطري يتلاشى مثلث من ذروة واحدة إلى آخر، التغيير الفوري. ليس أداة خاصة خفية، لكن له استخداماته.


قلم رصاص عشوائي

قلم رصاص عشوائي يشبه قلم الرصاص مربعة، إلا أنه بدلاً من أن كل الزي مربعة مع بعضها البعض، هي عشوائية القيم لكل نقطة. فرق العشوائية تعتمد على مدى ارتفاع أو انخفاض يمكنك سحب الخط. وحتى في جرعات صغيرة، الآثار ملحوظة جداً. هذا النوع من أداة مفيد جداً عندما كنت تعمل شيئا غريبا وزاحف، أو ربما قليلاً الصناعية، لتوفير شعور طبيعي حقاً.


هناك نوعان قلم رصاص ونحن لم تغطي حتى الآن، Parabolic ومنحني S، التي يتم استخدامها لتحرير بيانات الإيقاع.


أنواع بيانات MIDI

وفي وقت سابق بحثنا في قائمة بأنواع مختلفة من البيانات MIDI يمكنك تحرير. بعضها غير معروفة على نحو أفضل، مثل السرعة، يحجب البعض الآخر أكثر. دعونا نتفحص كل منهم.

السرعة

على لوحة مفاتيح، السرعة كيف جد أو حمل المطرقة بيانو يضرب السلسلة نتيجة لمدى صعوبة ضرب المفتاح. سرعة منخفضة يعني ضربة مطرقة لينة وأبطأ، مما يعني انخفاض حجم وأقل الهجوم. يقدم سرعة أعلى حجم صوت أعلى وأسرع بالهجوم. أن معظم الناس سوف يكون استخدام لوحة مفاتيح للعب معظم الصكوك عينات، التفكير في الأمر بجد كيف كنت تلعب ملاحظة على أي صك آخر — نتف لينة أو الثابت على غيتار سلسلة، على سبيل المثال.

وهذا لا ينبغي الخلط مع وحدة التخزين MIDI، مما يغير ببساطة كيف عال المسار هو لعب وفي "أدوات برو" لا يؤثر على الملاحظات الفردية، ولكن كل الملاحظات في نقطة معينة. إذا قمت بتطبيع مذكرتين على نفس وحدة التخزين مع سرعات مختلفة سوف تسمع لا تزال الاختلافات ك (اعتماداً على العينات الخاصة بك) سوف تنتج المطرقة بيانو ضرب السلاسل بمعدلات مختلفة صوت ملحوظ مختلفة. وهذا أساسا بسبب الهجوم أسرع والطريقة التي سوف أعرض ضربات المطرقة مختلفة إيحاءات مختلفة والتوافقيات.

وحدة التخزين MIDI

وحدة التخزين MIDI يعمل نفس الطريقة ترويسة — ببساطة أنه يضبط حجم المسار. وفي الواقع، عندما كنت تستخدم ميدي أو صك المسارات، ترويسة في الخلاط ببساطة تعديل هذه المعلمة.

كتم الصوت ميدي

كل مسار "أدوات برو" يحتوي على زر كتم صوت. التشغيل الآلي "كتم الصوت ميدي" يسمح لك بمعرفة "أدوات برو" عند لكتم المسار وعند تشغيله مرة أخرى بدلاً من استخدام زر واحد يؤثر على المسار الكامل.

عموم ميدي

التشغيل الآلي لعموم MIDI يعمل تماما مثل التشغيل الآلي لعموم الصوت — فإنه يسمح لك بتغيير أي مدى لعبت يسار أو يمين الصوت. قيمة 0 الحق الكامل، وقيمة 127 اليسار كاملة. وهذا يعني يجب عليك رسم أسفل لنقل الصوت إلى اليمين وصعوداً إلى نقله إلى اليسار. تحتاج إلى استخدام أداة ستيريو أو تعقب ميدي لهذا النوع من التشغيل الآلي للعمل.

الملعب بيند

تماما مثل الملعب بيند العجلة على جهاز تحكم MIDI، الملعب بيند يسمح لك لتحول الملعب لمذكرة بزيادات وتحقيق تأثيرات مثل الاهتزاز والتنغيم. بدلاً من التغير المفاجئ في الملعب الناجمة عن اللعب مفتاحاً واحداً بعد آخر على لوحة المفاتيح، وهذا أكثر مثل الانحناء على الغيتار أن الشرائح من الملعب للانطلاق إلى أرض الملعب القادم.

