Unlimited royalty free music tracks, footage, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Instruments

فزيولوجيا الغيتار: 5 طرق عملية لتحسين عزف الغيتار الخاص بك

by
Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Islam Scarlet (you can also view the original English article)

مثل العديد من لاعبي الجيتار، أنا تعلمت بنفسي. في الوقت الذي أعتقد فيه أن التعلم الذاتي يقوم بتطوير درجة من الاستقلالية والإبداع في نهجنا وهذا غير موجود عند بعض اللاعبين الذين تعلمو عن طريق الدراسة، فإن تكلفة ذلك هي أننا نميل أيضًا إلى تطوير مجموعة مهمة من العادات السيئة.

في حين أن بعض العادات "السيئة" والأساليب غير التقليدية يمكن أن تكون هي الأشياء التي تمنحنا أسلوبًا فريدًا، والبعض الآخر هو العوائق التي تمنعنا من تحقيق أهدافنا الموسيقية.

مع وضع ذلك في الاعتبار، أود أن أشاركك خمس أفكار عملية، تمت تجربتها شخصيا واختبارها لإعادة تنظيم لعبك من خلال إعادة فحص أساسيات كيفية اتصالك بأداتك والتفاعل معها.


Mea Culpa

أنا لست عازف جيتار عظيم، وربما لن أكون كذلك. كما أني لست ساحرا تقني، عظيم من خلال التطبيق الهائل وجهد الإرادة، ليس حتى لا مثيل له، موهبتي بأسلوب خاص مختلف. ثم مرة أخرى، معظم اللاعبين الذين أعشقهم ليسوا في صورة الكمال أيضاً، مرورا بذالك، حتى أن العديد من اللاعبين "الممتازين" لديهم عيوب ملحوظة: جيمي بيدج مشهور بقذارته، وكيرك هامت لديه تقنية تهتز بشكل سيء.

المقصود هو، كونك لاعب غيتار جيد يعني أن تكون ممتع، مثيرة للاهتمام، متحمس وموسيقية. هذا لا يعني أن تكون مثالياً، وإلى جانب ذلك، إذا كانت هناك بالفعل وصفة واحدة تناسب الجميع من أجل كمال مضمون، فسوف نكون جميعاً موهوبين.

لكن لا تترك نظام التدريبات الخاص بك بعد! فقط لأنك لا تحتاج إلى الكمال، فهذا لا يعني أنك لا تحتاج إلى البحث عن أسلوبك والتعبير عنه، حتى إذا كنت غير مهتم بالتخصصات الفنية "التقليدية" لموسيقى الجاز، الكلاسيكي والمعدن الممزق. (من الصعب تخيل الثلاثي الغريب!)، لاكن هذا لا يعني أنه لا يمكنك الاستفادة من استعارة بعض أفكارهم.

حسنا هيا بنا. لا مقاييس المجنون، لا gobbledegook الفيثاغورسي. مع الضمانة.


1. الارتخاء

إزالة التوتر من جسمك عند اللعب يمكن أن يساعدك حقًا في تحقيق قدر أكبر من السيولة والسرعة والدقة، ولكن الغيتار هو أداة مادية جدًا ومن الطبيعي أن نميل إلى تطوير قبضة محكمة على كل من الريشة والرقبة. نحن نقوم بحركات غير طبيعية إلى حد كبير، ولا ندركها، إن طرقنا الغريزية للتعامل مع هذه هي الأشياء ذاتها التي يمكن أن تعيقنا.

فكر في الطريقة التي يميل بها عازف الجيتار المبتدئ إلى صنع قبضة متوترة حول الرقبة من أجل الضغط حتى على وتر بسيط. ما يفعلونه منطقي تمامًا - إذا كنت تريد ضغط الماء من الإسفنجة، فإن الطريقة الأكثر فعالية لتطبيق القوة المطلوبة هي وضع قبضة حوله - ولكن طالما كانت العضلات في اليد لم يتم تدريبها على تطبيق القدر المناسب من القوة في الاتجاهات الصحيحة. المبتدئ يبالغ في تقدير كمية القوة المطلوبة، والأهم من ذلك، هو التركيز بشكل كبير على صوت النوتات، وليس على التنقل.

