Flash Sale! Save on unlimited courses & creative assets downloads! Flash Sale! Save 40%
Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production
Music

باستخدام غيتار الأمبير محاكي 101 ، الجزء 2

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101.
Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101, Part 1
Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101, Part 3

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Ratnawati (you can also view the original English article)

في الجزء الأول من Guitar Amp Simulators 101 ، نظرنا في أساسيات الاختيار والإعداد والبدء بمكوِّن إضافي للمكبر الصوتي. في هذا الجزء الثاني ، سنجعل أيدينا قذرة ، وسوف نتغلب على كيفية الحصول على أفضل النتائج من برنامجنا.

كما كان من قبل ، وإلى حد كبير من أجل التطبيق العملي ، أعمل بشكل أساسي في Guitar Rig ، لكن العديد من التقنيات التي سننظر إليها يمكن تطبيقها على أي برنامج تستخدمه. لا تتردد في مشاركة النصائح والحيل الخاصة بالبرامج الخاصة بك في التعليقات!


الحصول على الكرة

أسهل طريقة للبدء في العثور على صوتك الخاص هو التوجه إلى ما تعرفه. إذا كنت معتادًا على مكدس مارشال مع جهاز TS-808 قديم جميل أمامك ، فستجد نفسك قريبًا من أقرب تقدير لهذا الإعداد الذي يوفره برنامجك.

في حين أن كل شيء جيد وجيد ، فإن خياراتك في العالم الرقمي أوسع بكثير ، علاوة على ذلك ، نموذجًا لـ JCM800 قديمًا وسيارة 4x12 مطابقة هي مجرد نموذج - نموذج أولي - وقد لا يتوافق تمامًا مع ما تتوقعه من تجربتك الخاصة مع نظرائك في العالم الحقيقي.


مزج وو صل

مع هذه الفكرة في الاعتبار، حان الوقت تنفق بشكل جيد التنقل خلال كافة الخيارات المتاحة لمعرفة ما هو نوع من الأصوات التي تنتجها. التفكير في الأمر مثل تجريب الألوان في الفنون البصرية: في هذا السيناريو، هل سيكون من غير المرجح للحصول على أفضل تمثيل للمشهد كنت تحاول الطلاء باستخدام الألوان الحق في الخروج من مربع الطلاء الخاص بك؛ كنت تريد لمزيج المباراة.

عند القيام بذلك ، قد تواجه بعض النتائج غير المتوقعة. لا تخاف من تجربة بعض التحالفات غير المقدسة - على سبيل المثال ، رأس مكسب ثلاثي الطراز عالي الكسب مع خزانة تيد 2 × 12. قد يكون الصوت الذي تبحث عنه ، حتى لو كان قد يثير دهشة إذا حاولت ذلك في حفلة موسيقى الروك المحلية.

من خلال محاكاة amp ، من المفيد أن تفكر في الخزانة ليس كوسيلة لتحويل الإشارة الكهربائية إلى شيء يمكنك سماعه (في الواقع ، في العالم الافتراضي ، إنه بالتأكيد ليس كذلك) وأكثر كطبقة إضافية من EQ. كل من طرازات الخزانة هو ، في الأساس ، مجرد منحنى EQ ، وإيجاد واحد صحيح يمكن أن يجعل أو يكسر صوت الأمبير الظاهري الخاص بك.

على سبيل المثال ، إليك تمثيل Guitar Rig 3 لمجموع نصف Plexi من طراز Marshall في خزانة رباعية 4x12 مطابقة:

وهنا نفس الأمبير والإعدادات نفسها في نمط الحاجز 2x12:

كلاهما على ما يرام ، ولكن يمكنك أن تسمع بوضوح كيف تقدم نماذج الخزانة المختلفة ملفًا شخصيًا مختلفًا عن EQ إلى الصوت الكلي. لذلك من خلال القيام بذلك ، فإننا نمنح أنفسنا طبقة جديدة بالكامل من التحكم في EQ إلى ما هو أبعد من صوت البوق المتوسط ​​والوسطى والثلاثية والتواجد.


