Unlimited royalty free music tracks, footage, graphics & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Mixing & Mastering
Music

Astuce rapide : Comment arranger un kick pour la musique électronique

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Producing Rhythm: How to Add Amazing Feel to Your Tracks.
Quick Tip: Tune Your Drums in Ableton Live
Quick Tip: Punchier Drums with the New York Compression Trick

French (Français) translation by Hugo Verpy (you can also view the original English article)

Le kick est un des éléments les plus importants d'une musique,  En tant que producteur, votre but est d'obtenir des percussions aussi claires que possibles dans votre mix sans que celles ci recouvrent le reste. Nous allons apprendre comment !


Étape 1 : La compression

Prenez une seconde pour écouter ce kick avant modification:

Notez que celui-ci sonne un peu bâclé et négligé. Le son se détériore très vite, et c'est tout ce que nous ne voulons pas. Nous allons transformer ceci en quelque chose de beaucoup plus lourd et ajouter de l'effet pour que le son sonne mieux.

La première chose que vous allez devoir faire est d'assigner le kick dans un nouveau mixeur et d'ajouter un compresseur. Ceci va nous aider à donner plus de punch à notre kick et à mieux entendre les basses fréquences. 

Ensuite, allez-y et ajuster l'attaque. Sur un kick, l'attaque devra être rapide afin que la percussion continue de frapper sans pour autant être écrasé par la compresseur. Généralement 30 à 60 ms est un bon point de départ. Expérimenté cela en mettant l'attaque sur 0 ms pendant une seconde et voyez comment le kick devient mort.

Le ratio est la quantité de compression qui se produira une fois que le signal franchira le seuil. La compression de la lumière est d'environ de 1:1 à 3:1, la compression moyenne va de 4:1 à 6:1, et au-dessus de 10:1 cela est considéré comme étant extrême. Pour le moment voyons ce que ça donne à 3:1

Le seuil est le niveau d'amplitude auquel le compresseur va agir. Mettez-le à -20 dB et voyez comment cela sonne. Notez que lorsque le seuil est abaissé, le kick devient plus silencieux. Cela signifie que le compresseur fonctionne correctement mais maintenant nous devons le compenser en augmentant le gain de sortie.

Beaucoup de gens pensent qu'un kick plus bruyant est meilleur mais ce n'est pas vrai. Vous voulez entendre le compresseur agir sur votre kick, pas simplement monter le volume. Si vous voulez que le kick soit un élément central (ce qui est le cas dans la plupart de l'électronique) vous devez le régler autour de -3 dB à -5 dB.

Rappelez-vous que chaque kick est unique ainsi que le mixage dont il est issue. Il n'y a pas de règles magiques quand vous compressez, vous devez simplement trouver le son qui correspond le mieux à votre projet.

Voilà à quoi ressemble notre kick jusqu'ici:


Étape 2: EQ 

La prochaine étape est d'ajouter un EQ. Allez-y et ajoutez le à votre kick puis coupez toutes les fréquences inférieures à 25 Hz car ces basses fréquences ne font qu'encombrer le son et sont complètement inutiles.

Autour de la fréquence des 60 Hz vous voulez un léger coup de cloche qui va augmenter la puissance. Si vous n'êtes pas familier, un coup de cloche est juste une légère augmentation de l'EQ qui ressemble à la forme d'une cloche. Vous pouvez également ajouter des coups de cloches à 200 Hz (pour ajouter du punch) et à 2,4 kHz (ajouter de la clarté). Vous pouvez ajoutez un coupe fréquence (l'inverse d'un coup de cloche) à 300Hz qui va augmentez la clarté et éliminer le "boom".

Il est important de rappeler qu'il faut modifier ces réglages seulement de plus ou moins 6 dB maximum et de préférence de plus ou moins 2 à 3 dB. Vous voulez que le rendu sois naturel et non que le son sonne comme étant faux.

Maintenant faites une écoute finale du kick et voyez comme cela à changé:

Votre son sonne-t'il pareil ?

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Mixing & Mastering
Music

Quick Tip: How To Mix A Kick Drum in Electronic Music

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Producing Rhythm: How to Add Amazing Feel to Your Tracks.
Quick Tip: Tune Your Drums in Ableton Live
Quick Tip: Punchier Drums with the New York Compression Trick

The kick is one of the most important parts of a song, yet it is notoriously difficult to mix. As producers our goal is to get the drum beat to shine clearly through the mix without overpowering everything else. Let’s learn how!


Step 1: Compression

Take a second to listen to this unmixed kick:

Note that it sounds a bit sloppy and loose at the tail. The sound also deteriorates very fast, which we do not want. We are going to transform this into something much heavier and add emphasis so the sound is more full.

The first thing you’ll need to do is assign the kick to a new mixer channel and add a compressor. This will help add more punch to the kick and tighten up the low end.

Next, go ahead and adjust the attack. On a kick the attack should be quick so that the transient will still punch through and not be squashed by the compressor. Generally 30 to 60 ms is a good starting point. Experiment by putting attack down to 0 ms for a second and see how lifeless the kick becomes.

The ratio is how much compression will occur once the signal crosses the threshold. Light compression is from approximately 1:1 to 3:1, medium compression from 4:1 to 6:1, and anything over 10:1 is considered extreme. For now let’s set it at 3:1

The threshold is the amplitude level at which the compressor will kick in. Set this at -20 dB and see how that sounds. Note that as the threshold is lowered the kick becomes quieter. This is the compressor working properly but now we must compensate by increasing output gain.

A lot of people think that a louder kick is better but that’s not true. You want to listen to what the compressor is doing to your kick, not simply crank up the volume. If the kick is to be a focal point (like it is in most electronica) you want it to sit around -3 dB to -5 dB.

Remember that each kick is unique as well as the mix that it is part of. There are no magic rules when compressing, you simply want to tweak until you find what sounds best for your project.

Here is what our kick sounds like so far:


Step 2: EQ

The next step is adding an EQ. Go ahead and add it to the kick and then cut all frequencies under 25 Hz as these low frequencies only serve to clutter the mix and are completely unnecessary.

Around the 60 Hz point you want a very slight bell boost which increases the sub power. If you’re not familiar, a bell boost is simply a little blip upward on the EQ that looks like the shape of a bell. You also want to perform bell boosts at 200 Hz (adds punch) and at 2.4 kHz (high end clarity). You want to perform a bell cut (reverse of a bell boost) at the 300Hz mark which increases clarity and removes boom.

It’s important to remember that you only want to change settings by plus or minus 6 dB at the absolutely max and preferably only 2 to 3 dB changes. You want the sound to be natural and not come across as fake.

Now take a final listen to the kick and see how it has changed:

Did you get yours to sound like that?

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.