بعبارة أخرى، يمكن أن يساعدنا العمل مع علم وظائف الأعضاء الخاص بنا، بدلاً من المعل ضده، على تطوير هذه النعمة السهلة باستخدام الأداة التي هي السمة المميزة للاعب جيد حقًا.

بمجرد أن بدأت في الاهتمام بالتوتر العضلي عند عزف الجيتار، بدأت ألاحظ ذلك طوال الوقت. بالطبع، من المنطقي أنه إذا كنا أكثر استرخاءً بشكل عام، سنكون أكثر استرخاءً عندما نلعب.

إذن كتجربة صغيرة، خذ بضع دقائق الآن للعثور على أي توتر غير ضروري في جسمك. ابدأ مع رقبتك، ثم أكتافك وذراعيك واستمر في العمل أسفل جسمك. ما لم تكن أحد عشاق التاي تشي، فأنا على استعداد للمراهنة على أنك توتر شيء ما. حاول جعل القيام بهذا الفحص الصغير على نفسك طوال اليوم عادة، وسرعان ما ستصبح طبيعة ثانية.

وكمثال، قبل أن تلتقط الغيتار الخاص بك، اقض لحظة تبحث عن التوتر في الكتفين والذراعين والأصابع. خذ بعضًا من التنفس البطيء العميق، دحرج رأسك قليلاً، إثني ذراعيك ويديك - أيًا كان ما يساعدك على الإرتخاء. ثم، أثناء اللعب بشكل طبيعي، استمر في التحقق لمعرفة ما إذا كان بإمكانك الشعور بأي توتر يتراكم، خاصةً في كتفيك وذراعيك، وحاول تقليله. استمر في التحقق أثناء اللعب، وعلى نحو تدريجي، يجب أن تبدأ في الإعتياد على ذالك وكسر عادة التوتر.

على مدى أسبوع أو نحو ذلك، يجب أن تبدأ في الشعور بمزيد من الرقة والبدء في رؤية الفوائد في لعبك.


2. جرب ريشة مختلفة

إذا كنت تشبهني، فمن المحتمل أنك كنت تستخدم نفس النوع من الريشة أكثر أو أقل منذ أن بدأت. قد تكون حتى وصلت إلى نقطة حيث أن أي شيء مختلف كثيرًا عما اعتدت عليه يجعل اللعب يشبه المعركة.

عندما تناولت أنا الغيتار، أعتقد أنني اشتريت ثلاثة أو أربعة أنواع مختلفة واستقرت في النهاية على Jim Dunlop 1mm nylon. يذهلني أنه لم يسبق لي ولا لمرة واحدة في السنوات التي تلت ذلك أن أفكر في أي شيء آخر. لكن لم لا؟ إذا كنت ترغب في ممارسة الماراثون في الجري أو المشي على التلال، سوف تخرج عاجلاً أم آجلاً وتجد الأحذية المناسبة لهذا العمل، لأن النوع الذي اعتدت على ارتدائه يوميا ليس من المحتمل أن يكون جيدا لذالك. على نحو مماثل، في مكان ما، هناك الريشة الصحيحة للطريقة التي تلعب بها الجيتار أنت حاليا، وليس طريقة لعبك عندما بدأت.

منذ بضع سنوات، أعطيت عدد قليل من ريشة Ultex المثلثة الضخمة تلك التي، عندما حاولت استخدام واحدة لأول مرة، شعرت مثل محاولة لعب الغيتار يواسطة لوحة واسعة. في هذه العملية، لاحظت كيف أجبرني الاختيار الجديد على التكيف مع عادات التقطيع الخاصة بي، مما جعل بعض الأشياء أسهل للعب وأخرى أكثر صعوبة.

إختبرت غيرها أيضا، وأثناء تجريب كل ريشة تمكنت من الحصول على يدي. حتى أني حاولت صناعة ريشة من بطاقة الخصم القديمة واستخدام عملة لا براين ماي وبيلي جيبونز. كلهم كان لديهم إيجابيات وسلبيات، ولكن حدث شيء مهم للغاية: جعلتني العملية حقاً أحلل تقنية التقطيع الخاصة بي واضبطها.