يذهب الخبير

بعد اختيار نموذج amp و cabinet مع الأصوات المناسبة للنغمة التي تريدها ، فإن أول منفذ للدعوة إلى ضبط دقيق هو التحكم في amp's القياسية - كسب و EQ؛ لكن هذه ستجعلك فقط حتى الآن. للسيطرة حقًا على الخصائص اللونية لصوت الأمبير الخاص بك ، تحتاج إلى الحصول على غطاء محرك السيارة والتحكم في إعدادات "الخبراء".

في جهاز Guitar Rig ، سيؤدي النقر فوق زر التوسيع (+) الموجود على يسار وحدة AMP إلى الكشف عن لوحة جديدة ، تحتوي عادةً على إعدادات إمدادات الطاقة ، و Variac ، والترهل ، والاستجابة والتحيز .

كل من هذه الإعدادات على جزء هام في تحديد الخصائص العامة لنموذج مكبر للصوت، وفي الطريقة التي يستجيب إلى الإشارات الغيتار. على سبيل المثال، مع استخدام عناصر التحكم هذه، يمكنك اختيار بين صوت فضفاضة، الاسفنجية، وصوت أكثر تشدداً، هاي فأي، أو شيء بين البلدين.

  • يسمح لك تزويد الطاقة بالاختيار بين عرض 50 هرتز أو 60 هرتز. الفرق دقيق ، لكن تغيير العرض إلى نفس النوع الذي استخدمته قد يساعد فقط!
  • قوم برنامج Variac بمحاكاة التغيرات التي تطرأ على جهد تزويد مكبر للصوت ، وهو إعداد أقل يعطي صوتًا "بنيًا" عتيقًا في حين تكون الإعدادات الأعلى أكثر سطوعًا وأكثر حداثة.
  • يقوم Sag بقدر ما يوحي به الاسم ، ويقصد به محاكاة الاختلافات بين الحالة الصلبة وتصحيح الأنبوب. إن تصحيح الأنبوب - أكثر تبلد - له صوت أكثر نعومة وأكثر تشبعًا ، كما أنه يبدو جيدًا بشكل خاص لدرجات غيتار الرصاص ، بينما تكون نهاية الحالة الصلبة للطيف أصعب ، وأكثر برودة ومناسبة تمامًا لنغمات الإيقاعات القوية.
  • التحيز هو شيء مألوف لمالكي الأنبوب ، وسيعرف الكثيرون أن إعدادات التحيز لها تأثير كبير على صوت الأمبير. في جهاز Guitar Rig ، ينتج إعداد أقل للانحراف نوعًا من الحبيبات الرخوة والغمزة ، في حين أن إعدادًا أعلى يكون أكثر نظافةً وأكثر تحديدًا.
  • تغير الاستجابة بشكل أساسي استجابة البرنامج لديناميات لعبك. تعمل الإعدادات المنخفضة بشكل جيد مع المزيد من الترهل والانحياز السفلي لإنتاج صوت عضوي عتيق ؛ في حين أن الإعدادات العالية تناسب عمومًا نغمات حديثة عالية الدقة.

معظم الوحدات أثر، من تشوهات للتأخير، يكون هذه الضوابط الخبراء أيضا، وتستحق الحصول على السيطرة تهذيب حقاً الصوت الخاص بك. أننا سوف اللمس على الآثار في وقت لاحق، ولكن الآن، دعونا لها نظرة سريعة على ما يمكن أن نحققه مع مكبرات الصوت.

هنا ، لقد أخذت طراز Amp عالي الصوت من Guitar Rig - وهو مكبر للصوت الحديث عالي الكسب على طول خطوط Uberchall التابعة لـ Bogner - إلى جانب الخزانة المطابقة لها ، وحاولت الحصول على نغمتين مختلفتين للغاية للربح.