حس لمسي تلوي مونو

حس لمسي تلوي هو ضغط مفتاح يجري الاحتفاظ باستمرار بعد الضربة الأولى (الضربة الأولى هي قيمة السرعة). بعض عينات من الصكوك أو المسبقة المزج سيتم استخدام القيمة حس لمسي تلوي التسبب تضخم في حجم أو تأثير الاهتزاز.

بينما البيانو ليس لديها حس لمسي تلوي للمطرقة ويأتي بعيداً عن السلسلة مباشرة بعد الإضراب، هذه القيمة يأتي من الصكوك الأخرى حيث المطرقة تواصل الضغط على السلسلة بعد الهجوم الأولى مثل [كلفيشرد]. عند الضغط على المفتاح الضغط المتزايد أو يعفي، في السلسلة نفسها هو زيادة أو يعفي مما يسبب تغيير في حجم بسبب ضغط المطرقة نفسها في المتغيرة، وتغيير دقيق في الملعب لأن الضغط سوف يؤدي إلى تغيير في فيبر تخليد طول السلسلة.

ميدي من التشغيل الآلي للمكاتب

يؤثر تغيير البرنامج و sysex ميدي البيانات. بينما تغير البرنامج لا يفعل أي شيء عندما كنت تستخدم الأداة الإضافية في "أدوات برو"، إذا كنت تستخدم مسار MIDI لعنصر التحكم، على سبيل المثال، وحدة نمطية صوت جهاز، يمكنك استخدام تغيير البرنامج للتبديل إلى أداة التصحيح أو صوت آخر. Sysex يأتي من ميزة في مواصفات MIDI تسمح وحدات تحكم ميدي لإرسال دالة غير معرف عنصر التحكم عن طريق MIDI، حيث تحتاج إلى التحقق مع الأدب وحدة تحكم ميدي الخاص بك لمعرفة إذا كان هذا له أي فائدة لك.

وحدات تحكم

وحدات تحكم يشير إلى التشغيل الآلي للمكاتب التي غالباً ما ستجد الأجهزة المنفصلة التي تعلق على عناصر تحكم لوحة المفاتيح الخاصة بك. على سبيل المثال، يرسل الحفاظ على دواسة ربما كنت تستخدم مع جهاز تحكم MIDI البيانات ميدي أن لوحة المفاتيح نفسها غير قادرة على توفير. نفس الشيء ينطبق على السيطرة على النفس. كيف تستخدم هذه الإضافات يعتمد على الإعداد المسبق الذي تستخدمه وما إذا كان يستفيد من وحدات التحكم هذه. المحافظة يمكن استخدامها على معظم الصكوك باستثناء البراميل، والسيطرة على النفس قد تعمل فقط مع بعض التصحيحات المزج. وإليك قائمة كاملة من وحدات تحكم يمكنك أتمتة:

  • Modulation التشكيل
  • السيطرة على النفس
  • مراقبة سيرا على الأقدام
  • الحفاظ على
  • التعبير

حذف البيانات القيمة ميدي

حتى لقد ذهب وقضى بعض الوقت فقط إنشاء جميع أنواع أتمتة قيمة ميدي مجنون. إذا كنت ترغب في حذف هذا التشغيل الآلي للمكاتب، أو تلاحظ أنفسهم، ببساطة قم بالتبديل إلى عرض الملاحظات أو عرض الأتمتة من اختيارك، واستخدام أداة محدد لتحديد البيانات التي تريد التخلص من. الأوامر + A أو Ctrl + A تحديد كافة البيانات الموجودة على المسار إذا كنت ترغب في إعادة تعيين ذلك تماما. ثم ببساطة ضرب الخاص بك backspace أو حذف المفتاح.


استخدام نقاط

8 أدوات برو يسمح لك لخلق درجة من البيانات MIDI. ليس ذلك فحسب ولكن يمكنك إنشاء بيانات MIDI بالرسم تلاحظ على نقاط. للوصول إلى النتيجة، اضغط على الصورة للموسيقى تلاحظ في الأعلى اليسار من محرر ميدي (الحق في سولو وأزرار كتم الصوت). استخدام المختطف لنقل الملاحظات الموجودة حولها، أو قلم الرصاص التي يمكن نقل الملاحظات وإنشائها. يمكنك تحديد أرض الملعب ملاحظة بحيث يمكنك وضعه على النتيجة، ولكن يتم تحديد طول المذكرة بقيمة الطول ملاحظة الافتراضية التي قمت بتعيينها.