أدركت أنه على الرغم من طبيعة الثانية المريحة، فإن عاداتي الحالية لم تكن بالضرورة مثالية. بدأت أفهم سبب تعثري مع بعض الأشياء في الماضي ورأيت كيفية تحسينها، وتعلمت أيضًا الكثير عن أشكال الريشات وأدواتها التي تُصدر الأصوات التي أحبها.

لذا، في المرة القادمة التي تعيش فيها في عالم الغيتار، لماذا لا تضع علبة بلاستيكية صغيرة على المنضدة وتنفق سعر بيرة على عدد قليل من الأنواع المختلفة من الريشات؟ عندما تصل إلى المنزل، حاول العمل مع كل منهم من خلال روتين قصير من أساليبك المعتادة - العزف، والملاحظات الفردية، والأداء الترافقي، وماذا لديك - وكذلك معرفة ما إذا كان أي شيء أفضل، والاهتمام بكيفية استخدامها.


3. تحقق من القبضة الخاصة بك

لذا فإن الطريقة التي تمسك بها الريشة لها تأثير كبير على ما تستطيع أن تلعبه ومدى أدائها بشكل جيد، وتغيير الريشة الخاصة بك هو وسيلة رائعة لإجبار نفسك على إعادة تقييم أسلوبك.

معظم الناس يحملون الريشة بين الإبهام والإصبع الأول. يستخدم الآخرون الإبهام والإصبعين الأول والثاني والإبهام الأوسط ، إلخ. يزرع بعض الناس جانب كفهم على الجسر، ويرسو آخرون إصبعهم الصغير على وجه الغيتار. كل هذه الأساليب لها فوائدها وعيوبها، وفي رأيي، بدلاً من السعي إلى إيجاد أسلوب "صحيح" واحد واعتماده، فإن المثل الأعلى هو تطوير المرونة في تبني الأسلوب الذي يناسب سيناريو لعب معين.

وكما ناقشنا، فإن التوتر هو العدو، لذا فنحن بحاجة قبل كل شيء إلى التخلص من العادات التي تجعلنا نشعر بالتوتر. عندما يتعلق الأمر بقبضة اليد ، فهذا يعني شيئين:

  • امساك الريشة فقط بما فيه الكفاية بحيث أنها آمنة، لا أكثر. إذا كنت تواجه مشكلة "السقوط"، حاول تنقيطها بسكين حاد لإضفاء المزيد من السيطرة، أو جرّب معجون الغوريلا "مساعد السيطرة" الذي يحمل عنوانًا لذيذًا، وهو مادة التي تستخدمها على أصابعك لمنع الانزلاق. من الجدير بالملاحظة، بالمناسبة، أنه إذا جرّبت ريشة غير مألوفة، فإن قبضتك غالبًا ما تكون واحدة من أولى الأمور التي تعرض مشكلة ما، ولكنها عادةً ما تكون مشكلة انتقالية فقط. من المرجح أنه بعد بضعة أسابيع، سيتم ضبط قبضتك ولن تحتاج إلى الاعتماد على طرق إبداعية للحفاظ على اختيارك بين يديك.
  • تجنب الميل إلى "زرع" يدك المختارة على الغيتار، وبدلاً من ذلك طور القدرة على ترك يدك تطفو بحرية نسبية فوق الأوثار،"التثبيث" فقط عند الضرورة. من خلال السماح لنفسك "بالتكئيل" على الغيتار، فأنت على الأرجح تقدم توترًا غير ضروري في ذراع الاختيار.

4. تحقق من قبضتك الأخرى 

ماذا عن يدك النكد؟ كما ناقشنا بالفعل، يميل المبتدئين إلى امساك الرقبة بإحكام شديد، وإذا لم نقم أبدًا بتغيير ذلك تمامًا، فإن الاحتمالات هي أننا نعيق سهولة الحركة الخاصة بنا من خلال القوة الزائدة والتوتر العضلي غير الضروري.