في هذا المقطع الثاني ، في حين أن مقوِّم AMP لا يزال كما هو ، يتم عكس إعدادات الخبير - تبلد منخفض ، و variac عالٍ ، والتحيز والاستجابة - مما يعطي الأمبير استجابة أسرع وأكثر صعوبة ، وبالتالي ، صوت أكثر برودة وأكثر صلابة ، أكثر على طول خطوط انجل او فريت امبير من بوغنر او ميسا:

في هذا المقطع الثاني، بينما يظل مكافئ للامبير نفسه، إعدادات الخبراء يتم عكس – منخفضة الترهل، تحيز بريك، عالية واستجابة – إعطاء الامبير استجابة أسرع وأكثر صعوبة، ونتيجة لذلك، صوت أكثر برودة وأكثر صرامة، أكثر على غرار الامبير Engl أو فريت من ب أوجنير أو ميسا:

نفس أمبير، نفس فيبي مختلفة جداً، ومجلس الوزراء، وكل إعداد وبغض النظر عن خصائص الصوت تنتجها، قد يشعر مختلفة جداً عندما كنت تلعب من خلال ذلك: على قدم المساواة، لم يكن أكثر أهمية من الصوت نفسه.

على سبيل المثال، يمكن أن يلهم الطريقة سوف تشبع مكرنك تصل مارشال وتبلد حقاً حفر السلاسل، إنتاج طويلة، الغناء المستدام وتلاحظ – كبيرة للعمل المنفرد، لكن لا الرائعة لدبوس حاد ريفاجي. Engl، من ناحية أخرى، بالهجوم السريع والصوت غير المشبعة نسبيا هو حلم حقيقي لنمط معدنية إيقاعات، ولكن ليس كبيرا جداً لتلك المرتفعة، مهرجانات ملحمة ويدلي الخماسي أننا جميعا نود أن تنغمس من وقت لآخر.

في العالم الحقيقي ، تشعر الأمبيرات المادية بالقلق ، فمعظمنا يجب أن يجد حلاً وسطًا ، ولكن مع البرنامج ، يمكننا تغيير الطريقة التي يعمل بها مكبر للصوت تمامًا مع أصوات بضع نقرات بالماوس: الكثير من الإمكانات! حتى أن جهاز Peavey's ReValver يسمح لك بتغيير طرازات amp بالكامل مع الأنبوبة المختلفة وتصميمات الدوائر.


هيئة التصنيع العسكري والجو

بين جميع الخيارات والمعلمات لقد بحثنا في حتى الآن، لك سيكون من الصعب دفع ليس للعثور على شيء قريب من لهجة تريد، ولكن نحن لا تزال فقط كنت خدش سطح ما هو ممكن.

في Guitar Rig ، ستلاحظ زوجًا من عناصر التحكم في المنزلق على اللوحة الأمامية لمجلس الوزراء. يسمح لك الجزء العلوي من الاثنين بالتبديل أو المزج بين نوعين مختلفين من الميكروفون ، بينما يسمح لك شريط التمرير السفلي بالتحكم في كمية "الهواء" - وهي في الأساس ترسبات الغرفة - في الصوت.

إذا كنت لم أصب كثير الفرصة للعب حولها مع ميكروفونات حقيقية أمام مكبر للصوت الخاص بك، أنك قد لا تكون مدركة لمدى تمتع التي تؤثر هذه العوامل – اختيار ميكروفون وتحديد المواقع – الأصوات المسجلة. لأغراضنا، يكفي أن نقول أن الاختيار الميكروفون وتحديد المواقع فن في حد ذاته، والمهندسين الاستوديو جيدة غالباً ما سوف تستثمر الكثير من الوقت والجهد في إيجاد طريقة مثالية (أساليب أنهم سوف غالباً حراسة مثل سراً عميق!).

الآن، يمكن أن تكون على يقين من أنهم لا يذهبون إلى كل هذا الجهد من أجل لا شيء، لذلك دعونا نرى ما يمكن أن نحققه مع لدينا ميكروفونات.

في هذا المثال الأول ، لديّ مكبر للصوت طراز Fender Tweed مع خزانة مطابقة 4 × 10 ، وأنا أعتزم الحصول على صوت لطيف ورقيق. هناك زيادة صغيرة في المكسب أمام الأمبير ، وبعض تردد الربيع بين الرأس والخزانة. لقد تم ضبط شريط تمرير الميكروفون بالكامل على اليسار ، مما يعني أننا نسمع الميكروفون A فقط ، مع مجرد تهمس (حوالي 1.2 ، فعليًا) من الهواء:

وها هو الشيء نفسه مرة أخرى ، ولكن هذه المرة مع منزلق الميكروفون على حق تماما ، لذلك نحن نسمع فقط الميكروفون B :

بشكل ملائم بما فيه الكفاية لمرشدك المقدام ، يكون الميكروفون A مملًا قليلاً جدًا ، والميكروفون B نوعًا ما قاس جدًا ، لذلك دعونا نرى ما يحدث عندما مزج الاثنين عن طريق وضع شريط التمرير في الوسط:

بالنسبة لي ، هذا هو التوازن الصحيح لملء A والعضة والوضوح لـ B ، ولكن بالنسبة لنوايتي المليئة بالألفاظ ، لا يزال هناك ميتة وحيوية ، لذا دعونا نجعل من شريط التمرير الجوي يصل إلى نحو الثلثين ممتلئًا:

أفضل بكثير. الآن لدينا أكثر من الإحساس بالأمبير في غرفة، ويضيف لطيف لديناميات حثالة.


جميع الآن معا

ذلك رأينا أن هناك مجالًا كبيرًا لتصميم وتغيير صوتنا بما يتجاوز حدود مجرد اختيار amp و dial في EQ. لدينا على الأقل طبقتين إضافيتين من إمكانيات EQing مع اختيارنا للخزانة والميكروفون ، وأكثر من ذلك إذا مزجنا الميكروفونات ؛ يمكننا تغيير استجابة وديناميات أمبير مع الضوابط "الخبراء" ، ويمكننا إضافة بعض الحياة في الصوت (أو ، على العكس ، جعل الأمور أكثر تركيزًا) عن طريق تغيير مقدار صوت الغرفة أو "الهواء" في الميكروفونات.

تذكر أيضًا أن وحدات التأثير لديها إعدادات للخبراء أيضًا ، لذا هناك عالم كامل من الاحتمالات مع التشوهات والتأخرات والتشويش أيضًا.


فإن شمالين

دعونا نحاول بناء صوت من الألف إلى الياء باستخدام هذه التقنيات التي وصفتها ، مما يتيح لك معرفة كيف يمكنك تطبيق هذه الأساليب على مشاريعك الخاصة. بما فيه الكفاية ، لقد تعثرت فقط على بعض مسارات الغيتار المعزولة من سجل Van Halen في وقت مبكر ، وعلى الرغم من أنني لست من كبار المعجبين بموسيقاه ، فلا يمكنك المجادلة بنغمة الغيتار ، لذلك دعونا نأخذ ذلك كشيء نهدف إليه .


جهاز الحفر الأساسية

هنا نموذج أمبير نمط Plexi مارشال مناسبة، والمطابقة مع مجلس الوزراء، وباس حوالي 1 للحفاظ على الخروج شحم، الأوسط في 6، ثلاثة إضعاف في 10 لإضافة بعض لدغة، والوجود في 6 لاندفاعه من التألق. جميع الخبراء والضوابط في المنتصف الساعة 12:00 م، وتحية إلى فإن هالين، أنا ضبطها أسفل نصف خطوة... دون موالف.

عدم تقريب سيئة، إذا قمت بالسماح لادائي فاسدة. ولكن حتى مع كل عناصر التحكم في الصوت في بكامل طاقتها، لم يعد لديه التي كسب السلس، وأنها تفتقر قليلاً من الجوهر والإثارة. أنها الاحتياجات لدغة أكثر، أيضا، وبعض الهواء.


العمل الميكروفون

لذا، دعونا نضع بعض أكثر لدغة هناك بالاختلاط في أكثر بكثير من "باء الميكروفون" أنا ذاهب ل 80% ب و 20%، كما أن الأصوات مثل لدغة قدر ما يمكن أن تحصل عليها دون الصوت أصبحت قاسية جداً. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، أنا النسخ الأوسط إلى حوالي 4 للمساعدة في وضع حافة على الصوت، وأنا أيضا إضافة بعض الهواء، حوالي 3.7، للمساعدة في إعطائها ذلك liveness روك خمر.

أقرب، لكن نوعية التشويه لا يزال يزعجني. أنه يحتاج إلى شعور عصيرا، بدانة، ولا يزال أكثر من عضة.


عصير أكثر!