ملاحظة القيم الافتراضية

عندما كنت الرسم يدوياً في الملاحظات، سوف تستخدم "أدوات برو" بعض ملاحظة القيم الافتراضية إلا إذا تم تحديد خلاف ذلك. مع قلم رصاص يمكنك رسم طول المذكرة، ولكن إذا كان مجرد النقر مرة واحدة دون سحب أو كنت تستخدم محرر نقاط، الطول الافتراضي سيتم تحديد يتم وضع أي نوع من المذكرة. وبالمثل، عندما تقوم بإنشاء ملاحظة جديدة، سيتم تطبيق السرعة الافتراضية له. يمكنك تغيير هذه الإعدادات الافتراضية في إطار التحرير ونافذة تحرير MIDI.


ملاحظة القيم الافتراضية في إطار تحرير

القيم الافتراضية علما في "محرر ميدي"

لتغيير طول ملاحظة الافتراضية، اضغط على الصورة لملاحظة الموسيقية، التي سوف تتسبب في قائمة منسدلة تظهر. سيبدو هذا:


يمكنك الآن تحديد طول علما ولديك الخيار لتجعل من ملاحظة منقط أو الثلاثي. قيمة السرعة بجوار ذلك في شكل رقم. انقر فوق العدد وأدخل رقماً بين 0 (سرعة منخفضة) و 127 (عالية السرعة)، ثم اضغط Enter لتأكيد التغيير.

بينما ليس بالضرورة ملاحظة قيمة، قد تجد الشبكة الافتراضية تعيين أن تكون تقييدية للغاية، أو ربما لا التقييدية. يمكن تعيين هذه القيمة عن طريق وحدة تحكم القريبة عناصر التحكم الافتراضية لقيمة ملاحظة في أي نافذة. فإنه سوف ننظر شيئا مثل هذا:


انقر فوق الصورة نوتة موسيقية بجوار كلمة الشبكة وسترى قائمة منسدلة. هنا، يمكنك تعيين خطوط الشبكة كل ملاحظة 1/64 أو كل شريط، اعتماداً على جامدة كيف تريد أن تكون.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن يتم تعيين القيم علما والشبكة في إطار التحرير وتلك الموجودة في windows MIDI محرر مستقل عن الآخر.


تحرير ميدي التي لها نسخ متطابقة

MIDI يستخدم عادة لإنشاء الحلقات، وخاصة بالنسبة لأجزاء طبل. إذا قمت بنسخ المنطقة واحدة من MIDI لصقه عدة مرات في أماكن أخرى في الأغنية، يمكنك تحرير كافة المثيلات من تلك المنطقة عن طريق تشغيل "تحرير ميدي لها نسخ متطابقة". الزر لتشغيل "تحرير ميدي لها نسخ متطابقة" في windows تحرير ومحرر ميدي ويبدو مثل هذا:


لقد أنشأت منطقة ميدي ومرتين بنسخها:


بعد تشغيل "التحرير ميدي معكوسة"، قدمت بعض التغييرات في المنطقة الأولى. الآن الثلاثة تبدو مثل هذا:


لا أكثر "أوه لا!" لحظات عندما كنت أدرك تريد تغيير حلقة كنت قد استخدمت عشرات أو مئات المرات في مشروع!


الاستنتاج

وبعد هذا بالطبع في تحرير برو أدوات MIDI، يجب أن تكون قادرة على كفاءة التعامل مع عادل عن أي تغيير تحتاج إلى إجراء للبيانات MIDI، فضلا عن إنشاء فإنه عندما لم يكن لديك وحدة تحكم يدوية (ليس هناك إنكار، على الرغم من أن وحدة تحكم ميدي حقاً هو حق أداة لهذا المنصب).

عند نقطة معينة سنقوم بالعودة إلى هذا الموضوع واستكشاف بعض من أكثر تعقيداً MIDI تحرير المهام التي غالباً ما تبقى بمنأى عن العديد من "أدوات برو" المستخدمين.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production
Music

MIDI Editing in Pro Tools

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:

Only a few months ago, Pro Tools was considered a laggard among DAWs when it came to MIDI capabilities in general — despite its position as the industry standard digital audio production solution. With the release of Pro Tools 8, Digidesign stepped up its game. Let’s take a close look at the new functionality.