يميل عازفو الجيتار الكلاسيكيون والمدربون رسمياً إلى الذهاب إلى وضع مزعج حيث يتم وضع الإبهام في منتصف الجزء الخلفي من الرقبة، مع الضغط على الأصابع أكثر أو أقل عمودية على لوحة الفريتس. قد يبدو الأمر غير مريح ومربك، خاصة بالمقارنة مع قبضة "البلوز" الأكثر شيوعًا (الإبهام فوق قمة الرقبة والأصابع أكثر اتساعًا من السلاسل)، ولكنه يوفر في الواقع قدرًا أكبر من الدقة والتنقل.

وكما من قبل، فإن كل قبضة لها عوامل جذب وانحرافات، وبالنسبة للتطبيقات النموذجية، فإن التعلم في كلتا الحالتين هو الوقت المناسب لإنفاقه. بالنسبة لي، فإن المثل الأعلى هو استخدام أقل كمية من القوة وامتلاك أقل كمية من الجلد في اتصال مع الرقبة قدر الإمكان لأي مهمة معينة، لأن القيام بذلك يضمن أقصى سهولة للحركة، ويقلل من الإجهاد.

من الواضح أن وضعية النمط الكلاسيكي لن تؤدي إلى خدعة لثني الخيط - لا يمكنك تطبيق القوة المطلوبة في الاتجاه المطلوب - ولكن كذلك، فإن قبضة البلوز ليست مثالية للعب إيقاع رشيق، لأنك تقدم الكثير من التوتر بطريقة خاطئة، ومعظم يدك على اتصال مع الرقبة.

لذا حاول العمل من خلال التدريب ببطء - ربما بعض التغييرات النموذجية للوتر، وبعض الخطوط المذكرة المفردة، وبعض العزف المنفرد، وأولي اهتمامًا لموقف يدك والامساك. ابحث عن التوتر والقوة الزائدة والزوايا الغير المريحة وحاول تقليلها. ربما ستجد أنك ستحتاج إلى ضبط كيفية الجلوس مع الجيتار، أو إذا كنت تميل إلى الوقوف، فاهتم لارتفاع الغيتار الخاص بك على الحزام. لا تقلق، مع ذلك، قام أمثال توم موريللو وبن وينمان بصناعة لباس للغيتار على ورك صدرك.


5. تغيير البرنامج الخاص بك

كيف تتدرب عادة؟ هل قمت بضبط برنامج خاص بالإحماء، وتعيين القطع والتقنيات للعمل من خلالها، أو هل فقط تبدأ بعزف المقطوعة المفضلة لديك وتتوقف هنا وهناك للعمل من خلال بعض الأجزاء الصعبة؟

في كلتا الحالتين، من السهل أن تتعثر وأن تطور نوعًا من الرؤية النفقية حول لعبك، لذا فإن القيام بشيء لتعطيل روتينك المعتاد وتجربة أشياء جديدة، حتى ولو لبضعة أيام فقط، يمكن أن يساعد في تحسين الأمور.

بشكل عام، فإن أفضل أسلوب للممارسة هو ببساطة معرفة ما تريد تحقيقه وتخصيص الوقت له بانتظام. وطالما بقيت تركز على تحقيق هدف معين، حتى ولو لمدّة 20 أو 30 دقيقة كل يوم، يجب أن تلاحظ تحسنًا ثابتًا. الأهم من ذلك، هو أن تكون ممارستك ممتعة: القيام بنفس الأشياء القديمة يومًا بعد يوم، يصبح مملاً، سواء كان ذلك من خلال تشغيل النطاقات أو عزف Highway to Hell و Lotta Love بأكمله ، وإذا لم تكن منخرطًا في النشاط، لا شيء سيقوم ب"التمسك".