أنا ذاهب إلى التراجع عن التحكم "حجم الصوت الدافئ" ترك لي مع الصوت "مشرق" فقط، وسوف تخرج الفريق من الخبراء وإجراء التعديلات التالية:

  • يرفع Variac إلى 150. نموذج Plexi له نغمة دافئة ومستديرة ، لذا فإن هذا سيعطيها مجرد اندفاع أكثر
  • أحضر التذبذب إلى حوالي 3.0 ، وأعطى مرة أخرى أكثر فورية إلى النغمة
  • قلّل إعداد الاستجابة إلى 2.0 تقريبًا ، مع إضافة لمسة حياة إضافية وتكملة اللقمة المضافة للإعدادات الأخرى
  • يصل التحيز إلى حوالي 6.0 ، مرة أخرى إعطاء مجرد مزيد من الحافة واللعضة

أقرب! الآن يبدو حقاً على قيد الحياة، ولكن ما زلت أريد عصير أكثر هناك.


لا يزال أكثر عصير!

سأضيف وحدة Skreamer أوفردرايف - إجلالًا رقميًا إلى Ibanez Tube Screamer - مع حجم الصوت عند 6.2 ونغمة عند 5 ومحرك الأقراص في 2. إن زيادة السرعة الزائدة منخفضة جدًا ، ولكن إعداد مستوى الصوت المرتفع سيدفع النهاية الأمامية لـ امبير هذه مجتمعة يجب أن تعطيني هذا الصوت المشبع.

أنا ذاهب أيضا لفتح لوحة الخبراء لإخراج بأس قليلاً قطع شحم، وتعيين عنصر التحكم نظيفة إلى 0 بحيث كل إشارة المجهزة من سكريمير يذهب إلى الامبير.

هذا حقاً ليس سيئاً! النوعية للكسب الأصوات عن حق، وتشعر أنها تستجيب للعب من خلال، ولكن بالتأكيد لا يزال السبر حارة جداً. ما زلت أريد المزيد من الحافة.


لدغة دون از

سأجرب طراز خزانة طراز 2x12 من Fender بمزيج الميكروفون نفسه ، لكنني سأعيد وثلاثي أمبير من الشعر إلى 8 لمنعه من الحصول على الغاز.

الآن نحن حقاً في حي الحق، لكن الكثير من الجسم، وقد ذهب الجاذبية.


أكثر من الكرات!

أنا ذاهب إلى الخلف في مزيج الميكروفون إلى أسفل قليلاً نحو الميكروفون، إلى مستوى من 60/40، بغية الأخذ بأكثر من الدفء هيئة التصنيع العسكري، التعويض عن لهجة أكثر إشراقا من مجلس الوزراء هذا. أنا أيضا عثرة بأس للامبير مكافئ والحارة وحدة تخزين ما يصل إلى 4، وإسقاط لهجة سكريمير إلى 0، لنفس السبب.

وأخيرًا ، فقط لإضافة بعض الاهتمام وتكثيف الأمور ، سأقوم بوضع نموذج Phaser Nine أمام Amp وضبطه إلى 13٪ رطبًا. منخفضة بما فيه الكفاية بحيث لا يمكنك أن تسمع حكاية phaser ، ولكنها عالية بما يكفي للحصول على إحساس بدني ، صوت عضوي أكثر.


إغلاق ما يكفي البلوز

حسنا، أود أن أقول هذا عن حق. ربما سوف تلعب مع مستوى محرك الأقراص سكريمير، تبعاً لما كان يلعب، ولكن اللهجة، واستجابة لهذا النموذج تبدو جميلة تشبه إلى حد كبير ما كانت تهدف ل.

لذلك باختصار، حتى قبل نحن لقد رش أي إنتاج حورية الغبار مع ضغط أو مكافئ أو تردد، لقد انتقلنا من هذا:

لذلك:


ولكن الانتظار، هناك المزيد

نعم، هذه ليست سوى البداية. Tweakers متقدمة أكثر بين أنت قد لاحظت بعض التقصير الصارخ في هذا المقال: ماذا عن مزج خزائن متعددة؟ مزج الامبير متعددة؟ دوافع الحكومة طرف ثالث؟ سيتم تغطية كافة في الجزء القادم والأخير من هذه السلسلة.