Selecting and Editing Notes

For the sake of this tutorial I’m going to quickly record some MIDI using the Mini Grand instrument plug-in from my Axiom 49. I’m no keyboard player, so let’s keep this simple.


You can edit MIDI notes either in the main Edit window by changing the track view from regions to notes, or with the MIDI Editor which you can open by double-clicking on the MIDI region with the Grabber tool.

Making Selections

There are two tools you can use to select a group of notes — the Grabber tool and the Selector tool. With the Grabber, you essentially draw a box around the notes you want to work with. You can select just one or two notes out of a chord this way, or an entire region. It’ll select any note in the box, even if only part of the note falls inside. The Selector, on the other hand, will select all notes between the start and end points you specify, as long as the very start of the note falls inside the selection.

When you select with the Grabber, only the notes themselves fall in the selection. When you select with the Selector, automation data will be selected as well.


A Grabber selection

If you want to deselect certain notes, Shift-click them with the Grabber.

Another interesting method of selection — although one you’ll undoubtedly use less often — is to click a note on the mini keyboard, which will select all MIDI notes of that particular pitch. If you click a key and drag upwards or downwards, all notes in that pitch range will be selected.

Moving Notes

The Grabber is used to move notes from one point in time to another as well as up and down in pitch. You can also use the Pencil tool, as it’ll change into a Grabber of sorts when you hover over an existing MIDI note.

The Shift tool comes in handy when moving notes. Hold Shift and then drag a note horizontally and you won’t be able to move it vertically, and vice versa — this allows you to preserve pitch or timing of the note as you make a change to the other variable. So if I want to change an F# to a G while ensuring the note stays at the start of bar four, I’d hold shift and then move the note up. I’d be unable to move the note’s start point until I released the Shift key.

While we’re using the keyboard, remember that you can use Alt on Windows or Option on the Mac and then click and drag in order to copy the notes in your selection.

Change a Note’s Length

If you want to change the length of a note or a group of notes, simply use the Grabber to make your selection and then click on the Trimmer tool.


Select the Trimmer

When you place the tool over the beginning or end of the note, you’ll see the cursor change to the Trimmer tool icon. Click and drag to lengthen or shorten the note. If you want to keep to the correct tempo and time signature, ensure the Edit mode is set to Grid so the note snaps to the nearest grid line.

Separating Notes

Separating notes is easy. With the Grabber of Pencil tool selected, hold Control-Shift on a Mac or Start-Shift under Windows and click on the point in the MIDI note you wish to separate. You’ll see a scalpel icon when the tool is in separate mode. If you have grid editing on, it’ll make the separation at the closest grid line.


Separated Notes

To put notes back together, whether it’s a note you’ve just separated or two different notes of the same pitch, hold the same keys and hover the mouse over the beginning or end of a note until you see a band-aid. When you click the notes will merge into one longer note.


Editing MIDI Values

Now you know how to edit the notes themselves. Let’s take a look at making changes to the MIDI values that accompany those notes: velocity, pitch bend, aftertouch, and so on.

In the Edit window, locate the instrument or MIDI track you’re working on. The view dropdown menu, which is generally below the record enable, solo and mute buttons, will probably be set to regions or notes. Click on the dropdown and you’ll see a range of other options.

  • Velocity
  • MIDI volume
  • MIDI mute
  • MIDI pan
  • Pitch bend
  • Mono aftertouch
  • Program change
  • Sysex
  • Controllers

There are also a few audio automation options but we won’t be looking at those in this tutorial.

If you’re in the MIDI Editor rather than the Edit window, click on the small arrow just to the left of the keyboard, right at the bottom. This will bring up automation and controller lanes.


You can then resize the lanes to suit by click and dragging on the black line separating the MIDI editing area and the automation editing lanes.


Select one of these options. I’m going to select velocity, as it will already have data from my MIDI controller recorded.


Velocity data

As you can see our notes are still visible, but now there are lines with diamonds attached to the top as well. These tell us which value between 0 and 127 is attached to each MIDI note for that particular data type. Where I’ve played chords there are multiple stalks in one place, so in order to figure out which note it applies to you can click the diamond and the sample will be played.

