7 days of royalty free music tracks, footage & graphics - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production

Kurzer Tipp: Wie man wie der minimalistische Komponist Steve Reich klingt

Scroll to top
Read Time: 2 mins

German (Deutsch) translation by Jenyia (you can also view the original English article)

Dieser Kurztipp beschreibt die gängigen Kompositionstechniken, enthält Links zu Beispielen und gibt Anregungen, wie Sie sie selbst anwenden können.


1. Einstufung

Phasing kann als zwei Instrumente/Töne beschrieben werden, die das gleiche Muster spielen; eines spielt im Takt, während das andere etwas schneller spielt, was dazu führt, dass sie sich allmählich voneinander entfernen. Reich behauptet, er habe den Phasing-Prozess zufällig entdeckt.

Hören Sie sich 'It's Gonna Rain' an, Reichs erste wichtige Komposition, die minimalistische Techniken verwendet.

Für das Do-it-yourself-Beispiel habe ich ein kurzes Klavier-Ostinato komponiert und dann zwei Versionen gebounced. Der einzige Unterschied zwischen den beiden Versionen war die Geschwindigkeit, mit der ich sie gebounced habe - eine mit 225 bpm, die andere mit 226 bpm. Diese habe ich dann auf die einzelnen Spuren gelegt und diese Version dann gebounct. (Das Beispiel ist ein Ausschnitt. Die Ostinatos werden später wieder unisono gespielt.)


2. Prozess Musik

Process Music lässt sich so erklären, dass ein Ausführender fixiert bleibt, während der zweite Ausführende nach einer bestimmten Anzahl von Wiederholungen weitergeht. Wenn Phasing als eine allmähliche Veränderung beschrieben werden kann, wäre Process Music eine plötzliche Veränderung.

Hören Sie sich unten 'Clapping Music' an. Dieses Stück markierte das Ende von Reichs Experimenten mit allmählichen Phasenverschiebungen.

Für meine Prozesskomposition schrieb ich einen eintaktigen Rhythmus im 3/4-Takt, der dupliziert wurde, so dass die ersten vier Takte unisono waren. Danach bewegt sich Spielerin 2 um 1/16 (Sechzehntel) des Taktes weiter. Der Vorgang wird alle vier Takte wiederholt, bis sie schließlich wieder im Takt von Spieler 1 ist.


3. Augmentation (Verlängern)

Sie unterscheidet sich von den anderen Techniken in dem Sinne, dass sie sich nicht selbst auflöst. Sie beginnt normalerweise mit einem Akkord. Einzelne Noten innerhalb des Akkords werden verlängert, normalerweise eine nach der anderen. Man könnte sie als eine Progression beschreiben, die vertikal beginnt und horizontal endet.

Hören Sie sich "Four Organs" an, ein Versuch, Musik in Zeitlupe zu erzeugen, ohne die Tonhöhe zu verändern. (Ein Konzept, das zu dieser Zeit unmöglich war).

In meinem Beispiel habe ich einen C7-Akkord (C E G Bb) zweimal pro Takt gespielt. Ich habe jeden Zyklus dreimal wiederholt, bevor ich mich entschied, eine Note innerhalb eines Akkords um eine Sechzehntelnote zu verlängern. Zu einer Zeit würde ich die Note rückwärts verlängern, andere vorwärts, um einen Aufschwung zu suggerieren. (Auch hier ist das Beispiel ein Ausschnitt. Die Komposition würde schließlich mit dem ständig klingenden Akkord enden).


Schlussfolgerung

Dieser Kurztipp soll Ihnen nicht nur einen grundlegenden Einblick in die von Steve Reich entwickelten minimalistischen Techniken geben, sondern Sie auch dazu inspirieren, sie in Ihre eigene Musik einzubauen.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Music & Audio tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production
Music

Quick Tip: How To Sound Like Minimalist Composer Steve Reich

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:ShortLanguages:

This quick tip describes the common composing techniques, provides links to examples and gives suggestions on how you can do it yourself.


1. Phasing

Phasing can be described as two instruments/sounds performing the same pattern; one playing to the pulse whist the other plays slightly faster resulting in them gradually becoming further apart. Reich claims he discovered the phasing process by accident.

Have a listen to ‘It’s Gonna Rain’, Reich’s first important composition to use minimalist techniques.

For the do it yourself example, I composed a short piano ostinato and then bounced down two versions. The only difference between the two versions was the speed I bounced them at - one at 225bpm, the other 226bpm. I then placed these on their individual tracks, and then proceeded to bounce this version down. (The example is an extract. The ostinatos would eventually be playing in unison again.)


2. Process Music

Process Music can be explained as one performer remaining fixed, whilst the second performer moves on ahead, after a certain number of repeats. If phasing can be described as a gradual change, Process Music would be a sudden change.

Listen to ‘Clapping Music’ below. This piece marked the end of Reich’s experimentation with gradually phase shifting.

For my process composition, I wrote a one bar rhythm in 3/4 which was duplicated, making it unison for the first four bars. After this, Player 2 moves ahead a 1/16 (semiquaver) of the beat. The process is repeated every four bars, until eventually, she is back in time with Player 1.


3. Augmentation (Lengthening)

Different to the other techniques in the sense that it doesn’t resolve itself. It normally begins with a chord. Individual notes within the chord are lengthened, usually one at a time. Could be described as a progression that begins vertically and ends horizontally.

Listen to ‘Four Organs’, which is an attempt to create slow motion music without altering the pitch. (A concept that was impossible at the time).

For my example, I used a C7 Chord (C E G Bb) played twice per bar. I repeated each cycle three times, before choosing to lengthen one note within a chord by a semiquaver. At a time, I would extend the note backwards, others, forwards suggesting an upbeat. (Again, the example is an extract. The composition would eventually end with the chord constantly ringing.)


Conclusion

The intention of this quick tip was not only to give you a basic insight into the minimalist techniques pioneered by Steve Reich, but also to inspire you to incorporate them into your own music.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.