وفي الوقت نفسه، أمل أن هذه المادة أعطت لك بعض الأفكار والإلهام للبدء في تعلم كيفية الحصول على المزيد من البرنامج المساعد الخاص بك أمبير، وتتردد في حصة أفكارك الخاصة ونصائح والخدع في قسم التعليقات.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Music & Audio
  2. Audio Production
Music

Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101, Part 2

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101.
Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101, Part 1
Using Guitar Amp Simulators 101, Part 3

In the first part of Guitar Amp Simulators 101, we looked at the fundamentals of choosing, setting up and getting started with an amplifier plugin. In this second part, we’re going to get our hands dirty and really get to grips with how to get the best out of our software amps.

As before, and largely for the sake of practicality, I’m working primarily in Guitar Rig, but many of the techniques we’ll look at can be applied to whatever software you’re using. Feel free to share your own software specific tips and tricks in the comments!


Getting Into the Ballpark

The easiest way to begin to find your own sound is by heading for what you know. If you’re used to a Marshall stack with a lovely old TS-808 in front of it, you’re bound to go for the closest approximation of that set-up your software will provide.

While that’s all well and good, your options in the digital world are much wider and, moreover, a model of, say, an old JCM800 and a matching 4x12 is just that – a model, an archetype – and so may not correspond exactly with what you’d expect from your own experience with the real world equivalents.


Mix and Match

With that idea in mind, it’s time well spent to cycle through all the available options to find out what kind of sounds they produce. Think of it like experimenting with colours in visual art: in that scenario, you’d be unlikely to get the best representation of the scene you’re trying to paint by using the colours right out of your paint box; you’re going to want to mix and match.

In doing this, you might encounter some unexpected results. Don’t be afraid to try some unholy alliances – say, a Triple Rectifier style high gain head with a tweed 2x12 cabinet; it just might be the sound you’re looking for, even if it might raise eyebrows if you tried it at your local rock club gig.

With amp simulation, it’s helpful to think of the cabinet not so much as a means of turning an electrical signal into something you can hear (indeed, in the virtual world, it definitely isn’t) and more as an additional layer of EQ. Each of the cabinet models is, essentially, just an EQ curve, and finding the right one can make or break your virtual amp sound.

As an example, here’s Guitar Rig 3’s representation of a Plexi style Marshall half stack into a matching 4x12 cabinet:

And here’s the exact same amp and settings into a Fender style 2x12:

Both are fine, but you can clearly hear how the different cabinet models are introducing a completely different EQ profile to the overall sound. So by doing this, we’re giving ourselves a whole new layer of EQ control beyond the amp’s standard bass, middle, treble and presence.


Go Expert

Having selected an amp and cabinet model with the right voicings for the tone you want, the first port of call for a little fine tuning is the amp’s standard controls – gain and EQ; but these will get you only so far. To really take control of the tonal properties of your amp sound, you need to get under the hood and get to grips with the “expert” settings.

In Guitar Rig, clicking on the expand button (+) at the left of the amp module will reveal a new panel, typically containing settings for power supply, Variac, sag, response and bias.

Each of these settings has an important part to play in defining the overall characteristics of the amplifier model, and to the way in which it responds to your guitar signal. For example, using these controls, you can choose between a loose, spongy sound and a tighter, hi-fi sound, or something between the two.

  • Power supply allows you to select between a 50 Hz or 60 Hz supply. The difference is subtle, but changing the supply to the same sort you're used to might just help!
  • Variac emulates changes to an amplifier’s supply voltage, a lower setting giving more of a vintage “brown” sound while higher settings are punchier and more modern sounding.
  • Sag does much as the name suggests, and is intended to emulate the differences between solid state and tube rectification. Tube rectification – more sag – has a softer, more saturated sound, and sounds particularly good for lead guitar tones, while the solid state end of the spectrum is harder, colder and well suited to punchy rhythm tones.
  • Bias is something tube amp owners will already be familiar with, and many will know that bias settings have a big impact on an amp’s sound. In Guitar Rig, a lower bias setting produces a loose grain, fuzzier kind of tone, whereas a higher setting is cleaner and more defined.
  • Response essentially changes the software’s response to the dynamics of your playing. Lower settings work well with more sag and lower bias to produce an organic, vintage sound; while higher settings will generally suit more hi-fi sounding modern tones.