If you have the Grabber tool enabled you can modify these values by clicking on the diamond and dragging up (for a higher value) or down (for a lower value). Other types of automation, such as MIDI volume, feature breakpoints in a line rather than specific values for each note. Here’s MIDI volume without any adjustments:


By clicking with the Grabber tool at a point along that line, you create a breakpoint. Initially the breakpoint will be in the same position as the starting point, but we can change that by click on a breakpoint circle and dragging it. Here’s how this type of automation looks with some changes:



The Pencil Tool

Editing breakpoints with the Grabber tool can be a little tedious. Generally, we’re editing these values across the timeline — we’re not often making small tweaks to individual notes. For instance, we might want to draw in a velocity curve so that the piano has more impact as it builds from a verse into a chorus. It’s hard to achieve this effect smoothly when you have to move each individual breakpoint up or down.

Click on the Pencil tool, which is the button shown here in blue:


The default Pencil tool is free hand. Try drawing a line, moving horizontally from one end of the MIDI segment to another, but creating variations on the vertical axis as you go.


That’s a whole lot smoother and more natural than the blocks we were creating with breakpoints before! Of course blocks have their uses — you might want to create a weird, unnatural effect or you could be introducing delay automation for just one chord. When you’re going for a more musical effect, this is the way to go.

The Line Pencil

If you click and hold on the Pencil tool icon, a dropdown menu will appear showing you a variety of other pencil types. The next one creates lines. Unlike the free hand pencil, this will draw straight lines only, whether they’re horizontal or diagonal. This is great if you want to introduce a fade in with the MIDI volume or velocity values:


With all those breakpoints involved, it doesn’t quite look like we’ve got straight lines, but we do!

The Triangle Pencil

The next pencil in the dropdown is the triangle pencil. This is an interesting tool, and can come in handy for things like disorienting pan effects. When you first click in the automation area with the triangle pencil, it creates the center point of the triangle effect. You can then move the mouse up and down to increase or decrease the size of the peaks in the triangle.

This means you can easily create patterns as subtle as this:


Or as wild as this:


I don’t recommend that last one too often — that kind of panning is a sure way to give yourself nausea!

The Square Pencil

The square pencil works in a similar fashion to the triangle pencil, but instead of the diagonal lines of the triangle fading from one peak to another, the change is instant. It’s not a particularly subtle tool, but it has its uses.


The Random Pencil

The random pencil is like the square pencil, except that instead of having each square uniform with each other, the values of each breakpoint are randomized. The variance of the randomization depends on how high or low you pull the line. Even in small doses, the effects are quite noticeable. This kind of tool is very useful when you’re working something strange and creepy, or perhaps a bit industrial, to provide a really unnatural feel.


There are two pencil types we haven’t covered yet, Parabolic and S-Curve, that are used for editing tempo data.


MIDI Data Types

Earlier we looked at a list of various MIDI data types you can edit. Some of them are better known, such as velocity, while others are more obscure. Let’s examine them all.

Velocity

On a keyboard, velocity is how hard or fast the piano hammer hits the string as a result of how hard the key is struck. Low velocity means a soft and slower hammer strike, which means lower volume and less attack. Higher velocity introduces louder volume and faster attack. Since most people will be using a keyboard to play most sampled instruments, think of it as how hard you are playing a note on any other instrument — a soft or hard pluck on a guitar string, for instance.

This is not to be confused with MIDI volume, which simply alters how loud the track is played and in Pro Tools doesn’t affect individual notes, but all notes at a certain breakpoint. If you normalized two notes to the same volume with different velocities you’d still hear differences as (depending on your samples) the piano hammer hitting the strings at different rates will produce a noticeably different sound. This primarily because of the faster attack and the way in which different hammer strikes will introduce different overtones and harmonics.

MIDI Volume

MIDI volume works the same way a fader does — it simply adjusts the volume of a track. In fact, when you’re using MIDI or instrument tracks, the fader in the Mixer simply modifies this parameter.

MIDI Mute

Every Pro Tools track has a mute button. MIDI Mute automation allows you to tell Pro Tools when to mute the track and when to turn it back on rather than using one button that affects the entire track.

MIDI Pan

MIDI Pan automation works just like audio pan automation — it allows you to change how far left or right the sound is played. A value of 0 is full right, and a value of 127 is full left. That means you should draw downwards in order to move the sound to the right and upwards to move it to the left. You need to be using a stereo instrument or MIDI track for this kind of automation to work.

Pitch Bend

Just like the pitch bend wheel on your MIDI controller, pitch bend allows you to shift the pitch of a note in increments and achieve effects such as vibrato and portamento. Rather than the sudden change in pitch caused by playing one key after another on the keyboard, this is more like the bend on the guitar that slides from the starting pitch to the next pitch.