فلماذا لا تختار بعض النشاط الذي لم تعد معتادًا عليه - أي شيء من تعلم نطاقك الرئيسي في جميع أنحاء الرقبة إلى تعلم اللعب مع المقطوعة المفضلة لديك من البداية إلى النهاية - وإعطائه 30 دقيقة في اليوم لمدة أسبوع؟ يعتمد ما تفعله على ما اعتدت عليه، نظرًا لأن الهدف هو إجراء تغيير، ولكن إذا كنت عالقًا في الأفكار، فجرِّب بعض منتديات الغيتار واكتشف كيفية قضاء الآخرين لممارسة وقتهم. مهما فعلت، نظرًا لأنها جديدة بالنسبة لك، فيمكنك استخدامها كفرصة لإبطاء السرعة والاسترخاء والاهتمام بكيفية تفاعلك مع الغيتار.

أنا شخصياً أقوم بالعزف في معسكر السجلات، وكنت دائماً أجد صعوبة في إلزام نفسي بالممارسة الجافة نسبياً لتعلم المقاييس والتمارين وما إلى ذلك. عندما شعرت أني عالق في الروتين، قررت أن أحاول تعلم المقاييس في جميع أنحاء الرقبة من خلال العزف على الجزء العلوي من المقطوعات الخلفية لوظيفة GarageBand في Magic GarageBand. فعل هذا جعل المقاييس في الحياة وجعل استخدامها يشبه كثيرا روتين اللعب المعتاد، أي العزف!


الخاتمة

آمل أن تكون هناك بعض الأفكار التي يمكن أن تساعدك على إعادة التفكير في منهجك للغيتار من المبدأ الأساسي للعمل مع جسدك، بدلاً من القتال ضده. مثل أي شيء، يستغرق الأمر وقتًا، لذلك لا تقم بالكثير في وقت واحد، واكسر الأشياء إلى أجزاء يمكن التحكم فيها.

إذا كنت مهتمًا حقًا بالتفاصيل المتعلقة بكيفية ارتباط علم وظائف الأعضاء البشرية والغيتار ببعضها، فإنني أوصيك بموقع Contacting the Guitar، الذي يحتوي على معلومات مثيرة ومذهلة في بعض الأحيان عن العضلات والأعصاب التي تستخدمها (أو تسيء استخدامها) أثناء اللعب.

عزف سعيد!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Instruments
Music

Physiology of Guitar: 5 Practical Ways to Improve Your Guitar Playing

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Like many guitar players, I’m self taught. While I believe that we autodidacts develop a degree of independence and creativity in our approach that eludes some schooled players, the cost of this is that we also tend to develop an impressive array of bad habits.

While some “bad” habits and unconventional techniques can be the very things that endow us with a unique style, others are the barriers that prevent us from realising our musical ideals.

With this in mind, I’d like to share with you five practical, personally tried and tested ideas to revamp your playing by re-examining the rudiments of how you connect and interact with your instrument.


Mea Culpa

I’m not a great guitarist, and probably never will be. I’m neither a technical wizard, great through sheer application and effort of will, nor an inimitable one-off, endowed with an unfathomably idiosyncratic style. Then again, most of the players I admire aren’t the image of perfection either and, come to that, even many of the “great” players have noticeable flaws: Jimmy Page is famously sloppy, Kirk Hammet has a notoriously iffy vibrato technique…

Point is, being a good guitar player means being exciting, interesting, passionate and musical. It doesn’t mean being perfect and, besides, if there really was a one-size-fits-all foolproof recipe for perfection, we’d all be virtuosos.

But don’t quit your practice regimen just yet! Just because you don’t have to be perfect doesn’t mean you don’t need to work on finding and expressing your style, and even if you’re not interested in the traditionally “technical” disciplines of jazz, classical and shred metal (a weirder trio is hard to imagine!), it doesn’t mean you can’t benefit from borrowing some of their ideas.

So, here we go. No crazy scales, no pythagorean gobbledegook. Guaranteed.


1. Loosen Up

Removing tension from your body when playing can really help you to achieve greater fluidity, speed and accuracy, but the guitar is a very physical instrument and it’s natural that we tend to develop a tight grip both on the plectrum and on the neck. We’re performing highly unnatural, physically demanding movements and, wouldn’t you know it, our instinctive ways of coping with this are the very things that can hold us back.