Most of the effect modules, from distortions to delays, have these expert controls too, and are well worth getting to grips with to really fine tune your sound. We’ll touch on effects later, but for now, let’s have a quick look at what we can achieve with the amplifiers.

Here, I’ve taken Guitar Rig’s Ultrasonic amp model – a modern high gain amplifier along the lines of Bogner’s Uberschall – along with its matching cabinet, and tried to get two quite different high gain tones.

In this first clip, I’ve used the expert settings to give the amp an over the top, saturated, spitting sound by setting the bias, Variac and response parameters quite low with quite a bit of sag, producing a spongy sound reminiscent of a hot-rodded Marshall:

In this second clip, while the amp’s EQ remains the same, the expert settings are reversed – low sag, high variac, bias and response – giving the amp a faster, harder response and, consequently, a colder and stiffer sound, more along the lines of Engl or Fryette amps than Bogner or Mesa:

Same amp, same cabinet, very different vibe, and quite apart from the properties of the sound produced, each setting has a very different feel when you’re playing through it: equally, if not more important than the sound itself.

For example, the way a cranked up Marshall will saturate and sag can inspire you to really dig in to the strings, producing long, singing sustained notes – great for soloing, but not brilliant for pin sharp riffage. An Engl, on the other hand, with its rapid attack and relatively unsaturated sound is a dream come true for metal style rhythms, but not so great for those soaring, epic pentatonic widdle fests we all like to indulge in from time to time.

Where real world, physical amps are concerned, most of us have to find a compromise, but with software, we can completely change the way an amplifier works and sounds with a few mouse clicks: lots of potential! Peavey’s ReValver even allows you to completely alter its amp models with different tubes and circuit designs.


Mic and Air

Between all of the options and parameters we’ve looked at so far, you’d be hard pushed not to find something close to the tone you want, but we’re still only scratching the surface of what’s possible.

In Guitar Rig, you’ll notice a pair of slider controls on the cabinet’s front panel. The uppermost of the two allows you to switch or blend between two different types of microphone, while the bottom slider allows you to control the amount of “air” – basically room reverberations – in the sound.

If you’ve never had much opportunity to play around with real microphones in front of your amplifier, you may not be aware of the extent to which these factors – microphone choice and positioning – influence recorded sounds. For our purposes, it’s sufficient to say that microphone selection and positioning is an art in itself, and good studio engineers will often invest a lot of time and effort into finding the perfect method (methods they’ll often guard like a deep secret!).

Now, you can be sure they don’t go to all that effort for nothing, so let’s see what we can achieve with our microphones.

In this first example, I have a Fender Tweed style amplifier with a matching 4x10 cabinet, and I'm aiming for a nice, raw, bluesy kind of sound. There's a little gain boost in front of the amp, and some spring reverb between the head and cabinet. I’ve got the microphone slider set fully to the left, which means we’re only hearing Microphone A, with just a whisper (about 1.2, actually) of air:

And here’s the same thing again, but this time with the microphone slider fully right, so we’re hearing only Microphone B:

Conveniently enough for your intrepid guide, Microphone A is a little too dull and Microphone B is somewhat too harsh, so let’s see what happens when I blend the two by putting the slider right in the middle:

To me, that’s just the right balance of the fullness of A and the bite and clarity of B, but for my bluesy intentions, it’s still a little dead and lifeless, so let’s wind the air slider up to around two thirds full:

Much better. Now we’ve got more of a sense of the amp in a room, and it adds nicely to the dynamics of the riff.


All Together Now

So we’ve seen that there’s huge scope for tailoring and tweaking our sound beyond the limits of merely choosing an amp and dialling in the EQ. We’ve got at least two extra layers of EQing possibilities with our choice of cabinet and microphone, and more still if we blend the mics; we can alter the response and dynamics of the amp with the “expert” controls, and we can add some life into the sound (or, conversely, make things tighter more focussed) by varying the amount of room sound or “air” in the microphones.