Mono Aftertouch

Aftertouch is the pressure of the key being held down after the initial strike (the initial strike is the velocity value). Some sampled instruments or synthesizer presets will use the aftertouch value to cause a swell in volume or a vibrato effect.

While the piano doesn’t have aftertouch because the hammer comes away from the string immediately after the strike, this value comes from other instruments where the hammer continues to put pressure on the string after the initial attack such as the clavichord. When pressure on the key is increased or relieved, pressure on the string itself is increased or relieved thus causing a change in volume due to the pressure of the hammer itself changing, and a subtle change in pitch because the pressure will result in a change in the vibrating length of the string.

MIDI Out Automation

Program change and sysex affect MIDI out data. While program change doesn’t do anything when you’re using instrument plug-ins in Pro Tools, if you’re using a MIDI track to control, for example, a hardware sound module, you can use program change to switch to another instrument patch or voice. Sysex comes from a feature in the MIDI specification that allows MIDI controllers to send undefined function control via MIDI, so you need to check with your MIDI controller literature to see if this has any usefulness for you.

Controllers

Controllers refers to automation that you’ll often find separate hardware that attaches to your keyboard controls. For instance, the sustain pedal you probably use with your MIDI controller sends MIDI data that your keyboard itself is not capable of providing. The same goes for breath control. How these extras are used depends on the preset you are using and whether it takes advantage of these controllers. Sustain can be used on most instruments except for drums, and breath control may only work with certain synthesizer patches. Here’s the full list of controllers you can automate:

  • Modulation wheel
  • Breath control
  • Foot control
  • Sustain
  • Expression

Deleting MIDI Value Data

So we’ve just gone and spent a while creating all sorts of crazy MIDI value automation. If you want to delete that automation, or the notes themselves, simply switch to the notes view or the automation view of your choice, and use the Selector tool to select the data you want to get rid of. Command+A or Ctrl+A will select all data on the track if you want to reset it completely. Then simply hit your backspace or delete key.


Using the Score

Pro Tools 8 allows you to create a score from MIDI data. Not only that, but you can create MIDI data by drawing notes onto a score. To access the score, click on the image of musical notes in the top left of the MIDI editor (to the right of the solo and mute buttons). Use the Grabber to move existing notes around, or the Pencil which can move notes and create them. You can determine a note’s pitch by where you place it on the score, but the length of the note is determined by the default note length value you’ve set.



Default Note Values

When you’re manually drawing in notes, Pro Tools will use some default note values unless you’ve specified otherwise. With the pencil you can draw the length of the note, but if you just click once without dragging or you’re using the score editor, the default length will determine what kind of note is placed. Likewise, whenever you create a new note, the default velocity will be applied to it. You can change these defaults in both the Edit window and the MIDI Edit window.


Default note values in Edit window

Default note values in MIDI Editor

To change the default note length, click on the image of a musical note, which will cause a dropdown menu to appear. It will look like this:


You can now select the note length and you have the option to make it a dotted note or triplet. The velocity value is right next to it in the form of a number. Click on the number and enter a number between 0 (low velocity) and 127 (high velocity), then press Enter to confirm the change.

While not necessarily a note value, you may find the default grid setting to be too restrictive, or perhaps not restrictive enough. This value can be set via a control nearby the default note value controls in either window. It will look something like this:


Click on the musical note image next to the word Grid and you’ll see a dropdown menu. Here, you can set grid lines every 1/64th note or every bar, depending on how rigid you want to be.

It’s worth mentioning that the note and grid values in the Edit window and those in the MIDI Editor windows are set independently of one another.


Mirrored MIDI Editing

MIDI is commonly used to create loops, particularly for drum parts. If you have copied one region of MIDI and pasted it several times elsewhere in the song, you can edit all instances of that region by turning on Mirrored MIDI Editing. The button to turn Mirrored MIDI Editing is in both the Edit and MIDI Editor windows and looks like this:


I’ve created a MIDI region and copied it twice:


After turning Mirrored MIDI Editing on, I made some changes to the first region. Now all three look like this:


No more “oh no!” moments when you realize you want to change a loop you’ve used tens or hundreds of times in a project!


Conclusion

After this course in Pro Tools MIDI editing, you should be able to competently handle just about any change you need to make to your MIDI data, as well as create it when you don’t have a controller handy (there is no denying, though, that a MIDI controller truly is the right tool for the job).

At some point we’ll come back to this topic and explore some of the more complicated MIDI editing functions that are often left untouched by many Pro Tools users.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.