Think of the way that a beginner guitarist will tend to make a tense fist around the neck in order to hold down even a simple chord. What they’re doing makes perfect sense – if you wanted to squeeze water out of a sponge, the most efficient way of applying the required force is to make a fist around it – but only for as long as the muscles in the hand haven’t been trained to apply the right amount of force in the right directions. The beginner overestimates the amount of force required and, more importantly, is focussed largely on making the notes sound, not on mobility.

In other words, trying to work with, rather than against, our own physiology can really help us to develop that easy grace with the instrument that is the hallmark of a truly good player.

As soon as I started paying attention to muscular tension when playing guitar, I started noticing it all the time. Of course, it makes sense that, if we’re more relaxed generally, we’ll be more relaxed when we play.

So as a little experiment, take a couple of minutes right now to find any unnecessary tension in your body. Start with your neck, then your shoulders, arms and keep working down your body. Unless you’re a tai chi aficionado, I’m willing to bet that you’re tensing something. Try getting into the habit of running this little check on yourself throughout the day and, soon enough, it’ll become second nature.

Likewise, before you even pick up your guitar, spend a moment looking for tension in your shoulders, arms and fingers. Take some slow, deep breaths, roll your head around a little, flex your arms and hands – whatever helps you get loose. Then, while playing normally, keep checking to see if you can feel any tension building up, especially in your shoulders and arms, and try to minimise it. Keep checking while you play and, gradually, you should begin to internalize the process and break the habit of tensing up.

Over a week or so, you should begin to feel much more limber and begin to see the benefits to your playing.


2. Try a Different Plectrum

If you’re anything like me, you’ve probably been using the same sort of plectrum more or less since you started. You may even have reached a point where anything much different to what you’re used to makes playing feel like a battle.

When I took up the guitar, I think I bought three or four different types and eventually settled on Jim Dunlop 1mm nylon. It amazes me that never once in the ensuing 14 years did I think to even try anything else. But why not? If you want to take up marathon running or hill walking, you’re sooner or later going to go out and find the right shoes for the job since the variety you’re accustomed to for day-to-day wear likely aren’t best suited. Likewise, somewhere, there’s the right plectrum for the way that you play guitar now, not how you played when you started.

A couple of years ago, I was given a few of those huge, triangular Ultex plectra which, when I first tried to use one, felt rather like trying to play the guitar with a picnic plate. In the process, I noticed how the new pick forced me to adapt my picking habits, making some things easier to play and others much harder.

I experimented some more, trying every plectrum I could get my hands on. I even tried making my own out of an old debit card and using a coin a la Brian May and Billy Gibbons. All had their pros and cons, but a very important thing happened: the process made me really analyze and adapt my picking technique.

I realized that, though second nature and comfortable, my existing habits weren’t necessarily optimal. I began to understand why I’d struggled with some things in the past and saw how to improve, and I also learned a lot about what plectrum shapes and materials make the sounds I like.

So, next time you’re down at Dick’s Guitar World, why not hit up that little plastic tray on the counter and spend the price of a beer on a handful of different types and gauges of plectra? When you get home, try working with each of them through a short routine of your usual techniques – strumming, single notes, arpeggios, what have you – and, as well as seeing if anything feels better, pay attention to how you use them.


3. Check Your Grip

So the way you hold the plectrum has a huge impact on what you’re able to play and how well you play it, and changing your plectrum is a great way to force yourself to reassess your technique.

Most people hold the plectrum between their thumb and first finger. Others use the thumb and first two fingers, thumb and middle finger, etc. Some people plant the side of their palm on the bridge, others anchor their little finger on the face of the guitar. All of these approaches have their benefits and drawbacks and, in my view, rather than aiming to find and adopt one “correct” style, the ideal is to develop the flexibility to adopt the technique that best suits a given playing scenario.

As we’ve discussed, tension is the enemy, so above all we need to weed out the habits that make us tense up. Where our picking hand is concerned, this means a couple of things:

  • Holding the plectrum just tightly enough that it’s secure, no more. If you have problems with “escaping” plectra, try scoring them with a sharp knife to add more grip, or try the deliciously titled Gorilla Snot “gripping aid” – a kind of resin you apply to your fingers to prevent slippage. It’s worth noting, incidentally, that if you try an unfamiliar plectrum, your grip is often one of the first things to present a problem, but it’s usually only a transitional problem. It’s likely that, after a few weeks, your grip will have adjusted and you won’t need to rely on creative methods to keep your pick in your hand.
  • Avoid the tendency to “plant” your picking hand on the guitar, and instead develop the ability to let your hand float relatively freely over the strings, only “anchoring” when necessary. By allowing yourself to “lean” on the guitar, you’re probably introducing unnecessary tension in your picking arm.