Remember, too, that the effect modules have expert settings, too, so there’s a whole world of possibilities with our distortions, delays and modulations, too.


Van Shmalen

Let’s try to build a sound from the ground up using these techniques I’ve described, enabling you to see how you can apply these methods to your own projects. Conveniently enough, I just stumbled on some isolated guitar tracks from an early Van Halen record and, though I’m not a big fan of his music, you can't argue with his guitar tone, so let’s take that as something to aim for.


The Basic Rig

Here’s an appropriate Marshall Plexi style amp model, with matching cabinet, bass around 1 to keep out the flab, middle at 6, treble at 10 to add some bite, and presence at 6 for a dash of sparkle. All the expert controls are in the middle at 12 O’Clock and, in tribute to Van Halen, I tuned down a half-step… Without a tuner.

Not a bad approximation, if you allow for my rotten playing. But even with both volume controls at full tilt, it’s not got that smooth gain, and it’s lacking a little substance and excitement. It’s needs more bite, too, and some air.


Microphone Action

So, let’s put some more bite in there by mixing in a lot more of Microphone B. I’m going for 80% B and 20% A, as that sounds like as much bite as I can get without the sound becoming too harsh. In addition, I’m backing the middle off to around 4 to help put an edge on the sound, and I’m also adding some air, around 3.7, to help give it that vintage rock liveness.

Closer, but the quality of the distortion is still bothering me. It needs a juicier, fatter feel, and still more bite.


More Juice!

I’m going to back off the Warm Volume control to leave me with just the “bright” sound, and I’ll pop out the expert panel and make the following adjustments:

  • Bump up the Variac to 150. The Plexi model has a warm and rounded tone, so doing this is going to give it just a dash more attack
  • Bring the sag down to around 3.0, again giving a little more immediacy to the tone
  • Lower the response setting to around 2.0, adding just a touch more life and complimenting the added bite of the other settings
  • Up the bias to around 6.0, again giving just a tad more edge and bite

Much closer! Now it really sounds alive, but I still want more juice in there.


Still More Juice!

I’ll add the Skreamer overdrive module – a digital homage to the Ibanez Tube Screamer – with volume at 6.2 and tone at 5 and drive at 2. The extra overdrive is quite low, but the higher volume setting will push the front end of the amp harder; these combined should give me that saturated sound.

I’m also going to open the expert panel to take out a little bass to cut the flab, and set the clean control to 0 so that all of the processed signal from the Skreamer goes into the amp.

That’s really not bad! The quality of the gain sounds about right, and it feels responsive to play through, but it’s definitely still too warm sounding. I still want more edge.


Bite Without Fizz

I’ll try a Fender style 2x12 cabinet model with the same microphone blend, but I’ll back the amp’s treble off a hair to 8 to keep it from getting fizzy.

Now we’re really in the right neighbourhood, but too much of the body and oomph has gone.


More Balls!

I’m going to back the microphone mix down a little towards Microphone A, to a level of 60/40, in order to introduce more of Mic A’s warmth, offsetting the brighter tone of this cabinet. I’ll also bump the amp’s bass EQ and warm volume up to 4, and drop the Skreamer’s tone to 0, for the same reason.

Finally, just to add some interest and thicken things up, I’m going to put the Phaser Nine model in front of the amp and set it to 13% wet; low enough that you can’t really hear the phaser’s sweep, but high enough that you get a sense of a fatter, more organic sound.


Close Enough for the Blues

Well, I’d say that’s about right. I’d maybe play around with the level of drive on the Skreamer, depending on what I was playing, but the tone and response of this model sounds pretty much like what I was aiming for.

So to recap, even before we’ve sprinkled any production fairy dust with compression, EQ or reverb, we’ve gone from this:

To this:


But Wait, There’s More

Yes, this is only the beginning. The more advanced tweakers among you may have noticed some glaring omissions in this article: What about blending multiple cabinets? Blending multiple amps? Third party cabinet impulses? All will be covered in the next and final part of this series.

In the meantime, I hope this article has given you some ideas and inspiration to start learning how to get more out of your amp plugin, and please feel free to share your own thoughts, tips and tricks in the comments section.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.