4. Check Your Other Grip

What about your fretting hand? As we’ve already discussed, beginners tend to grasp the neck very tightly and, if we never fully unlearn this, the chances are that we’re impeding our own ease of movement through excess force and unnecessary muscular tension.

Classical and formally trained guitarists tend to go for a fretting position whereby the thumb is placed at the centre of the back of the neck, with the fingers pressing down more or less perpendicular to the fretboard. It might look uncomfortable and awkward, especially compared to the more commonly seen “blues” grip (thumb over the top of the neck and the fingers flatter to the strings), but actually affords a great deal more precision and mobility.

As before, though, each grip has it’s attractions and detractions and, for typical applications, learning to have both in the toolkit is time well spent. For me, the ideal is to use the least amount of force and have the least amount of skin in contact with the neck as possible for any given task, because doing this ensures greatest ease of movement, and minimises strain.

Obviously, a classical style position won’t do the trick for string bending – you can’t apply the required force in the required direction – but, likewise, the blues grip isn’t ideal for agile rhythm playing, because you’re applying lots of tension in the wrong way, and most of your hand is in contact with the neck.

So try working through exercises slowly – perhaps some typical chord changes, some single note lines, some bluesy soloing – and pay attention to your fretting hand’s position and grip. Look for tension, excess force and uncomfortable angles and try to minimise them. You’ll probably find that you’ll need to adjust how you sit with the guitar or, if you tend to stand, the height of your guitar on the strap. Don’t worry, though, the likes of Tom Morrello and Ben Weinman have made wearing your guitar on your chest hip.


5. Change Your Program

How do you normally practice? Do you have a set program of warm-ups, set pieces and techniques to work through, or do you just jam along with your favourite tracks and stop here and there to work through some of the trickier bits?

Either way, it’s easy to get stuck in a rut and to develop a kind of tunnel vision about your playing, so doing something to disrupt your usual routine and try new things, even just for a few days, can really help to freshen things up.

Generally, the best approach to practicing is simply knowing what you want to achieve and devoting time to it regularly. As long as you stay focussed on achieving a specific goal, even for as little as 20 or 30 minutes each day, you should see steady improvement. More important than that, though, is that your practice is fun: doing the same old stuff day after day gets boring, whether it’s running scales or jamming out Highway to Hell and Whole Lotta Love, and if you’re not engaged by the activity, nothing’s going to “stick”.

So why not pick some activity you’re not accustomed to – anything from learning your major scale all over the neck to learning to play along with a favourite track from start to finish – and give it 30 minutes a day for a week? What you do depends on what you’re used to, since the point is to have a change, but if you’re stuck for ideas, try cruising some guitar forums and find out how others spend their practice time. Whatever you do, since it’s new to you, use it as an opportunity to slow down, relax, and pay attention to how you’re interacting with your guitar.

Personally, I’m in the jamming along to records camp, and I always found it hard to commit myself to the comparatively dry practice of learning scales, exercises and so on. When I felt stuck in a rut, I decided to try learning scales all over the neck by jamming over the top of the backing tracks in GarageBand’s Magic GarageBand function. Doing this brought the scales to life and made using them feel much like my usual playing routine, i.e., jamming!


Wrap Up

I hope there are some ideas in here that can help you to rethink your approach to the guitar from a basic principle of working with your body, rather than fighting against it. Like anything, it takes time, so don’t take on too much at once, and break things down into manageable chunks.

If you’re really interested in the detail of how human physiology and guitar relate to each other, I recommend the Contacting the Guitar site, which has some fascinating and, at times, mind boggling information on the muscles and nerves that we use (or abuse) while playing.

Happy strumming!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.